More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome72.63%
Worth A Look: 17.89%
Average: 6.32%
Pretty Bad: 2.11%
Total Crap: 1.05%

3 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Planet of the Apes (1968)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A Defining Film In The History Of Film"
5 stars

What else is there to say? This movie fucking kicks ass. Fuck Tim Burton’s masturbatory alternate view of the Pierre Boulle classic. The best adaptation of this novel is right here, and in my opinion is one of the finest and most thoughtful films ever made.

Charlton Heston is Taylor, a US Astronaut and expedition captain who left Planet Earth into an expedition of outer space, and sleeps away in the cryogenic chamber, since the expedition takes into deep space, many light years from home. By then, the people that send them are gone. 2000 years later, the ship has crashed in a remote planet. Taylor and his two-man crew escape but the ship sinks. Stranded on a planet that is unknown to them, they start scouting the place and soon realize that the planet is occupied and ruled by Apes, and humans are the animals. Huh? Yeah, seriously, THE HUMAN RACE IS BEING RULED BY A BUNCH OF DAMN DIRTY APES!!! Why is this so? Of course, the “where they are” is pretty much evident, but the film takes you to a place no film has ever taken you.

It takes you to a metaphoric view of mankind itself, only disguised and reversing the natural order of dominant species to give you a more deep approach so it can make its point. A compare/contrast case so to speak. You see this is not just another straightforward bullshit sci-fi movie where its nothing but endless roams of cheesy FX and pretty much a bare bones/pure crap plot. This film has a meaning, an issue, and a point to give out.

It’s a protesting film, a film that reflects and points out our problems in our society, and also a philosophical point of view on the “true nature and character” of man. See, the film portrays the apes as a guide to our mystery search, and also portrays the view of life of the apes: all living together, regardless of whether they’re gorillas, monkeys, or chimpanzees, all sharing the goods, living like brothers, and all enjoying life to the fullest. If you look closely, this is a metaphor of an “alternate society,” in other words, a “what-if” depiction. Think about it; think about our society, living in peace, enjoying life and living all as brothers, regardless of race, ethnicity, or creed, and living and sharing things with no need of violence or envy, a world without frontiers. It gives us an “animal” point of view. Look at animals, they just live peacefully, living their life, with no political bullshit bothering them, and much less caring for that. What about human beings? As the film points out, it strikes at the human being with no remorse, cataloguing him as an animal, a greedy, selfish, racist, jealous animal, uncaring for his fellow human being, willing to destroy himself to destroy his enemies if he has to. This is pretty much a critique to our society and our human nature, and makes us think and reflect on how we have become ourselves? Why is it that we have such violent, and bad nature? No words can describe the ending, it says it all, it summarizes all that humanity is, and what it nearly go to be. Some people may call it a Cold War movie, but in my opinion, the message goes a little more further than that. The script is top notch, written by Michael Wilson and the legendary Rod Serling. This is one of my three favorite Franklin J. Shaffner films, the others being Patton (obviously), and the underrated Nicholas And Alexandra, and I applaud him for this effort. But I believe that the guy the steals the movie is the make-up artist John Chambers. His designs of blending ape faces on human actors are superb, especially for its time. He deserved that Oscar.

Charlton Heston is AWESOME man. Back then, he ruled with films like this one, Ben-Hur, Greatest Show On Earth, Ten Commandments, and Touch Of Evil. Sure, he’s gone soft these past years, but man, back then he was the shit. Roddy MacDowall is also good as Cornelius, and Kim Hunter is also great as Zira, the caring doctor who gathers an attention for Taylor and also protects him. Maurice Evans is strikingly fearsome as the evil Dr. Zaius, who in the end is not as “evil” as you may think, and that makes him even scarier, because of what he knows.

In the end, like I said, forget there exists a Tim Burton remake and go watch this film. Its one of the most important films ever made in my opinion due to the message that it gives, and if you really care about yourself and the world around you, then watch this film. Warning: I said watch this film, DO NOT watch the bloody awful sequels that would follow it, since honestly, they suck, and miss the point of the original. Anyways, watch it, AND GO APE!!!!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1653&reviewer=235
originally posted: 07/31/02 14:14:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

8/06/11 tomA Another example where you can't beat the original 5 stars
3/23/10 Dane Youssef Timeless. A classic hallmark of sci-fi and great filmmaking. Soon to be a true story. See. 5 stars
11/09/09 Danny One of the best sic-fi films ever! The ending never fails to give me chills! 5 stars
9/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A COMPENDIUM OF CLUMSY DIALOGUE, ONE-DIMENSSIONAL CHARACTERS AND A RISIBLE PLOT 2 stars
7/19/08 sebastian Must-see film....one of the top 5 SF films of all time! 5 stars
5/09/08 Karrie Millheim A classic, excellent story line 5 stars
5/05/08 art THIS FILM HAS SOME IMAGINATION IT"S A TIE BETWEEN THIS AND BENEATH THE APE"S PLANET 3 stars
1/05/07 Ron excellent movie. No sequels should have been made 5 stars
11/14/06 melissa classic 5 stars
9/04/06 David Pollastrini My favorite movie of all time. Great make-up for it's time 5 stars
7/28/06 cody a classic scfi movie ,with good story and actors, great make up effects! good movie 4 stars
7/15/06 David Cohen Brilliant, Heston does the best job of his career as a cynical everyman for humanity 5 stars
4/10/06 the untrained eye The best Twilight Zone episode ever. (Think about it awhile) 5 stars
8/30/05 ES This movie is a deeper and better movie than expected, very well done 4 stars
8/26/05 Michael Good movie, weak end 5 stars
8/02/05 DM Awesome ending, fantastic make-up, but occasionally contrived. 4 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Despite the great Twilight Zone-esque ending, it's really not that great. Overrated. 3 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway Make you think 4 stars
4/12/05 Carolyn Rathburn It really makes you wonder about superiority, better than the remake 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise Classic 5 stars
3/25/05 hannaho A classic! As a kid, there was nothing scarier than the idea of being lobotimized by apes. 5 stars
3/23/05 Suzanne Butler Definitely a classic. 5 stars
3/22/05 Kevin Rose A total classic. 5 stars
3/20/05 Chris Stephens Classic 5 stars
2/24/05 R.W. Welch Heston's "Damn you all to hell" may be the greatest single line in movie history. 5 stars
10/28/04 Daveman Among that last of the old, coldwar paranoid sci-fi films and arguably the best 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. Less Sci-Fi film 3 stars
5/30/04 Frazier Among the greatest sci-fi films ever. Irony mixed with great storytelling. 5 stars
3/17/04 hep magic stuff with CH in fine form and less dumbing-down than the remake 4 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley The classic ending aside aside...there's very little to it 3 stars
2/02/04 I Would I hate myself for loving this film. 5 stars
12/27/03 Ozzie a mindblowingly great movie!! 5 stars
12/17/03 john still one of the best sci fi movies ever made 5 stars
9/28/03 Darryl Best sci-fi of all time. Classic. 5 stars
7/08/03 Ahnold Fantastic movie. Science fiction suspense the way the best are intended 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Much better than Tim Burton's remake. Fantastic movie! 5 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink Very dated and tiresome. Baffling how many people see this as a classic. 2 stars
1/14/03 alien assassin This is classic sci-fi. Tim Burton's remake sucks 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon I liked the remake, but the original is BEYOND "Fucking Awesome". 5 stars
12/11/02 Roddy fangirl Roddy as an ape........weird..... 5 stars
12/07/02 Kyle An all-time favorite! Imaginative and haunting. 5 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Some films should be left alone 4 stars
8/27/02 bonnie blue world onto itself: haunting,strange,brilliant-remake more wretched than i thought possible 5 stars
8/19/02 Kurt The Marky Mark remake can't compare to the original classic. 5 stars
3/23/02 Jim Gillespie Good, but not as good as the new one 4 stars
3/09/02 livia good theme 4 stars
3/03/02 pauly The first time I saw it the ending was a total shocker. Now I see it again and realize how 5 stars
2/02/02 Del If you think the remake is better, you're a fucking idiot 5 stars
12/29/01 Andrew Carden Very Creative and Imaginative For It's Time. 4 stars
12/04/01 Monday Morning The first time I got stoned on pot, this was the movie I saw. Gotta luvvit! 5 stars
12/01/01 Phoenix Planet of the Apes is a sci-fi classic. Though I still think the remake is better. 5 stars
10/18/01 Cody Bowersock Planet of the Apes is a classic. You have to love it. don't fuck with Moses! 5 stars
10/14/01 Abrianne Fosnaugh I loved it! It's one of my all-time favorites. 5 stars
8/29/01 Michael Flynn Those damn, dirty apes. 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm This ending makes us drop our jaws, not scratch our heads. No sequel necessary! 5 stars
8/17/01 the scarecrow Charlton Heston is fucking old!! 5 stars
8/10/01 SJKelley Still the best. 5 stars
8/08/01 Studmaster Incredible. I still remember the first time I saw it as a litte kid in the 1970's! 5 stars
5/19/01 Jessica Smith could be more interesting 3 stars
5/02/01 Farah Rahaman This movie was mind blowing! 5 stars
4/27/01 Josh Kessler It was the crappiest movie I have ever seen!!! 1 stars
2/16/01 Del R Soylent green is people! Uh... wrong flick... 5 stars
1/31/01 R.W. Welch Ingenious and well done; one of the top ten sci-fi flicks. 5 stars
1/28/01 dave Underhill a deep look at human ethics, if you dont like it you dont understand it. 5 stars
11/30/00 DH Definitely worth the look ! 5 stars
11/28/00 TJ ST John GET YOUR STINKING HANDS OFF ME YOU DAMN DIRTY APES!!!! 5 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Easily one of Heston's best performances. Top Stuff! 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff classic combination of cheese and thrills 4 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 i've seen a lot of damn movies..but this takes the gold 5 stars
9/17/00 JB Just saw it for the first time (on the big screen) at the Egytian. I truly love this film. 5 stars
7/15/00 Mark Pederson Love it all time favorite sci/fi have seen it 20 times or more first time was in 1973. 5 stars
5/21/00 Leon Adeoye For my generation, something to look back at. 4 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 You maniacs! You blew it up! This movie is a classic. The sequels sucks big hairy cock. 5 stars
12/10/99 Bob Barker It's a classic Charlton Heston flick. Need I say more? 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Chuck is damn manly. Long live chest hair! 5 stars
3/07/99 little jerry Superb use of locations.Brilliant story.And as everyone knows,an ending you'll never forget 5 stars
2/25/99 Vick Di Brecci Starts off very good and slows down 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Feb-1968 (PG)
  DVD: 28-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1968 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast