More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.5

Awesome: 7%
Worth A Look: 14%
Average31%
Pretty Bad: 18%
Total Crap: 30%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bone Collector, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Surprisingly well-executed throughout"
4 stars

"The Bone Collector" begins very slow-paced, creating a creepy atmosphere, only beginning to set up a tense and somber spine-tingler...or should I dare to suggest Bone Tingler?

Before I see a Denzel Washington movie, I usually know it'll probably be a treat. I hadn't seen any previews on this, and all I really knew about it was that Denzel was paralyzed for the whole film, only able to move his head, and the pointer-finger on his left hand (HA! So not only do we share the same birthday, but he's left-handed, at least for the movie, too!). "The Bone Collector" did for me what "The Sixth Sense" seemed to do for most everybody. Here we have a movie that purposely paces itself to garner your attention and draw you in, in a slick and wholly fascinating way.

First of all, this was a nicely assembled cast, and with the exception of Washington, not relying to heavily on known actors. Angelina Jolie, who has burst upon the scene this year, is very good with her New Yawk accent, and masters her character's emotions with ease. Queen Latifah has a fun part, nothing huge, but a little more than a stock character, and there are two other good parts that go out to Luis Guzman ("Out of Sight," "The Limey") and Ed O'Neil. Washington, in his paralyzed state and all, was no disappointment either.

"The Bone Collector" was very well plotted, paced, scripted, acted, directed and very suspensefully adept. All the key elements were in place, and like the enigmatic mystery/thriller it is, all the pieces of the puzzle fit very well together. The movie allows you to discover certain hints, etc., without being obvious. As you begin to think like Washington's character, you begin to see things the way he does. Everything they show you is there for a reason, and although it's not easy, the feeling of solving the case is quite fulfilling.

I was a little surprised at the routes director Phillip Noyce took after "The Saint," but the more I think about it, the more I realize that some of his other films such as "Patriot Games" and "Clear and Present Danger" were pretty well realized themselves. Along with the help of writer Jeremy Iacone, there is a definite air of tension and strain, and although a film of this genre promises stretches and gaps in plausibility, this stays pretty close within them --not 100%, but pretty darn well. (Off-topic, watch for the scene where her phone rings, and she picks it up, hanging it up right away, and then takes it back off and lays it down with the receiver touching the table. In the next edit, the shot shows her laying back down on the couch, but now the phone is receiver side up.)

I really enjoyed "The Bone Collector," but not just because it was a mystery. I liked it for many of the reasons I didn't like "The Sixth Sense;" that film, though it had a somber feel, did not manipulate and trick audiences, and therefore it didn't really develop its potential. But "The Bone Collector" does, and without cashing in on all the current cheapies --especially with it NOT having the damned hand-held cam!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1628&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/04/99 18:45:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT REASONABLY ENTERTAINING SUSPENSE THRILLER/WHODUNIT 3 stars
5/16/08 Karrie Millheim The suspense is good, the story line interesting 4 stars
4/05/08 stephanie willis not oscar worthy but entertaining 3 stars
3/30/08 Pamela White casted poorly but the plot is ripe for a remake 3 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini not horrible 3 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands Actually, it kinda disturbed me. 4 stars
8/11/05 ES Why exactly did the killer have to know the police hunting him?= bad Hollywood ending 1 stars
4/23/05 Indrid Cold Remarkably boring. An a-list cast is completely wasted in this lame "Seven" ripoff. 2 stars
11/09/04 Lady T Facinated w/ the movie & the brillance of Rhyme's mind. I unravel new things at each view 5 stars
11/06/04 Cármen Guimarães Denzel very, very wonderfull.Thanks ! 5 stars
4/10/04 Tito Starts off good, then goes bad. illogical non-thriller. 1 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw So so, humdrum with a ridiculous ending. 2 stars
6/10/03 Any chance we could GET REAL? Does anyone really BELIEVE this "Angelina Jolie is Ashley Judd" crap?? 3 stars
6/09/03 Charles Tatum Oscar cast in B crap 2 stars
6/09/03 Debra Never more obvious that "Angelina Jolie" is really Ashley Judd! 2 stars
6/09/03 Jenny Tullwartz A. Jolie looks too much like another AJ. If I were Angelina, I'd change my identity. 3 stars
4/30/03 R.A.C. The only time I jumped was after my girlfriend woke me... 2 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 Aswsome...Creppy Movie. A+ 5 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Pallid whodunit that lacks suspense and interesting characters. 2 stars
3/01/03 y2mckay substandard genre Thriller, indistinguishable from every other film Denzel's been in. 2 stars
1/11/03 Goofy Maxwell Boring+implausible+Ed O'Neill...Damn! I coulda saved an hr. or 2 w/ a 1-800-COLLECT ad. 1 stars
12/13/02 danielle interesting and scarey 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Underrated goodie. Latifah shines. 4 stars
10/24/02 Charles Tatum Oscar cast in B crap 2 stars
7/21/02 sdjfsdkjf I like generally like Angelina, but not in this and as for Denzel...fuck no. Deplorable. 1 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz A. Jolie looks too much like another AJ. If I were Angelina, I'd change my identity. 3 stars
2/07/02 Phil M. Afficianado Denzel makes it worth seeing (maybe). Silly violence at the end 3 stars
1/29/02 Gracy Lionheart This movie was...dumb, unbelievable, boring, etc...you take your pick. 1 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean LOL@Louise!! This movie was not bad at all, but I wished that it followed the book. 3 stars
6/23/01 Matt Dorsey I was entertained. 3 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Denzel was great; Angelina was lame.. 4 stars
3/20/01 jarcane zzzzzzzzzzzz, not exactly original. 2 stars just for Jolie. 2 stars
3/17/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'd rather be eaten alive by rats, than sit throught this shit again. 1 stars
1/21/01 William Blair HORRIBLE FILM! 1 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 Even denzel can't save this peice of fucking shit. 1 stars
10/17/00 Louise & Craig who can believe that a black kid in Harlem would come back with the camera 1 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 who put a hot ass woman like jolie in a lame ass movie like this??? 1 stars
9/01/00 bart geyskens it sucks thru and thru ( the worst "thriller " i ever saw) 1 stars
8/31/00 Terrie Smith Pouty Angelina Jolie looks good but the film is so predictable. Some scenes are a bit much. 3 stars
7/18/00 kittykat total shit 1 stars
7/13/00 Michael Grimm i liked it, Jolie's character could have been better written though 4 stars
6/10/00 Mike Farwell It was pretty cool, but so is Angelina Jolie! 3 stars
5/13/00 Mark I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
5/05/00 seldom scene easy to figure out and not as compelling as Jeffery Deaver's novels 4 stars
5/04/00 Blackbird It was interesting. The movie didn't set up the ending. 3 stars
5/03/00 cort major If ms. Jolie wasn't in this it would be one of the worst movies in a long time. 1 stars
4/16/00 Jed The cast made this movie go from trash to sub-par 2 stars
4/08/00 Ken Like a poor man's "Seven." Utterly predictable. 2 stars
4/04/00 Girl9 Is this film supposed to scare me...or make me laugh?!! 1 stars
1/21/00 Matthew Bartley Seen it all before in better movies...but not awful 3 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan Proposterous plot!! I felt cheated!!! Angelina is a Goddess!! 3 stars
12/08/99 Amanda Hall very good movie, kept me in suspence the entire time! 5 stars
12/02/99 Nick Z If you got a good health plan, get a lobotomy before seeing this. 1 stars
11/27/99 Skip Ok film not one I would go and see again, but did not feel like I got ripped off. 1 stars
11/27/99 Matthew Smith a terrific thriller, one of the best thrillers at the moment 5 stars
11/25/99 Nishe Denzel could have done better. He is an extraordinary actor but I like to see him move. 3 stars
11/19/99 schmegs Good acting, good atmosphere, predictable story 3 stars
11/15/99 John Horrible! Unoriginal! 1 stars
11/13/99 George Nedelchev Good cast, acting and editing is not enough at all. 2 stars
11/11/99 Buttman Washington was great. Better to see Se7en or Silence of the Lambs. 3 stars
11/09/99 Marble Xavier Washington and Jolie are perfectly cast. The book was better though. 4 stars
11/06/99 Yo! One thing to say! This is the funniest movie that I have ever seen. I laughed my ass off! 5 stars
11/06/99 PhilmPhreak Why would Denzel use a rookie as his lead investigator - passing over his former partner? 3 stars
11/06/99 Adam Too many "is this the killer?" people. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Nov-1999 (R)
  DVD: 28-Aug-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast