More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome: 21.38%
Worth A Look32.41%
Average: 18.62%
Pretty Bad: 7.59%
Total Crap: 20%

7 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Forces Of Nature
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"'Forces Of Nature' Blows Like A Raging Hurricane!"
1 stars

I have three words to describe this film - ALL WASHED UP! 'Forces Of Nature' was like 'Speed' only with worse writing and more romance. Sandra Bullock and Ben Affleck what where you thinking?? You have both come so far, only to land in a movie so pathetically bad that it is not even worth the time that I am taking to discuss it. But alas, I am a reviewer…so here goes. Had I known how bad this one would have been, I think, I almost would have passed up seeing it. Not even Ben Affleck's strip sequence could hold my attention for long. 'Forces Of Nature' seemingly blew all over the screen in a random array of cinematic cliches and effects.

The plot, which can be summed up as lame and pretty much non-existent, I will explain here. Ben (Ben Affleck - that's right his name is the same in the movie) has three days to get from New York to Savannah to his wedding. It seems that Ben is somehow afflicted with Murphy's Law at every turn and stupid plot twist throughout the movie. Murphy's Law states that anything that can go wrong - indefinitely will. Sarah (Sandra Bullock) and Ben end up as traveling partners who seem to take the wrong train, get involved with the wrong people, and in every scene seem to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

The only continuously good aspect of this film, was the music. From the opening credits with the Propellerheads, the music was the one thing that I could rely on. While the plot, dialogue, and story pretty much seemed to stink like trash, there was one more element saving the movie from absolute bombville. The visual affects were absolutely stunning and possibly the neatest thing that I have seen in a picture today. If only they could have saved this technology for a good script that would have truly been an enjoyable movie. The rain and hail storms and then the oh so climatic hurricane ending scene were slowed down so that you see each and every rain drop or ball of hail fall from the sky and then hit the earth. Imagine a rainstorm in slow motion, but with the people moving at full speed and you will kind of have the idea.

The rest of the cast attempted to be the comic relief, but only a few of them actually succeeded. Maura Tierney was Ben's bride to be, Bridget. Fans will recognize her as Lisa from NBC's 'NewsRadio.' Steve Zahn who is magical in almost everything he does as Alan, Ben's best man. Zahn's most memorable role to date is the stoner from 'Out of Sight.' Rounding out the notable cast members are Blythe Danner and Ronny Cox as Bridget's parents. Yes, that's right Danner is Ben's ex-flame Gyneth Paltrow's mother. She has guest starred several times on the 'X-Files' TV series as well as the movie. Cox can be remembered from the movie 'Murder at 1600' and the HBO miniseries 'From the Earth to the Moon.'

Of course I saved the best or worst for last, depending on how you look at it. This movie happened to hit my biggest pet peeve right on the head. I did not appreciate the three-minute advertisement for 'K-Mart' in the middle of the movie. It was obviously just thrown in there as a big huge plug for them. What, did they do the catering for the movie set, what gives? I should not surprised however as none of the other plot elements make much sense either. This was just one more thing thrown into the great big hodge-podge pot that the writers called the script. I would not even recommend this movie to my worst enemy, it is just too much torture for one person to bear. Hopefully I will have recovered by next week in time to write my next article.

If you do however want to see a movie with Sandra or Ben go ahead and rent one. Pick your poison, either 'Hope Floats,' 'Love Potion No. 9,' or 'While You Were Sleeping' if you have a hankering to see Sandra Bullock. If you are afflicted by Ben Affleck as I am, go check out where he got his beginnings in 'Chasing Amy' or 'Mallrats' both directed by Kevin Smith, or see the film for which he and Matt Damon got their Oscars 'Good Will Hunting.' Whatever you do, don't waste your time on 'Forces Of Nature,' they should set up big orange cones and it label it a disaster flick for more than just its content.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1586&reviewer=88
originally posted: 04/22/99 07:16:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/18/10 PAUL SHORTT TREADBARE, WITLESS COMEDY 1 stars
10/08/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
8/30/07 Lilly i watched it every time it i know it will be shown on the tv. A movie that has it all! 5 stars
5/23/06 Ashley Hinz I didn't like it. Ben and Sandy together was interesting, however. 3 stars
4/20/05 Jeff Anderson Hopelessly bad, unfunny & absolutely poorly made(Elliot Davis' camerawork is unattractive)! 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin didn't like. period 2 stars
6/05/03 Shadaan Felfeli loved the film 5 stars
3/19/03 Gracy Lionheart This movie, while not awful, is fairly close to that label. No sparks fly here. 2 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby The two stars are unbearable; the photography is ugly; the film is a catastrophe. 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake This was most romantic movie of the year. 5 stars
2/09/02 Adrienne Waters Typical Sandra Bullock drivel, immensely unpleasant. 1 stars
11/25/01 Butterbean I only watched this for Ben Affleck's fine looking ass. This flick is watchable.. 3 stars
6/23/01 Justin Cheung Sandra is the best! 5 stars
4/16/01 LiL Good, but the ending was predictable and a bit dissapointing 3 stars
7/25/00 Elvisfan Aside from some nice cinematography, this movie blows goats 2 stars
4/26/00 verbalgirl cute 4 stars
4/13/00 Fishsticks One of those romantic comedies that doesn't embarass itself too much. 4 stars
3/13/00 Trina Barnard Good enough that I bought it 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Good buildup to a truly shitty ending. Bah. 3 stars
10/04/99 Britney Very cool movie...Great actors! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tristynn not that great.. kind of fun... Ben is good and Sandy does an okay job.. bad plot.. 3 stars
9/19/99 vickie Very entertaining, light fare 4 stars
7/28/99 Gina Movie was a bore! I guess they're showing it on flights to Moscow to help passengers sleep 1 stars
7/06/99 Angie if it wasn't for the ending this movie would've sucked all ass..bullock looked like a whore 3 stars
7/03/99 blue b. I'm a huge Ben fan, but I found this movie to be a waste of time. 2 stars
6/21/99 EmpresS I lub those Afflecks, the movie was annoying though 3 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Affleck looked tired and uninterested through out the movie 1 stars
6/16/99 Kim Great Actors, great movie. 5 stars
6/15/99 Melissa just go to see Affleck...he's very believeable in this role, a fine performance 4 stars
6/15/99 Sally BORE, SNOOZE, YAWN! Ben's cool! Movie sucks! 1 stars
6/15/99 jes ben affleck, all the way 5 stars
5/28/99 Ferggie WHAT A SNOOZE!!! 1 stars
5/21/99 Mike Hunt Not only did the ending BLOW, but so did the entire film! 1 stars
5/20/99 Carisa Bullock and Affleck 5 stars, movie 3 stars 4 stars
5/17/99 Beat_Me_Clever This fucking rocked, Ben is DA MAN 5 stars
5/13/99 Jeffie Can you say SNOOZE? If you have insomnia, u certainly won't be afflicted during this film! 1 stars
5/11/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Bullock/Affleck both drool worthy/great FX and a realistic ending. 4 stars
5/10/99 GG Story SUCKS ALL ASS! What a BORE! Too bad for Affleck and Bullock. 1 stars
5/03/99 JJ Get over Affleck already -He's hung up on Gwen!! IT SUCKED 1 stars
4/30/99 Tristynn very disappointing...Ben and Sandra I love,but this movie is a snooze.to bad.see it for Ben 4 stars
4/30/99 Lisa It was fun--nothing more. That's not always bad. 4 stars
4/28/99 George Like Affleck & Bullock. But this SUCKED and BLEW! God-awful writing, directing, etc. 1 stars
4/28/99 Red See this one for Affleck and Bullock. It's sad that the story didn't live up to the hype. 3 stars
4/27/99 Angie once again, Ben looked sexy, but the movie wasn't too great. Sandra was awful! 3 stars
4/25/99 aoakely13 "awesome movie, okay ending" 4 stars
4/24/99 sweet lady!!! Ben was so hot, Id like to give my own force of nature! 5 stars
4/24/99 gibb Piss on Ben. Thsi movie was slow and dull 1 stars
4/23/99 Anabell I loved it,it was sweet, funny, and wonderfully acted (ahem, ben). The ending made sense 5 stars
4/23/99 Jessica Jordan Interesting concept for a film. Separately Ben 4 stars
4/20/99 Lovebug Disappointing. Sandra and Ben are good but the movie doesn't really flow. 3 stars
4/20/99 sonia Forces of nature rocked. It was funny, sweet and the ending kind of caught me off guard. 5 stars
4/19/99 Ben Like "Planes, Trains and Automobiles" ONLY this sucked!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/19/99 Kristyne What a pussy review. Why not give those involved with the film a hand job to go along with 3 stars
4/18/99 Jennie I love it, especially the ending! Ben Affleck is such a fantastic actor and cute. 4 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread Ben is on the way to superstardom. I love Sandy 4 stars
4/14/99 Michelle It's nice to see a "romantic comedy" that doesn't stick to the proven formula - good ending 4 stars
4/13/99 Shanda Besler Although I thought Ben and Sandra were great...the movie lacked "something" for me. 3 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Sorry.. love Ben and Sandra but this movie is a snooze ..come on Ben, you can do better... 3 stars
4/09/99 Randall The ending wasn't a cop-out. i went into this movie with low expectations, but i was wrong 5 stars
4/09/99 Heidi Pressly Great Movie! Ben and Sandra were awsome. 5 stars
4/09/99 Me A must see for any Ben Affleck fan. He looked amazing! 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy movie sucked, but Bullock looks hot with that black shit around her eyes 2 stars
4/08/99 Daun Harner Great movie! Ben and Sandra were great together! 5 stars
4/08/99 Dave Maura needs to stick with "news Radio" Not a movie star she SUCKED and was boring 1 stars
4/08/99 sweet lady!!! I wanna fuck ben so hard!!! 5 stars
4/07/99 E. SMITH YOU EITHER GET IT OR YOU DON'T. THE ENDINGS PERFECT! 5 stars
4/07/99 Jocelyn J. two great actors working with an OK script, all in all a good movie but not up for a oscar 4 stars
4/07/99 lianesse ben--mmm, funny, uplifting 5 stars
4/06/99 LR Really a good movie, whether you have a date or not! Loved the ending! 4 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie OK, so I'm in love with Ben, but this movie was awesome. 5 stars
4/03/99 Jerry This gets two bitchslaps 1 stars
4/03/99 Kate I loved the ending. Ben Affleck has great comic skills. 5 stars
3/31/99 Erin I really liked it but the ending was a downer!!! 4 stars
3/30/99 Heather Loy Definetely drool worthy!! Ben is absolutely looking his best in this modern day love story! 5 stars
3/30/99 CM Affleck SPFX were incredible and so was Ben. It was a cute movie that i would definatly see again. 5 stars
3/29/99 Michael Ms.Bullock you ought to be ashamed of this movie 1 stars
3/29/99 Patti I love this movie. Ben is what I call "whole package sexy." 5 stars
3/29/99 Chuck not good, the plane should crashed woulda saved an hour and a half of lame dialogue 1 stars
3/29/99 mike Microphones in every shot. Affleck is getting Gwyneth's mom work now-sucked 1 stars
3/29/99 Kenda Ben played himself. Sandra played herself. Much better than I expected, though. 4 stars
3/29/99 Ebert's twin Miserable piece of crap. SAVE YOUR MONEY PEOPLE! 1 stars
3/28/99 Katie Visuals are awesome, story is okay, Ben is a cutie. 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Did maura Tierney forget that she wasen't playing lisa??? Sandra was Great! 4 stars
3/28/99 Shanandler Bong Ben was great as a guy in Love, and Sandy was great as a free spirit 5 stars
3/27/99 Lisa Great leads in a decent movie. SPFX oddly overwhelm key emotional scenes. 3 stars
3/26/99 Shel My only complaint was that Big Ben did not remove enough clothes during his strip. 5 stars
3/26/99 Jade generic, predictable movie, but Affleck and Bullock show great acting-worth it to see them 4 stars
3/26/99 Valerie Three words:Ben Affleck Stripping 5 stars
3/25/99 Jackie(schultj@csd.uwm.edu) I laughed harder during the strip scene then I have in ages,But.... Can't WAIT for Dogma!! 4 stars
3/25/99 Powrhug loved the ending-Ben was charming as usual-he and Sandra seemed more brother-sister though 4 stars
3/24/99 Jeff Ben Affleck shows the 2nd step to greatest following Chasing AMY 5 stars
3/23/99 Malbert Sandra Bullock&Ben Affleck were great!...the music didn't go with the movie 4 stars
3/22/99 Marjorie The movie was okay - would like to see Ben in a more challenging role 3 stars
3/22/99 Ah Dooey Sandra Bullock?! Agh! I'd rather throw up for this! 4 stars
3/22/99 Alexis Very enjoyable, I loved the ending. 5 stars
3/21/99 Ali excellent chemistry, and the strip scene was hilariously funny!! 5 stars
3/21/99 Kevin Knapp A waste $6.50 in my oppinion! A definate "chick flick" - No offense 1 stars
3/20/99 Film Review Well,Creep,you have to count Armageddon.That was A+.This is very entertaining as well. 4 stars
3/20/99 Cool thing Didn't hate it, and for a Bullock film that's amazing. 4 stars
3/20/99 lianesse ben=sex 5 stars
3/20/99 Orgazmo A dumb, insiped piece of my dog's shit. 1 stars
3/20/99 MissMod okay 4 stars
3/18/99 Negative Creep Funny in all the right places. Could be Ben's Breakthough film if you dont count Armageddon 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  07-May-1999

Australia
  06-May-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast