More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.96

Awesome: 18.01%
Worth A Look: 18.01%
Average: 21.8%
Pretty Bad26.54%
Total Crap: 15.64%

9 reviews, 157 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Spider-Man 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Not the best, but a good way to kick off the summer-movie season."
4 stars

Forgiveness takes a while, so it's fitting that 'Spider-Man 3' — whose theme is forgiveness — takes a while, too. Its title is accurate: it's like three 'Spider-Man' movies in one, overstuffed with characters and plotlines that make the point that, as dear old Aunt May says, revenge is a poison.

Not content with that, director Sam Raimi gives us ... singing and dancing. Much of it is jazz standards, and a scene with dweeby Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) getting his hepcat on in a jazz club so baldly belongs in another movie that, in an odd way, it fits perfectly into this one. I enjoyed the idea of the opening-weekend throngs having to listen to jazz, of all things, when what they came to see was Spider-Man duking it out with Sandman, Venom, and the new incarnation of the Green Goblin. Spider-Man 3 combines musical comedy with comic-book tragedy, a highly unstable mix that shakes out as a weirdly intoxicating potion.

As ever, Peter has massive personal problems in addition to the weight of being Spider-Man. His relationship with aspiring actress Mary Jane Watson (Kirsten Dunst) remains poised on a knife-edge of insecurity (his) and jealousy (hers). His news-photographer gig at the Daily Bugle is endangered by a new hotshot named Eddie Brock (Topher Grace), whose model girlfriend Gwen Stacy (Bryce Dallas Howard) has a crush on Spider-Man. His former best friend Harry Osborn (James Franco) still thinks Peter killed Harry's father (Willem Dafoe's Green Goblin from the first movie), and has suited up in Dad's old duds to settle the score. Meanwhile, escaped convict Flint Marko (Thomas Haden Church) stumbles into a scientific experiment and becomes Sandman, a superhuman walking mass of sand, and a black symbiote from outer space attaches itself to Peter and eventually becomes a shiny new Spider-costume, which makes him cooler and more powerful but also more callous.

It's a Spider-Man tradition to humanize the supervillains, and Thomas Haden Church puts a sad Karloff step in his walk; his Flint Marko is driven to steal money to restore his daughter to health, and he has a way of looking sorrowful even when punching a dog. (Theresa Russell, the last actress I'd ever have expected to see in a comic-book blockbuster, plays Marko's ex-wife and, with only a few clichéd lines, makes Dunst and Howard look like callow ingenues.) Topher Grace's unethical Eddie Brock is less nuanced, and James Franco's Harry Osborn has done his Inigo Montoya bit once too often, but Sandman is a dynamic creation with and without CGI, and he's involved in the most spectacular brawls with Spidey. Sam Raimi may have spent a king's ransom on the movie, but he puts it on the screen — as in the superb Spider-Man 2, he recaptures and magnifies the thrill a kid feels when reading an action-packed comic book, specifically one from the '60s or '70s.

In a widely-hated section of the film, Peter bops down the street under the corruptive influence of the symbiote, hitting on all the ladies. Have the people who've heaped scorn on the movie's moments of levity forgotten Spider-Man's original wisecracking conception via his creator Stan Lee? (Lee has his obligatory cameo here, his most rib-nudging yet; he just about grins at the camera and brays "Hi, I'm Stan Lee.") I thought it was amusing that Peter's "dark side" manifested itself not as destructive id but as a dork's fantasy of wowing the babes; it's just another plate on this overly generous buffet table, and you can nibble from it or toss it in the trash.

If Spider-Man suffered a bit from rookie jitters (Raimi had never before been entrusted with a budget north of $100 million), and Spider-Man 2 was the ideal Spider-Man annual beautifully realized on film, Spider-Man 3 is Raimi's place to clean out his desk. He probably knows he's told enough Spidey tales, and, realizing he may never have such a huge audience again in his career, he decided to throw in everything he could in a what-the-hell spirit. Including jazz. The movie is cluttered and certainly not without flaw (some great gags, like J.K. Simmons' hilariously splenetic J. Jonah Jameson attempting to tone down his anger at his wife's behest, are forgotten about), but I followed and enjoyed its emotional throughline, where freakishly mutated men battle as much with their own souls and consciences as with each other.

It's been a fine if bumpy ride with Raimi down this corridor of Marvel Comics history, even if I'd love to see him working on something cheap and scrappily funny again. Seeing old-school Raimi stalwarts as Bruce Campbell and Raimi's brother Ted in these megabudget flicks has been entertaining, but it tends to remind us of how Raimi started out, and the sad improbability that he can go back again.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=15898&reviewer=416
originally posted: 05/07/07 08:55:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/02/14 Dude Wow they really fucked up 1 stars
5/18/14 RochellMattiello USA 4 stars
4/06/14 IvoryHouseman USA 3 stars
1/27/14 ftucbsgqft USA 2 stars
7/19/13 Joe the plumber what the hell was that? 1 stars
6/30/13 Neil i really cant believe sam did this 2 stars
2/02/13 Kcaj Ive lost faith in humanity 2 stars
8/19/12 11 not enough venom 2 stars
8/09/12 Kcaj too much going on for one movie and too many cheesy parts. Im sorry spidey... 3 stars
7/01/12 cr a good sequel with good effects and villians. good 3 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC if this isn't the most wackest super hero films, I don't know what is... 1 stars
9/11/10 zenny tragically awful. At least 3 half-ass movies in one 2 stars
6/12/09 Nick Seemed like I was watching something from the 60's 2 stars
4/02/09 Dane Youssef Uneven, but not as bad as reputation proceeds. The cast is as great as ever, though. 4 stars
1/25/09 Samantha Pruitt pure cheese, Topher Grace was awesome though, there are some really funny parts. 4 stars
11/21/08 KB5 Not my favorite, wish I had waited for the DVD renatal 3 stars
10/27/08 Michael M Too long and the plot was a little too complex with three villains. Mildy entertaining. 3 stars
10/25/08 Gloria D. It was pretty good for a sequel, entertaining 3 stars
10/01/08 Danny I thought this wasn't all that bad...certainly a good villain setup, except Sandman 4 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
9/12/08 DW Smith What a waste of a perfectly good villian. 2 stars
8/22/08 black_queen_marches completely overrated. too much crying, too many villians. what a waste 1 stars
6/21/08 David V Good action scenes but too much crying, dancing, and overacting. 3 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT DECENT ENOUGH 3 stars
2/02/08 Pote Was somewhat bored by 1 & 2 but enjoyed this more, despite some bad editing and progression 4 stars
1/26/08 man weakest of the series but still enjoyable 5 stars
1/24/08 Charles Tatum Fantastic, the best of the series 5 stars
1/18/08 X Wang Entertaining, action movie - don't take the cheesy humor too seriously 4 stars
12/28/07 Taylor Fladgate Whoa...bad acting, bad script...what a waste. Hated it. 1 stars
12/15/07 zenny such a sad waste... 2 stars
12/08/07 Milky Joe Cringe worthy - parituclarly the scenes where Peter Parker turns "bad". Too many villains 2 stars
11/27/07 dude underrated 5 stars
10/18/07 Beau Not as good as first two, but somehow was half decent! still worth seeing 3 stars
10/03/07 wall dude!!! I love it 5 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Good sin/redemption/forgiveness story, but overacting disappoints. 1 & 2 are better. 4 stars
9/17/07 David Pretty good but still a littledisappointing. 3 stars
9/14/07 dude underrated 5 stars
9/08/07 Indian dude worst spiderman movie ever. This movie was soap opera between Peter Parker and Mary Jane 1 stars
8/07/07 ravenmad since when did movie franchises start selling AXE deodorant spray? 3 stars
7/14/07 MaDmAN Huge disappointment way too much going on 3 stars
7/11/07 VIVEK KRISHNAN VERY BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD! 1 stars
7/03/07 William Goss Overstuffed and underrewarding. 2 stars
7/02/07 spider2.0 One of the best movies this year.Disagree? take it with venom 5 stars
6/30/07 Mr.Jiggy The Movie is good, could be better though. The end gives alone a reason to watch it twice! 5 stars
6/23/07 Bob loves to lick nob Yo with an increase in the violent content that's what makes it a Great film 5 stars
6/17/07 Ron Newbold Ok but disappointing - Too many villians and a weak resolution 3 stars
6/11/07 Kyle What a con!!! It was really painful to watch such atrocity 1 stars
6/11/07 Total Crap PIECE OF SHIT!!! Don't believe anyone who gives this 5 stars! It Absolutely sucks! 1 stars
6/10/07 Alice Boy this sucked ! Liked 1 and 2 by the way. 1 stars
6/09/07 Harry Mediocre 1 stars
5/30/07 ES The movie starts brilliantly but it's all down hill after the dance routine 2 stars
5/28/07 pin Uh, why all the face time? Wear the masks. Hob-Goblin = "New-Goblin?" 3 stars
5/28/07 Jason it was a good movie, it was just different from the other two 5 stars
5/27/07 Ms_ArtGeek too many villains, too many plots & plot holes, too much weeping. sorry to say, it's crap. 2 stars
5/26/07 Mike Not as great as first 2 SM's but still a sweet movie!!! 5 stars
5/25/07 Desperado Plays like an infomerical about forgiving an being nice, yet its stupid, really stupid 1 stars
5/25/07 ebert great 5 stars
5/24/07 runes one pretty wack film guys....too emo 2 stars
5/23/07 Simone I understand your POV David, but I really enjoyed Spiderman 3 4 stars
5/21/07 Anthony Feor The worst exuse for a superhero movie. Utterly dissapointed! 2 stars
5/19/07 Snail Pretty darn entertaining. Venom...wasn't Venom though. 5 stars
5/19/07 Koitus The only scene I hated was the musical number. Otherwise, thought it was good. 4 stars
5/18/07 johnnyfog If the other 2 movies didn't exist, people might enjoy it more. Too much Sandman! 4 stars
5/17/07 Marlena This movie was way too over-hyped. It didn't live up to all the advertising. 4 stars
5/16/07 Richard A rather complicated assembly line for producing a somewhat more mature Peter Parker 4 stars
5/15/07 967 It's not a bad movie, it's just been overshadowed by the other ones. Needs more Venom tho. 3 stars
5/15/07 doom By far best movie and yes ppl who gave this a 1, 2 etc are retarts 5 stars
5/14/07 Total Crap An overhyped montage of super-villians and with too much plot-holes. It killed the series. 2 stars
5/14/07 Jim "Jeeze, you know, that information might have been a little more useful to me yesterday." 2 stars
5/13/07 Galderak Sad thing is this movie still made a lot of money, and people will see it as a success 1 stars
5/13/07 Tyler Sciortino It's a mess, but in an odd way a fascinating mess. 4 stars
5/13/07 Uncle Salty terrible. simply terrible 1 stars
5/12/07 Vince Too poorly put together, too many plot holes 2 stars
5/12/07 Escobar There is more to a movie than special effects, THIS MOVIE SUCKS! 1 stars
5/12/07 Bradford BRUCE CAMPBELL!!! SWEET SPECIAL EFFECTS TOO!! 5 stars
5/11/07 Seanz0rz What a fucking horrible movie. And who noticed Harry's lazy eye? 1 stars
5/11/07 Tiffany Losco Good special effects, but to much going on. I love MJ 4 stars
5/11/07 Thelonius Bruce Campbell saved this crappy movie from being a 1 star 2 stars
5/11/07 mr.mike not the best , but not as bad as you've heard 3 stars
5/11/07 Dave S. Pompellini, you are an idiot. this movie was BEYOND BAD. Worst I have seen in many years. 1 stars
5/10/07 gn2plad well theres two hours of my life ill never get back 1 stars
5/10/07 Jonny bad progression 3 stars
5/08/07 Nash EPIC. 5 stars
5/08/07 venom666 go kill yourself Ian, along with other naysayers - best movie ever!! venom rules!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/08/07 Kisuta Too much going on 3 stars
5/08/07 tyler Terrible: the best part was the Harry Potter and Pirates trailers! 1 stars
5/08/07 David Kimble Disappointed in the movie, but still liked some of the special effects 4 stars
5/08/07 Jeffoi Spider-man is not emo, MJ is not fugly, and Venom is not a weakl simpleton. Blasphemy! 2 stars
5/08/07 Namons The butler cleaned the wound to find the piece of glider that's all he said 4 stars
5/08/07 movieman awesome 5 stars
5/08/07 Ian I'm still in utter disbelief, how did such an awesome movie end up being total crap? 1 stars
5/07/07 Steve People were laughing at it during my screening, a megaplex mess 2 stars
5/07/07 Tony forget the comics-but not the web. spiderman 3 rocks! 5 stars
5/07/07 Tracey Chambers nots as good as I thought it would be. first two much better 3 stars
5/07/07 huong caitlin nguyen great special effects, but loose plot, bad script, too long 2 stars
5/07/07 sam no superhero should ever have a DOUBLE CHIN! wtf, tubby macguire? 1 stars
5/07/07 Christopher Utter Disappointment. 1 stars
5/07/07 Dissenter TERRIBLE! The only thing that saved me from leaving were the hot babes inthe movie!! 1 stars
5/07/07 Jiz Too many plot threads with too little development. Not a BAD movie, but far below 1 and 2. 3 stars
5/07/07 Mel reminds me of Godfather 3; if there was no #1 and #2 , #3 would have been ok... 3 stars
5/07/07 somebody too much male crying. too many villains. the fight scenes were pretty cool... but the previ 3 stars
5/07/07 Carlos R. Guzman "Curse of #3"hit Batman/Supes/Xmen hard; only stings SM3 a bit-more Gwen&Lizard in #4!!! 4 stars
5/07/07 Paul It wasn't as great, but still really good. Certainly better than what people are saying. 4 stars
5/07/07 Serpen Phlox Sam, not only destroyed Venom, Spiderman franchise is death too 2 stars
5/07/07 Mark Neace This movie does not suck AT ALL, it's a great film... People are too critical, I loved it. 5 stars
5/07/07 Amy Shipway correct me if im worng but werent the x-men team doing superman instead of x-3? 1 stars
5/07/07 Captain Highcrime Look carefully at the female extras: there isn't a woman over 30 walking the streets in NYC 4 stars
5/07/07 Vampt Vo Fun for Spidey fans, but the pacing is off and there are too many stories crammed in here. 4 stars
5/07/07 Dumstein bad bad, couldn't be any worse than this. Hopefully they make it up in the 4th movie... 1 stars
5/07/07 Vik very cheesy and unbearable to watch at times..raimi should quit the franchise now 1 stars
5/07/07 Stephen Not as good as it could have been, lacked focus and too rushed. 3 stars
5/07/07 noops never upto the expectations.. 2 stars
5/07/07 Jeff Anderson The worst of the 3. Overproduced, desperate & no fun at all. Sam Raimi's BETTER THAN THIS!! 1 stars
5/06/07 Marty yes it's highly fictional but c'mon s3, at least try to make SOME sense. terrible. 2 stars
5/06/07 KingNeutron MJ acted like a total idiot but the film was lots of fun anyway. Venom better have survived 4 stars
5/06/07 TJ Sclafani This movie proves that Tobey McGuire has been severely miscasted as Spidey 2 stars
5/06/07 Viper Villian overload, too much male crying, Venom was completely underused as a villian. 2 stars
5/06/07 Keystra Williams The worst movie I've seen this year by far. VERY disappointing. 1 stars
5/06/07 Andrew Lame, this movie should have premiered on the lifetime channel. 3 stars
5/06/07 bullit16 Can I give less than one star? Just awful 1 stars
5/06/07 mikee SPIDDY SAYS: I Slap A ho!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
5/06/07 the wizz surely a step down from part 2 but still a good flick. I hope they make another! 4 stars
5/06/07 Todd Ugh! Good but could have been so much better. 4 stars
5/06/07 Jeff The scene with Peter "strutting" was... hard to watch. 2 stars
5/06/07 Werepanda If I wanted to see men in spandex cry I'd...wait, who wants to see that? 3 stars
5/06/07 Dark Enchantress great movie, i dont know why so many people did not like it. 5 stars
5/06/07 Ole Man Bourbon Entertaining, but what was up with the musical numbers? Dunst not too good. 4 stars
5/06/07 Matt Raimi totally mishandled one of the best subplots in the entire comic book. 2 stars
5/05/07 Jimmy Patterson a bit cluttered and weakly resolved, but increadible overall!!! 5 stars
5/05/07 Austin Wertman Terrific 5 stars
5/05/07 eddie brock best movie ever made!!!!! venom reigns supreme! 5 stars
5/05/07 Dan Best of the series. Great comic adaptation. 5 stars
5/05/07 Quigley Not as good as part 2, but awesome altogether. Mostly a hit-and-miss sequel 5 stars
5/05/07 Manny S3 IS a terrific moVie! The fight scenes are Awsome! 5 stars
5/05/07 Adam I'm trying to think of a better word, but I think "atrocious" works nicely. 1 stars
5/05/07 carlos Ferreira dominican is spider man 5 stars
5/05/07 action movie fan action! Venom! the Sandman! jeolousy it all adds up to a great part three! spidey rules aga 5 stars
5/05/07 Mick S3 is made for MALES who get their periods. 2 stars
5/05/07 malcolm no superhero movie should have a dance number 3 stars
5/05/07 John Overstuffed, yes, but still quite incredible 5 stars
5/05/07 Darren Shea As a longtime fan of Spidey's comics, I enjoyed it immensely despite its flaws. 4 stars
5/05/07 Dave Terrific 5 stars
5/05/07 Courtney The men cried way too much and the movie was just way too random. 2 stars
5/04/07 Kerk CG for Venom and the big Sandman is really terrable 3 stars
5/04/07 Steve Raimi tried to do too much! I walked out of the theater unefected and let down. 2 stars
5/04/07 jasmine Good movie, but some angles and cinematography were completely random 4 stars
5/04/07 Carlos Great popcorn movie! 5 stars
5/04/07 Dave Awesome movie. 5 stars
5/04/07 Nick Rated Spidey #1 and #2 Awesome, THIS Episode SUCKS BIGTIME 1 stars
5/04/07 spanky venom was the shiiiiit 5 stars
5/04/07 Dude Best movie ever 5 stars
5/04/07 Adrian Despite being a clutter...the action and Venom still kicked ass. 5 stars
5/04/07 Boaby Digital Tobey Maguire looks like a sex offender, he should never have been cast as Peter Parker. 2 stars
5/04/07 lyndon popcorn junkies almost drowned out the soundtrack. 5 stars
5/04/07 Pompellini Manjanik Baba+Khanji, two retard junks. They dono what they're talking. Excellent movie 5 stars
5/04/07 Manjanik Baba Yes you are spot on Khanji. Good on you mate. 1 stars
5/04/07 Khanji Just another rotten shit for the burger+coke kids who can't see beyond their nose. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-May-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Oct-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-May-2007




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast