More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.5

Awesome: 7%
Worth A Look: 14%
Average31%
Pretty Bad: 18%
Total Crap: 30%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bone Collector, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Scraping the Marrow of the Serial Killer Genre"
1 stars

The Bone Collector (* ½) – I seriously have to start bringing a watch into the theater whenever I’m walking into a mystery. Already this year, I knew who The General’s Daughter’s killer was before she was even dead and I didn’t need a Sixth Sense to discover that film’s big twist within the first 20 minutes.

Now we’ve got the latest chapter in the serial killer genre and I thought I had impressed even myself early on by pointing out a culprit in Denzel’s first scene as a cripple. That was until I saw the next scene realizing that it could be one or the other – and no, I’m not talking about the person that the movie is desperately throwing to the audience as the obvious suspect. So we go through the motions and go through the motions, crime after crime, clue after clue, blah, blah, blah. Who cares? It’s nothing we haven’t seen before in much better films, including the film the Bone Collector most closely resembles – the underrated Sigourney Weaver/Holly Hunter opus called Copycat. Rent that film. And rent Seven while you’re at it to give you two films for less than the price of admission to this waste of time. But the film is not without its pluses and they can be summed up in two words. Denzel Washington. He’s very good in the film, despite only being able to use facial expressions and a single index finger, and he’s the only thing worth watching. Angelina Jolie continues to make you believe you’ve stumbled into a 3-D movie with the presence of her lips. She’s still a terrific actress, but is truly given nothing to do here except to unbelievably being told to explore every crime scene alone with her trusty flashlight. Sure. For a serial killer picture, it’s simply amazing how little suspense there actually is in the movie. In fact, all of the big “shock/jump” moments come from cutting away from a potentially suspenseful scene to another area of the action announced with a loud bang, such as the SWAT team emerging from their truck. Oooh, suspenseful. This movie was pretty much cruising for a two-star rating, simply on the strength of Denzel’s performance and his nice ensemble team of actors, but then the unmasking of the killer is revealed. Never, even in the history of Agatha Christie novels, has a killer’s motive been pulled so far out of the script’s ass that it’s wrapped in saliva. While you should be able to figure the killer out by the process of elimination, there is never a hint throughout the movie as to why the villain is doing it until it is explained during the talking killer sequence. The resolution does include a wonderful quality kill, or more to the point, several maimings before the final shots are fired. We also get subjected to some heavy-handed symbolism which turns out to be nothing more than another ruse for the audience to swallow before Peter Gabriel’s terrific “Don’t Give Up” plays over the final credits.

All this from the director of Dead Calm and Clear and Present Danger? Philip Noyce better step into immediate pre-production on the next Jack Ryan picture to cleanse himself from this mess.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1628&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 14:12:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT REASONABLY ENTERTAINING SUSPENSE THRILLER/WHODUNIT 3 stars
5/16/08 Karrie Millheim The suspense is good, the story line interesting 4 stars
4/05/08 stephanie willis not oscar worthy but entertaining 3 stars
3/30/08 Pamela White casted poorly but the plot is ripe for a remake 3 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini not horrible 3 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands Actually, it kinda disturbed me. 4 stars
8/11/05 ES Why exactly did the killer have to know the police hunting him?= bad Hollywood ending 1 stars
4/23/05 Indrid Cold Remarkably boring. An a-list cast is completely wasted in this lame "Seven" ripoff. 2 stars
11/09/04 Lady T Facinated w/ the movie & the brillance of Rhyme's mind. I unravel new things at each view 5 stars
11/06/04 Cármen Guimarães Denzel very, very wonderfull.Thanks ! 5 stars
4/10/04 Tito Starts off good, then goes bad. illogical non-thriller. 1 stars
3/24/04 Lord Haw Haw So so, humdrum with a ridiculous ending. 2 stars
6/10/03 Any chance we could GET REAL? Does anyone really BELIEVE this "Angelina Jolie is Ashley Judd" crap?? 3 stars
6/09/03 Charles Tatum Oscar cast in B crap 2 stars
6/09/03 Debra Never more obvious that "Angelina Jolie" is really Ashley Judd! 2 stars
6/09/03 Jenny Tullwartz A. Jolie looks too much like another AJ. If I were Angelina, I'd change my identity. 3 stars
4/30/03 R.A.C. The only time I jumped was after my girlfriend woke me... 2 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 Aswsome...Creppy Movie. A+ 5 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Pallid whodunit that lacks suspense and interesting characters. 2 stars
3/01/03 y2mckay substandard genre Thriller, indistinguishable from every other film Denzel's been in. 2 stars
1/11/03 Goofy Maxwell Boring+implausible+Ed O'Neill...Damn! I coulda saved an hr. or 2 w/ a 1-800-COLLECT ad. 1 stars
12/13/02 danielle interesting and scarey 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Underrated goodie. Latifah shines. 4 stars
10/24/02 Charles Tatum Oscar cast in B crap 2 stars
7/21/02 sdjfsdkjf I like generally like Angelina, but not in this and as for Denzel...fuck no. Deplorable. 1 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz A. Jolie looks too much like another AJ. If I were Angelina, I'd change my identity. 3 stars
2/07/02 Phil M. Afficianado Denzel makes it worth seeing (maybe). Silly violence at the end 3 stars
1/29/02 Gracy Lionheart This movie was...dumb, unbelievable, boring, etc...you take your pick. 1 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean LOL@Louise!! This movie was not bad at all, but I wished that it followed the book. 3 stars
6/23/01 Matt Dorsey I was entertained. 3 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Denzel was great; Angelina was lame.. 4 stars
3/20/01 jarcane zzzzzzzzzzzz, not exactly original. 2 stars just for Jolie. 2 stars
3/17/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'd rather be eaten alive by rats, than sit throught this shit again. 1 stars
1/21/01 William Blair HORRIBLE FILM! 1 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 Even denzel can't save this peice of fucking shit. 1 stars
10/17/00 Louise & Craig who can believe that a black kid in Harlem would come back with the camera 1 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 who put a hot ass woman like jolie in a lame ass movie like this??? 1 stars
9/01/00 bart geyskens it sucks thru and thru ( the worst "thriller " i ever saw) 1 stars
8/31/00 Terrie Smith Pouty Angelina Jolie looks good but the film is so predictable. Some scenes are a bit much. 3 stars
7/18/00 kittykat total shit 1 stars
7/13/00 Michael Grimm i liked it, Jolie's character could have been better written though 4 stars
6/10/00 Mike Farwell It was pretty cool, but so is Angelina Jolie! 3 stars
5/13/00 Mark I thought it was pretty good 4 stars
5/05/00 seldom scene easy to figure out and not as compelling as Jeffery Deaver's novels 4 stars
5/04/00 Blackbird It was interesting. The movie didn't set up the ending. 3 stars
5/03/00 cort major If ms. Jolie wasn't in this it would be one of the worst movies in a long time. 1 stars
4/16/00 Jed The cast made this movie go from trash to sub-par 2 stars
4/08/00 Ken Like a poor man's "Seven." Utterly predictable. 2 stars
4/04/00 Girl9 Is this film supposed to scare me...or make me laugh?!! 1 stars
1/21/00 Matthew Bartley Seen it all before in better movies...but not awful 3 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan Proposterous plot!! I felt cheated!!! Angelina is a Goddess!! 3 stars
12/08/99 Amanda Hall very good movie, kept me in suspence the entire time! 5 stars
12/02/99 Nick Z If you got a good health plan, get a lobotomy before seeing this. 1 stars
11/27/99 Skip Ok film not one I would go and see again, but did not feel like I got ripped off. 1 stars
11/27/99 Matthew Smith a terrific thriller, one of the best thrillers at the moment 5 stars
11/25/99 Nishe Denzel could have done better. He is an extraordinary actor but I like to see him move. 3 stars
11/19/99 schmegs Good acting, good atmosphere, predictable story 3 stars
11/15/99 John Horrible! Unoriginal! 1 stars
11/13/99 George Nedelchev Good cast, acting and editing is not enough at all. 2 stars
11/11/99 Buttman Washington was great. Better to see Se7en or Silence of the Lambs. 3 stars
11/09/99 Marble Xavier Washington and Jolie are perfectly cast. The book was better though. 4 stars
11/06/99 Yo! One thing to say! This is the funniest movie that I have ever seen. I laughed my ass off! 5 stars
11/06/99 PhilmPhreak Why would Denzel use a rookie as his lead investigator - passing over his former partner? 3 stars
11/06/99 Adam Too many "is this the killer?" people. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Nov-1999 (R)
  DVD: 28-Aug-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast