More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome32.93%
Worth A Look: 21.95%
Average: 10.98%
Pretty Bad: 12.2%
Total Crap: 21.95%

4 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Detroit Rock City
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Ultimate Dancing Machine

"KISS off"
2 stars

Four airheaded rock 'n' roll fans from Ohio try to earn tickets to a Detroit KISS show, in this comic nostalgia piece set in 1978. You can't expect much from a movie centered on KISS, a band which has never been "about" anything except the primitive zest of rock 'n' roll (if you actually believe the rumor that their name is an acronym for Knights in Satan's Service, you're advised to return to your Pat Boone records ASAP), but this movie doesn't even hit its exceedingly modest goals.

The lamer-than-usual plot merely strings together a series of comic situations, few of which are even moderately funny. I got tired of counting all the dopey contrivances (didn't the KISS tour stop through Ohio?), and let's not talk about the whole idea of being hellbent to get into a town where the locals walk around with T-shirts reading Detroit: where the weak are killed and eaten. Also, speaking as someone who was stuck in Detroit Rock City back in 1978, I'm disappointed by the absence of period detail--outside of a few references to disco and Cobo Hall, it's pretty much just Another Teen Comedy.

The editing is pretty bad, with way too many cuts; it's irritating to keep jumping from one character to another during the dialogue scenes. Director Adam Rifkin keeps employing gimmicks like split screens and unnecessary zooms, like he's trying to impress his film school professor.

At least you get a good rock soundtrack, split between KISS tracks and the some of the better shake-your-fist tunes of the '70s. You also get the dubious pleasure of seeing porn star Ron Jeremy in a brief role as a tacky emcee. He keeps his clothes on, too.

What could conceivably have been a nice coming of age film turns out to be simply a by-the-numbers comedy. Even KISS deserves a better movie than this.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1570&reviewer=223
originally posted: 11/29/02 12:17:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/26/11 Rosie The funniest and best movie ever created.. also turend me into a KISS fan 5 stars
6/18/09 Dane Youssef A fun enough throwback to an era and a look at a timeless, universal time of life. 4 stars
8/05/07 Talissa This changed my view in music! Rock On! 5 stars
7/11/07 MikeR Not as good as Kiss fighting phantoms in the amusement park epic. 3 stars
5/26/07 fools♫gold Has that same average feel of "A Life Less Ordinary". 3 stars
2/26/07 jessica This movie was amazing. Edward furlong is hot. 5 stars
11/29/06 David Pollastrini best scene is KISS performance at the end 2 stars
11/08/06 Mariah I FRIGGIN LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! 5 stars
3/14/06 Suzi I love this movie. Always makes me laugh . 5 stars
10/20/05 matt im not even a KISS fan but this movie rocks 5 stars
9/04/05 nikki I love it luv it ! and I love kiss! 5 stars
9/02/05 ES I laughed quite a bit & bought it for my uncle a big KISS fan 5 stars
8/08/05 noelle Rockin' Movie! Loved it! 5 stars
8/01/05 Fred Why do people like this shit? WORST FILM EVER 1 stars
7/26/05 robbieplant Rocked out of this world! 5 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington An awful movie! But whadda expect from a band like KISS?!?!? 1 stars
6/09/05 me a shitty movie about a shitty band. 1 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson The best movie about KISS ever made, I kid you not. Director Adam Rifkin RULES! 5 stars
12/03/04 Abby Snyder Really FUnny 5 stars
11/28/04 Camrin I disagree Greatly with all the comments that were said about this movie! I loved it! 5 stars
8/21/04 J An awesome rock movie!!! 5 stars
2/09/04 pyrosk8brdr9 THIS MOVIE IS KICKING JUST LIKE KISS 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus It seems like i could watch this movie over and over! 5 stars
7/03/03 Lush Arse kissing wank. KISS can suck my balls! 2 stars
4/14/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty good fun. 4 stars
12/29/02 Akio A lot of good laugh for the man of age 46. 4 stars
12/28/02 Louise Eddie Furlong, you rock baby! 5 stars
8/08/02 I Can't Swim Those who like the band are too old to like the movie 1 stars
4/30/02 katie i'm not a kiss fan, but this is one of my all-time fave movies!! i could watch it everyday. 5 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Thought Lin Shaye could'nt get more insufferable than in SOMETHING ABOUT MARY, but she does 2 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden If The Movie Was About 70's Disco [Not Hard Rock], It Would Have Been Watchable. 1 stars
11/12/01 Melissa This is the best movie 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Mean-spirited, but awesome. 4 stars
3/29/01 TheRock see it for the kickass soundtrack 5 stars
3/05/01 Scarlett I LOVED THIS MOVIE especially cuz Lex (Giuseppe Andrews) is super hot!!!!! 5 stars
2/07/01 the?girl not a fan of spew jokes, but laughed at most bits. 3 stars
1/16/01 Manda Kane Detroit Rock City is the best movie I have ever seen I love it and I love Jam!!!!!! 5 stars
1/02/01 J in TN wonderful film; fantastic DVD -- captures the period perfectly--I know; I was there. A+++ 4 stars
8/17/00 unholy1965 I`m a mad kiss fan and I thought it was goodit shows whata kiss fan will do to see them 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender The first half is full of bad jokes, but the second half is funny and entertainiing. 3 stars
6/28/00 Elvisfan It was OK. A laugh or two. Natasha Lyonne is always worth seeing 4 stars
5/21/00 perverted pixie Kiss suck!- but this is a really charming no-brainer 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan i am not a fan of teenage wasteland movies... but KISS is one of the best bands alive... 3 stars
4/13/00 Cleatus The Slack Jawed Yokel It was good, even though KISS sucks 4 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Kept me suitably entertained while waiting for a phone call... 3 stars
2/21/00 arnold funny at best 3 stars
2/14/00 toneely i loved this movie......it was so funny 5 stars
1/24/00 arnold pretty damn funny kiss sucks though 4 stars
12/09/99 Lincoln Read For KISS fans only 4 stars
9/17/99 Kory I'm a big KISS fan but must admit this movie is pretty lame 2 stars
9/16/99 Ratso God, I want to have sex with Shannon Tweed. 3 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Wow anyone can get laid at a Kiss show 3 stars
9/07/99 Chet Patel I felt ripped off after I saw this piece of shit,and I did not even pay for it. 1 stars
8/27/99 Ah Dooey If you hate this, you're not as tough as you think. Only Spiceworld: The Movie is worse. 5 stars
8/21/99 Vampyre9mm I'm not a big KISS fan, but I dug this movie. Killer Soundtrack!!! 4 stars
8/16/99 danimal i loved this look at the 70's. made me remember a lot! 5 stars
8/16/99 mason a boneheaded classic , in league with meatballs and porkeys (not to mention satan) 5 stars
8/14/99 mara funny even if you're not a KISS mega-fan 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Aug-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Adam Rifkin

Written by
  Carl Dupre

Cast
  Edward Furlong
  James DeBello
  Sam Huntington
  Giuseppe Andrews
  Lin Shaye
  KISS



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast