More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.71

Awesome: 11.72%
Worth A Look: 22.41%
Average: 20.69%
Pretty Bad: 15.52%
Total Crap29.66%

13 reviews, 212 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

Love Eternal by Jay Seaver

Ten (2014) by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Mission: Impossible 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Audiences Got Their Wish - Dumbed Down"
3 stars

Now that Mission Impossible is being turned into a franchise, it seemed poised to overtake the tired James Bond series as the spy films for the new millennium. The original had its share of action, gadgets and plot twists for all the recent Bond films combined. But, for reasons truly unbeknownst to myself, despite the worldwide success of the original film, audiences (and critics alike) always complain about it being too confusing and complex. Well, their cries apparently did not go on deaf ears, because the sequel feels like it’s been dumbed down for those who thought its predecessor was too complex.

Where the original film could take pages to map out everything that happened, Mission: Impossible 2’s plotline could be written on the head of a pin. It goes something like this. The ultimate 24-hour bug, Chimera, has been created. Some bad guys looking only to sell it to the head of a drug company so he can release it and make billions on the cure, which has also been created, steal it. Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise), who is off climbing mountains to the opening theme of Rain Man, is tracked down to be given his mission to retrieve the virus. But first, he has to track down beautiful thief, Nyah Hall (Thandie Newton, who also appeared with Cruise, briefly, in Interview with the Vampire), proceeding to fall in love (and bed) with her after a few hours and getting her out of not one, but two scrapes. Little does he know that the only purpose she serves for this mission, is to infiltrate the villain’s compound in true Bond fashion. Why? Because she used to date him. This kind of low level cloak-and-dagger stuff dominates the first hour of MI2, where Hunt recruits old friend Luther Stickell (Ving Rhames) and a “crazy” Australian chopper pilot, John Polson (Billy Baird) who is reduced to being the Winston Zeddmore of the IMF team.

One of the big problems with MI2 is that, like U.S. Marshals’ final 20 minutes, it forgets the concept of the team. There’s only one scene when all four IMF members are working together (at the race track), before Cruise becomes John Matrix in Commando, which is doubly convenient because many of the action scenes will be compared to The Matrix, even if John Woo was using such techniques years before. Luther does a little (here and there), Nyah is all but forgotten during the final 40 minutes, and I won’t even mention the helicopter guy. All the while, Ethan Hunt becomes a one man hit squad, teasing his targets by walking past them in slow motion. Suspension of disbelief is in full gear here and that’s fine. Like Anthony Hopkins says “this isn’t mission difficult, it’s mission impossible”, so you could have someone jump off the Sears Tower, take out a dozen paratroopers on the way down and land perfectly on a motorcycle, and I would buy it – as long as it was done in a sense of sustained excitement. But when you see Tom Cruise doing one too many slow-motion spin kicks, one has to think “oh come on and just shoot him already.”

There’s no doubt that this is, indeed, John Woo’s version of Mission: Impossible. Which means a lot of action, right? Wrong. Other than your standard pre-title opening hook and a car chase (similar to one recently seen in Goldeneye) that is more like foreplay than edge-of-your-seat thrills, action is minimal in the first hour, taking a backseat to a love story that doesn’t belong anywhere in a Mission: Impossible film. During the best of the Bond movies, we never stopped to believe that James was ever in love with his “woman for the two hours.” Sure he didn’t want to see her die, but not because it would ruin his proposal plans. The first big Woo-style action sequence becomes a pale imitation of the Topkapi-inspired CIA break-in in the original, followed by some standard shoot-and-duck gunfire that has been done better in Woo’s non-“PG-13” rated films. So by the time the overhyped motorcycle chase comes, it’s too little too late because the film has brought us to the point where we’re not really excited – but merely watching cool stunts.

Dougray Scott (who had to drop out of playing Wolverine in X-Men due to delays and injuries here) does a fine job as the villain, Sean Ambrose, yet another former IMF member gone bad. The IMF seems to have more disgruntled workers than the post office. But his character doesn’t seem like much of a threat since (1) he is only out to steal and sell the virus to the highest bidder and (2) that bidder is going to distribute the cure as well, resulting in nothing but some serious inconvenience for the American public. And Anthony Hopkins has a fun cameo, playing “M” to Cruise’s Bond, and commands as much authority and menace in five minutes of screen time (even returning for a Sherlock Holmes-like wrap-up scene) as any of the villains.

For many years I’ve suggested John Woo as one of the candidates to breathe some new life into the Bond series. If this film is any proof, I may have spoke too soon. For despite all the delays in production, MI2 has the feel of a project rushed through development. It plays more like one of John Woo’s weak television projects than his action-packed efforts of “The Killer”, “Hard-Boiled” or “Face/Off.” MI2 isn’t even as good as Ronin, which is the best non-Bond, non-MI film to come along in years, not to even mention the best car chases since The French Connection and Bullitt. MI2 not only has minimal action, but minimal gadgets, which are essential to any spy film. How can a spy sneak around without his fancy gadgets? I doubt the world’s best spies just run around shooting and throwing grenades into plentiful chemical compounds. As it turns out, the biggest winner in this whole franchise may just be Brian DePalma who brought just the right style to this material, keeping the emphasis on teamwork rather than individual heroics. Suspense rather than guns. “Impossible” complication rather than “difficult” simplicity. Of course all this would be forgiven if MI2 was just a fun movie, which it is not, because most of its running time deals with one’s anticipation that something awesome is going to take place. And there’s nothing worse than a promise that isn’t delivered on.

I was one of the lucky patrons to see the first public screening of MI2 here in Illinois with Tom Cruise and John Woo in attendance. Cruise introduced the film to everyone and pleaded with all of us (who signed a confidentiality agreement) not to reveal any of the film’s big plot twists to anyone, especially on the Internet. If they were anything close to the surprises in the first film, I would have been a happy man. I kept my promise, but the big plot surprises in this film are truly nothing more than numerous overused instances of the mask trick pulled in the original, making one realize that John Woo’s last film with John Travolta and Nicolas Cage is the way an action film with a simple plot should be made. (Note: For those confused by the original film beyond comprehension - check out my "explanation review" at http://www.filmink-online.com/hbs.cgi?movie=580&reviewer=198)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1643&reviewer=198
originally posted: 05/24/00 07:31:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/26/13 DB Better than the first 4 stars
12/12/09 Jeff Wilder Better than the original or the third. Similar to Notorious. Woo's an action master. 4 stars
12/02/09 Kev If I want voice changers and fake masks I'll watch star wars - this movie was utter crap! 1 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Crapaholic 1 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight 2 hours of John Woo wanking off 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SEEMS SO AFRAID OF CONFUSING PEOPLE THAT IT DUMPS DOWN THE PLOT TO AN INSULTING LEVEL 1 stars
11/12/07 Chris The directing is so stupid it makes the movie funny, go home Woo. 3 stars
11/10/07 Hepe This movie sucks my brain... 1 stars
6/16/07 Sonse This movie is a cinematic fart 1 stars
6/16/07 Charles Tatum Sound and fury signifying nothing 3 stars
5/25/07 Sugarfoot Prior to this, Woo had made the mediocre Blackjack, which was way better than this 1 stars
3/09/07 johnnyfog Awful crap 1 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Good for action buffs. 3 stars
5/28/06 Sambadi Bahahahahah... retarded movie, absolutely atrocious crap, ahahah... horrible. 1 stars
5/10/06 San Lamar better than the first 4 stars
2/14/06 Anthony Feor It does not match the first one 3 stars
10/22/05 Tarheelfan The music was the GAYEST music i've ever heard!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
10/05/05 Indrid Cold Somber and poorly-paced. Still not that bad though. 3 stars
9/26/05 Jonathon Holmes so good, it almost redddms MI:1... ALMOST! 5 stars
9/06/05 ian the first movie is my all time fav. so i just about hit an old lady w/ a crowbar after this 1 stars
8/30/05 ES Woo you suck! check out the switching tires on the motor cycle scene & other worse things 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris The motorcycle scene still makes me laugh 1 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Position Impossible II far superior 1 stars
5/26/05 tony Storyline is very slow most parts. Some scenes unbeliveable. We found our speed 2 of 2000 3 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 It's not John Woo's fault... It's Tom Cruise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody First one was MUCH better. 1 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean First movie was better. Newton is beautiful. Action is over the top. 3 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot lighten up.its a bare-faced a action romance thing and it is visually pleasing. 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. WHATTHEFUCK! TOM CRUISE... YOU'RE SO UP YOURSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/10/04 Monster W. Kung So lame it's funny. Recommended for people who wanna laugh at the badness of this trash. 1 stars
12/06/03 john it's really a love story with lots of action - 5 stars
11/29/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) After the 1st half-hour it gets better, action getting less fake & plot more engrossing. 4 stars
11/01/03 Mrs Karina Fitzgerald Enjoyed in a way only Scottish people can pull off 5 stars
10/21/03 Charlie Harrington Yawn! 1 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert Very bad compared to the original movie. 2 stars
7/06/03 Jack Sommersby Better than the first, but it's still a mess. A couple of good action scenes. 2 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink Along with Hard Target, Woo's worst film. 1 stars
4/22/03 Angolmois Not an original idea in Woo's head. Even MI 1 was better than this... 1 stars
1/17/03 RAJA SHAH amazingly mind blowing! 5 stars
11/25/02 Matt Thiel I never got the impression that the filmmakers were not even trying to make a good film! 1 stars
11/23/02 Croweater This movie takes itself WAY too seriously, its utter crap. 1 stars
9/30/02 R.W. Welch Same ol' secret agent schtick; first half too slow, finale overdone. 2 stars
8/20/02 Monster W. Kung The mere fact that this drivel got many good reviews from mainstream critics makes me puke. 1 stars
5/23/02 Piz farscical and choppy but a good action flick. straight entertainment value. 4 stars
5/21/02 The Chronic Mastubator Barf, vomit, shit on a stick...perfect adjectives for this crap and far more appealing too. 2 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean This shouldn't have been directed by John Woo. The action scenes were silly 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. This movie is just a dream. I will NEVER accept Peter Graves as a bad guy! It just ain't so 4 stars
1/10/02 Magnum Craphole Boring, predictable and totally ridiculous. Bathroom-inducingly bad. 1 stars
12/23/01 Andrew Carden Nothing Could Save This Helpless Sequel. 1 stars
12/15/01 Cracked head This 'movie' was so bad, I couldn't even finish it -- this movie PLAIN FUCKING SUCKS! 1 stars
12/12/01 Dr. Jagdish K. Sharma Good movie 4 stars
12/04/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Jon Woo as director and Limp Bizkit as theme song?! 2 stars
11/30/01 Cookie Cutter I paid attention, and I almost couldn't believe how dumb and shitty it was. 1 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Pay attention, and you'll like it, fantastic action scenes! 4 stars
11/12/01 daniboy incredibly bad 1 stars
10/20/01 Tam Pathetic storyline, wooden acting - big disappointment. I was bored out of my brain! 1 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean Newton is beautiful, Cruise is always watchable, but the directing was a bit over the top 3 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Thandie Newton is fucking perfect, Tom Cruise is cool. 5 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat So many fake things in this movie, you can't even count 'em. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Good John Woo film...bad Mission Impossible film. 3 stars
8/06/01 badfish Stupid!! I'm beginning to not like Cruise anymore. I'm cringing just thinking about it. 1 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Thr first one was better, this stunk 1 stars
7/28/01 Steve It was a Woo movie, I expected unrealism, but not like this! Was still pretty fun though. 4 stars
7/28/01 Crisis Management Pathetic excuse for explosions and slow-mo fake martial arts. Plot crap. A waste of money. 1 stars
7/20/01 Rolling Thunder A ridiculous piece of trash 1 stars
7/20/01 Tom Cruise I only make intelligent people sick, Birgit I want my $3.99 pay per view back. 1 stars
7/19/01 Hobbes This is a sign of the apocolypse... 1 stars
7/15/01 Birgit TOM CRUISE DOESN´T MAKE ANYBODY SICK, CALIGULA. HE´S THE MOST WONDERFUL ACTOR IN THE WORLD 5 stars
7/08/01 Caligula TOM CRUISE MAKES ME SICK, WATCHING THIS MOVIE IS LIKE TAKING A DUMP IN SLOW MOTION, FUCK! 1 stars
6/26/01 Lars Pettersson It's good, but could have been much better! Tom Cruise & Thandie Newton are good ! 3 stars
6/22/01 Dave can you say BULLLLLLLLSHIT!! 1 stars
5/23/01 Dean How this crap made a lot of money is beyond me. It's nearly unwatchable. 1 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One cheesy as fuck 3 stars
5/01/01 Jonathan Garro Luckily they didn't need to hand you a little explanitory booklet upon entering the Theater 3 stars
4/23/01 Luke Take a look at thi 4 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung People involved in this tripe should be shot in slow motion. 1 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 One of the worst movies of the year. They must have spent five dollars on the script. 2 stars
3/06/01 Shams Huque What the hell happened to John Woo. Someone gave him a budget that was too big! 2 stars
2/15/01 jk too predictable I could ges wot woz gonna happen...boring 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake This is a movie not a film. Typical Woo. 1 stars
2/11/01 Thomas Johnsen Thrilling,superb effects,good story and a brilliant Cruise 5 stars
2/07/01 Mike Bowers the story is even more complicated then the first one, action scenes are good, story is shi 4 stars
2/03/01 Ben Stechmann For the shit movies coming out now, it is definitely worth watching 4 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Made me want to watch North by Northwest again. 3 stars
1/30/01 rubber Complete and utter fucking SHIT! John Woo & Tom Cruise should be shot! 1 stars
1/09/01 Jake Not a great film, but certainly not as bad as some have said 4 stars
1/08/01 Eric Best action scenes in years (love the motorcycle chase), M:I-2 is a lot of fun 5 stars
1/06/01 Bruce It is slow getting started but the lab shootout and the 10 minute motorcycle chase awesome 4 stars
1/05/01 GTC Shite. Takes an hour to get going, and the references to Aussie Blokes are sickening. 1 stars
12/31/00 Msitrab Better than the first 4 stars
12/25/00 mer err...yeah....no.....mmmm....it's OK 3 stars
12/16/00 Birgit The best film I´ve ever seen, Tom Cruise was (and still is) amazing :-) 5 stars
12/13/00 Mr. ZmoXz the best action movie in years... no brains, no story, just fun, fun... 5 stars
12/12/00 PhilmPhreak Didn't like it in the theater, but it works on DVD. Go figure. 4 stars
12/12/00 Amy's Bitch what the fuck is wrong with people? I laughed, I cried, I shit my pants. 1 stars
12/11/00 Y.E.S. The best action movie of the year. The motorcycle chase is a masterpiece. 5 stars
12/08/00 Arielle Nicholas 15 minutes of Story, rest of the film fighting on that stupid motor cycles. 1 stars
12/03/00 Maestro A Shit 1 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls Public enemy was right, DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE! tom? how could you?! 1 stars
11/14/00 Monday Morning Schtick a fork in it, the "action" is overdone. 3 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin To my opinion: The first one is better 3 stars
11/10/00 The Bomb 69 could see the supposed "plot twists" a mile away, I long for Hong Kong's Woo 2 stars
10/28/00 Miss Hunt THE BEST MOVIE I EVER SEEN. TOM WAS SO AMAZING. GO AND WATCH M-I2. 5 stars
10/21/00 joe the action was super 4 stars
10/08/00 The Rock Great Action. Great Fun. 5 stars
9/22/00 White Rabbit What it lacks in story it makes up for in action 4 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero watch the first MI 3 stars
9/06/00 Croweater GOD I HATE THIS MOVIE!! AWFUL AWFUL!! 1 stars
8/25/00 Eric Great action scenes, better story than the 1st M:I and one hot chick! 4 stars
7/28/00 Eran Crap,nothing but crap.(liked the line of Roman!) 1 stars
7/19/00 Goldfinger The cinematic equivalent of Chinese food- tastes good, but you're on the can all night. 2 stars
7/19/00 SuzVoy Funniest damn movie I've seen all year - so up it's on ass that you can't help but laugh 4 stars
7/18/00 John Chu the worst movie I saw this summer -- well, maybe not as bad as Battlefield earth 1 stars
7/16/00 Roman Woo you whore!!! 1 stars
7/13/00 Edzel Rubite It could be Better to be Than James Bond Movies 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley It's an above average blockbuster 4 stars
7/06/00 Marcus West After watching this crap it's clear - we aussies don't need imports to make good movies 1 stars
7/01/00 Ayesha Cross Comparied to MI1 this was fucked!!!! 1 stars
7/01/00 Overflow Bitch Gimme a break K-Dog.. You say the same thing ALL OF THE TIME !! 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ Not the best of Woo, but any Woo is better than no Woo, ending kicked ass 3 stars
6/29/00 burton miller slow, predictable, silly fight scenes - kinda like xena, warrior princess 2 stars
6/29/00 Bruce Decent enough 4 stars
6/28/00 Rue the Whirl what a steaming pile 2 stars
6/27/00 Paige Tom Cruise looks good, that's about it. 2 stars
6/26/00 Bubby Should've been titled, SH:T 2 stars
6/25/00 Purple Monster Better than the original 4 stars
6/19/00 Tim Woo by numbers. Sydney looks great but the movie was overall disappointing. 3 stars
6/14/00 AnotherAnotherReviewe Last 40 minutes didn't make up for the first hour 3 stars
6/13/00 Overflow Bitch {{{OZ}}} is such a tool. 5 stars
6/13/00 JonnyA relax 4 stars
6/13/00 PJ I still love the ARTIST John Woo, this movie had some good stuff, and alot of bad stuff 3 stars
6/13/00 bob i fell asleep, that shouldn't happen 1 stars
6/12/00 FilmStar Better than the first,,,a pretty cool movie 4 stars
6/09/00 wfo600 m.i.2 is as bad as m.i.1 is good 1 stars
6/08/00 Jim J Nonbelevable story ... but who cares lots of great action fun movie to watch very entertain 5 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez CRAP, CRAP! 1 stars
6/07/00 jimbob more people were un-masked then a bad Scooby Doo episode. Zoinks! 2 stars
6/07/00 Greg Harris I went to be entertained, and I was. Not meant to be a boring foreign film. Tom's great. 4 stars
6/07/00 MKillroy Lived up to my expectations, plenty of action 4 stars
6/07/00 Taylor It delivers what the first film should have. 4 stars
6/06/00 13th warrior stupid eye candy for teens. Woo is not an artist, Cruise loves himself. 3 stars
6/06/00 Bob Wombat CAN John Woo make a good American film? Ever? Very average stuff. 3 stars
6/04/00 natasha beautifully choreographed, well-crafted, worth the time 4 stars
6/03/00 Kelvin Iverson somewhere between average to shit. 3 stars
6/03/00 bornslippy I don't think horrid can cover how bad this movie is..total disappointment 1 stars
6/03/00 Urbanwarrior woo and 'did they really do that?' action sequences...newton was eye candy 4 stars
6/03/00 Loki This movie made me laugh a lot. Unfortunately, I was laughing at it, not with it. 2 stars
6/03/00 Mantik0re I've never felt like I've been mugged by Tom Cruise for $7.50 until now. 1 stars
6/03/00 Xalt John Woo. Nuff said. 4 stars
6/02/00 Dasha Who would have thought that Woo & Cruise combo could result in such staggering mediocrity?? 1 stars
6/02/00 M.C.(WATCHOUT) You just can't imagine what's instore for all of you viewers out there!! NEXT TIME TOM&WOO 5 stars
6/02/00 PJ The Killer, Hardboiled, Bullet in the Head, Better Tomorrow 1&2, this ain't, Woo come back 3 stars
6/02/00 Alex How could it suck so bad without hurting someone! 1 stars
6/02/00 Dirk Pitt Woo needs to watch his movies of old with Chow Yun Fat, that's how we like to the Woo. 3 stars
6/01/00 Cam I shoulda taken my girlfriend, would have given me something todo 2 stars
6/01/00 Zaw Pointless stunts.. Slow Mo's 2 stars
6/01/00 Tim "Weapon" Groves Not Nearly the Movie it could have been!! 3 stars
6/01/00 arnold fucking boring,greatest motorcycle chase ever 3 stars
6/01/00 Aaron Richardson Shite on a stick. 1 stars
6/01/00 malcolm chinese style action w/good actors -- i loved it 4 stars
6/01/00 Overflow Bitch Cruise was very good. Entertaining summer blockbuster with good story. 5 stars
5/31/00 13th warrior cruise is in love with himself 3 stars
5/31/00 Peter Smith I left the theater with a new respect for "Ronin" 3 stars
5/31/00 i king it was the shit! 4 stars
5/31/00 JussMatt At least it had more action than the first one!! 4 stars
5/31/00 ladislau see it twice...on rented video, from your neighbour.don't spend money on it!! 3 stars
5/31/00 matt brody it's total crap 1 stars
5/30/00 Kootchy Cruise was great,the action was electric-better than the boring recent Bond films 4 stars
5/30/00 Heywood Jablowme It sucked 1 stars
5/30/00 Zatoichi Jones John Woo can do action. Unfortunately, plot and characters are irrelevant to him. 4 stars
5/30/00 Metrazol So, uhm...was that a joke? 2 stars
5/30/00 Stevie Mac I was expecting way, way better! What I got was a Bond rip off with only 30 mins of "Woo"! 3 stars
5/30/00 RossBond M:I2 Rules! Apart from a lazy script M:I2 is grade A+ all the way! See it twice! 5 stars
5/30/00 Tim It needed less romance and more plot 2 stars
5/29/00 Decent story, great action, Tom does a great job. Woo is the best ! Silly at times, but definately has its moments. On the whole a good, fun film. B+ 4 stars
5/29/00 Bueller Great action sequences. Interesting, though very predictable story line. M:I1 was better. 3 stars
5/29/00 Krystal I can definitely live without seeing it again 3 stars
5/29/00 Captain Highcrime Note to Tom: You are NOT Keanu and this is NOT "The Matrix," so knock it off dipshit. 3 stars
5/29/00 JonnyJ Thandie is a hottie 5 stars
5/29/00 Ian Pound Written to appeal to 14 year old boys 1 stars
5/29/00 koHawk Nolan's head needs to be removed from his ass...Good movie 4 stars
5/28/00 swan this sucked all ass. 1 stars
5/28/00 Vampyre9mm Typical Woo flick, a little hard to swallow at points. Very dumbed down. 3 stars
5/28/00 DatherFrawdad better than shanghai noon.. 5 stars
5/28/00 cinesuerte pg-13 woo movie is like porno w/o penatration & money shots 2 stars
5/27/00 eatphlegm The most fun I've had in a movie. I never want to see it again 1 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley A two-hour screen saver. (Thandie Newton, mmmmm...) 1 stars
5/27/00 Chartsy Some bad edits, weird symbols (the dove?) and horrible continuity. 2 stars
5/27/00 Louis This movie was good, and the girl is HOT!! OH MY GOD! 5 stars
5/27/00 NTWRAGE They took a good movie, put a pice of shit on it, added explosions and called it part II 2 stars
5/27/00 PhilmPhreak I can't believe I didn't like a John Woo movie! 2 stars
5/27/00 Kenosha Kid The otrcyle scene was fanfuckingtastic. 5 stars
5/26/00 gwalla Wretched excess. Too much filler. Almost a parody of John Woo movies. 2 stars
5/26/00 Makaveli the Don Slow Motion Garbage 1 stars
5/26/00 Dennis Kablinger ridiculous 1 stars
5/26/00 Sarah O'Hara You can have action AND a good story/dialogue, but they're not in this movie. 3 stars
5/26/00 Maclay01 I so enjoy big screen woo-action & raw emotion-not his best but still best action around 4 stars
5/26/00 elfpunkt too much slo-mo fighting, other than that not bad for eyecandy. 4 stars
5/26/00 Mr. X A bit slow until the last third. I agree with David Seah. 3 stars
5/26/00 DatherFrawdad i shit my pants 5 stars
5/26/00 paul rovella john woo and tom cruise masturbating each other in the editing room. 3 stars
5/26/00 gezick WTF is with the pigeons... I want my 126 min back. 1 stars
5/25/00 Kipster Definitely a John Woo film. All Eye candy. But still very good. 4 stars
5/25/00 strider most of the fights are ripped straight out of street fighter, fun to watch though 4 stars
5/25/00 Agent Browne Lame catchphrases, illogical action, boring villain. But Tom & Thandie rock, & cool scenery 5 stars
5/25/00 David Seah Pretty production, good stunts, dull plotting. John Woo commoditized into McAction. 3 stars
5/25/00 The Rock the last 45 min were awesome 4 stars
5/25/00 Greyjack This movie's soo Woo I was expecting subtitles. Bigtime over-the-top fun. 4 stars
5/25/00 Jason Cooke If you love John Woo, You'll love this movie like me. 5 stars
5/25/00 Jason Kallelis Pretty good, not as bad as some are probably expecting. Great action, a few corny lines. 4 stars
5/25/00 Maclay01 Erik the MM forgets Dr. No- Bond falls in love, she's killed & thus Bond womanizes evermore 4 stars
2/26/00 Pamela Chickenleg BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOF ! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jun-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast