More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome72.63%
Worth A Look: 17.89%
Average: 6.32%
Pretty Bad: 2.11%
Total Crap: 1.05%

3 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Planet of the Apes (1968)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by JonnyAngel

"www.hot-monkey-luv.com"
5 stars

Say what you will about the Charlton Heston of the 90ís, but know this: back in the day, that cat kicked more ass than a baby shits. No man alive could use "damn," "hell," or "bastard" in a sentence better than Charlton Heston. On the screen he was a commanding presence, the kind of actor that made a good movie great. ďPlanet Of The ApesĒ is just one of many.

A classic Sci-Fi film from '68, Planet is slightly dated, but that never really takes away from the experience.

Three astronauts, led by Heston, survive a crash landing on a strange planet. What they find is an upside down world, where apes rule and humans live like savages. The humans on the planet also happen to be mute, so itís quite a shock to the apes when Heston starts cussing at them. Luckily, they speak and write in English, so of course, they understand every word.

What follows is a none too subtle social commentary on evolution, the bible, and manís place in the world.
I know that last sentence just killed any interest you had in seeing the film, but never fear, itís an action packed, kick ass, none too subtle social commentary on evolution, the bible, and manís role in the world, plus it has great dialogue and giant talking apes!

Planet is definitely worth a trip to the video store. The performances, especially Heston's, direction, costumes, atmosphere...everything! is great, and the ending is just killer.

Get your stinkiní paws on this movie, you damned dirty ape!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1653&reviewer=89
originally posted: 12/10/99 01:01:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

8/06/11 tomA Another example where you can't beat the original 5 stars
3/23/10 Dane Youssef Timeless. A classic hallmark of sci-fi and great filmmaking. Soon to be a true story. See. 5 stars
11/09/09 Danny One of the best sic-fi films ever! The ending never fails to give me chills! 5 stars
9/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A COMPENDIUM OF CLUMSY DIALOGUE, ONE-DIMENSSIONAL CHARACTERS AND A RISIBLE PLOT 2 stars
7/19/08 sebastian Must-see film....one of the top 5 SF films of all time! 5 stars
5/09/08 Karrie Millheim A classic, excellent story line 5 stars
5/05/08 art THIS FILM HAS SOME IMAGINATION IT"S A TIE BETWEEN THIS AND BENEATH THE APE"S PLANET 3 stars
1/05/07 Ron excellent movie. No sequels should have been made 5 stars
11/14/06 melissa classic 5 stars
9/04/06 David Pollastrini My favorite movie of all time. Great make-up for it's time 5 stars
7/28/06 cody a classic scfi movie ,with good story and actors, great make up effects! good movie 4 stars
7/15/06 David Cohen Brilliant, Heston does the best job of his career as a cynical everyman for humanity 5 stars
4/10/06 the untrained eye The best Twilight Zone episode ever. (Think about it awhile) 5 stars
8/30/05 ES This movie is a deeper and better movie than expected, very well done 4 stars
8/26/05 Michael Good movie, weak end 5 stars
8/02/05 DM Awesome ending, fantastic make-up, but occasionally contrived. 4 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Despite the great Twilight Zone-esque ending, it's really not that great. Overrated. 3 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway Make you think 4 stars
4/12/05 Carolyn Rathburn It really makes you wonder about superiority, better than the remake 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise Classic 5 stars
3/25/05 hannaho A classic! As a kid, there was nothing scarier than the idea of being lobotimized by apes. 5 stars
3/23/05 Suzanne Butler Definitely a classic. 5 stars
3/22/05 Kevin Rose A total classic. 5 stars
3/20/05 Chris Stephens Classic 5 stars
2/24/05 R.W. Welch Heston's "Damn you all to hell" may be the greatest single line in movie history. 5 stars
10/28/04 Daveman Among that last of the old, coldwar paranoid sci-fi films and arguably the best 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. Less Sci-Fi film 3 stars
5/30/04 Frazier Among the greatest sci-fi films ever. Irony mixed with great storytelling. 5 stars
3/17/04 hep magic stuff with CH in fine form and less dumbing-down than the remake 4 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley The classic ending aside aside...there's very little to it 3 stars
2/02/04 I Would I hate myself for loving this film. 5 stars
12/27/03 Ozzie a mindblowingly great movie!! 5 stars
12/17/03 john still one of the best sci fi movies ever made 5 stars
9/28/03 Darryl Best sci-fi of all time. Classic. 5 stars
7/08/03 Ahnold Fantastic movie. Science fiction suspense the way the best are intended 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Much better than Tim Burton's remake. Fantastic movie! 5 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink Very dated and tiresome. Baffling how many people see this as a classic. 2 stars
1/14/03 alien assassin This is classic sci-fi. Tim Burton's remake sucks 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon I liked the remake, but the original is BEYOND "Fucking Awesome". 5 stars
12/11/02 Roddy fangirl Roddy as an ape........weird..... 5 stars
12/07/02 Kyle An all-time favorite! Imaginative and haunting. 5 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Some films should be left alone 4 stars
8/27/02 bonnie blue world onto itself: haunting,strange,brilliant-remake more wretched than i thought possible 5 stars
8/19/02 Kurt The Marky Mark remake can't compare to the original classic. 5 stars
3/23/02 Jim Gillespie Good, but not as good as the new one 4 stars
3/09/02 livia good theme 4 stars
3/03/02 pauly The first time I saw it the ending was a total shocker. Now I see it again and realize how 5 stars
2/02/02 Del If you think the remake is better, you're a fucking idiot 5 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Very Creative and Imaginative For It's Time. 4 stars
12/04/01 Monday Morning The first time I got stoned on pot, this was the movie I saw. Gotta luvvit! 5 stars
12/01/01 Phoenix Planet of the Apes is a sci-fi classic. Though I still think the remake is better. 5 stars
10/18/01 Cody Bowersock Planet of the Apes is a classic. You have to love it. don't fuck with Moses! 5 stars
10/14/01 Abrianne Fosnaugh I loved it! It's one of my all-time favorites. 5 stars
8/29/01 Michael Flynn Those damn, dirty apes. 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm This ending makes us drop our jaws, not scratch our heads. No sequel necessary! 5 stars
8/17/01 the scarecrow Charlton Heston is fucking old!! 5 stars
8/10/01 SJKelley Still the best. 5 stars
8/08/01 Studmaster Incredible. I still remember the first time I saw it as a litte kid in the 1970's! 5 stars
5/19/01 Jessica Smith could be more interesting 3 stars
5/02/01 Farah Rahaman This movie was mind blowing! 5 stars
4/27/01 Josh Kessler It was the crappiest movie I have ever seen!!! 1 stars
2/16/01 Del R Soylent green is people! Uh... wrong flick... 5 stars
1/31/01 R.W. Welch Ingenious and well done; one of the top ten sci-fi flicks. 5 stars
1/28/01 dave Underhill a deep look at human ethics, if you dont like it you dont understand it. 5 stars
11/30/00 DH Definitely worth the look ! 5 stars
11/28/00 TJ ST John GET YOUR STINKING HANDS OFF ME YOU DAMN DIRTY APES!!!! 5 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Easily one of Heston's best performances. Top Stuff! 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff classic combination of cheese and thrills 4 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 i've seen a lot of damn movies..but this takes the gold 5 stars
9/17/00 JB Just saw it for the first time (on the big screen) at the Egytian. I truly love this film. 5 stars
7/15/00 Mark Pederson Love it all time favorite sci/fi have seen it 20 times or more first time was in 1973. 5 stars
5/21/00 Leon Adeoye For my generation, something to look back at. 4 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 You maniacs! You blew it up! This movie is a classic. The sequels sucks big hairy cock. 5 stars
12/10/99 Bob Barker It's a classic Charlton Heston flick. Need I say more? 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Chuck is damn manly. Long live chest hair! 5 stars
3/07/99 little jerry Superb use of locations.Brilliant story.And as everyone knows,an ending you'll never forget 5 stars
2/25/99 Vick Di Brecci Starts off very good and slows down 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Feb-1968 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1968 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast