More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 33.33%
Worth A Look: 15.69%
Average: 6.86%
Pretty Bad: 9.56%
Total Crap34.56%

10 reviews, 348 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hwayi: A Monster Boy by Jay Seaver

Butter on the Latch by Jay Seaver

Thou Wast Mild and Lovely by Jay Seaver

Boyhood by Brett Gallman

Suspect, The by Jay Seaver

Reconstruction of William Zero, The by Jay Seaver

In the Land of the Head Hunters by Jay Seaver

Red Family by Jay Seaver

Bayonetta: Bloody Fate by Jay Seaver

Satellite Girl and Milk Cow, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Juno
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Is to clever dialogue what Hot Topic is to authentic punk fashion."
1 stars

Here’s the problem I have with Diablo Cody: she seems like the kind of hipster who not only uses a vintage lunch box for a purse, but, more importantly, insists you know she uses a vintage lunch box as a purse. Her screenwriting debut, the alt-chick teen pregnancy dramedy “Juno,” is overloaded with clumsy pop culture references and sloppy monologues about obscure indie-culture darlings that it plays less like an actual story and more like a checklist of cool things Cody knows exists. This movie is one big sweaty poseur-palooza. It’s a vintage lunch box purse, with nothing in it.

It may seem unfair to burden Cody with all of the film’s failures, but who else is to blame? The cast is competent enough, doing their best to wrap their tongues around the awkward, self-aware insta-quotes that pass for dialogue. Director Jason Reitman, who shows much promise with “Thank You for Smoking,” becomes surprisingly anonymous here, content to let the script be the only real style in play. Other things, like the self-conscious set design and grating indie-folk soundtrack choices, are so fakey-quaint (a hamburger phone? really??) that one assumes they were demanded by the script itself. As such, Cody’s writing becomes the overwhelming singular voice (more of a high pitch squeal, really) that all fault for the movie’s colossal mistakes belong entirely to her.

The film is a sarcastic look at accidental teen pregnancy, with the impossibly named Juno MacGuff (Ellen Page) finding herself in the family way after a one-shot fling with best friend Bleeker (Michael Cera, adding such sincerity and emotional honesty to his barely-there role that his character feels on loan from another, far better movie). She handles it the way all sixteen-year-old girls do: she cracks wise and blows it off like it’s no more a social hiccup than a pimple.

Now, I suppose Juno’s flippancy is meant to reveal a meaningful character flaw, a young woman incapable of truly expressing her fears, relying on ill-timed comedy schtick as a defense mechanism. But the screenplay dumps so much importance on Juno’s every above-it-all word that this sort of emotion never peeks through. Instead, we get a celebration of a self-absorbed twit incapable of mature thought - she makes jokes while talking on an abortion hotline; she freely insults the lawyer handling her adoption case.

The film’s defenders (of which there are depressingly many) will counter than Juno’s third act change of pace, in which she tones down the glib commentary, is intended to show the character growing up, a stark contrast to the blabbermouth teen with no brain-to-mouth filter. But this comes too late and feels like an afterthought.

Like almost everything in “Juno,” her eventual maturity is not examined beyond the most shallowest of levels. Consider Juno’s original decision to get an abortion. Here we have a chance to watch a character struggle to make an impossible decision. There could even be room for comedy, as smart humorists are able to find laughter in even the bleakest of life’s moments. Cody, however, rushes through the entire plot point, offering up pointless caricatures before moving on. It’s as if Cody knows we won’t have a movie without Juno’s decision to deliver the baby, so we might as well plow through any obstacles to get there.

Juno finds a nice, respectable young couple (Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner) who wants to adopt her child. In Garner’s performance as an uptight yuppie yearning for a motherhood she can’t achieve on her own, the script wants to have it both ways: first it mocks her upper-middle-class lifestyle as being laughably square, and then it tries to lend warmth to the character in an attempt to show how open-minded Cody can be. “Look! I can be nice to yuppies in my stories! Aren’t I progressive?”

As the yuppie’s put-upon husband, Bateman’s character exists merely for clothesline purposes, where Cody can place an endless supply of hipster references. He’s a ex-rocker, you see, so he knows all about all the cool bands and comic books and old school splatter movies. In one embarrassing scene, the husband and Juno spend an eternity name-checking classic punk bands and rare grunge-era alt-rock compilation CDs, a discussion which flows into a monologue comparing Dario Argento and Herschell Gordon Lewis. Not once does the scene feel legitimate, or even necessary, yet it’s here, simply because Cody wanted to scream at us to let us know all the things she knows about in the hopes we think that makes her cool. It’s pretty sad, actually.

And that’s what “Juno” is. There are no characters here, only one-dimensional puppets spewing Cody’s amateurish interpretation of “Heathers”-by-way-of-Joss Whedon dialogue. (Dear lord, is anything more putrid than third-rate Joss Whedon?) Emotional depth is absent until it’s far too late, and then we get dumped on with a great big pile of phony sentiment, a bad English major’s attempt at human drama. It’s a screenplay that falls apart upon even the slightest scrutiny, with Thundercats jokes passing for cleverness, cheap irony passing for artistic merit, shallow wordiness passing for literary genius.

It’s a movie that’s begging to be noticed, so much so that at times, its sweaty desperation can be viewed as a dare: walk away while you still can. Like the early scene featuring Rainn Wilson as a smarmy convenience store clerk who actually says things like “That's one doodle that can't be un-did, home skillet.” It’s the single worst moment in a movie this year, and we still have eighty minutes to go. And many of those minutes involve hamburger phones.

Sigh. What a hideous piece of faux-hipster crap.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16500&reviewer=392
originally posted: 12/11/07 04:47:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Toronto International Film Festival For more in the 2007 Toronto International Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/21/14 eqlsfimmqnt USA 4 stars
7/16/14 asiabfzwctw USA 2 stars
3/16/14 DeanD A brilliant critique of an inexplicable film. 1 stars
10/31/13 Seth DeRoule I thought this was a fun movie with a great soundtrack. 4 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless fun to watch 4 stars
9/28/13 Derek Diercksmeier The film that changed my life. 5 stars
8/29/12 Omlopez8 Secretley Pro-Life 4 stars
8/25/12 Faraz awesome... not what i had expected 5 stars
11/17/11 Mark forced and extremely annoying 1 stars
10/20/11 Magic An overbaked script is saved singlehandedly by Page's convincing performance. 4 stars
9/29/11 JN This review is completely spot-on. Stilted dialogue, WAY too "precious", and oddly sterile 2 stars
9/10/11 Shannon Dagesse The message was amazing. The acting not so great 3 stars
8/18/11 isabella totally shit. the biggest crap ever 1 stars
8/10/11 WENDY It was a good movie and I cried at the end but... 3 stars
7/24/11 Jennifer Barr ok movie...but wouldn't watch again 3 stars
6/12/11 Jolivhanna Juno tried WAY too hard. The character was just a vomit machine for useless name-dropping. 1 stars
5/10/11 Shaun A After Inception, I checked this out and was impressed by Ms. Page's performance. 4 stars
3/15/11 Annabel Fresh, quirky. Probably inspired many teens to get pregnant though... !! 4 stars
2/09/11 Lundon everyone likes this movie because of the way she talks and it was lame 1 stars
10/23/10 orndorfismyhero mary hart effect. now that is funny. this film is precious shite. 1 stars
10/21/10 linski_utwat this movie is the standard by which all pretentious douchebaggery is measured 1 stars
10/19/10 linski Juno is a reflection of the adolescent conflict that alot of smart and imperfect teenagers 5 stars
9/06/10 Cory pretentious and contrived 2 stars
7/27/10 the dork knight About 1000000 wry hipster jokes too many. 3 stars
5/22/10 brian crap, this movie was so bad that it actually made me angry to watch it 1 stars
2/10/10 Jay This is one big folding chair of Connect Four drip chip tip sales counter Aquaman remix. 1 stars
2/08/10 Chris best review of this overhyped movie...perfect 1 stars
1/26/10 art WHO CARES? 1 stars
1/20/10 Mohammad Mirza SO GOOD. funny, witty, well acted. just perfect. 5 stars
1/16/10 jethro the popularity of this film proves that 9.3 people out of 10 are mouth breathing fucktards 1 stars
1/14/10 mitchell Thanks you DC. I needed that. What a truly god awful piece of shit movie that is. 1 stars
1/11/10 Rachael thanks i read this and i am going to use it for a paper. if u don't mind 5 stars
1/08/10 jonno Review hundred percent spot on, movie was fuckin awful 1 stars
11/06/09 MP Bartley KInd of annoyingly quirky, but that's the point and it mostly works. 4 stars
10/02/09 art IT"S A RIP-OFF OF THE 1993 IRISH MOVIE THE SNAPPER!_ 1 stars
8/24/09 Jasmine i think its overrated it was ok but the movie was akward and the soundtrack was horrible 2 stars
8/15/09 art DULL! 1 stars
7/24/09 alice This movie is quirky, cool, and just really entertaining. 5 stars
7/11/09 Larry H. Jason Reitman, Diablo Cody, & songwriter/soundtrack artist Kimya Dawson hit a home run! 5 stars
5/29/09 Rio I liked Juno up until I read David C.'s review and realized it's just self-righteous tripe. 1 stars
5/04/09 David Cornwallis David Cornelius is the worst reviewer in history. Not to say this was a perfect movie. 4 stars
3/17/09 Mike Why do so many critics love this movie? It's so transparently self-absorbed. Hurl. 2 stars
2/09/09 lo& I initially didn't want to like this film but after watching it I loved it. 5 stars
1/30/09 DMac AMEN! The movie was trying so hard to be soooo tooootally cool and failed miserably. 1 stars
1/25/09 gLottis Its cool to hate a movie that attempts to be cool 4 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. everyone's opinion is there own, i guess...but i loved it. it was great. :] 5 stars
12/23/08 Sarah To use a term Cody would no doubt approve of against her: word. 2 stars
12/19/08 Brap If I had to pick btwn this movie or going to hell, ide be kissing satans ass right now. 1 stars
12/16/08 mct DEAD fuckin on 1 stars
12/09/08 James Brilliant review, especially in regards to the name-checking. King Buzzo deserves better. 1 stars
10/15/08 Ellen Page i couldn't agree with you more; completely on point! 1 stars
10/14/08 Brandy P. I couldn't disagree more. This movie is amazing. It deserved ever bit of praise it got. A+ 5 stars
10/04/08 PAUL SHORTT SWEET, PERCEPTIVE, SHARP AND NEAR PERFECT 5 stars
9/12/08 Lola La Pistola Thanks for the accurate and honest review. Trying WAY TOO HARD. Hated it. 1 stars
9/07/08 Pamela White nice to see a girl do the right thing, very brave 5 stars
9/04/08 Nikki Why so many negatice comments? This was a FANTASTIC movie! 5 stars
9/03/08 Alexandru Totir In my humble opinion, this movie didn't deserve an Oscar nomination. 3 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Great film!! 5 stars
8/31/08 AnnieG I’d recommend either ‘Waitress’ or ‘Saved’ before this for unplanned pregnancy movies! 3 stars
8/20/08 austin wertman best film of 2007 5 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm Cornelius is the man he got it exactly right. knowing obscure shit does not make you cool 4 stars
8/02/08 Tina I thought it was funny and that was the only reason I liked it. And I live in MN :D 4 stars
7/24/08 Sarah I couldn't agree more. I was worried I was the only one who hated this movie. 1 stars
7/01/08 Marin Best Review ever 1 stars
6/30/08 Cesar Full of the wrong messages .. dangerous movie.. 1 stars
6/23/08 SAM I guess it is an alright movie .. but I think the rave reviews are too much of stretch 3 stars
6/17/08 Simon Don't hate it as much as many apparently do; i just generally raise a quizzical eyebrow... 3 stars
6/16/08 noolin Who sings a Hole song in a 'jam session'? Trying so hard to be quirky. EW. 2 stars
6/14/08 Sarah Thank you for this review. I'm glad I'm not the only one who felt this way. 1 stars
6/12/08 Jayson Simply brilliant. Page was a knock-out. 5 stars
6/12/08 DK Page is fantastic as are the rest of the cast in this charming little movie 4 stars
6/10/08 Trixie Great review! What 16 year old knows who Soupy Sales is? What a show off Cody is. 1 stars
6/09/08 Liz At least it's ssomewhat realistic, unlike a lot of the crap that comes out these days. 5 stars
6/06/08 chels i loved this movie. excelent 5 stars
6/06/08 Jessay Finally an appropriate review of this movie 1 stars
5/26/08 David Pollastrini funny and touching. Page is beautiful 4 stars
5/22/08 d3rfuhrer Mmmm.. pointless namedropping of bands like The Melvins. How disrespectful. 1 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT JUNO'S PERSONALITY DOMINATES THE FILM, WHICH IS BOTH ITS STRENGTH AND ITS WEAKNESS 4 stars
5/17/08 BJ Thank you for the great review of this utterly trite, forced and massively boring film 1 stars
5/12/08 Redfoot This film took 2 hours of my life I will never get back. Thanks for the great review. 1 stars
5/11/08 jackiebee We learned about slasher films and 70s rock in lieu of a meaty story about adoption. 2 stars
5/07/08 jesse dude thank you so much for this awesome review, Cody was using juno as a puppet of herself 5 stars
5/04/08 Vincent I wanted to kill these characters! excellent review 1 stars
4/28/08 Sue Totally agree. Thank goodness not everyone has jumped on the Juno lovefest bandwagon. Th 1 stars
4/27/08 Random To love Juno is to love Juno-slang. The Urban Dictionary should share Diablo Cody's Oscar. 5 stars
4/26/08 Kristin Completely agree with this great review. Awful film 1 stars
4/26/08 MindBlown Good review. The Emperor's not wearing any clothes. Juno dialogue = 1994. 1 stars
4/25/08 Kristy This is the first truly honest review I've seen. This movie was horrendous. 1 stars
4/22/08 Obojoe Fantastic review, stupid movie. 1 stars
4/21/08 amator40 thank you. could not watch the whole thing. product of the "my space" generation. 1 stars
4/21/08 littlecow very boring...waste my time 1 stars
4/20/08 sydney. i agree with jimmi. maybe it's not up to your standards. stick to old folk movies. 5 stars
4/19/08 Gina horrible, horrible, horrible, horrible movie. all the characters were the same. 1 stars
4/17/08 Quigley Excellent performance from Ellen Page, but this isn't a film for everyone. 4 stars
4/10/08 ravenmad Jason Bateman, sooo icky. Poor juno, pregger's and hit on by an a-hole. she had it coming. 4 stars
4/05/08 smrtpants she sucks because that's all she can do now that she's given away the goods so soon... 4 stars
4/05/08 stephanie willis I loved this little movie and I think Ellen Page is on the move! 4 stars
4/04/08 Greets It was okay and watchable, but♦ evaporates pretty damn quick 3 stars
4/03/08 beau Laura Kyles review is interesting but i have to disagree, this was a highly enjoyable film 5 stars
3/28/08 Piz Where did they film this: Pleasantville? Quirky and cute, but c'mon now! 3 stars
3/25/08 Matt Finally a critic who gets it. If only zero stars was an option 1 stars
3/23/08 Tyler Sciortino Suspiria is good. This is not. 2 stars
3/12/08 mbt What the heck is Dario Argento's 'Spiria?' 1 stars
3/11/08 DC10 This has to be the worst movie nominated for an oscar since...well..Little Miss Sunshine. 2 stars
3/10/08 Jo What a hideous faux-hipster review. 5 stars
3/09/08 Byron Graham Finally, a kindred spirit! Juno is as obnoxious as it is morally irresponsible. 1 stars
3/08/08 han aw. great movie. cant blame others if they prefer cliches to being original 5 stars
3/08/08 JBad Not the worst movie ever but one of the most pretentious . Don't waste your time. 1 stars
3/07/08 Erwoodinho You said it better than I ever could. 1 stars
3/07/08 wertyboy i agree, juno is far to sarcastic to be realistic and hu on earth has a hamburger phone!? 1 stars
3/06/08 Joe terms of endearment teen style.. did you hate that too?? 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies Juno reminded me of my high school years, without the baby bump! 4 stars
3/02/08 J david, i'll only say, "thank you, thank you, thank you!" most annoying script ever 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr she seems like a very smart girl, you think she'd be smart enough to use a condom, hmmmmm 4 stars
3/02/08 Theresa Wagner its a teen flick, its funny, juno deals with her pregnancy with sarcasm and wit 3 stars
3/02/08 erik victory this review rules 1 stars
2/29/08 Monday Morning Lighten up...it's a movie...enjoy. Only the soundtrack bugged me. 4 stars
2/25/08 MikeHunt I couldn't connect with these charact..i mean hipsters. Is nerd the new cool - wtf? 1 stars
2/20/08 Tim Of course she is too smart to be 16. 4 stars
2/19/08 Jess Marry me! You're the only one who understands my seething hatred for this film! 1 stars
2/18/08 niki this review tells it like it is -- 100% 1 stars
2/17/08 Cameron Buzzell Doesn't deserve its best picture nom, but it's far better than this review says it is. 4 stars
2/17/08 Ted Excellent review. Piece of crap movie. 1 stars
2/17/08 Jack Forget water-boarding…give the CIA “Juno” & suspects will cough up the info in no time. 1 stars
2/17/08 Bryce So smart guy what movies do you like? Most likely crap like Mystic River. 5 stars
2/17/08 jimmi maybe you guys just aren't the target audience 5 stars
2/16/08 Danielle Great review -- overwhelmingly snarky dialogue and cutesy, indie tunes too much to handle 2 stars
2/16/08 Heather I agree. I missed an entire scene going "Noise? WTF?" Ugh.Wish I had read this review first 1 stars
2/16/08 different Dave All the comments are true. The movie was fun. Most honest scene: Jen Garner in the mall. 4 stars
2/15/08 Jim Only wish I could have said it better 2 stars
2/15/08 jimmi get with the times old man. i'm guessing the dialogue was too quick and sharp for you. 5 stars
2/14/08 Dave Couldnt agree more with this review. Made me sick 1 stars
2/14/08 Gabe I feel EXACTLY as you do about this film. It's clear there are too many lemmings in instry. 1 stars
2/14/08 DAC Love your review! Expresses my sentiments exactly with an extra dose of disgust. 1 stars
2/14/08 Rob A wonderful & fun film. This reviewer seems to be little more than a bitter moron. 5 stars
2/13/08 Santos The reviewer didn't like Borat either. He seems to lack a sense of humor. 4 stars
2/13/08 Mark Cornelius comes across as bitter and jealous that an amateur had the success meant for him. 3 stars
2/13/08 jordan right on with the review there. this movie was obnoxious. 1 stars
2/13/08 Kory I love how so many people think this guy wrote a horrible review, when it has 4/5 stars. 5 stars
2/13/08 JJK This reviewer has no idea what movie reviews are for. 5 stars
2/12/08 beverdene 90 minutes of torture. Hated it. 1 stars
2/12/08 D. Cooper "He's a ex-rocker.."? Explains the critics intellect, complete idiot! 1 stars
2/12/08 Woodstock It's getting more attention than it deserves but it's not as bad as people make out. 3 stars
2/12/08 Mike Gets more annoying the more I have to hear about everyone liking it 1 stars
2/11/08 styace seems just like a made for tv movie, nothing more... 2 stars
2/11/08 Ross Clerks for the middle aged. 1 stars
2/11/08 Matt Barker Annoying, empty film. A couple of funny bits, but in no way worth watching. 1 stars
2/11/08 miss squill isn't "faux-hipster" a bit redundant? 4 stars
2/11/08 Frankie Agree 100% with your review. Annoying movie. 2 stars
2/11/08 Rusty Oliver As a teenager I loved this movie, and found it to be an accurate depiction of teenage life. 5 stars
2/10/08 Misslizzy Shallow, pretentious, disappointing. Keeping the baby just didn't suit her image? 2 stars
2/10/08 Dan Redmond Great review esp. last two lines- Diablo Cody should go back on the pole wher she can at le 1 stars
2/10/08 Simone Spot on review, thank you -- it's another case of The Emperor's New Clothes. 3 stars
2/09/08 Devin You are too caught up on little quirks and references n the dialogue. It was a great movie. 5 stars
2/09/08 Franco A movie about stupid people making one stupid mistake after another. My mistake - seeing it 1 stars
2/09/08 HItman Heitzie Thank you. Juno is a loathsome, pandering piece of tripe. 2 stars
2/09/08 dre can this movie be any more annoying? so spot on. 1 stars
2/09/08 Laura it's as if you're trying to pick at pieces instead of viewing the movie as a whole for what 5 stars
2/09/08 Lurlene One of the most insightful movie reviews I've read. 1 stars
2/08/08 Jeff I loved this movie. Page for president. 5 stars
2/08/08 GP One of the best films I've seen in a very long time. This reviewer is a jackass. 5 stars
2/08/08 Cocksucker Blues In your opinion should the whole movie take place at an abortion clinic? 4 stars
2/06/08 franca totally agree. 3 stars
2/06/08 jo Loved it.Better than I ever expected!! 5 stars
2/05/08 Grant how can you be such a prick? I think your the one showing off how much you think you know. 5 stars
2/04/08 Nate This review is depressingly accurate. What a terrible movie. 1 stars
2/04/08 MovieFan It's like Urban Dictionary and Myspace had some kind of sick child. 1 stars
2/03/08 Ian This review is an unfair and boring attack on the the writer. This movie was refreshing. 5 stars
2/03/08 DM Well, since Amelie rocked, that says a whole fucking lot about your tastes. 4 stars
2/03/08 Kurac Juno is the most agonising film since 'Amelie'. 1 stars
2/02/08 Maria Didn't like the film so much, but found your review quite immature, to be honest. 3 stars
2/02/08 Erica It was kinda cute, but in NO WAY Oscar worthy. I agree with reviewer on most points. 2 stars
2/02/08 joc Awful movie. Felt like a TV movie-teenagers just aren't like this! I teach them...I know 1 stars
2/01/08 borris it tried to be so indie i wondered when Zach Braff would show up. 2 stars
1/31/08 paul M Cody must've have stolen Cornelius's lunch money. Citizen Kane? no. Fun Movie? yes. 4 stars
1/30/08 Bill Anderson Anybody who can use the phrase "authentic punk fashion" without irony needs to step off. 4 stars
1/30/08 Brett Cornelius's review nails how hopelessly forced and grattingly irritating this film is. 1 stars
1/29/08 Dennis Absolutely fantastic. Did not get any of the hipster references in the movie. didn't matter 5 stars
1/29/08 Raegan Simply a horrible piece of shit that disgraces Kimya Dawson 1 stars
1/29/08 Rollie This may be the worst, most ill-informed review I've ever read of an obviously great film. 5 stars
1/28/08 Shirley didn't like it: stick up your ass. didn't like diablo cody: watch the damn movie 5 stars
1/28/08 michael David raises some fair criticisms...still I found the hipster dialogue amusing. 4 stars
1/28/08 Paul B Loved the review. You nailed this piece-of-crap film. 1 stars
1/27/08 Jax No one talks like that at 16. 1 stars
1/26/08 Liz I wanted to punch Diablo Cody in the stomach. 1 stars
1/26/08 Tucker "I'm not indie, so no one can be!" I hated the soundtrack so much, I loved the film. 5 stars
1/26/08 Navid I agree with a ton of your flaws.. but even with all of them, this movie is really funny! 4 stars
1/26/08 laura did a hipster bully you when you were a kid or something? 5 stars
1/25/08 David Baruffi Better than reviewed, and better than it had to be. 5 stars
1/25/08 Matt As always, if David Cornelius says it sucks its great and if Erik C. says its great, it is. 5 stars
1/25/08 Tyrone Jones I wanted to punch Juno in the stomach. 1 stars
1/25/08 Courtney (almost as bad as tennis elbow) Neat light entertainment but deserves Oscar noms almost as little as Chuck & Larry would. 3 stars
1/25/08 Max Well cry me a goddamn river. 5 stars
1/25/08 kozmikarl Pretentious dialogue in a movie about teenagers? OMG! What was she thinking? 4 stars
1/24/08 ghost moustache A crapulent bumrash of the first water. Positive reviews of this = no hope for humanity. 1 stars
1/24/08 Bluzulu I wanted to slap the shit out of Juno. What a pretentious, condescending smug little bitch! 2 stars
1/24/08 Mike O 3rd best movie of 2007 5 stars
1/23/08 Stacy I liked it a lot. It's not for everyone, however. 4 stars
1/23/08 rand mcg highly overrated. just okay 2 stars
1/23/08 Justin Bombae Such an annoying film. The final shot of the two love birds singing, made me puke! 1 stars
1/23/08 Mr Freeze Very Good Movie, I wanted to not like it going in, but I loved it. Juno>Atonement 5 stars
1/23/08 John 1part Hipster/ Stripper,1part Wikepidia,1part scrnply software in Blender. Hit Crappee=Juno 1 stars
1/23/08 Chris Nice message (adoption over abortion) - too bad the film itself is a piece of crap. 1 stars
1/22/08 Erica I wanted to love this film. Instead, it gave me pain. A shallow, pretentious blunder. 2 stars
1/22/08 james Page If you get it, you love it.If you don't, it doesnt make it bad. 5 stars
1/22/08 urka111 diablo cody?story was a pile poo, it wants2be forcedly supercool, well it isn't 2 stars
1/22/08 PATRICK Agree completely; this feels like a corporate think tank's idea of what "indie film" is. 2 stars
1/22/08 andy I completely agree with the reviewer. Juno is an annoyingly glib teen without a clue. 1 stars
1/21/08 Diana Absolutely and positively hated the film's grating soundtrack. But liked the film overall. 4 stars
1/20/08 Adam M I agree with some of what this douche says. Still, great film. 4 stars
1/20/08 Allison Lafferty Despite thoroughly raunchy implications, has an overall incongrously sanitized aura. 3 stars
1/18/08 Brian This film is chock full of pseudointellectual bullshit and has an awful soundtrack 1 stars
1/18/08 Stefan This reviewer is a total jerk. 4 stars
1/18/08 Kevin I think most people came into the theatre expecting another Superbad. Still great though. 5 stars
1/18/08 Enrique It's a light film done well. What more do you want? 5 stars
1/18/08 Zack Too too too too true!!! 1 stars
1/18/08 David F. Too hard to find a bad review for this movie. Sad. 1 stars
1/17/08 Daisy D Like an HBO version of an after school special on teen pregnancy. 3 stars
1/17/08 wilkee Your review seems to scratch on the surface of the film without really seeing anything 5 stars
1/17/08 bette noir Talk in town is lovely Ellen Page now cringes at forced dialogue (but loves her success!) 5 stars
1/17/08 Ze I hated the movie. Tried way too hard to be witty and funny which ruined it for me 1 stars
1/17/08 Matthias Thx for correcting shite of veteran critic David Denby: "Juno hasn't a single false note" 5 stars
1/17/08 Thomas Spot on review, good drama ruined by dialouge and characters 3 stars
1/16/08 Kassie I completely disagree with your interpretation of this movie 5 stars
1/16/08 derrick k amazing movie... really funny!! paige was amazing 5 stars
1/16/08 mike perdo This movie sucked soooo bad 1 stars
1/15/08 Bradley The film script was good, and the acting brilliant. You have terrible taste. 5 stars
1/15/08 Kate Stiteler Annoying, smug, and too pleased with itself - I completely agree with all said above. 2 stars
1/15/08 canuckguy clearly the reviewer was not watching the same movie. possibly best movie of the year. 5 stars
1/14/08 Tamara Could of been better with less of the snarky Juno, more development of Mark of Vanessa 1 stars
1/14/08 Neverender Godspeed, David Cornelius. I'm reposing your review in my blog. Thank you so much. 1 stars
1/14/08 lauren overly self-aware to the tenth degree. 5 stars
1/14/08 rsfcralphie spot on. as if you were sitting on my lap listening to my teeth grinding for 92 mins 1 stars
1/14/08 Jack Hipster preaching nonsense. No one talks like this. I hated this movie... 1 stars
1/14/08 helen reviewer needs to rewatch. clearly doesn't know what the film is about. 5 stars
1/14/08 andrew anyone who rates hudson hawk and rush hour 3 so highly is oh you know 4 stars
1/13/08 miss p the endless pop references were labored and not believable, great cast though 2 stars
1/13/08 Ash I'd like to point out that Ellen Page perfected the role of a 16-year old. 5 stars
1/13/08 CR all my friends give me shit for hating juno. thank god there are others out there like me. 1 stars
1/13/08 Mike David Cornelius, take a xanax. the movie was fun 5 stars
1/13/08 Tenenbaum great review! lame flick; all the hipster references and dialogue felt forced. 2 stars
1/12/08 hpl I wonder whose myspace they had to lurk in order to vomit this up.. 2 stars
1/12/08 Travis Wow, your bitter review made me embarassed for you. 5 stars
1/12/08 GetOverYourself insulting the writer by mocking her pen name? u dont have to be a Jerk just the critique 5 stars
1/10/08 Ethan Reeser I loved it. Ellen Page is amazing. 5 stars
1/10/08 Ted Salad Saw it for free and still demanded my money back! Absolute garbage.. 1 stars
1/10/08 Jill Even though I got to see it for free, I still almost walked out. 2 stars
1/09/08 james Lighten the fuck up...it's a comedy. 5 stars
1/09/08 guy Hey look how indie I am... I am so indie! I am Indier than you! 1 stars
1/08/08 Daniel Green Mr. Cornelius, next time try reviewing the movie itself, keep your ad hominem dribble out. 5 stars
1/08/08 Kitty Thank you!!!!! The movie felt like a hip and cutsie propoganda film produced by the right. 1 stars
1/08/08 leo howard a fabulous moviw witty with superb acting wil get acoupla of oscars 5 stars
1/08/08 Kathy You're right about the dialogue and hipster references. But the rest is great. 5 stars
1/08/08 sophie While I thought the movie was cute & actors were great, this review is right re: dialogue 3 stars
1/07/08 Curt Review was fine. It just so happens it's an opinion I completly disagree with. 4 stars
1/07/08 Brad Oh man YES. Thank you. Sweet Christmas 1 stars
1/07/08 Jon Someone get Michael Cera to a hospital, the script may have given him brain damage. 1 stars
1/07/08 Cornelius... ..is not one to talk. "on loan from a better movie"? Is there a bigger review cliche? 4 stars
1/07/08 Jennie Dialog sounded like Aaron Sorkin on 'shrooms 2 stars
1/07/08 Juno Sucks "He's the cheese to my macaroni" is ripped from The Beastie Boys "Get it together" 1 stars
1/07/08 Bloody Genius Ah yes, the anonymous Huckabee crowd makes its displeasure public. Cornelius=Clueless 5 stars
1/07/08 Lisa I. I agree completely with the reviewer. "He is the cheese to my macaroni?" How clever. 1 stars
1/06/08 Chris Despite some cringeworthy dialogue, Ellen Page carried this film to 4 stars. 4 stars
1/06/08 jessica THANK YOU! This is a SPOT-ON review of this pretentious and forced piece of crap. 1 stars
1/06/08 lex Keep in mind folks, this reviewer gave the 3rd Die Hard a four star. Wow! 4 stars
1/06/08 Robnett you're pissed off that everyone loves what you were hoping to be an "obscure" work. 5 stars
1/06/08 Megan this was a completely horrid review ... and this is one of the most amazing movies ever 5 stars
1/06/08 Tori Too casual for a very serious social problem-too bad tennagers will love it 2 stars
1/05/08 John A very enjoyable movie 5 stars
1/05/08 stephen goldberger this review is fantastic, sums up everything i feel about this movie 1 stars
1/05/08 Karl I am typing this comment on my hamburger-shaped laptop whilst balancing a pipe in my mouth. 1 stars
1/04/08 Linda boring 1 stars
1/04/08 Gus I'm too old to worry about my hipster cred, so I loved the movie. 5 stars
1/04/08 brad thank god somebody feels the same way about this movie. your review is dead on. 1 stars
1/04/08 Matt Movie has moments but review is dead on 3 stars
1/03/08 Chelsea Were we in the same movie? I thought it was great, with a fantastic performance by Ellen P. 5 stars
1/02/08 I'm cleaver like bacon Is a movie cleaver if we all see how it knows (or thinks it knows) it is cleaver? 2 stars
1/01/08 bloech Thank God for an intelligent review of one of the most overrated films I have ever seen. 1 stars
1/01/08 Mongo Best overall movie that I have seen this year. Not sure what the reviewer was watching. 5 stars
1/01/08 Gregory A. Schumacher Iggy,Mott references brought back great memories for this oldster...Relax! 4 stars
1/01/08 FM The critic is the one who's pretentious. This was a great movie! 5 stars
12/31/07 Craig Bravo! I've never rolled my eyes more at the pretentiousness of a script. 1 stars
12/30/07 Hawk Movie is pure crap. I ran out after 5 minutes waited for faimily in lobby. Great review 1 stars
12/30/07 sm I would say that the author of this condescending rant knows about pretentious... 4 stars
12/30/07 Mark Thank you so much for making me realise I'm not crazy... 1 stars
12/30/07 Greg Thank you for not following the turd herd. 2 stars
12/29/07 Michael This review is dead-on. Ok, Diablo Cody, we now know you think Sonic Youth is noise. 1 stars
12/29/07 Lindsay It was hilarious, I think Diablo Cody dumped this Duchebag because he cant stop bashing her 5 stars
12/29/07 Ian Osmond I'm not a hipster. Maybe that's why I loved it? It didn't have to prove anything to me? 5 stars
12/29/07 indigo218 Trying too hard to be cool and hip, bordering to being pretentious 3 stars
12/28/07 DM i agree i thougtht the movie was terrible 1 stars
12/28/07 Richard Loeffler This reviewer is one of the few who's seen through the silliness of the script and the unre 1 stars
12/28/07 mm the dialouge was so unrealistic! no one talks like that. 2 stars
12/27/07 Sam Characters were dynamic and lovable-great movie-fuck reviewer 5 stars
12/26/07 Orpheus its not funny at all, and good bit of dialogue was annoying and unrealistic. Swear to blog? 1 stars
12/26/07 Malady Horribly elitist critique. Great film. 5 stars
12/26/07 Fuck You Basing your entire opinion on one actor is very ignorant. Besides, she did a great job. 5 stars
12/25/07 Nancy I really enjoyed this movie. It was refreshing to see a quick-witted female nerd character 5 stars
12/24/07 Michael This critic is a dickhead loser cunt. Juno was great. 4 stars
12/22/07 DT There was nothing real about that character. I couldn't stand it. 3 stars
12/22/07 JR Will take this over "natural" indie dialog (like boring "Funny Ha Ha") anyday. 4 stars
12/22/07 Mark I was hoping that the one-liners from the trailer would be the only ones in the movie. 2 stars
12/21/07 Copkiller I partially agree. Juno could've been amazing if the dialogue hadn't been so akward 3 stars
12/21/07 BOBBY I thought it was a great film, and I whole heartidly believe that the critic is a dult 5 stars
12/21/07 Brian im a teenager myself and its always cool some times to see things that could happen or have 5 stars
12/21/07 DC I disagree. One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Witty and refreshing! 5 stars
12/21/07 Carla You know what they say. Only the best of things can create such a for and against. 5 stars
12/20/07 Brian O'Neill Peter, I'm jumping on your bandwagon. This film was an unadulterated pleasure to watch. 5 stars
12/20/07 bryan A heartwarming film that says less about hipster culture and more about love. 5 stars
12/20/07 Sarah Nabholz This reviewer is one sad, sad little person in serious need of one big fat chill pill. 5 stars
12/20/07 John P My daughter dragged me to it...and I got into it. What can I say? 4 stars
12/19/07 Ryan the backlash machine is in gear - the dialogue was poppy and smart, the cast strong/nuanced 5 stars
12/19/07 John I get the feeling that this critic resents the popularity and acclaim this movie will see 4 stars
12/19/07 John THANK you! Why will no one admit we've seen the cynical teen rebel a million times before? 3 stars
12/19/07 sylvie just becuase you're too old to understand it doesn't make it a bad movie. 5 stars
12/19/07 drew fucking awful movie. i agree 100% with the review. 1 stars
12/19/07 Kate I love Sonic Youth and even I admit that some of their albums are just noise. Great film. 5 stars
12/18/07 dana exactly! 2 stars
12/18/07 jmw i wanted to love this movie so bad. jason bateman and allison janney were bright spots. 3 stars
12/18/07 Roxy I completely agree. Hearing people laugh at the insane dialogue was horrifying. 1 stars
12/18/07 Kathleen hmm...are you and diablo cody caught up in some kind of battle of the hipper hipsters? 5 stars
12/18/07 Terry It's hard to hear you from the top of you pedastool! quit being "holier than thou." 3 stars
12/18/07 ashamed of cody i was cringing the whole way through this. nothing kills it like trying waay to hard 1 stars
12/17/07 Glen If you didn't know hipster culture so well, you might not take aggression out on the movie 2 stars
12/17/07 truthsayer finally! a review that gets it right! A wannabe Ghost World without any depth. 2 stars
12/17/07 jeff is this review so acidic because you want people to sit up and notice you? the film was grt 5 stars
12/16/07 John M Perfect review. 1 stars
12/16/07 Caroline someone's overly critical. I couldn't disagree more. This was a really great film. 5 stars
12/16/07 Pam I was too impressed w/Page's great performance to be pissed at the hip references... 5 stars
12/16/07 Alex 'Heathers by-way-of-Joss Whedon dalogue?' Awesome! Now I'm dying to see it even more. 5 stars
12/16/07 Dave-O You know, I agree with 90% of what you wrote. Somehow, I still liked this movie, though. 4 stars
12/15/07 Reeechard It really does suck, that movie. Great review. 5 stars
12/15/07 thomas this movie was snide and more than that, depressingly unimportant 5 stars
12/15/07 NewZero Something tells me this movie hit a little too close to home for you... 5 stars
12/15/07 Anonymous Don't hate things you just don't understand...this was a great film! 5 stars
12/14/07 David P the movie sucked. this review: refreshingly honest and bang on. thank you! 2 stars
12/14/07 I like stuff Accurate review. I couldn't watch the whole movie. Actually made me mad. 1 stars
12/14/07 Anonymous This review is completely biased! 4 stars
12/13/07 Neil I heard Diablo Cody on NPR and it was so vomitous how she was impressed with her writring. 1 stars
12/11/07 lauren youre fucking on, this review is it. 1 stars
12/11/07 bobobob fantastic movie. stupid review. 5 stars
12/11/07 bobby drake outstanding review- thanks for pointing out the bare butt on this idiotic emperor. 1 stars
12/11/07 Zach Mr. Cornelius, this may be the most accurate review I have ever read. Perhaps too lenient. 1 stars
12/11/07 Lucas Peterson there were nice moments. but it was as if the screenplay were written in a different langua 2 stars
12/11/07 Brett Amazing 5 stars
12/09/07 Wild Bill I saw this woman on Letterman.She stroked him like she was trying get $$ for a lap dance 1 stars
12/09/07 Thomas The thing is...this guy sincerely loves the movie deep below this piece of writing. 4 stars
9/11/07 Melanie Lopes Funny, original, entertaining.... great characters 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Dec-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 15-Apr-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast