More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.49

Awesome: 17.11%
Worth A Look: 12.3%
Average: 12.3%
Pretty Bad: 18.72%
Total Crap39.57%

7 reviews, 145 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


I Know Who Killed Me
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jay Seaver

"A disaster. But that's only fitting."
2 stars

There's a part of me that would like it if "I Know Who Killed Me" ended Lindsay Lohan's career. That's not scadenfreude or any dislike of her as an actor talking; I actually like her enough to wish she'd be in better movies. But if a career that started with a better-than-expected remake of "The Parent Trap" is going to crash and burn, well, this is EXACTLY the movie that should form the other bookend.

In it, Lohan plays Aubrey Fleming, an honor student in a prosperous suburb who vanishes one night, apparently the latest victim of the limb-severing serial killer who is apparently the community's only blight (especially if you have an attractive and intelligent daughter). But wait! She seems to have survived and escaped, somehow, though not before losing an arm and a leg. And, apparently, her marbles - when she wakes up in the hospital, she claims to be someone else entirely, a stripper by the name of Dakota Moss, which understandably upsets her parents (Neal McDonough and Julia Ormand), the psychiatrist assigned to help her recover (Gregory Itzin), and the FBI agents investigating the case (Garcelle Beauvais and Spence Garrett). Not so much her boyfriend (Brian Geraghty), what with Dakota being willing to put out and all.

As with its main character, the film seems to have a split personality. At times it feels like it wants to be a murder mystery, or a psychological thriller. So we spend a lot of time before the abduction watching Aubrey's life for something suspicious, paying attention to the seemingly inconsequential scenes that the film lingers over because it might contain clues that will be important in the end. After she's taken, there's a great deal of earnest procedural work, puzzling over the short stories Aubrey wrote about Dakota earlier, and trying to figure out just how to crack through Dakota's resistance to find the necessary clues. This, quite honestly, isn't much fun. Writer Jeff Hammond and director Chris Sivertson don't really have what it takes to tell a good mystery story; they can't tell the difference between boring filler and legitimate red herrings. They also don't give us much in the way of interesting characters; Dakota may be a figment of Aubrey's imagination, but she's still the richest and most entertaining person on-screen.

They probably could have cut a lot of that first part out, because the film's other personality - the one that's completely insane - is where everything really seems to be going on. This is the part that gives Dakota prosthetic limbs so advanced as to be science fictional. It's lurid in every way it can be, from soap-opera storylines to serving up heaping scoops of limbs being severed on-camera, broken bones, and blood. Sadly, it never manages to make such things exciting; at moments when overacting, obvious music, flying cameras, and cheap shocks would be exactly what the movie needs, everything is restrained and terribly serious. And then there's the final twist, on the opposite end of the speculative-fiction spectrum from "robot hands" - though I have to give Hammond credit on it: While most last-act revelations in bad movies make no sense of any kind, this one actually ties things up in a way that almost makes sense. It's an insane, twisted sort of logic that requires mammoth suspension of disbelief to accept the central premise (Art Bell is appealed to as an authority), but it sort of hangs together.

Still, that sort of basic competence isn't necessarily found where it could do the most good. Sivertson, who has mostly done tiny films with the Austin-based Mo-Freak collective, seems unsure what to do with a big studio's resources, and doesn't seem to get a lot of help from his editor in terms of cutting out what's not necessary. He does spend a lot of effort in making sure that Aubrey favors blues and Dakota favors reds, so he's trying, but he really doesn't seem to be ready for the major leagues.

What's sad is that his main cast is dragged down by that. I'm not sure why Lindsay Lohan chose this script, but she's probably better than it deserves. She's got a fun moment in the middle, looking in Aubrey's mirror as Dakota, where she mockingly pretends to be this perfect beloved girl and rolls her eyes at the absurdity of it that actually makes us like this character who has spent almost all her screen time being unpleasant a little, which is no mean feat. McDonough and Ormand, sadly, don't even have that much chance to make an impression, and it just gets worse after that.

Its own story is a mess, but as part of the Lindsay Lohan narrative? Almost perfect; she's almost back where she started, still able to make use believe in two separate characters, but with all the promise replaced by juvenile attempts to seem adult, griminess, and dysfunction. Sad, really, especially since it seems so unaware of what a mess it is.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16399&reviewer=371
originally posted: 01/27/08 10:47:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/17/15 Dane Youssef The worst thing Lohan could have possibly done, including her DUI's. An arrestable offense! 1 stars
1/21/12 UXrumera No Comment 5 stars
1/30/11 mr.mike Starts with a "Twin Peaks" type feel , soon goes downhill. 2 stars
10/27/10 anna lei da movie wuzz alright, but i didnt get it until like,the ending.wish there wuzznt n ending! 5 stars
7/25/10 MOVIEADDICT92 *was not the best horro movie yet, but was the worst horro flim shot* 1 stars
6/28/10 art a MUCH-MALIGHNED MYSTERY film,LOHAN was BEAUTIFUL! 4 stars
6/09/10 shayy ok... wow to this movie it was iight bt i kept watchnit n did nt stop well only unexplained 3 stars
4/08/10 Val Not bad...but not a good movie.At the beginnnig i got completely confused 3 stars
1/31/10 laresha Totally groos..............nobody even died *i know who cut my dumb ass! 3 stars
11/07/09 dana love the movie& totaly amazing & awesome!!!! 5 stars
9/24/09 Lindsay5 This movie changed my life for the better....! 5 stars
7/01/09 art AN EXCELLENT MYSTERY!,I RECOMMEND IT! 5 stars
12/12/08 Jack Sommersby As unsuccessful as it is, give it points for actually trying. 2 stars
11/26/08 the dork knight HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA!! 1 stars
11/22/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
11/08/08 PAUL SHORTT LURID, OVER-SEXUALIZED AND LUDICROUSLY PLOTTED 1 stars
6/29/08 Gabby the movie was aswome and aubree DID die wach the movie more than yall understand 5 stars
6/28/08 Caleigh i don't get why it is called "i know who killed me". aubree or dakota didn't even die. 4 stars
6/23/08 sausy minx Not a bad film .. but not great either. A little confusing at times 3 stars
6/20/08 corvashia the movie was not as good as it seemed on the priviews and had no piont she didnt even die 1 stars
6/20/08 princess12 i did not like the movie at all it hjad no story line 2 it at all, it waz nasty............ 1 stars
6/18/08 someone I hated it it was really confusing and it had no story line the starting was really weird. 1 stars
6/17/08 Roni~ the movie wasnt scary and i wasnt suprised she was pole dancing just a little freaked out 4 stars
6/13/08 jennifer fuentes i thought the movie was good but confusing 5 stars
5/24/08 ashley omg. shes a whore in this movie. and it suckedd. 1 stars
5/01/08 chris she doesnt even get killed.... I KNOW WHO CUT ME 5 stars
4/26/08 Alisha Christine Awesome!!!!! 5 stars
4/26/08 jarvis love the movie let's see more like it 5 stars
4/16/08 Larry Gonzalez lindsay lohan you are the best in everyway I love you! 5 stars
4/16/08 Alan ali wiam scary 4 stars
3/30/08 racheal simmons lindsey your a pole dancer in this movie wow 5 stars
3/24/08 Haley It was an awesome movie. 5 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann As comedy, it is a triumph as funny as it's title. As a thriller...it is indescribably bad! 2 stars
2/12/08 art A GREAT MYSTERY AND LINDSAY LOHANS FIRST ADULT ROLE 5 stars
1/30/08 Ming Not worth to watch at all..she better start a new career 1 stars
1/29/08 LyonHeart44 Dear Lindsay, I know who killed me. It was YOU! Signed, Your Career 2 stars
1/25/08 CT I know who killed my hour and fourty five minutes 1 stars
1/20/08 Tracy T. Horrible! But hilarious! The plot was ridiculous and the acting pathetic. 1 stars
1/20/08 Jayson Laughable. And we all know pole-dancing means box office death. 1 stars
12/31/07 WigBig/SigFig They needed to explained who actually killed her and why, duh! The FBI dissappeared! 1 stars
12/29/07 lisa it was so silly and confusing I didn't care at the end to have someone explain it. 1 stars
12/07/07 Murderdoll This movie makes me ashamed to be apart of Western society, just garbage 1 stars
11/29/07 Amy Dempsey way to weird. I had a hard time following. 2 stars
11/28/07 action movie fan the boredom killed me 2 stars
11/09/07 Juliet scary and funny.. just a good mix and i love it 4 stars
10/28/07 David Horrible sex scene... both of them are ugly 1 stars
10/27/07 hor its pretty ok and I don't understand for such a criticism 4 stars
10/23/07 jermaine its very nice but it its so short 1 stars
10/23/07 regine really confusing...dont watch it..coz you wont understand.. 3 stars
10/19/07 Anastacia wow, great movie,i like Lindsay Lohan more after this movie 5 stars
10/13/07 vivir we cant get the essence of the story. yet somewhat we njoyed the bed scene.wahaha 4 stars
10/13/07 czairra lantaca i love it..oh my gosh..it is an excellent movie 5 stars
10/11/07 eca funny movie 3 stars
10/10/07 marjorie i liked the story but not the show. 3 stars
10/07/07 niki dude it was cool bt the endin suckd wat hapns when aubrey find out dekota sleepd wid her bf 4 stars
10/07/07 charllotte the film is very interesting but im not satisfied to its ending.. 5 stars
10/05/07 strawberry jam hella boring. god made me feel sick. 1 stars
10/03/07 dknight it's obvious from the start that she's having a "split personality"... 2 stars
10/01/07 danajean that's true..the movie was so boring..... 1 stars
9/26/07 mary sally waste of money waste of time! felt like 2 horny bastards watching her c grade sex skills. 1 stars
9/24/07 jopet damn lindsay lohan... she very sexy and beautiful.. i wish i could see her... sarap mo!!! 5 stars
9/22/07 Progressively disappointed Lindsay Lohan fan Eerie seeing Lindsay Lohan part chopped away, just as reckless living's trashed her image. 2 stars
9/20/07 rad DUMB MOVIE (x1000000000000000000000000000000) 1 stars
9/17/07 jerlin not scary, hate it but we have no choice. waaa im afraid of the blood!! 2 stars
9/15/07 wikri Aubrey and Dakota existed. They where twins bought from a crackhead. 3 stars
9/15/07 scooterboy the ending might be the total picture of Aubrey/Dakota false reality... 2 stars
9/15/07 BCK Great Movie; just like all of Lindsay's. 5 stars
9/15/07 Dominique Harris This movie was good i pissed me off at the end though 4 stars
9/12/07 The Velcro Warlock First more gory than HOSTEL, then implausible middle, followed by totally hanging ending. 1 stars
9/11/07 keron i want to watch it again! it's awwwesome. did you guys hear abt the 2 diff interpretations? 5 stars
9/11/07 bleedingheart she plyed an terrific role it's a shame how her talent is going to drugs 5 stars
9/09/07 Samdaman itt suck balls 1 stars
9/09/07 Karla I loved it but i really didnn't understand the ending!! 5 stars
9/08/07 Ali the Kid Awesome movie!!!! 5 stars
9/06/07 WENDY THIS MOVIE WAS DUMB AS HELL 1 stars
9/06/07 Cristina It was a good movie, but a little confusing. 4 stars
9/01/07 chelsy liked it heaps, need to pay a bit of attention!!! 5 stars
8/30/07 stephen the movie was good. but lil bit confusing mostly at the end. 4 stars
8/29/07 Yuri i freaken loved this movie! 5 stars
8/28/07 SAr it started out really interesting but sadly the ending was abit confusing and lame 3 stars
8/28/07 ginger HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/26/07 Jamie What a sorry excuse for a David Lynch tribute. He would be ashamed. 2 stars
8/26/07 parasvati a crying shame. but I haven't given up on Lindsay 1 stars
8/22/07 Flynn Started off good but ended horrible. Things didnt tie all the way up in the end. Confusing. 2 stars
8/22/07 ninfa theme was brilliant but reminded me of her shame 3 stars
8/21/07 Ina It's actally quite good, but definitively strange, and perheps it needs a second look... 4 stars
8/19/07 Sam The movie wasn't bad at all. Destined to be a cult classic! All u Lilo haters $@#% Off!! 5 stars
8/19/07 Jessica Sex, drugs, alcohol... wow. This movie sounds like a documentary of it's star's life. 1 stars
8/13/07 ANA. i loved this movie. It was something she's never done before. i loved the music. 4 stars
8/11/07 don she a dumb slutty ass hore who just wanted to fuck it was wack 1 stars
8/10/07 Luis I saw the movie and its okay but if u see the movie u will get lost watching it. 3 stars
8/10/07 Paralyzer. :] wtf is she doing fckin the guy with her nubs? she shouldnt be dancin with her pudgy stomach 1 stars
8/10/07 iyanna dean Movie was great. Although...it was like a thriller "parent trap" 4 stars
8/09/07 samantha didnt make any sense, bottom line. im still confused. i hope she died in the dirt. 1 stars
8/09/07 Sarahi Dang i liked it, it had irony to it and yeah even though i was kinda confused i liked it. 4 stars
8/08/07 Kezza The facial expressions of the piano teacher being killed, killed me! Waste of a matinee $6. 1 stars
8/08/07 Fat Teena Haha. This movie can't be taken seriously. My friends and I couldnt' stop laughing. 2 stars
8/08/07 Jazzy The movie started off good...but ended horribly!! I would not recommend anyone to see it 2 stars
8/07/07 Trina Not bad, i'd rent it. Nice twist. 4 stars
8/07/07 afrobabe If i had paid for this i would have killed Lindsay myself 1 stars
8/07/07 Private Hate to pile on but this was a total and complete failure. Awful film. 1 stars
8/07/07 shanae' first off it was like a porno movie to me...too much stupidness...not a good movie. 1 stars
8/07/07 Shai yall stop hatin' lindsay made a good come back and the movie waswild it was really good 4 stars
8/07/07 crystal i really enjoyed this movie, it was like csi/horror. 4 stars
8/06/07 Leslie It wasnt scary at all, but some of the parts made me cringe. Some of it was unnessassary. 3 stars
8/06/07 Brittany W. It was a good movie but the ending sucked balls big time, like did they die in the woods 4 stars
8/06/07 Latoya this movie was the bomb meaning it was wonderful,i like it very much the suspense was great 5 stars
8/05/07 Brittany This was an ok movie but it didn't explain everything very well i was a little confused 3 stars
8/04/07 Terry she shouldnt have sex on camera!!!the movie was alright but sum of it was unnecessasary!!!! 4 stars
8/04/07 jasmine she made 2 many sex noises 4 stars
8/04/07 Celina B. This movie was o.k but some parts was unnessasary 3 stars
8/04/07 menda face lindsay cant act, she only did this movie to pay for her rapid coke addiction. 1 stars
8/04/07 alysha and shayla (friends) Good movie.go see it.NOW!!! 5 stars
8/02/07 Jessica I am sorry but.... this has to be the worst movie ever!! It wasn't even scary... =__= 5 stars
8/02/07 DJ The film rating industry must change. Instead of a vague code rating, we need specific info 1 stars
8/02/07 MaDmAN I Know What Killed Lindsays Career... 1 stars
8/01/07 erik probably one of the worst things i have ever seen on a screen of any kind. 1 stars
8/01/07 kate hahaha best comedy of the YEAR by far go LL- i keep telling everyone i hate to go see it 1 stars
8/01/07 salemswildcat Awful, Awful, did I say Awful 1 stars
8/01/07 meranda moviee made no fucking sense. very grusome. only watch it if you have someones hand to hold 3 stars
7/31/07 Meredith Movie was disgusting. If revolting, graphic violence bothers you, I don't recommend it. 2 stars
7/31/07 Balller Amazingly hilarious movie if you see it stoned, couldnt stop laughing. 1 stars
7/31/07 Chris Cama If you like creepy movies that make you sick then this has the sickness that wont let you s 2 stars
7/31/07 People get cut. That's Life. this was so much fun. Hilarious--the audience laughed through the whole thing and cheered 5 stars
7/30/07 nance i know who killed my career 1 stars
7/30/07 JOEY Lindsay Lohan is a crakbaby and this film is only helping her along the way... 2 stars
7/30/07 Stefano Ibarra It was oddly compelling. The macabre end was metaphoric and memorable. 4 stars
7/30/07 richard kongable Worst movie I've seen in years. Plot and dialogue were especially bad. 1 stars
7/29/07 kate I liked it. it had an outrageous storyline & was very gory, but fun. 4 stars
7/29/07 Todd Lohan is a turd covered in cat hair. She smells like carrots and throw-up. I don't like her 1 stars
7/29/07 Melissa Don't fill a vapid storyline with sex and violence 3 stars
7/29/07 Bill Gosse great review, Orndorf. Awful film. 1 stars
7/29/07 beton4 This might be one of the worst movies ever made 1 stars
7/28/07 The Cow New meaning to 'gratuitous sex and violence' 1 stars
7/28/07 Jacob Hernandez I loved it I thought it was very good. One of her best. 5 stars
7/28/07 elaine wait for dvd 3 stars
7/28/07 Steve Wow....do NOT go to this movie. It was horrible 1 stars
7/28/07 Mav988 Ridiculous. The more I try to explain it to friends, the more impossibly bad it gets. 1 stars
7/28/07 Sugarfoot Lohan is the next Jan-Michael Vincent, minus the 'talent' though. 1 stars
7/28/07 Marlon I walked out of the theatre after the first 40 minutes - at the Cast and Crew Screening! 1 stars
7/28/07 Mr. Monkey My brain caused me to shut down during the movie. It made for an excellent nap. 1 stars
7/28/07 Wendy Be drunk or stay home 1 stars
7/28/07 Heather Complete crap, save your money 1 stars
7/28/07 Meghan Dito- Thank GOD I saw it on a free pass. This is the ABSOLUTE worst I ever recall seeing!!! 1 stars
7/27/07 ANDREW (AUBREY'S TWIN) PURE 80s CHEESEFEST! LOVED IT! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jul-2007 (R)
  DVD: 27-Nov-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Chris Sivertson

Written by
  Jeff Hammond

Cast
  Lindsay Lohan
  Brian Geraghty
  Julia Ormond
  Neal McDonough
  Gregory Itzin



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast