More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.42

Awesome75.35%
Worth A Look: 9.86%
Average: 4.93%
Pretty Bad: 1.41%
Total Crap: 8.45%

4 reviews, 118 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Citizen Kane
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"If you don't see this film, I'll kick your Rosebutt."
5 stars

Wow.

There are few things that don't exist in this Earth, and I believe that a bad review of Citizen Kane is one of them.

Citizen Kane is cinematic mastery. Seriously. Now, I don't call myself an expert on cinematic art, but I have taken classes. Now, Citizen Kane was not as boring as those film classes. Sure film classes, as fun as they sound, isn't as fun as it seems, especially when it's being taught by a guy who resembles the Glad-Cling-Wrap man, both physically and personality-wise.

Now, by saying that Citizen Kane isn't as boring as film class, I don't mean that Citizen Kane is boring. Far from it. For a film that was made in the days before our fast-food, compact generation came to birth, it's pretty intense. That's just one of the intricate details that make it a great movie. If you haven't seen it, it's the storyline (an investigator searches for the origin of a media mogul's last words, 'rosebud'), the masterful use of light and shadows in an entirely black and white film (kudos to director Orson Welles) as well as the performances and direction.

After all, a film doesn't get rated the no. 1 film of all time for nothing...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1617&reviewer=3
originally posted: 03/29/99 16:26:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
3/22/15 stanley welles the epitome of filmmaking 5 stars
1/10/14 Danielsan The greatest movie of all time. Orson Welles' story of Kane is a masterpiece. 5 stars
11/30/12 roscoe zero entertainment. it is about the life of someone I did not give a shit about. 1 stars
5/20/12 keith miron I liked the strange visuls 3 stars
10/19/11 Magic Until this movie, every other movie was reinventing cinema. None after this one. 5 stars
11/14/10 Bob I'm an idiot, you're a sheep. 3 stars
9/04/10 Mark F. Anyone not giving this 5 statrs is an idiot 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name Perhaps not the greatest American film, but definantly the most important. 5 stars
5/20/10 Veers Its not about the story line, look at the techniques used to make it. Brand new at the time 4 stars
4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage Some rich guy dies and leaves behind a shed NOONE cares about . . . 1 stars
7/10/08 Quigley Extremely well-shot, written, made and acted but doesn't live up to its enormous reputation 4 stars
2/05/08 Paul Shortt THE BEST FILM OF ALL TIME! 5 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic brilliant piece of cinema in every sense of the medium 5 stars
9/07/07 MP Bartley 5 stars? Yes. Greatest film ever made? No. 5 stars
5/10/07 smartalick A total masterpiece with film techniques never used previously. 5 stars
3/04/07 STANLEY weingarden the very best film ever made 5 stars
2/24/07 George Would have preferred if life scenes were in sequence and it had more emotional content. 4 stars
12/01/06 Bitchflaps Believe the hype 5 stars
10/23/06 Wat awsome but im retarded 5 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Best movie ever....no kidding! 5 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Maybe not the best, but certainly in the top five 5 stars
5/16/06 bmac good movie. not great but good 4 stars
5/04/06 hanaz hectic movie very interesting and easy 2 study and i absolutely luv it 5 stars
5/02/06 monalisa not pedantic enough for today's moviegoers 5 stars
4/04/06 John Aster Habig like looking a man die before his death Kane lost his soul 5 stars
3/31/06 kerry fucking diarrhea shit.Good technique but a film devoid of any soul or heart. 1 stars
1/30/06 Desiree Gillegao very well done! such a nice movie ever! 5 stars
12/03/05 maoron com on this movie i boring and yiu know it worst mvie ever 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Not for most, since most are idiots 5 stars
8/16/05 Klondo great movies shouldn't make you say, "Great editing and directing!" 3 stars
8/05/05 ALDO not the best movie ever made, film geeks. Learn to think for yourselves. 3 stars
6/30/05 Lord Durvok II Obviously, the only ones who didn't enjoy this were air-headed, stupid kids... 5 stars
6/26/05 Julie Picking Incredible!! beautiful!! 5 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper Far too potent and intelligent a film for most movie goers today. A film of substance. 5 stars
5/28/05 Walker Incredible directing and acting, while maybe not the most fun to watch, still a masterpiece 5 stars
5/08/05 JJ stupid people who want others to think they are smart pretend to like this crap 1 stars
4/14/05 brody more ass taste then the olive garden 1 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold The ultimate example of being good in the academic sense and bad in the entertainment sense 3 stars
2/28/05 Tylor I had to watch it as an assignment in school, I will be teling them it sucked balls,it does 1 stars
1/19/05 ads boringboringboringboring 1 stars
11/06/04 Naka Why yes, this movie DOES sodomize AvP with a rusty garden rake. Shut the fuck up, potheads. 5 stars
10/02/04 Katheryn Cinematic perfection 5 stars
8/29/04 Conor Crockford masterpiece 5 stars
8/22/04 Peter James One of the best films ever made and AVP was one of the year's worst 5 stars
7/11/04 Paul Carone Citizen Kane is the Citizen Kane of...Citizen...Kane 1 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Stupid people hate this film 5 stars
5/21/04 Ray Perfect in every sense 5 stars
5/18/04 Monster W. Kung If you think this movie is bad, you're probably a retard. 5 stars
5/15/04 Gary well filmed but boring 4 stars
5/12/04 Emily amazing- esp. for its time 5 stars
5/10/04 Lori Jordan it was horrible and boring, i almost fell asleep 1 stars
4/06/04 Anonymusser Had its moments. Completely overrated. 2 stars at best. BOOOOO!!!! 2 stars
3/23/04 Trannon Goble Horrid waste of film 1 stars
2/17/04 Mr. Blonde Just a fantastic film. One of the greatest cinematic achievements ever, uh, achieved. 5 stars
1/31/04 Desperado you guys are dipshits, period, great movie ahead of its time,its sad you cant see that 5 stars
1/25/04 Elena The problem is that it's dated. We are all used to action. But it's still engaging I find. 5 stars
12/27/03 I Would Greatest film ever? Hmm, not sure about that one yet but I'll keep you posted :-) 5 stars
11/22/03 adguy Just the best movie ever made, that's all. 5 stars
11/15/03 Ultron Not a single bad scene in the movie. Infinitely re-watchable. 5 stars
9/27/03 Alan I am sure those who call it Total Crap say the same for Moby Dick. Requires some intellect. 5 stars
9/22/03 Monster W. Kung If you didn't see Kane, you're not a cinema fan. If you didn't LIKE Kane, you're an idiot. 5 stars
9/18/03 John_Oconnor No Comment 1 stars
7/24/03 Max Blue Lagoon? WTF? This is the best movie of all time, bar none!!!! 5 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig Charles Foster Kane the story of a hero in a villianous persona 5 stars
5/21/03 Ryan F. The epitome of a masterpiece. It moved me to my very bones. In my Top Five List 5 stars
5/13/03 Movie Man There is no equal to casablanca 4 stars
4/19/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik masterful 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper Lucas, Spielberg, and Cameron wish to God they knew how to make a movie this good. 5 stars
2/03/03 mdk He lost is childhood. I guess so, he went from 10 to 25 yrs old. No explanation inbetween. 3 stars
1/26/03 djfbnfm An all-out masterpiece. 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore If you didn't like it, then you're just a stupid moron. 5 stars
12/17/02 Jeremiah I kept waiting for something interesting to happen... it never did. 2 stars
12/03/02 Matt way overrated based on influential camera work, but still very good 4 stars
11/26/02 Alex Brosky Disappointing 1 stars
11/25/02 Mason I LOVE this film, i watch it, literally, every day! 5 stars
11/22/02 Greg this is fantastic 5 stars
11/22/02 dead good 5 stars
11/21/02 Mason Best movie EVER 5 stars
10/09/02 Chance i never realized how many special effects were in the movie until I listened to Roger Ebert 5 stars
8/10/02 STEVE BARELY BELOW SIGNS AND ABOVE JAWS AND STARWARS THE TRILOGYEPISODES 2 4 5 66 5 stars
7/30/02 Grace Full Not - I repeat NOT - the greatest film of all time. But an excellent effort 4 stars
5/15/02 Hey Vidmar, you idiot. If this movie is given 5 stars by you for being technologically ahead of its time. Why don't you give the same rating for Star Wars? 5 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy If you think about when this film was made, the style and production is brilliant 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance good yeah, but amazing....hardly 3 stars
1/09/02 Joshy Woshy If someone gives away what Rosebud means, destroy their genitalia 5 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter An amazing story, with multiple subtexts and incredible visuals. A landmark. 5 stars
10/21/01 Andrew Carden Moorehead Is Wonderful, Such A Great Actress. 4 stars
10/19/01 Ricky Viva las Citizen Kane! 5 stars
9/19/01 Lisa Amazing.. Need we say more? 5 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Demand a top-dramer sound system for this one. 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Easy to praise this classic : excellent direction, acting, and plot. One of my favorites. 5 stars
7/15/01 Tony Hansen Recheck your history TMC. This movie was not hated and booed when it was released. 5 stars
5/03/01 Andy Ramijj Worth a try, good entertainment for black and white 4 stars
4/13/01 Anna THe most beautiful film ever made.Fantastic 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L If you don't like this movie, go buy a WWF season ticket 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Fantastic, deep, classic, groundbreaking. A movie that will forever be a classic. 5 stars
2/21/01 moviebuff Excellent ! when you discover the hidden messages, the more amazed you'll be! 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Every directing technique in this move was a landmark. 'Scuse me while I kiss the sky. 5 stars
12/13/00 nick white without this movies today would suck dick 5 stars
12/06/00 Cristopher Revilla Good techniques and script, the best ever!!! 5 stars
10/22/00 Macross Good film. Almost made me ejaculate in my pants 5 stars
9/23/00 Mark The best ever 5 stars
9/01/00 ami good 5 stars
5/14/00 Bruce One of the best 5 stars
2/17/00 sarah meyers Amazing that Welles can make such an awesome movie with the intent on poking fun a Hearst. 4 stars
1/13/00 henry hill The Masterpiece 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic If only it had a tiny bit more plot... oh well, just nitpicking. 5 stars
11/19/99 Tyson Stewart After Eyes Wide Shut, it's the best film I hav ever seen! 5 stars
10/05/99 mariam mirbaba very well done, i really enjoyed it 4 stars
6/16/99 Heather There are a lot of hidden meanings that can be related to our life. 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Thought provoking. Timeless classic. 5 stars
6/10/99 Belinda K gets better each time I watch it 4 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam Classic.Nuf said 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert You people don't even know why this is fucking awesome. 5 stars
3/14/99 Ah Dooey There was a movie in the 40s?! Dude! Flashback! 5 stars
3/14/99 OZ Welles was on another plane of thought. 5 stars
2/22/99 little jerry One of the few golden oldies that stays eternally fresh.Puts most modern film to shame. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-May-1941 (PG)
  DVD: 13-Sep-2011

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1942




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast