More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.87

Awesome: 9.21%
Worth A Look32.89%
Average: 13.16%
Pretty Bad: 25%
Total Crap: 19.74%

13 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Leatherface (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Jay Seaver

Abracadabra by Jay Seaver

Dead Shack by Jay Seaver

Lowlife (2017) by Jay Seaver

24X36: A Movie About Movie Posters by Rob Gonsalves

War for the Planet of the Apes by Rob Gonsalves

Colossal by Rob Gonsalves

Dark Tower, The by Rob Gonsalves

Alien: Covenant by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Stigmata
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Linton Roberson

"I'd Have More To Say If This Were Actually A Movie"
1 stars

Do you want kinetic editing that looks like it was done in a Cuisinart? Do you want loud music wall-to-wall? Do you want a film about Christianity that seems to know nothing about it? Don't care for plots? This is the movie for you.

If there was something here, I could render an opinion. Let's see, Patricia Arquette, who's a bad, bad sinner because she works as a hairdresser, does the occasional drug, and sleeps around(which describes 99% of people I know), is afflicted with stigmata, and you learn this has something to do with a book, or the second coming of God or the Devil(in this movie it's hard to tell the difference), and then she starts talking like Mercedes McCambridge and then blows up real good. And not a single shot lasts more than twenty seconds, I might add.

If that sounded incomprehensible to you, keep in mind I have just described the whole plot. For me, the highlight was the Chumbawumba song at the start. Then after that....nothing. Flash and nonsense that seems to have been written by the best boy.

Just see THE EXORCIST again instead.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1610&reviewer=151
originally posted: 12/05/01 16:24:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell the exorcist 4 the m tv crowd 1 stars
7/31/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY HORROR WITH BAD PERFORMANCES 1 stars
1/15/09 FrankNFurter Overly-bashed,surprisingly entertaining "Exorcist" rip-off that's a lot of fun! 3 stars
7/31/07 Indrid Cold Gabriel Byrne apparently has a corner on this market. Why wasn't he in The Da Vinci Code? 2 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini Saw it and have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
1/22/07 David A. About halfway thru, this horror tries to become inspirational. Weak ending. 3 stars
1/01/07 del Easily one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/05/06 chris I like this movie and I think it's great. 5 stars
3/31/06 Anthony Feor i got stigmata from watching this 1 stars
9/10/05 aiza awesome.... i like the story itself.. 5 stars
8/13/05 Lily So boring. Couldn't wait for it to end. 1 stars
8/12/05 ES catholic priest stumbles on a terrible plot that proves protestants were right, oh no! 3 stars
5/31/05 yosef ilove creative dildoes 5 stars
10/04/04 Bobble Very Entertaining, gory, and far-fetched. Why all the fuss ? 4 stars
8/04/04 Mia I loved the movie and I believe that it was one of the greatest movies yet to come. 5 stars
6/18/04 Alex Bound to hit a few nerves, expect NO unbiased opinions of this movie 5 stars
5/22/04 John caveat emptor 1 stars
5/07/04 Alex Fucked up movie. The guy who derectied it was a wannabe and a dam cunt. It was offensive. 1 stars
3/18/04 Trevor Definitely one of the better films in the 90's, I hope Wainright will direct again soon! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 It was fun, and it P/O the pope 5 stars
10/17/03 Summer Very well done. Beautiful. 4 stars
8/08/03 Brandy I enjoyed this movie. Obviously, those that did not, didn't get it. 5 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung A ridiculous, inane and ignorant wanna-be scary, wanna-be 'message' movie. Pathetic. 1 stars
5/03/03 shaban very nice movie 2 stars
3/18/03 Mahdy Mazahary That Was Impressive 5 stars
9/27/02 Lee Wall Stigmata takes an old idea and makes it new...inspired and inspiring. 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Less Catholic propaganda and more plot please! 3 stars
7/01/02 R.W. Welch Curious mix of conspiracy and mysticism; squirrelly but not badly done. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Badly written story. Not much punch. 2 stars
1/17/02 Jockstud Exorcist + B Movie Script + Enigma = Stigmata 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. Starts out as horror and ends up being inspirational--go figure 4 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Dayglow, MTV, abominatrix. Balls. 1 stars
8/06/01 badfish Hello?Hollywood?We dont need any more blasphemic, unbelievable pieces of elephant feces. 1 stars
4/02/01 Joe Bova If you are aroused by lots and lots of candles and dripping water, then this is your porn. 2 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Not as idiotic as End Of Days, but rather superficial and crappy nevertheless. 2 stars
2/13/01 Jake Awful. Pathetic attempt at horror. 1 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Doesn't "suspend" your disbelief...kinda ties a noose and slips it around your neck... 3 stars
11/26/00 The Bomb 69 pleasantly surprised, wasn't expecting much but the plot was strong 5 stars
10/29/00 Mitja Podgajski The greates "antichurch" movie... i love it! 5 stars
9/05/00 Terrie Smith Byrne makes the film better than it really is; major disappointment. 3 stars
5/21/00 mellemel Pretty crappy sums it up 2 stars
5/19/00 Queer with a Brain Excellent material, poorly executed. Agnes of God better deals w/similar subject. 3 stars
4/26/00 Austin Ritter This film was an awesome look into the foolishess of the modern chuch. It makes you think. 5 stars
4/07/00 SID Entertaining, but that's it. Awful MTV-editing, and soundtrack. 3 stars
3/15/00 Chrissy T Gabriel Byrne was the only thing in this keeping me from laughing my ass off. Amusing trash 4 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall coulda been a great X-Files episode 3 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski I'm a Jew, so I'm scared of the Catholic Church, anyway 4 stars
2/11/00 James Woodman Scary (but inconsistant) shit. 4 stars
2/06/00 Frank Curigliano Dull and derivative 3 stars
1/29/00 puppyboy434@aol.com wild fun ride with catholic church as villans! 4 stars
1/26/00 Joel Harwood Freaky 5 stars
1/25/00 Italian Stallion. Great Directing...Patricia cant act for shit,ending sux..kepps u thinking though!! 4 stars
1/24/00 Phil Smith above average,value for cinema buck,quite enjoyable 4 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Corgan rules, this film doesn't. BEst part was Arquette in the hot green top in the opening 2 stars
11/15/99 Mark Damn, catholicism is creepy, I need a new religion 3 stars
10/15/99 Lame-Oh lame-ass schlock 2 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan Interesting, Binding, keeps u watching to see what the Catholics will screw up next! 4 stars
10/04/99 Holliwud I liked , I think it's worth a look 4 stars
9/29/99 Weezal316 Creepy. . .Disturbing. . .A Brillant Film 4 stars
9/26/99 Costars Redundant, hyperbolic, gross bullshit 2 stars
9/25/99 XenoWolf Alright that scene was pointless o look bloods pouring out of wrists again 2 stars
9/24/99 Tom Such a waste of time and money, should have been called Stink-mata 1 stars
9/23/99 Fork Different movie, cool concept, execution somewhat flagrant. 3 stars
9/20/99 Gunhed All style, no plot makes for one piss poor symbolic piece 'o' crap. Give me the Omen. 1 stars
9/20/99 Admiral Crunch Right on with the review, rocksolidace. Nutcase movie to be exact. 2 stars
9/16/99 ChicoWildcat Take everyone else's word and don't pay to see this train wreck. 2 stars
9/15/99 Dennis Forcier Rent 'Life of Brian' instead. 1 stars
9/14/99 Chukls When it comes to zany nutball comedy, you can't go wrong here! 1 stars
9/14/99 Elijah Stigmata = Menstruation. Nuff said. 2 stars
9/13/99 janet It made me think. Effects and soundtrack great. 4 stars
9/13/99 mason good story , rotten film 1 stars
9/13/99 Mr Showbiz An incomprehensible mess. 1 stars
9/12/99 Dr. Worm Convoluted & excruciatingly gory, alternately inducing boredom and hyperkinetic convulsions 1 stars
9/12/99 Obi Wan Something different...I was expecting too much after TBWP...but it was worth watching 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast