More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.97

Awesome: 18.66%
Worth A Look: 17.7%
Average: 21.53%
Pretty Bad26.32%
Total Crap: 15.79%

9 reviews, 155 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Spider-Man 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by W. Scott Gordon

"Spiderman 3 Spins Tangled Web, Catches too Many Flies"
2 stars

By overpopulating the landscape with enemies and eschewing the economy of story and character that made Spiderman and Spiderman 2 so wonderful, Raimi & co. have ensnared the wall-crawler deep within his own web with no possibility of escape.

Both 2002ís Spiderman and its stupendous sequel featured classic battles between our friendly neighborhood Spiderman and a particular villain who hated him and the world, always against the backdrop of Peter Parkerís very human relationship with that villainís ordinary counterpart. In Norman Osborn/Green Goblin (Willem Dafoe) and Otto Octavius/Doctor Octopus (Alfred Molina), Peter found father figures of sorts. That both men are misguided and thus, much lesser men than his Uncle Ben, provides the compass of his continuous quest to better himself.

In the world of Spiderman 3, Peter lacks such a compassóhis male role models are a nerdy physics professor and Daily Bugle editor J. Jonah Jameson, who just yells at him as usual. It seems that this lack of stewardship has made Peter quite the fancy-pantsóinstead of waxing philosophical about responsibility, this time heís reveling overly much in the celebrity that comes with being Spiderman. On top of that, things are going sour with MJ (Kirsten Dunst), an alien symbiote is messing with Spideyís mojo, Harryís still pissed (I mean, like, he could become Goblin Junior at any moment pissed) about his fatherís death, Peterís fighting with some guy named Eddie Brock (Topher Grace) at the Daily Bugle, and the police may have found Uncle Benís real killer, Flint Marko (Thomas Haden Church). Who, itís worth noting, actually turns into a car-crunching sand-monster at one point. If Iíve lost anybody, I sincerely apologizeóeven as a die-hard Spidey fan, I had trouble keeping up with the number of plot threads culled from decades of comic-book history and shoehorned, willy-nilly, into the story.

It follows that convoluted stories need convoluted characters to serve their ends, and Spiderman 3 certainly provides on this front. For example, although Flint Marko has been identified as Uncle Benís killer, a brief scene of him sneaking in from prison to visit his sick daughter is supposed to win our sympathies. A fugitive on the run, he stops in to tell his family that he will get the money to make her well again. ďIím not a bad personĀEíve just had bad luck,ĀEhe says soulfully. As Marko then stumbles into what has to be the only open ďParticle Physics Testing FacilityĀEin all of New York, thus transforming into The Sandman, I thought to myself, ďWell, I should say so.ĀEWe are supposed to feel sad for him, and for a brief moment, we doóuntil he starts knocking people around with his big, grainy fists and yelling. Wouldnít it be easier just to flatten himself, slide in under the bank security cameras, and push the money out on a wave of sand? Smarter idea, but yeahóno movie then. So we donít love Markoís character, but we donít hate him eitheróUncle Benís death was dealt with in the first two films, and Markoís part in it feels just as it really isóadded to serve the story rather than an organic part of it.

Ringing equally false is the inclusion of Eddie Brock, a rival photographer out for the ultimate Spider-scoop and thus, Peterís job. When Peter gives Eddie the equivalent of a deserved ďde-pantingĀEon the adult playground, Eddie becomes angry enough to enter a Catholic church, ďhumbled and humiliated, to ask just one thing of you, Lordóhelp me find a way to kill Peter Parker!ĀESince Harry Osborn has always believed Peter/Spiderman to be the instrument of his fatherís death, coming from him that line might carry some weight storywise. Issuing from Eddieís petulant, That 70ís Show lips, it just sounds whiney. The fact that he is then provided with his tool of vengeance only seconds later, becoming the foaming anti-Spiderman (called Venom in comic-lore) via an alien parasite, was probably supposed to be funny or ironic or something. I just thought, good thing this alien parasite didnít land near the Particle Physics Testing Facility at the same time Marko didóthen weíd have a disgruntled, sandy, not to mention really spidery thing to deal with. Whew, that was close. Sandman and Venom do eventually join forces against Spiderman, of courseóplease donít ask me how or why.

Amid all the ballyhoo, itís a wonder that any of the three central characters receive any attention at all. After getting bad reviews on Broadway (which would parallel the reviews Mrs. Dunst is getting for this movie, I suspect), MJ spends the majority of the picture crying into her microphone. Peter, whoís too busy absorbing the cityís admiration of Spidey, doesnít really seem to care. Heóor Tobey Maguire, I canít tell whichóseems distracted somehow. McGuire is still stellar as Peter, but has more fun playing with Peterís darker side (another contrived plot point) than he does tackling his natural evolution as a character.

Even Harry Osbornís inevitable fall into darkness, journey toward redemption, and reconciliation with Peter/Spiderman, which in itself could have formed the perfect bookend to the trilogy, is here handled in a slapdash fashion. Youíll have to be alert to catch the impetus for Harryís change of heart toward his erstwhile friend, for I guarantee that you will not and cannot anticipate it. In another film, such inability to guess might indicate intricate plotting; here, itís just bad writing.

I've heard the theme this time around had something to do with ďredemptionĀEand ďforgivenessĒóbecause I saw the movie in Japan, Iím still trying to decide whether to forgive the producers for fleecing me out of eighteen bucks!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15898&reviewer=406
originally posted: 08/21/08 22:50:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell overstuffed but good IMHO 4 stars
3/29/16 Aj wales Underated when looking back. Begining was flat compared to 2. Compared to newer movies it w 5 stars
9/02/14 Dude Wow they really fucked up 1 stars
7/19/13 Joe the plumber what the hell was that? 1 stars
6/30/13 Neil i really cant believe sam did this 2 stars
2/02/13 Kcaj Ive lost faith in humanity 2 stars
8/19/12 11 not enough venom 2 stars
8/09/12 Kcaj too much going on for one movie and too many cheesy parts. Im sorry spidey... 3 stars
7/01/12 cr a good sequel with good effects and villians. good 3 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC if this isn't the most wackest super hero films, I don't know what is... 1 stars
9/11/10 zenny tragically awful. At least 3 half-ass movies in one 2 stars
6/12/09 Nick Seemed like I was watching something from the 60's 2 stars
4/02/09 Dane Youssef Uneven, but not as bad as reputation proceeds. The cast is as great as ever, though. 4 stars
1/25/09 Samantha Pruitt pure cheese, Topher Grace was awesome though, there are some really funny parts. 4 stars
11/21/08 KB5 Not my favorite, wish I had waited for the DVD renatal 3 stars
10/27/08 Michael M Too long and the plot was a little too complex with three villains. Mildy entertaining. 3 stars
10/25/08 Gloria D. It was pretty good for a sequel, entertaining 3 stars
10/01/08 Danny I thought this wasn't all that bad...certainly a good villain setup, except Sandman 4 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
9/12/08 DW Smith What a waste of a perfectly good villian. 2 stars
8/22/08 black_queen_marches completely overrated. too much crying, too many villians. what a waste 1 stars
6/21/08 David V Good action scenes but too much crying, dancing, and overacting. 3 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT DECENT ENOUGH 3 stars
2/02/08 Pote Was somewhat bored by 1 & 2 but enjoyed this more, despite some bad editing and progression 4 stars
1/26/08 man weakest of the series but still enjoyable 5 stars
1/24/08 Charles Tatum Fantastic, the best of the series 5 stars
1/18/08 X Wang Entertaining, action movie - don't take the cheesy humor too seriously 4 stars
12/28/07 Taylor Fladgate Whoa...bad acting, bad script...what a waste. Hated it. 1 stars
12/15/07 zenny such a sad waste... 2 stars
12/08/07 Milky Joe Cringe worthy - parituclarly the scenes where Peter Parker turns "bad". Too many villains 2 stars
11/27/07 dude underrated 5 stars
10/18/07 Beau Not as good as first two, but somehow was half decent! still worth seeing 3 stars
10/03/07 wall dude!!! I love it 5 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Good sin/redemption/forgiveness story, but overacting disappoints. 1 & 2 are better. 4 stars
9/17/07 David Pretty good but still a littledisappointing. 3 stars
9/14/07 dude underrated 5 stars
9/08/07 Indian dude worst spiderman movie ever. This movie was soap opera between Peter Parker and Mary Jane 1 stars
8/07/07 ravenmad since when did movie franchises start selling AXE deodorant spray? 3 stars
7/14/07 MaDmAN Huge disappointment way too much going on 3 stars
7/11/07 VIVEK KRISHNAN VERY BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD! 1 stars
7/03/07 William Goss Overstuffed and underrewarding. 2 stars
7/02/07 spider2.0 One of the best movies this year.Disagree? take it with venom 5 stars
6/30/07 Mr.Jiggy The Movie is good, could be better though. The end gives alone a reason to watch it twice! 5 stars
6/23/07 Bob loves to lick nob Yo with an increase in the violent content that's what makes it a Great film 5 stars
6/17/07 Ron Newbold Ok but disappointing - Too many villians and a weak resolution 3 stars
6/11/07 Kyle What a con!!! It was really painful to watch such atrocity 1 stars
6/11/07 Total Crap PIECE OF SHIT!!! Don't believe anyone who gives this 5 stars! It Absolutely sucks! 1 stars
6/10/07 Alice Boy this sucked ! Liked 1 and 2 by the way. 1 stars
6/09/07 Harry Mediocre 1 stars
5/30/07 ES The movie starts brilliantly but it's all down hill after the dance routine 2 stars
5/28/07 pin Uh, why all the face time? Wear the masks. Hob-Goblin = "New-Goblin?" 3 stars
5/28/07 Jason it was a good movie, it was just different from the other two 5 stars
5/27/07 Ms_ArtGeek too many villains, too many plots & plot holes, too much weeping. sorry to say, it's crap. 2 stars
5/26/07 Mike Not as great as first 2 SM's but still a sweet movie!!! 5 stars
5/25/07 Desperado Plays like an infomerical about forgiving an being nice, yet its stupid, really stupid 1 stars
5/25/07 ebert great 5 stars
5/24/07 runes one pretty wack film guys....too emo 2 stars
5/23/07 Simone I understand your POV David, but I really enjoyed Spiderman 3 4 stars
5/21/07 Anthony Feor The worst exuse for a superhero movie. Utterly dissapointed! 2 stars
5/19/07 Snail Pretty darn entertaining. Venom...wasn't Venom though. 5 stars
5/19/07 Koitus The only scene I hated was the musical number. Otherwise, thought it was good. 4 stars
5/18/07 johnnyfog If the other 2 movies didn't exist, people might enjoy it more. Too much Sandman! 4 stars
5/17/07 Marlena This movie was way too over-hyped. It didn't live up to all the advertising. 4 stars
5/16/07 Richard A rather complicated assembly line for producing a somewhat more mature Peter Parker 4 stars
5/15/07 967 It's not a bad movie, it's just been overshadowed by the other ones. Needs more Venom tho. 3 stars
5/15/07 doom By far best movie and yes ppl who gave this a 1, 2 etc are retarts 5 stars
5/14/07 Total Crap An overhyped montage of super-villians and with too much plot-holes. It killed the series. 2 stars
5/14/07 Jim "Jeeze, you know, that information might have been a little more useful to me yesterday." 2 stars
5/13/07 Galderak Sad thing is this movie still made a lot of money, and people will see it as a success 1 stars
5/13/07 Uncle Salty terrible. simply terrible 1 stars
5/12/07 Vince Too poorly put together, too many plot holes 2 stars
5/12/07 Escobar There is more to a movie than special effects, THIS MOVIE SUCKS! 1 stars
5/12/07 Bradford BRUCE CAMPBELL!!! SWEET SPECIAL EFFECTS TOO!! 5 stars
5/11/07 Seanz0rz What a fucking horrible movie. And who noticed Harry's lazy eye? 1 stars
5/11/07 Tiffany Losco Good special effects, but to much going on. I love MJ 4 stars
5/11/07 Thelonius Bruce Campbell saved this crappy movie from being a 1 star 2 stars
5/11/07 mr.mike not the best , but not as bad as you've heard 3 stars
5/11/07 Dave S. Pompellini, you are an idiot. this movie was BEYOND BAD. Worst I have seen in many years. 1 stars
5/10/07 gn2plad well theres two hours of my life ill never get back 1 stars
5/10/07 Jonny bad progression 3 stars
5/08/07 Nash EPIC. 5 stars
5/08/07 venom666 go kill yourself Ian, along with other naysayers - best movie ever!! venom rules!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/08/07 Kisuta Too much going on 3 stars
5/08/07 tyler Terrible: the best part was the Harry Potter and Pirates trailers! 1 stars
5/08/07 David Kimble Disappointed in the movie, but still liked some of the special effects 4 stars
5/08/07 Jeffoi Spider-man is not emo, MJ is not fugly, and Venom is not a weakl simpleton. Blasphemy! 2 stars
5/08/07 Namons The butler cleaned the wound to find the piece of glider that's all he said 4 stars
5/08/07 movieman awesome 5 stars
5/08/07 Ian I'm still in utter disbelief, how did such an awesome movie end up being total crap? 1 stars
5/07/07 Steve People were laughing at it during my screening, a megaplex mess 2 stars
5/07/07 Tony forget the comics-but not the web. spiderman 3 rocks! 5 stars
5/07/07 Tracey Chambers nots as good as I thought it would be. first two much better 3 stars
5/07/07 huong caitlin nguyen great special effects, but loose plot, bad script, too long 2 stars
5/07/07 sam no superhero should ever have a DOUBLE CHIN! wtf, tubby macguire? 1 stars
5/07/07 Christopher Utter Disappointment. 1 stars
5/07/07 Dissenter TERRIBLE! The only thing that saved me from leaving were the hot babes inthe movie!! 1 stars
5/07/07 Jiz Too many plot threads with too little development. Not a BAD movie, but far below 1 and 2. 3 stars
5/07/07 Mel reminds me of Godfather 3; if there was no #1 and #2 , #3 would have been ok... 3 stars
5/07/07 somebody too much male crying. too many villains. the fight scenes were pretty cool... but the previ 3 stars
5/07/07 Carlos R. Guzman "Curse of #3"hit Batman/Supes/Xmen hard; only stings SM3 a bit-more Gwen&Lizard in #4!!! 4 stars
5/07/07 Paul It wasn't as great, but still really good. Certainly better than what people are saying. 4 stars
5/07/07 Serpen Phlox Sam, not only destroyed Venom, Spiderman franchise is death too 2 stars
5/07/07 Mark Neace This movie does not suck AT ALL, it's a great film... People are too critical, I loved it. 5 stars
5/07/07 Amy Shipway correct me if im worng but werent the x-men team doing superman instead of x-3? 1 stars
5/07/07 Captain Highcrime Look carefully at the female extras: there isn't a woman over 30 walking the streets in NYC 4 stars
5/07/07 Vampt Vo Fun for Spidey fans, but the pacing is off and there are too many stories crammed in here. 4 stars
5/07/07 Dumstein bad bad, couldn't be any worse than this. Hopefully they make it up in the 4th movie... 1 stars
5/07/07 Vik very cheesy and unbearable to watch at times..raimi should quit the franchise now 1 stars
5/07/07 Stephen Not as good as it could have been, lacked focus and too rushed. 3 stars
5/07/07 noops never upto the expectations.. 2 stars
5/07/07 Jeff Anderson The worst of the 3. Overproduced, desperate & no fun at all. Sam Raimi's BETTER THAN THIS!! 1 stars
5/06/07 Marty yes it's highly fictional but c'mon s3, at least try to make SOME sense. terrible. 2 stars
5/06/07 KingNeutron MJ acted like a total idiot but the film was lots of fun anyway. Venom better have survived 4 stars
5/06/07 TJ Sclafani This movie proves that Tobey McGuire has been severely miscasted as Spidey 2 stars
5/06/07 Viper Villian overload, too much male crying, Venom was completely underused as a villian. 2 stars
5/06/07 Keystra Williams The worst movie I've seen this year by far. VERY disappointing. 1 stars
5/06/07 Andrew Lame, this movie should have premiered on the lifetime channel. 3 stars
5/06/07 bullit16 Can I give less than one star? Just awful 1 stars
5/06/07 mikee SPIDDY SAYS: I Slap A ho!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
5/06/07 the wizz surely a step down from part 2 but still a good flick. I hope they make another! 4 stars
5/06/07 Todd Ugh! Good but could have been so much better. 4 stars
5/06/07 Jeff The scene with Peter "strutting" was... hard to watch. 2 stars
5/06/07 Werepanda If I wanted to see men in spandex cry I'd...wait, who wants to see that? 3 stars
5/06/07 Dark Enchantress great movie, i dont know why so many people did not like it. 5 stars
5/06/07 Ole Man Bourbon Entertaining, but what was up with the musical numbers? Dunst not too good. 4 stars
5/06/07 Matt Raimi totally mishandled one of the best subplots in the entire comic book. 2 stars
5/05/07 Jimmy Patterson a bit cluttered and weakly resolved, but increadible overall!!! 5 stars
5/05/07 Austin Wertman Terrific 5 stars
5/05/07 eddie brock best movie ever made!!!!! venom reigns supreme! 5 stars
5/05/07 Dan Best of the series. Great comic adaptation. 5 stars
5/05/07 Quigley Not as good as part 2, but awesome altogether. Mostly a hit-and-miss sequel 5 stars
5/05/07 Manny S3 IS a terrific moVie! The fight scenes are Awsome! 5 stars
5/05/07 Adam I'm trying to think of a better word, but I think "atrocious" works nicely. 1 stars
5/05/07 carlos Ferreira dominican is spider man 5 stars
5/05/07 action movie fan action! Venom! the Sandman! jeolousy it all adds up to a great part three! spidey rules aga 5 stars
5/05/07 Mick S3 is made for MALES who get their periods. 2 stars
5/05/07 malcolm no superhero movie should have a dance number 3 stars
5/05/07 John Overstuffed, yes, but still quite incredible 5 stars
5/05/07 Darren Shea As a longtime fan of Spidey's comics, I enjoyed it immensely despite its flaws. 4 stars
5/05/07 Dave Terrific 5 stars
5/05/07 Courtney The men cried way too much and the movie was just way too random. 2 stars
5/04/07 Kerk CG for Venom and the big Sandman is really terrable 3 stars
5/04/07 Steve Raimi tried to do too much! I walked out of the theater unefected and let down. 2 stars
5/04/07 jasmine Good movie, but some angles and cinematography were completely random 4 stars
5/04/07 Carlos Great popcorn movie! 5 stars
5/04/07 Dave Awesome movie. 5 stars
5/04/07 Nick Rated Spidey #1 and #2 Awesome, THIS Episode SUCKS BIGTIME 1 stars
5/04/07 spanky venom was the shiiiiit 5 stars
5/04/07 Dude Best movie ever 5 stars
5/04/07 Adrian Despite being a clutter...the action and Venom still kicked ass. 5 stars
5/04/07 Boaby Digital Tobey Maguire looks like a sex offender, he should never have been cast as Peter Parker. 2 stars
5/04/07 lyndon popcorn junkies almost drowned out the soundtrack. 5 stars
5/04/07 Pompellini Manjanik Baba+Khanji, two retard junks. They dono what they're talking. Excellent movie 5 stars
5/04/07 Manjanik Baba Yes you are spot on Khanji. Good on you mate. 1 stars
5/04/07 Khanji Just another rotten shit for the burger+coke kids who can't see beyond their nose. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-May-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Oct-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-May-2007




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast