More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome61.33%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 2.67%
Pretty Bad: 8%
Total Crap: 8%

1 review, 69 user ratings


Latest Reviews

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Monty Python's The Meaning Of Life
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Not 'Brian' of 'Grail' -- but still quite hilarious."
5 stars

OK, it's not the stellar classic that is Holy Grail, and maybe lacking some of the venom of the brilliant Life of Brian, this has more surreal silliness and sure-handed satire than any five movies made recently (and it has Mr. Creosote).

The third of the true Monty Python films (no, geek, Jabberwocky doesn't count), this has more bizarre twists than most comedies even attempt. The search for the meaning of life is simply a way for these aging, yet still hilarious, comedians to get a few last shots in before their time would pass. Sadly, it has, but with a few true classics left in their wake.

The elaborate "Every Sperm is Sacred" number still makes me laugh, as does the ultra-violent rugby match, Cleese's sexual education lesson taught to a surprisingly disinterested class, Eric Idle's bizarre "Universe" song, and Death's untimely appearance at a dinner party. (".....but I didn't eat the mousse.")

I envy those movie lovers who have yet to discover the comic revolution that was Monty Python. Discovering the gags that really hit you in these three films is pure joy. This is tough for me, as I find it considerably easier to trash than to praise, but what the hell: Everyone knows that Idle, Chapman, Cleese, Jones, Gilliam and Palin are goddam geniuses, and if you're still stuck in that repressed state of "Oh, they're British and I don't get it and I won't try and only Dr. Who nerds like Monty Python", get a clue.

Some performers you just want to thank for the laughs they've given you. There will never be another Monty Python, and I mean that in a good way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1642&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/17/99 10:07:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/13/10 Lucy Just. Totally. Sucked. I was SO disappointed - I was looking forward to it - oh, well. 1 stars
11/17/09 Jim The best movie ever if you don't like it yor an idiot 5 stars
5/31/08 PAUL SHORTT A PAINFUL, BLASPHEMOUS, WEARYING SLICE OF PURE DRIVEL 1 stars
11/11/06 Eden Some of its hilarious (death, the fish search), but a lot of it falls flat 3 stars
5/07/06 chienne Love the Death Scene...love it all...brilliant & clever. Typical of them. 5 stars
4/13/06 Indrid Cold It's anything but monotonous, but it's just not that funny. 2 stars
9/18/05 DM Not always successful, but the sperm song cracks me up every time. 4 stars
6/06/05 Jerry Hamric Some parts were great, but the bad parts were AWFUL! 2 stars
5/31/05 John Aster Habig Without the songs the movie would simply be ghastly an unfunny 2 stars
5/08/05 Bluto Better get a bucket 5 stars
4/26/05 Monkeys A hilarious romp that's weighed down by monotony 4 stars
4/26/05 Monkeys Drop-dead funny but a little monotonous 4 stars
4/15/05 felicia thomas best film of all times- most pythonesque film of theirs 5 stars
2/22/05 axe From the universe to the restaurant fish tank and everything in between, "meaning" is funny 5 stars
2/09/05 conor the great too funny for words 5 stars
9/26/04 Doc Shock A laugh riot! 4 stars
9/24/04 Daphne Tapalla Hilariously awesome! 5 stars
9/17/04 Erik Williams HISTERICAL!!!! 5 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Cleese is The Bomb! 5 stars
8/01/04 conor great excellent 5 stars
7/25/04 Happy Camper I just got the special edition 2-disc set for only $9.00 at walmart :-D yay 5 stars
6/03/04 anthony sharp ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha 5 stars
5/26/04 Lord Durvok 2 This is my favorite Python film, but that's just my personal flavor. 4 stars
4/24/04 ranger4e silly 4 stars
3/29/04 Cameron Boyd Awsomely funny! 5 stars
3/26/04 LIAM JACKSON 'Find the Fish'- fantastic scene. this is a great film and comes higly recommended 5 stars
3/01/04 Star-Crosser My favorite musical of all time! Great comedy! 5 stars
2/26/04 Kyle Oh and Jenkins, apparently your mother died this morning." 5 stars
2/16/04 Anarchy Azmi greatest movie EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/03 AshFan My least favorite, but hey, when life gets you down, Mrs. Brown... 3 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston "Children, I've got to sell you for scientific experiments." 5 stars
9/19/03 gman speaks volumes about life, death, war, sex, religion, and... fishie-fishie-fishie! 5 stars
9/08/03 coladdict Yep... Husain is right... its the rest of the world thats got it wrong ;) 5 stars
8/30/03 Joey Husain Listen up I love Python. This is a horrible movie shouLD HAVE STOPED AFTER LIFE OF BRIAN 1 stars
4/28/03 Angolmois It's not a movie really, but hilarious sketches without a plot. As a movie it's soso... 4 stars
3/21/03 Holly This move is extremely hilarious! The best Monty Python movie out there! 5 stars
3/17/03 hi great movie 5 stars
3/10/03 fish Weakest Python flick, yet still painfully hilarious..."and it went wherever I did gooooo!!" 5 stars
2/03/03 Charles Tatum Every sperm is sacred... 5 stars
10/29/02 Marija Leontijevic GREAT!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/25/02 Jonathan Doan One of the sickest, most twisted comedies ever made, yet brutally funny. 5 stars
7/20/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa Die in pain, Joey Husain! 4 stars
7/15/02 Joey Husain One of the Worst movies ever. Yes even worse then Jaws. And not even funny. 1 stars
7/11/02 Kristin It's not as good as Holy grail or Brian but even for being their worst I still love it 4 stars
6/18/02 Connoisseur God this movie is great it's funny and twisted but the best thing is it's got a lot of TITS 5 stars
6/04/02 Arthur Figgis You either love this film or detest it. I love it,very Python..Find the Fish- genius! 5 stars
4/20/02 Throatwobbler Mangrove I wonder where all the fissssssh have gone? 5 stars
4/14/02 Nolan Martin Sick,Twisted, Dark and Gross. Monty Python at their worst 2 stars
3/26/02 Zargo cobbled together and overrated. Even john cleese didn't like this one 2 stars
3/18/02 Mr. Creosote Second best Python film after (of course) Holy Grial. Can you find the fish? 5 stars
1/27/02 Mark Holmes Sure to offend everyone. 5 stars
1/12/02 Andrew Carden The Best Python Feature. Just Hilarious. Great Guys...Gotta Like Em. 5 stars
10/13/01 British Bulldog Not their best, but still very funny. 5 stars
10/05/01 Evil Bitchwoman not as good as some of the other monty pythons but still very funny. 4 stars
8/09/01 Henry Ginsberg The sammon moose ! 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Jason's right! Better than Brian but not as funny as Grail... 4 stars
3/21/01 Tim_The_Ench@nter best movie ever 5 stars
10/30/00 YOUR Movie Expert The Really Fat Puking Guy, the Galaxy Song, Death's Visit, and you've got a Python movie. 5 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Puking Guy's the Best segment 5 stars
9/03/00 Brian Rugby match sucked, who the hell would think a piece of crap like that was funny ???? 1 stars
4/30/00 Nick Melton Very, very funny, especially the "Galaxy Song," the rugby match, and Mr. Creosote 5 stars
12/06/99 Ann "All you Americans are the same...none of you have any balls"-hilarious! 5 stars
12/02/99 pedro g. koo What a waste! 2 stars
11/22/99 Jeremy Winston One of the top 10 movies of all time. The best statement of existential absurdity ever made 5 stars
10/12/99 Geir It really sucks. It's one of the worst movies I've ever seen... 1 stars
9/08/99 Jason Kinsey very good. funnier than "Brian" but not as funny as "Grail" 4 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo The funniest piece of Art in the World 5 stars
5/27/99 The Bomb 69 Mostly hit some miss, very gross humor 4 stars
2/23/99 Cool Thing Disgusting but very funny. Not for the weak of stomach. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1983 (R)
  DVD: 23-Aug-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1984 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast