More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.87

Awesome: 9.21%
Worth A Look32.89%
Average: 13.16%
Pretty Bad: 25%
Total Crap: 19.74%

13 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Stigmata
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The Devil Would Have Nothing To Do With Stigmata"
1 stars

Stigmata (*) – Stigmata may be proof that the world is actually coming to an end at the stroke of midnight this year. Not because of its religious implications or any impact it may have on its audience, but for the simple truth that it may be the one film that makes me appreciate aspects of The Sixth Sense. That has to be one of the biblical signs of the Armageddon. And if you think that concept is far-fetched – I dare you to go see Stigmata.

Anyone who knows anything about the Catholic church will be smacking their heads at how stupid this movie is. Stigmata has nothing to do with satanic possession. There is eventual temptation that follows, but that doesn’t matter in this film, because it seems to make it up as it goes along. Stigmata’s traditionally have occurred to deeply religious people, but while Arquette’s character doesn’t go to Church or believe in God, it doesn’t stop her from getting the five wounds of Christ (the fifth of which is described as a spear to the stomach – now maybe I’m wrong, but through 11 years of Catholic school I was always told his chest wound was the result of his flesh tearing from Jesus being stretched on the cross). OK. Fine. But the phenomenon that occurs here looks like a satanic possession. One person in the theater even said they liked “the Satan stuff”. But there is no Satan in this movie. Arquette gets the Stigmata, but it’s because the spirit of a priest, one who had already gone through the Stigmata himself, possesses her. So why does he go through it again when inhabiting her body? And why does he make an effort to seduce Gabriel Byrne? For that matter, why do we even need the scenes where Arquette tries to court Byrne when she’s normal. Why do we even need Patricia Arquette, who has now turned in two of the worst films of the year along with Goodbye, Lover. True Romance was her crowning achievement and it’s never going to get that good again for her. There’s nothing to root for in this movie. Why should we care about her character? The stick figures in The Blair Witch Project had more personality. Gabriel Byrne does everything he can with his character. I only wished that when he discovered the truth about what’s happening to her – he finds out that she’s possessed by Keyser Soze. But that’s not to be because this is a film that has you wondering what the hell is going on and then when you find out, you think “So what?” This is another disappointing example of a genre that should work – the biblical horror film. The other most recent example, The Prophecy, where a holy war of angels takes place on Earth, suffered the same fate as Stigmata – where it opens with an interesting spooky sequence – and then has nothing left to offer except traditional genre crap and blood. I know I was in deep trouble when the creepiness and Gregorian-esque of the first scene gave way to the MTV music video that was the opening credits. The score by Billy Corgan of all people is also one of the worst of the year.

Weeks before this film came out, I had a friend (and you know who you are) who was so freaked out by the trailer (which is admittedly more freaky than the actual movie), that he refused to go see this movie. I’m happy to give him another reason entirely.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1610&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/16/00 10:22:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell the exorcist 4 the m tv crowd 1 stars
7/31/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY HORROR WITH BAD PERFORMANCES 1 stars
1/15/09 FrankNFurter Overly-bashed,surprisingly entertaining "Exorcist" rip-off that's a lot of fun! 3 stars
7/31/07 Indrid Cold Gabriel Byrne apparently has a corner on this market. Why wasn't he in The Da Vinci Code? 2 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini Saw it and have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
1/22/07 David A. About halfway thru, this horror tries to become inspirational. Weak ending. 3 stars
1/01/07 del Easily one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/05/06 chris I like this movie and I think it's great. 5 stars
3/31/06 Anthony Feor i got stigmata from watching this 1 stars
9/10/05 aiza awesome.... i like the story itself.. 5 stars
8/13/05 Lily So boring. Couldn't wait for it to end. 1 stars
8/12/05 ES catholic priest stumbles on a terrible plot that proves protestants were right, oh no! 3 stars
5/31/05 yosef ilove creative dildoes 5 stars
10/04/04 Bobble Very Entertaining, gory, and far-fetched. Why all the fuss ? 4 stars
8/04/04 Mia I loved the movie and I believe that it was one of the greatest movies yet to come. 5 stars
6/18/04 Alex Bound to hit a few nerves, expect NO unbiased opinions of this movie 5 stars
5/22/04 John caveat emptor 1 stars
5/07/04 Alex Fucked up movie. The guy who derectied it was a wannabe and a dam cunt. It was offensive. 1 stars
3/18/04 Trevor Definitely one of the better films in the 90's, I hope Wainright will direct again soon! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 It was fun, and it P/O the pope 5 stars
10/17/03 Summer Very well done. Beautiful. 4 stars
8/08/03 Brandy I enjoyed this movie. Obviously, those that did not, didn't get it. 5 stars
7/27/03 Monster W. Kung A ridiculous, inane and ignorant wanna-be scary, wanna-be 'message' movie. Pathetic. 1 stars
5/03/03 shaban very nice movie 2 stars
3/18/03 Mahdy Mazahary That Was Impressive 5 stars
9/27/02 Lee Wall Stigmata takes an old idea and makes it new...inspired and inspiring. 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Less Catholic propaganda and more plot please! 3 stars
7/01/02 R.W. Welch Curious mix of conspiracy and mysticism; squirrelly but not badly done. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Badly written story. Not much punch. 2 stars
1/17/02 Jockstud Exorcist + B Movie Script + Enigma = Stigmata 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. Starts out as horror and ends up being inspirational--go figure 4 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Dayglow, MTV, abominatrix. Balls. 1 stars
8/06/01 badfish Hello?Hollywood?We dont need any more blasphemic, unbelievable pieces of elephant feces. 1 stars
4/02/01 Joe Bova If you are aroused by lots and lots of candles and dripping water, then this is your porn. 2 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Not as idiotic as End Of Days, but rather superficial and crappy nevertheless. 2 stars
2/13/01 Jake Awful. Pathetic attempt at horror. 1 stars
2/09/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Doesn't "suspend" your disbelief...kinda ties a noose and slips it around your neck... 3 stars
11/26/00 The Bomb 69 pleasantly surprised, wasn't expecting much but the plot was strong 5 stars
10/29/00 Mitja Podgajski The greates "antichurch" movie... i love it! 5 stars
9/05/00 Terrie Smith Byrne makes the film better than it really is; major disappointment. 3 stars
5/21/00 mellemel Pretty crappy sums it up 2 stars
5/19/00 Queer with a Brain Excellent material, poorly executed. Agnes of God better deals w/similar subject. 3 stars
4/26/00 Austin Ritter This film was an awesome look into the foolishess of the modern chuch. It makes you think. 5 stars
4/07/00 SID Entertaining, but that's it. Awful MTV-editing, and soundtrack. 3 stars
3/15/00 Chrissy T Gabriel Byrne was the only thing in this keeping me from laughing my ass off. Amusing trash 4 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall coulda been a great X-Files episode 3 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski I'm a Jew, so I'm scared of the Catholic Church, anyway 4 stars
2/11/00 James Woodman Scary (but inconsistant) shit. 4 stars
2/06/00 Frank Curigliano Dull and derivative 3 stars
1/29/00 puppyboy434@aol.com wild fun ride with catholic church as villans! 4 stars
1/26/00 Joel Harwood Freaky 5 stars
1/25/00 Italian Stallion. Great Directing...Patricia cant act for shit,ending sux..kepps u thinking though!! 4 stars
1/24/00 Phil Smith above average,value for cinema buck,quite enjoyable 4 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Corgan rules, this film doesn't. BEst part was Arquette in the hot green top in the opening 2 stars
11/15/99 Mark Damn, catholicism is creepy, I need a new religion 3 stars
10/15/99 Lame-Oh lame-ass schlock 2 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan Interesting, Binding, keeps u watching to see what the Catholics will screw up next! 4 stars
10/04/99 Holliwud I liked , I think it's worth a look 4 stars
9/29/99 Weezal316 Creepy. . .Disturbing. . .A Brillant Film 4 stars
9/26/99 Costars Redundant, hyperbolic, gross bullshit 2 stars
9/25/99 XenoWolf Alright that scene was pointless o look bloods pouring out of wrists again 2 stars
9/24/99 Tom Such a waste of time and money, should have been called Stink-mata 1 stars
9/23/99 Fork Different movie, cool concept, execution somewhat flagrant. 3 stars
9/20/99 Gunhed All style, no plot makes for one piss poor symbolic piece 'o' crap. Give me the Omen. 1 stars
9/20/99 Admiral Crunch Right on with the review, rocksolidace. Nutcase movie to be exact. 2 stars
9/16/99 ChicoWildcat Take everyone else's word and don't pay to see this train wreck. 2 stars
9/15/99 Dennis Forcier Rent 'Life of Brian' instead. 1 stars
9/14/99 Chukls When it comes to zany nutball comedy, you can't go wrong here! 1 stars
9/14/99 Elijah Stigmata = Menstruation. Nuff said. 2 stars
9/13/99 janet It made me think. Effects and soundtrack great. 4 stars
9/13/99 mason good story , rotten film 1 stars
9/13/99 Mr Showbiz An incomprehensible mess. 1 stars
9/12/99 Dr. Worm Convoluted & excruciatingly gory, alternately inducing boredom and hyperkinetic convulsions 1 stars
9/12/99 Obi Wan Something different...I was expecting too much after TBWP...but it was worth watching 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast