More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 33.66%
Worth A Look: 15.48%
Average: 7.13%
Pretty Bad: 9.09%
Total Crap34.64%

10 reviews, 347 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Juno
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Peter Sobczynski

"Do Believe The Hype"
5 stars

Ever since it began to pop up on the festival circuit a few months ago, the new comedy “Juno” has been receiving critical hosannas from virtually everyone who has encountered it. Obviously, this is the kind of reaction that all filmmakers hope and pray for, especially if they have had the audacity to make a film that doesn’t involve superstar actors or giant robots beating the crap out of each other, but the problem with such constant and consistent adulation is that it sets up audience expectations that are almost impossible for any film, no matter how good, to live up to when it finally faces the general public. (This condition is generally known as “Lost In Translation” Syndrome) The good news–make that great news–about “Juno” is that it not only more than lives up to all of the advanced hype, it is actually even better than the advanced word has been suggesting. This is not just one of the funniest films of 2007 or one of the most charming or one of the most sincerely heartwarming (although it deserves all of those titles)–it is quite simply one of the best films to emerge in a year that has turned out to be one of the richest in recent moviegoing memory.

The film opens with the arresting sight of a pint-sized teenaged girl chugging Sunny Delight from a jug that almost appears to be bigger than she is. The girl is Juno (Ellen Page) and as we quickly discover, she is not guzzling down her beverage of choice in order to get her required monthly amount of Vitamin C. It seems that a few weeks ago, out of boredom more than anything else, she had sex with longtime friend Paulie (Michael Cera) and is now plowing through the supply of early-pregnancy tests at the local drugstore looking for one that won’t tell her the inevitable news. (As the druggist, a cameo bit from “The Office” MVP Rainn Wilson, puts it “That ain’t no Etch-a-Sketch. That’s one doodle that can’t be un-did, home-skillet.”) She immediately goes down to the local clinic to obtain a quick abortion but when she gets there, the combination of a pro-life classmate picketing outside (who helpfully informs Juno that her fetus already has fingernails) and the less-than-nurturing attitude inside causes her to flee.

Knowing that there is no way that she can possibly take care of a baby, even with the help of her father (J.K. Simmons) and stepmother (Allison Janney), Juno decides that the best thing to do would be to find a childless couple looking to adopt and arrange to turn the baby over to them once it is born–of course, the ever-iconoclastic girl decides that the best place to look for prospective parents is in the classified section of the local Penny Saver. Amazingly enough, Juno actually finds a perfect potential couple in Mark and Vanessa Loring (Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner), a well-to-do couple from a nearby town looking to finally start a family of their own. As her pregnancy develops, so does Juno’s relationships with her steadfast and loyal parents (in one of the most rousing scenes, her stepmother vociferously backs her up in an argument with a somewhat snotty ultrasound technician), with Paulie (refusing to admit her true feelings, she all but insists that he take another girl to prom and is then outraged when he actually does) and the Lorings (especially overgrown kid Mark, with whom she bonds over a shared love of guitars and gory horror movies) until a series of events forces her to confront the realities of the world and the possibility that she might not actually have all of the answers after all.

“Juno” is the brainchild of Diablo Cody, a newcomer whose personal backstory could inspire a film of its own–she previously worked as a stripper and phone-sex operator until an agent stumbled upon a blog that she kept and got her a book deal on the strength of her writing–and her screenwriting debut has already inspired commentators to compare her to the likes of Quentin Tarantino because of her flair for oddball dialogue and obscure pop-culture references. Of course, this kind of rags-to-riches story is just the sort of thing that sets other people on edge and there has already been the beginnings of a backlash among some critics that her dialogue comes across as too “written” for its own good and that no ordinary people would ever speak in the hyper-articulate manner that she has bestowed upon her characters. It may be true that the characters don’t speak in the same manner as the people you might encounter on your next jaunt to the grocery store, I must admit that I fail to see what the problem is. If you take a look at the work of the best screenwriters–let me offer up the names Preston Sturges, Billy Wilder, Paddy Chayesky, Robert Towne, David Mamet, Charlie Kaufman and yes, even Tarantino–you will quickly realize that their dialogue isn’t exactly “realistic” either. Instead, their words are suffused with the kind of wit, style and sheer poetry that most people only wish they could emulate in real life. These qualities are also to be found in spades in Cody’s work as well–when our heroine reassures Vanessa that she won’t flake out on her by saying “If I could just have the thing and give it to you now, I totally would but I’m guessing it looks like a Sea Monkey right now and I should let it get a little cuter” or later refers to her heavily pregnant self as “a cautionary whale,” they are the kind of remarks that are funny both because they are intrinsically amusing and because they tap into feelings that most audience members will recognize instead of simply serving as rat-a-tat laugh lines. At the same time, she also demonstrates a fine ear for capturing real-life conversation as well when it suits her purposes–the scene in which Juno and Mark debate the virtues of Dario Argento vs. Herschel Gordon Lewis perfectly captures the giddy excitement that one gets when they unexpectedly encounter someone who is completely on their wavelength when it comes to something that they dearly love and that few others seem to understand. (While I am on the subject, I would just like to state that for writing a relatively mainstream comedy that not only sings the praises of Lewis, known as “the Godfather of Gore” for such landmark screen bloodbaths as “Blood Feast,” “2000 Maniacs” and “The Wizard of Gore,” but manages to include a choice clip of his work as well, Diablo Cody not only becomes an instant crush object but deserves a lifetime pass in my work for anything that she creates in the future.)

And yet, while “Juno” is filled with big laughs–indeed, it may be the funniest film of 2007 not named “I Know Who Killed Me”–what really makes it special is that it is much more than simply a joke machine with nothing more on its mind than making audiences giggle. There is a real intelligence at work in the writing that emerges in surprising and unanticipated ways. Take the whole matter of the unplanned pregnancy and Juno’s decision not to abort it. Earlier this year, you will recall, we had two other comedies that dealt with unplanned pregnancies (“Knocked Up” and “Waitress”) and while it was obvious that the main characters in those films would choose to have their babies–if they didn’t, the movies would have both been over in 20 minutes–but the fact that they never even raised the possibility of abortion (or even mentioned the word in passing) rang false even with those who otherwise liked those film. In that regard, the mere fact that “Juno” even mentions the word “abortion” is striking enough but what is really impressive is the deft and nuanced way in which Cody handles the seemingly serious material in a manner that offers some unexpected laughs while still making a subversive point or two. (Since it features a heroine who chooses to put her unwanted baby up for adoption instead of getting an abortion, some conservative commentators have latched onto the film as carrying an anti-abortion message without realizing that the whole point of the scene is that Juno chooses what she wants to do instead of having the decision forced upon her.) As the film progresses and the story gradually gets more serious, the screenplay maintains such a perfect balance between the comedy and the drama that it makes what must have been a fiendishly difficult high-wire act of tonal maintenance and makes it seem utterly effortless. One of the best examples of this is the scene in which Juno informs her parents of her pregnancy and her plans–we have seen scenes like this in countless other movies but Cody puts a spin on it that offers up a lot of laughs, some simple human truths and even a surprise or two.

Of course, one can have the greatest screenplay in the world and still come up with a pretty bad film if it doesn’t have the right director and cast to bring it to life but in the case of “Juno,” it has lucked into an exceptional group of people who have come to the project firing on all cylinders. The film was directed by Jason Reitman, who got a lot of attention last year with his hilarious debut film “Thank You for Smoking.” That was a very funny film in its own right but his work here not only confirms the promise that he previously demonstrated but it automatically launches onto the list of working directors whose every film automatically becomes something to look out for. As he demonstrated in his previous film, Reitman has a keen ability to merge together sly social satire with character empathy in a manner that hasn’t been seen since the respective heydays of Jonathan Demme and the late Michael Ritchie–he knows how to get the big laughs but he also knows how to present characters that you can laugh with instead of at. As for the cast, there isn’t a weak link in the bunch Reliable supporting players J.K. Simmons and Allison Janney are both wonderful as Juno’s tart-tongued but loving parents, Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner offer up their best big-screen performances to date as the adoptive couple going through as many changes as Juno, Olivia Thirlby, an actress previously unknown to me, is hilarious as Juno’s best friend and Michael Cera once again demonstrates, in the wake of his superlative work on TV’s “Arrested Development” and last summer’s “Superbad,” that there is no one out there today who is doing a better or funnier job of illustrating the anxieties and angst of the contemporary American male teenager.

However, the best performance–indeed, once of the very best performances of the year–is the one given by Ellen Page in the title role. Although she may be an unknown quality to most moviegoers right now–while she got quite a bit of ink last year for the controversial indie drama “Hard Candy,” she is probably best-known to most moviegoers as one of the lesser X-People in last summer’s gumdrop “X-Men: The Last Stand”–it is highly unlikely that she will remain that way for much longer because she gives the kind of breakout where-the-hell-has-she-been? performance that comes along maybe once every few years and transforms people into enormous stars. Because the character of Juno is on-screen for virtually the entire running time and because the role requires the actress playing her to hit virtually every note on the emotional scale–sometimes more than one at the same time–this is the kind of part that would offer up a considerable challenge to any actress but Page hits every beat with such confidence and serenity not seen in a teen film since Reese Witherspoon appeared in “Election.” Alternately funny, touching, snarky and confused, this is as delightful and engrossing of a performance as one could possibly hope for from any actress, regardless of age or experience.

Having begun this review by warning how extravagant praise for a small movie can lead to some kind of backlash down the line, I see that I have essentially ignored my warning by giving “Juno” exactly the kind of lavish accolades that could help inspire just that kind of response. That said, I wouldn’t change a single word of what I have said–okay, I just changed one but I’m not saying which one–because if ever there was a film that deserved to be praised to the skies, it is “Juno.” This is a great film, one of the very best of 2007, and if for some strange reason you don’t find yourself responding to its enormous charms, all I can say is that in this particular case, the problem is pretty much all on your end.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16500&reviewer=389
originally posted: 12/14/07 16:04:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Toronto International Film Festival For more in the 2007 Toronto International Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/22/15 Kyndal Smith Quirky fun I wouldn't say its amazing but its alright. 3 stars
1/09/15 bunny101 This movie was hilarious! 5 stars
3/16/14 DeanD A brilliant critique of an inexplicable film. 1 stars
10/31/13 Seth DeRoule I thought this was a fun movie with a great soundtrack. 4 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless fun to watch 4 stars
9/28/13 Derek Diercksmeier The film that changed my life. 5 stars
8/29/12 Omlopez8 Secretley Pro-Life 4 stars
8/25/12 Faraz awesome... not what i had expected 5 stars
11/17/11 Mark forced and extremely annoying 1 stars
10/20/11 Magic An overbaked script is saved singlehandedly by Page's convincing performance. 4 stars
9/29/11 JN This review is completely spot-on. Stilted dialogue, WAY too "precious", and oddly sterile 2 stars
9/10/11 Shannon Dagesse The message was amazing. The acting not so great 3 stars
8/18/11 isabella totally shit. the biggest crap ever 1 stars
8/10/11 WENDY It was a good movie and I cried at the end but... 3 stars
7/24/11 Jennifer Barr ok movie...but wouldn't watch again 3 stars
6/12/11 Jolivhanna Juno tried WAY too hard. The character was just a vomit machine for useless name-dropping. 1 stars
5/10/11 Shaun A After Inception, I checked this out and was impressed by Ms. Page's performance. 4 stars
3/15/11 Annabel Fresh, quirky. Probably inspired many teens to get pregnant though... !! 4 stars
2/09/11 Lundon everyone likes this movie because of the way she talks and it was lame 1 stars
10/23/10 orndorfismyhero mary hart effect. now that is funny. this film is precious shite. 1 stars
10/21/10 linski_utwat this movie is the standard by which all pretentious douchebaggery is measured 1 stars
10/19/10 linski Juno is a reflection of the adolescent conflict that alot of smart and imperfect teenagers 5 stars
9/06/10 Cory pretentious and contrived 2 stars
7/27/10 the dork knight About 1000000 wry hipster jokes too many. 3 stars
5/22/10 brian crap, this movie was so bad that it actually made me angry to watch it 1 stars
2/10/10 Jay This is one big folding chair of Connect Four drip chip tip sales counter Aquaman remix. 1 stars
2/08/10 Chris best review of this overhyped movie...perfect 1 stars
1/26/10 art WHO CARES? 1 stars
1/20/10 Mohammad Mirza SO GOOD. funny, witty, well acted. just perfect. 5 stars
1/16/10 jethro the popularity of this film proves that 9.3 people out of 10 are mouth breathing fucktards 1 stars
1/14/10 mitchell Thanks you DC. I needed that. What a truly god awful piece of shit movie that is. 1 stars
1/11/10 Rachael thanks i read this and i am going to use it for a paper. if u don't mind 5 stars
1/08/10 jonno Review hundred percent spot on, movie was fuckin awful 1 stars
11/06/09 MP Bartley KInd of annoyingly quirky, but that's the point and it mostly works. 4 stars
10/02/09 art IT"S A RIP-OFF OF THE 1993 IRISH MOVIE THE SNAPPER!_ 1 stars
8/24/09 Jasmine i think its overrated it was ok but the movie was akward and the soundtrack was horrible 2 stars
8/15/09 art DULL! 1 stars
7/24/09 alice This movie is quirky, cool, and just really entertaining. 5 stars
7/11/09 Larry H. Jason Reitman, Diablo Cody, & songwriter/soundtrack artist Kimya Dawson hit a home run! 5 stars
5/29/09 Rio I liked Juno up until I read David C.'s review and realized it's just self-righteous tripe. 1 stars
5/04/09 David Cornwallis David Cornelius is the worst reviewer in history. Not to say this was a perfect movie. 4 stars
3/17/09 Mike Why do so many critics love this movie? It's so transparently self-absorbed. Hurl. 2 stars
2/09/09 lo& I initially didn't want to like this film but after watching it I loved it. 5 stars
1/30/09 DMac AMEN! The movie was trying so hard to be soooo tooootally cool and failed miserably. 1 stars
1/25/09 gLottis Its cool to hate a movie that attempts to be cool 4 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. everyone's opinion is there own, i guess...but i loved it. it was great. :] 5 stars
12/23/08 Sarah To use a term Cody would no doubt approve of against her: word. 2 stars
12/19/08 Brap If I had to pick btwn this movie or going to hell, ide be kissing satans ass right now. 1 stars
12/16/08 mct DEAD fuckin on 1 stars
12/09/08 James Brilliant review, especially in regards to the name-checking. King Buzzo deserves better. 1 stars
10/15/08 Ellen Page i couldn't agree with you more; completely on point! 1 stars
10/14/08 Brandy P. I couldn't disagree more. This movie is amazing. It deserved ever bit of praise it got. A+ 5 stars
10/04/08 PAUL SHORTT SWEET, PERCEPTIVE, SHARP AND NEAR PERFECT 5 stars
9/12/08 Lola La Pistola Thanks for the accurate and honest review. Trying WAY TOO HARD. Hated it. 1 stars
9/07/08 Pamela White nice to see a girl do the right thing, very brave 5 stars
9/04/08 Nikki Why so many negatice comments? This was a FANTASTIC movie! 5 stars
9/03/08 Alexandru Totir In my humble opinion, this movie didn't deserve an Oscar nomination. 3 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Great film!! 5 stars
8/31/08 AnnieG I’d recommend either ‘Waitress’ or ‘Saved’ before this for unplanned pregnancy movies! 3 stars
8/20/08 austin wertman best film of 2007 5 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm Cornelius is the man he got it exactly right. knowing obscure shit does not make you cool 4 stars
8/02/08 Tina I thought it was funny and that was the only reason I liked it. And I live in MN :D 4 stars
7/24/08 Sarah I couldn't agree more. I was worried I was the only one who hated this movie. 1 stars
7/01/08 Marin Best Review ever 1 stars
6/30/08 Cesar Full of the wrong messages .. dangerous movie.. 1 stars
6/23/08 SAM I guess it is an alright movie .. but I think the rave reviews are too much of stretch 3 stars
6/17/08 Simon Don't hate it as much as many apparently do; i just generally raise a quizzical eyebrow... 3 stars
6/16/08 noolin Who sings a Hole song in a 'jam session'? Trying so hard to be quirky. EW. 2 stars
6/14/08 Sarah Thank you for this review. I'm glad I'm not the only one who felt this way. 1 stars
6/12/08 Jayson Simply brilliant. Page was a knock-out. 5 stars
6/12/08 DK Page is fantastic as are the rest of the cast in this charming little movie 4 stars
6/10/08 Trixie Great review! What 16 year old knows who Soupy Sales is? What a show off Cody is. 1 stars
6/09/08 Liz At least it's ssomewhat realistic, unlike a lot of the crap that comes out these days. 5 stars
6/06/08 chels i loved this movie. excelent 5 stars
6/06/08 Jessay Finally an appropriate review of this movie 1 stars
5/26/08 David Pollastrini funny and touching. Page is beautiful 4 stars
5/22/08 d3rfuhrer Mmmm.. pointless namedropping of bands like The Melvins. How disrespectful. 1 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT JUNO'S PERSONALITY DOMINATES THE FILM, WHICH IS BOTH ITS STRENGTH AND ITS WEAKNESS 4 stars
5/17/08 BJ Thank you for the great review of this utterly trite, forced and massively boring film 1 stars
5/12/08 Redfoot This film took 2 hours of my life I will never get back. Thanks for the great review. 1 stars
5/11/08 jackiebee We learned about slasher films and 70s rock in lieu of a meaty story about adoption. 2 stars
5/07/08 jesse dude thank you so much for this awesome review, Cody was using juno as a puppet of herself 5 stars
5/04/08 Vincent I wanted to kill these characters! excellent review 1 stars
4/28/08 Sue Totally agree. Thank goodness not everyone has jumped on the Juno lovefest bandwagon. Th 1 stars
4/27/08 Random To love Juno is to love Juno-slang. The Urban Dictionary should share Diablo Cody's Oscar. 5 stars
4/26/08 Kristin Completely agree with this great review. Awful film 1 stars
4/26/08 MindBlown Good review. The Emperor's not wearing any clothes. Juno dialogue = 1994. 1 stars
4/25/08 Kristy This is the first truly honest review I've seen. This movie was horrendous. 1 stars
4/22/08 Obojoe Fantastic review, stupid movie. 1 stars
4/21/08 amator40 thank you. could not watch the whole thing. product of the "my space" generation. 1 stars
4/21/08 littlecow very boring...waste my time 1 stars
4/20/08 sydney. i agree with jimmi. maybe it's not up to your standards. stick to old folk movies. 5 stars
4/19/08 Gina horrible, horrible, horrible, horrible movie. all the characters were the same. 1 stars
4/17/08 Quigley Excellent performance from Ellen Page, but this isn't a film for everyone. 4 stars
4/10/08 ravenmad Jason Bateman, sooo icky. Poor juno, pregger's and hit on by an a-hole. she had it coming. 4 stars
4/05/08 smrtpants she sucks because that's all she can do now that she's given away the goods so soon... 4 stars
4/05/08 stephanie willis I loved this little movie and I think Ellen Page is on the move! 4 stars
4/04/08 Greets It was okay and watchable, but♦ evaporates pretty damn quick 3 stars
4/03/08 beau Laura Kyles review is interesting but i have to disagree, this was a highly enjoyable film 5 stars
3/28/08 Piz Where did they film this: Pleasantville? Quirky and cute, but c'mon now! 3 stars
3/25/08 Matt Finally a critic who gets it. If only zero stars was an option 1 stars
3/12/08 mbt What the heck is Dario Argento's 'Spiria?' 1 stars
3/11/08 DC10 This has to be the worst movie nominated for an oscar since...well..Little Miss Sunshine. 2 stars
3/10/08 Jo What a hideous faux-hipster review. 5 stars
3/09/08 Byron Graham Finally, a kindred spirit! Juno is as obnoxious as it is morally irresponsible. 1 stars
3/08/08 han aw. great movie. cant blame others if they prefer cliches to being original 5 stars
3/08/08 JBad Not the worst movie ever but one of the most pretentious . Don't waste your time. 1 stars
3/07/08 Erwoodinho You said it better than I ever could. 1 stars
3/07/08 wertyboy i agree, juno is far to sarcastic to be realistic and hu on earth has a hamburger phone!? 1 stars
3/06/08 Joe terms of endearment teen style.. did you hate that too?? 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Juno reminded me of my high school years, without the baby bump! 4 stars
3/02/08 J david, i'll only say, "thank you, thank you, thank you!" most annoying script ever 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr she seems like a very smart girl, you think she'd be smart enough to use a condom, hmmmmm 4 stars
3/02/08 Theresa Wagner its a teen flick, its funny, juno deals with her pregnancy with sarcasm and wit 3 stars
3/02/08 erik victory this review rules 1 stars
2/29/08 Monday Morning Lighten up...it's a movie...enjoy. Only the soundtrack bugged me. 4 stars
2/25/08 MikeHunt I couldn't connect with these charact..i mean hipsters. Is nerd the new cool - wtf? 1 stars
2/20/08 Tim Of course she is too smart to be 16. 4 stars
2/19/08 Jess Marry me! You're the only one who understands my seething hatred for this film! 1 stars
2/18/08 niki this review tells it like it is -- 100% 1 stars
2/17/08 Cameron Buzzell Doesn't deserve its best picture nom, but it's far better than this review says it is. 4 stars
2/17/08 Ted Excellent review. Piece of crap movie. 1 stars
2/17/08 Jack Forget water-boarding…give the CIA “Juno” & suspects will cough up the info in no time. 1 stars
2/17/08 Bryce So smart guy what movies do you like? Most likely crap like Mystic River. 5 stars
2/17/08 jimmi maybe you guys just aren't the target audience 5 stars
2/16/08 Danielle Great review -- overwhelmingly snarky dialogue and cutesy, indie tunes too much to handle 2 stars
2/16/08 Heather I agree. I missed an entire scene going "Noise? WTF?" Ugh.Wish I had read this review first 1 stars
2/16/08 different Dave All the comments are true. The movie was fun. Most honest scene: Jen Garner in the mall. 4 stars
2/15/08 Jim Only wish I could have said it better 2 stars
2/15/08 jimmi get with the times old man. i'm guessing the dialogue was too quick and sharp for you. 5 stars
2/14/08 Dave Couldnt agree more with this review. Made me sick 1 stars
2/14/08 Gabe I feel EXACTLY as you do about this film. It's clear there are too many lemmings in instry. 1 stars
2/14/08 DAC Love your review! Expresses my sentiments exactly with an extra dose of disgust. 1 stars
2/14/08 Rob A wonderful & fun film. This reviewer seems to be little more than a bitter moron. 5 stars
2/13/08 Santos The reviewer didn't like Borat either. He seems to lack a sense of humor. 4 stars
2/13/08 Mark Cornelius comes across as bitter and jealous that an amateur had the success meant for him. 3 stars
2/13/08 jordan right on with the review there. this movie was obnoxious. 1 stars
2/13/08 Kory I love how so many people think this guy wrote a horrible review, when it has 4/5 stars. 5 stars
2/13/08 JJK This reviewer has no idea what movie reviews are for. 5 stars
2/12/08 beverdene 90 minutes of torture. Hated it. 1 stars
2/12/08 D. Cooper "He's a ex-rocker.."? Explains the critics intellect, complete idiot! 1 stars
2/12/08 Woodstock It's getting more attention than it deserves but it's not as bad as people make out. 3 stars
2/12/08 Mike Gets more annoying the more I have to hear about everyone liking it 1 stars
2/11/08 styace seems just like a made for tv movie, nothing more... 2 stars
2/11/08 Ross Clerks for the middle aged. 1 stars
2/11/08 Matt Barker Annoying, empty film. A couple of funny bits, but in no way worth watching. 1 stars
2/11/08 miss squill isn't "faux-hipster" a bit redundant? 4 stars
2/11/08 Frankie Agree 100% with your review. Annoying movie. 2 stars
2/11/08 Rusty Oliver As a teenager I loved this movie, and found it to be an accurate depiction of teenage life. 5 stars
2/10/08 Misslizzy Shallow, pretentious, disappointing. Keeping the baby just didn't suit her image? 2 stars
2/10/08 Dan Redmond Great review esp. last two lines- Diablo Cody should go back on the pole wher she can at le 1 stars
2/10/08 Simone Spot on review, thank you -- it's another case of The Emperor's New Clothes. 3 stars
2/09/08 Devin You are too caught up on little quirks and references n the dialogue. It was a great movie. 5 stars
2/09/08 Franco A movie about stupid people making one stupid mistake after another. My mistake - seeing it 1 stars
2/09/08 HItman Heitzie Thank you. Juno is a loathsome, pandering piece of tripe. 2 stars
2/09/08 dre can this movie be any more annoying? so spot on. 1 stars
2/09/08 Laura it's as if you're trying to pick at pieces instead of viewing the movie as a whole for what 5 stars
2/09/08 Lurlene One of the most insightful movie reviews I've read. 1 stars
2/08/08 Jeff I loved this movie. Page for president. 5 stars
2/08/08 GP One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. This reviewer is a jackass. 5 stars
2/08/08 Cocksucker Blues In your opinion should the whole movie take place at an abortion clinic? 4 stars
2/06/08 franca totally agree. 3 stars
2/06/08 jo Loved it.Better than I ever expected!! 5 stars
2/05/08 Grant how can you be such a prick? I think your the one showing off how much you think you know. 5 stars
2/04/08 Nate This review is depressingly accurate. What a terrible movie. 1 stars
2/04/08 MovieFan It's like Urban Dictionary and Myspace had some kind of sick child. 1 stars
2/03/08 Ian This review is an unfair and boring attack on the the writer. This movie was refreshing. 5 stars
2/03/08 DM Well, since Amelie rocked, that says a whole fucking lot about your tastes. 4 stars
2/03/08 Kurac Juno is the most agonising film since 'Amelie'. 1 stars
2/02/08 Maria Didn't like the film so much, but found your review quite immature, to be honest. 3 stars
2/02/08 Erica It was kinda cute, but in NO WAY Oscar worthy. I agree with reviewer on most points. 2 stars
2/02/08 joc Awful movie. Felt like a TV movie-teenagers just aren't like this! I teach them...I know 1 stars
2/01/08 borris it tried to be so indie i wondered when Zach Braff would show up. 2 stars
1/31/08 paul M Cody must've have stolen Cornelius's lunch money. Citizen Kane? no. Fun Movie? yes. 4 stars
1/30/08 Bill Anderson Anybody who can use the phrase "authentic punk fashion" without irony needs to step off. 4 stars
1/30/08 Brett Cornelius's review nails how hopelessly forced and grattingly irritating this film is. 1 stars
1/29/08 Dennis Absolutely fantastic. Did not get any of the hipster references in the movie. didn't matter 5 stars
1/29/08 Raegan Simply a horrible piece of shit that disgraces Kimya Dawson 1 stars
1/29/08 Rollie This may be the worst, most ill-informed review I've ever read of an obviously great film. 5 stars
1/28/08 Shirley didn't like it: stick up your ass. didn't like diablo cody: watch the damn movie 5 stars
1/28/08 michael David raises some fair criticisms...still I found the hipster dialogue amusing. 4 stars
1/28/08 Paul B Loved the review. You nailed this piece-of-crap film. 1 stars
1/27/08 Jax No one talks like that at 16. 1 stars
1/26/08 Liz I wanted to punch Diablo Cody in the stomach. 1 stars
1/26/08 Tucker "I'm not indie, so no one can be!" I hated the soundtrack so much, I loved the film. 5 stars
1/26/08 Navid I agree with a ton of your flaws.. but even with all of them, this movie is really funny! 4 stars
1/26/08 laura did a hipster bully you when you were a kid or something? 5 stars
1/25/08 David Baruffi Better than reviewed, and better than it had to be. 5 stars
1/25/08 Matt As always, if David Cornelius says it sucks its great and if Erik C. says its great, it is. 5 stars
1/25/08 Tyrone Jones I wanted to punch Juno in the stomach. 1 stars
1/25/08 Courtney (almost as bad as tennis elbow) Neat light entertainment but deserves Oscar noms almost as little as Chuck & Larry would. 3 stars
1/25/08 Max Well cry me a goddamn river. 5 stars
1/25/08 kozmikarl Pretentious dialogue in a movie about teenagers? OMG! What was she thinking? 4 stars
1/24/08 ghost moustache A crapulent bumrash of the first water. Positive reviews of this = no hope for humanity. 1 stars
1/24/08 Bluzulu I wanted to slap the shit out of Juno. What a pretentious, condescending smug little bitch! 2 stars
1/24/08 Mike O 3rd best movie of 2007 5 stars
1/23/08 Stacy I liked it a lot. It's not for everyone, however. 4 stars
1/23/08 rand mcg highly overrated. just okay 2 stars
1/23/08 Justin Bombae Such an annoying film. The final shot of the two love birds singing, made me puke! 1 stars
1/23/08 Mr Freeze Very Good Movie, I wanted to not like it going in, but I loved it. Juno>Atonement 5 stars
1/23/08 John 1part Hipster/ Stripper,1part Wikepidia,1part scrnply software in Blender. Hit Crappee=Juno 1 stars
1/23/08 Chris Nice message (adoption over abortion) - too bad the film itself is a piece of crap. 1 stars
1/22/08 Erica I wanted to love this film. Instead, it gave me pain. A shallow, pretentious blunder. 2 stars
1/22/08 james Page If you get it, you love it.If you don't, it doesnt make it bad. 5 stars
1/22/08 urka111 diablo cody?story was a pile poo, it wants2be forcedly supercool, well it isn't 2 stars
1/22/08 PATRICK Agree completely; this feels like a corporate think tank's idea of what "indie film" is. 2 stars
1/22/08 andy I completely agree with the reviewer. Juno is an annoyingly glib teen without a clue. 1 stars
1/21/08 Diana Absolutely and positively hated the film's grating soundtrack. But liked the film overall. 4 stars
1/20/08 Adam M I agree with some of what this douche says. Still, great film. 4 stars
1/20/08 Allison Lafferty Despite thoroughly raunchy implications, has an overall incongrously sanitized aura. 3 stars
1/18/08 Brian This film is chock full of pseudointellectual bullshit and has an awful soundtrack 1 stars
1/18/08 Stefan This reviewer is a total jerk. 4 stars
1/18/08 Kevin I think most people came into the theatre expecting another Superbad. Still great though. 5 stars
1/18/08 Enrique It's a light film done well. What more do you want? 5 stars
1/18/08 Zack Too too too too true!!! 1 stars
1/18/08 David F. Too hard to find a bad review for this movie. Sad. 1 stars
1/17/08 Daisy D Like an HBO version of an after school special on teen pregnancy. 3 stars
1/17/08 wilkee Your review seems to scratch on the surface of the film without really seeing anything 5 stars
1/17/08 bette noir Talk in town is lovely Ellen Page now cringes at forced dialogue (but loves her success!) 5 stars
1/17/08 Ze I hated the movie. Tried way too hard to be witty and funny which ruined it for me 1 stars
1/17/08 Matthias Thx for correcting shite of veteran critic David Denby: "Juno hasn't a single false note" 5 stars
1/17/08 Thomas Spot on review, good drama ruined by dialouge and characters 3 stars
1/16/08 Kassie I completely disagree with your interpretation of this movie 5 stars
1/16/08 derrick k amazing movie... really funny!! paige was amazing 5 stars
1/16/08 mike perdo This movie sucked soooo bad 1 stars
1/15/08 Bradley The film script was good, and the acting brilliant. You have terrible taste. 5 stars
1/15/08 Kate Stiteler Annoying, smug, and too pleased with itself - I completely agree with all said above. 2 stars
1/15/08 canuckguy clearly the reviewer was not watching the same movie. possibly best movie of the year. 5 stars
1/14/08 Tamara Could of been better with less of the snarky Juno, more development of Mark of Vanessa 1 stars
1/14/08 Neverender Godspeed, David Cornelius. I'm reposing your review in my blog. Thank you so much. 1 stars
1/14/08 lauren overly self-aware to the tenth degree. 5 stars
1/14/08 rsfcralphie spot on. as if you were sitting on my lap listening to my teeth grinding for 92 mins 1 stars
1/14/08 Jack Hipster preaching nonsense. No one talks like this. I hated this movie... 1 stars
1/14/08 helen reviewer needs to rewatch. clearly doesn't know what the film is about. 5 stars
1/14/08 andrew anyone who rates hudson hawk and rush hour 3 so highly is oh you know 4 stars
1/13/08 miss p the endless pop references were labored and not believable, great cast though 2 stars
1/13/08 Ash I'd like to point out that Ellen Page perfected the role of a 16-year old. 5 stars
1/13/08 CR all my friends give me shit for hating juno. thank god there are others out there like me. 1 stars
1/13/08 Mike David Cornelius, take a xanax. the movie was fun 5 stars
1/13/08 Tenenbaum great review! lame flick; all the hipster references and dialogue felt forced. 2 stars
1/12/08 hpl I wonder whose myspace they had to lurk in order to vomit this up.. 2 stars
1/12/08 Travis Wow, your bitter review made me embarassed for you. 5 stars
1/12/08 GetOverYourself insulting the writer by mocking her pen name? u dont have to be a Jerk just the critique 5 stars
1/10/08 Ethan Reeser I loved it. Ellen Page is amazing. 5 stars
1/10/08 Ted Salad Saw it for free and still demanded my money back! Absolute garbage.. 1 stars
1/10/08 Jill Even though I got to see it for free, I still almost walked out. 2 stars
1/09/08 james Lighten the fuck up...it's a comedy. 5 stars
1/09/08 guy Hey look how indie I am... I am so indie! I am Indier than you! 1 stars
1/08/08 Daniel Green Mr. Cornelius, next time try reviewing the movie itself, keep your ad hominem dribble out. 5 stars
1/08/08 Kitty Thank you!!!!! The movie felt like a hip and cutsie propoganda film produced by the right. 1 stars
1/08/08 leo howard a fabulous moviw witty with superb acting wil get acoupla of oscars 5 stars
1/08/08 Kathy You're right about the dialogue and hipster references. But the rest is great. 5 stars
1/08/08 sophie While I thought the movie was cute & actors were great, this review is right re: dialogue 3 stars
1/07/08 Curt Review was fine. It just so happens it's an opinion I completly disagree with. 4 stars
1/07/08 Brad Oh man YES. Thank you. Sweet Christmas 1 stars
1/07/08 Jon Someone get Michael Cera to a hospital, the script may have given him brain damage. 1 stars
1/07/08 Cornelius... ..is not one to talk. "on loan from a better movie"? Is there a bigger review cliche? 4 stars
1/07/08 Jennie Dialog sounded like Aaron Sorkin on 'shrooms 2 stars
1/07/08 Juno Sucks "He's the cheese to my macaroni" is ripped from The Beastie Boys "Get it together" 1 stars
1/07/08 Bloody Genius Ah yes, the anonymous Huckabee crowd makes its displeasure public. Cornelius=Clueless 5 stars
1/07/08 Lisa I. I agree completely with the reviewer. "He is the cheese to my macaroni?" How clever. 1 stars
1/06/08 Chris Despite some cringeworthy dialogue, Ellen Page carried this film to 4 stars. 4 stars
1/06/08 jessica THANK YOU! This is a SPOT-ON review of this pretentious and forced piece of crap. 1 stars
1/06/08 lex Keep in mind folks, this reviewer gave the 3rd Die Hard a four star. Wow! 4 stars
1/06/08 Robnett you're pissed off that everyone loves what you were hoping to be an "obscure" work. 5 stars
1/06/08 Megan this was a completely horrid review ... and this is one of the most amazing movies ever 5 stars
1/06/08 Tori Too casual for a very serious social problem-too bad tennagers will love it 2 stars
1/05/08 John A very enjoyable movie 5 stars
1/05/08 stephen goldberger this review is fantastic, sums up everything i feel about this movie 1 stars
1/05/08 Karl I am typing this comment on my hamburger-shaped laptop whilst balancing a pipe in my mouth. 1 stars
1/04/08 Linda boring 1 stars
1/04/08 Gus I'm too old to worry about my hipster cred, so I loved the movie. 5 stars
1/04/08 brad thank god somebody feels the same way about this movie. your review is dead on. 1 stars
1/04/08 Matt Movie has moments but review is dead on 3 stars
1/03/08 Chelsea Were we in the same movie? I thought it was great, with a fantastic performance by Ellen P. 5 stars
1/02/08 I'm cleaver like bacon Is a movie cleaver if we all see how it knows (or thinks it knows) it is cleaver? 2 stars
1/01/08 bloech Thank God for an intelligent review of one of the most overrated films I have ever seen. 1 stars
1/01/08 Mongo Best overall movie that I have seen this year. Not sure what the reviewer was watching. 5 stars
1/01/08 Gregory A. Schumacher Iggy,Mott references brought back great memories for this oldster...Relax! 4 stars
1/01/08 FM The critic is the one who's pretentious. This was a great movie! 5 stars
12/31/07 Craig Bravo! I've never rolled my eyes more at the pretentiousness of a script. 1 stars
12/30/07 Hawk Movie is pure crap. I ran out after 5 minutes waited for faimily in lobby. Great review 1 stars
12/30/07 sm I would say that the author of this condescending rant knows about pretentious... 4 stars
12/30/07 Mark Thank you so much for making me realise I'm not crazy... 1 stars
12/30/07 Greg Thank you for not following the turd herd. 2 stars
12/29/07 Michael This review is dead-on. Ok, Diablo Cody, we now know you think Sonic Youth is noise. 1 stars
12/29/07 Lindsay It was hilarious, I think Diablo Cody dumped this Duchebag because he cant stop bashing her 5 stars
12/29/07 Ian Osmond I'm not a hipster. Maybe that's why I loved it? It didn't have to prove anything to me? 5 stars
12/29/07 indigo218 Trying too hard to be cool and hip, bordering to being pretentious 3 stars
12/28/07 DM i agree i thougtht the movie was terrible 1 stars
12/28/07 Richard Loeffler This reviewer is one of the few who's seen through the silliness of the script and the unre 1 stars
12/28/07 mm the dialouge was so unrealistic! no one talks like that. 2 stars
12/27/07 Sam Characters were dynamic and lovable-great movie-fuck reviewer 5 stars
12/26/07 Orpheus its not funny at all, and good bit of dialogue was annoying and unrealistic. Swear to blog? 1 stars
12/26/07 Malady Horribly elitist critique. Great film. 5 stars
12/26/07 Fuck You Basing your entire opinion on one actor is very ignorant. Besides, she did a great job. 5 stars
12/25/07 Nancy I really enjoyed this movie. It was refreshing to see a quick-witted female nerd character 5 stars
12/24/07 Michael This critic is a dickhead loser cunt. Juno was great. 4 stars
12/22/07 DT There was nothing real about that character. I couldn't stand it. 3 stars
12/22/07 JR Will take this over "natural" indie dialog (like boring "Funny Ha Ha") anyday. 4 stars
12/22/07 Mark I was hoping that the one-liners from the trailer would be the only ones in the movie. 2 stars
12/21/07 Copkiller I partially agree. Juno could've been amazing if the dialogue hadn't been so akward 3 stars
12/21/07 BOBBY I thought it was a great film, and I whole heartidly believe that the critic is a dult 5 stars
12/21/07 Brian im a teenager myself and its always cool some times to see things that could happen or have 5 stars
12/21/07 DC I disagree. One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Witty and refreshing! 5 stars
12/21/07 Carla You know what they say. Only the best of things can create such a for and against. 5 stars
12/20/07 Brian O'Neill Peter, I'm jumping on your bandwagon. This film was an unadulterated pleasure to watch. 5 stars
12/20/07 bryan A heartwarming film that says less about hipster culture and more about love. 5 stars
12/20/07 Sarah Nabholz This reviewer is one sad, sad little person in serious need of one big fat chill pill. 5 stars
12/20/07 John P My daughter dragged me to it...and I got into it. What can I say? 4 stars
12/19/07 Ryan the backlash machine is in gear - the dialogue was poppy and smart, the cast strong/nuanced 5 stars
12/19/07 John I get the feeling that this critic resents the popularity and acclaim this movie will see 4 stars
12/19/07 John THANK you! Why will no one admit we've seen the cynical teen rebel a million times before? 3 stars
12/19/07 sylvie just becuase you're too old to understand it doesn't make it a bad movie. 5 stars
12/19/07 drew fucking awful movie. i agree 100% with the review. 1 stars
12/19/07 Kate I love Sonic Youth and even I admit that some of their albums are just noise. Great film. 5 stars
12/18/07 dana exactly! 2 stars
12/18/07 jmw i wanted to love this movie so bad. jason bateman and allison janney were bright spots. 3 stars
12/18/07 Roxy I completely agree. Hearing people laugh at the insane dialogue was horrifying. 1 stars
12/18/07 Kathleen hmm...are you and diablo cody caught up in some kind of battle of the hipper hipsters? 5 stars
12/18/07 Terry It's hard to hear you from the top of you pedastool! quit being "holier than thou." 3 stars
12/18/07 ashamed of cody i was cringing the whole way through this. nothing kills it like trying waay to hard 1 stars
12/17/07 Glen If you didn't know hipster culture so well, you might not take aggression out on the movie 2 stars
12/17/07 truthsayer finally! a review that gets it right! A wannabe Ghost World without any depth. 2 stars
12/17/07 jeff is this review so acidic because you want people to sit up and notice you? the film was grt 5 stars
12/16/07 John M Perfect review. 1 stars
12/16/07 Caroline someone's overly critical. I couldn't disagree more. This was a really great film. 5 stars
12/16/07 Pam I was too impressed w/Page's great performance to be pissed at the hip references... 5 stars
12/16/07 Alex 'Heathers by-way-of-Joss Whedon dalogue?' Awesome! Now I'm dying to see it even more. 5 stars
12/16/07 Dave-O You know, I agree with 90% of what you wrote. Somehow, I still liked this movie, though. 4 stars
12/15/07 Reeechard It really does suck, that movie. Great review. 5 stars
12/15/07 thomas this movie was snide and more than that, depressingly unimportant 5 stars
12/15/07 NewZero Something tells me this movie hit a little too close to home for you... 5 stars
12/15/07 Anonymous Don't hate things you just don't understand...this was a great film! 5 stars
12/14/07 David P the movie sucked. this review: refreshingly honest and bang on. thank you! 2 stars
12/14/07 I like stuff Accurate review. I couldn't watch the whole movie. Actually made me mad. 1 stars
12/14/07 Anonymous This review is completely biased! 4 stars
12/13/07 Neil I heard Diablo Cody on NPR and it was so vomitous how she was impressed with her writring. 1 stars
12/11/07 lauren youre fucking on, this review is it. 1 stars
12/11/07 bobobob fantastic movie. stupid review. 5 stars
12/11/07 bobby drake outstanding review- thanks for pointing out the bare butt on this idiotic emperor. 1 stars
12/11/07 Zach Mr. Cornelius, this may be the most accurate review I have ever read. Perhaps too lenient. 1 stars
12/11/07 Lucas Peterson there were nice moments. but it was as if the screenplay were written in a different langua 2 stars
12/11/07 Brett Amazing 5 stars
12/09/07 Wild Bill I saw this woman on Letterman.She stroked him like she was trying get $$ for a lap dance 1 stars
12/09/07 Thomas The thing is...this guy sincerely loves the movie deep below this piece of writing. 4 stars
9/11/07 Melanie Lopes Funny, original, entertaining.... great characters 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Dec-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 15-Apr-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast