More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.09

Awesome: 11.59%
Worth A Look31.88%
Average: 23.19%
Pretty Bad: 20.29%
Total Crap: 13.04%

5 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Annie (2014) by Peter Sobczynski

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Midsummer Night's Dream, A (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by jules

"Shakespeare goes sitcom"
2 stars

The only reason this movie didn't suck is because it couldn't possibly ruin one of the best scripts ever written. But they made a good try at it.

When I saw previews for this film last year I thought "this is my favourite Shakespeare piece, please don't let them fuck it up".

Well, they didn't quite fuck it up, but they tried.

This movie is entertaining because the original script is clever and fun, but the film added nothing to the genius of Shakespear, merely trivialized and perverted it.

The casting was HORRIBLE, not one of the actors felt in place, even Kline. Michelle Pfeifer was so bad I had to close my eyes and go "lalalala" until her scenes were over. Cute lady yes, but shakespearean actress she is not.

And cod almighty, Tucci as Puck? Didn't work for one second.

The production was weak too, boring sets, and the costumes were really lame. I expected a tall thin blue skinned Oberon dressed in fine silks and vines and instead we got a frat boy in a toga. Even Titania's costumes were awful. And what's with all the fat sprites?

The setting was dumb. The makers of this film tried to cash in on the "Shakespeare set in non-elizabethean setting" trend, but what they picked was rediculous. First off, what was it with all the italian opera and english hunting dogs in athens? And come on, the only way that a non-elizabethean setting works is if the story can be believable in the new setting. Richard III did this beautifully, even Romeo and Juliet was a perfect match, but to have a death penalty for marrying against your father's wishes in 19th century england, the suspense of disbelief gets suspended... They should have set it in turkey, or pre-constantinople rome, or damn it, in greece like it was supposed to be...

What else, the camera work was pretty bad, some scenes were decidedly out of focus. Midsummer's Night should have been a colorful, magical film, but it was kinda dreary and, well, cheap.

Finally, that farce at the end (the play within a play which in the original script was funny enough) was far too long, and completely redesigned for stupid movie goers who wanted to see Water Boy and accidently stumbled into a Shakespear movie.

I changed my mind, they did fuck it up.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1572&reviewer=57
originally posted: 06/07/99 18:06:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/24/14 ltyyzyzv USA 4 stars
4/20/10 brian Now that the mindless children have spoken, let me just say that it's gorgeous. 4 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White You have to like Shakespeare to get thru it 3 stars
9/09/07 someone I loved Calista Flockhart as Helena she was ausom but the rest SUCKED!!! 2 stars
4/15/07 grenda larindi its was one of the best films i ever saw!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/15/05 Fred it was very crap 1 stars
3/17/05 JLI This movie is fantastic! 5 stars
1/25/05 Cat Play was Great 4 stars
11/07/04 Stephen Now IT SUCKED 1 stars
9/05/04 DM Great play, bad movie 2 stars
6/15/04 R V Warden Could not enjoy it 2 stars
6/03/04 saman this movie sucked 1 stars
5/30/04 Erica cum on- calista flockhart was gud! 3 stars
4/03/04 Shitaki Mushrooms WHat tha shit was the movie about? Had no idea, cause it was fucked ^! 1 stars
3/30/04 Ashley Daily This movie had a wonderful fantasy air to it that we haven't seen in awhile! 4 stars
1/25/04 Elena BLEAH! GAR-BAHGE! Calista Flockhart ruined the entire, boring, defiling of Shakespeare film 1 stars
1/16/04 Gecko Fanfoot Kevin Kline is the bright spot in this turd. Michelle Pfeifer should get the death penalty 1 stars
5/19/03 salice it doesnt make sense!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/30/02 Pig Fucker Possibly the most underrated movie ever. Lots of magic (and fantastic acting) at work here 5 stars
7/25/02 Zargo nice 4 stars
3/16/02 joe this is the most fuckin shities book ever 1 stars
1/30/02 chester nabrasker good nudity 1 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden I Liked The Book, but Couldnt' Connect To This. 2 stars
5/08/01 Gracy Lionheart I loved Much Ado About Nothing and Taming Of The Shrew, but this didn't float my boat. 2 stars
6/25/00 Naushad Khanji Directors should not waste time translating dated 16th century plays. 2 stars
3/08/00 Kyle Broflovski My favorite Shakespeare play, aside from "Hamlet" 4 stars
12/22/99 Goodfellow A wondrous movie, bottomlessly mirthful and entertaining. A masterpiece 5 stars
8/18/99 Franco Ugazzi 5 stars
8/01/99 Blue sky I loved Kevin Kline as Bottom 5 stars
7/30/99 Thantalos beautifull castle setting, origninal dialog worked better than "R&J in LA gangs" 5 stars
7/10/99 Amanda A relatively good take on one of my favorites. The sets in the Faery Forest are exquisite. 4 stars
7/09/99 bridgette eh... good at times, boring at others. 3 stars
6/10/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Great,solid acting......but lame........sorry shakespeariens! 2 stars
6/08/99 Lashan Lynn I liked it. I saw it with a girl, and it was and is a great DATE movie. Not great, but good 4 stars
6/07/99 jules fucking lame! 2 stars
5/28/99 Feral Completely forgettable yet enjoyable fluff with intermittently solid acting. 4 stars
5/28/99 pipeman I really enjoyed this film. It was beautifully done. MichelleP was only adequate though. 5 stars
5/17/99 Mr Showbiz Not for lack of talent, Hoffman's adaptation is joyless and uninspired. 3 stars
5/15/99 Bats Don't expect high-tech effects, just some solid acting from most of the cast. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-May-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-May-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast