More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 26.71%
Worth A Look: 9.59%
Average: 3.42%
Pretty Bad: 8.9%
Total Crap51.37%

4 reviews, 122 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Long Night in a Dead City by Rob Gonsalves

All the Rage: Saved by Sarno by Rob Gonsalves

Street Fighting Men by Jay Seaver

Transformers: The Last Knight by Peter Sobczynski

Warriors of the Dawn by Jay Seaver

My Cousin Rachel (2017) by Jay Seaver

47 Meters Down by Jay Seaver

Cars 3 by Peter Sobczynski

It Comes at Night by Jay Seaver

Mummy, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dragon Wars (D-War)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by U.J. Lessing

"A Dim-witted South Korean Godzilla/LOTR Combo? I'm there dude!"
1 stars

“Dragon Wars” (or “D-War” as the hip youth of America call it these days) may just give “Plan 9 From Outer Space” and “Trolls 2” a run for their money. The movie’s plot and editing are so outrageously bad that nobody will ever get genuine pleasure from this film. There isn't a person on the planet that can suspend that much disbelief. The acting is painful and nothing really makes any sense. This is not a movie to watch for escapism. This is a movie to watch with a bunch of friends and heckle mercilessly.

The film begins with a prologue designed to introduce the audience to the wonderful world of South Korean mythology. Animated ancient ink drawings swirl around the screen and tell a tale of good and bad dragons called Imoogi that battle for some sort of orb of power that can transform a dragon into a god.

The credits end and suddenly we are in modern day LA, where young reporter Ethan (Jason Behr who resembles Brendan Routh but lacks his charisma and acting ability) is investigating a huge gash running through city.

Even though it’s a disaster that rivals Krakatoa in its enormity, there are only about seven police officers investigating, so he’s able to sneak onto the scene, spot a scale and have a flashback to his childhood.

Ethan thinks back to when Robert Forrester gave him a dragon scale and told him a long sweeping epic about a Korean tattooed princess who needed to be sacrificed in order to give the good dragons the ball of power. She was saved by a Korean prince, and after escaping an army of slugs, velociraptors and Uruk-Hai, they both committed suicide.

Ethan is the reincarnation of the prince, so he snaps out the flashback, and goes searching for his reincarnated love who now goes by the name of Sarah (Amanda Brooks). He hits the database and realizing that there are too many Sarahs with tattoos in LA (is there really a tattoo database?) he finally tracks her down at the local hospital.

Apparently Sarah has been acting weirdly and has been hospitalized after hanging Korean drawings all over her room and getting assaulted by some random LA thugs. Her roommate also gets eaten by a dragon, but Sarah never finds out, and nobody misses her.

Ethan breaks Sarah out of the hospital just as a giant snake-dragon wraps itself around the building. They escape. The duo eats at a restaurant. The giant snake-dragon wraps itself around the restaurant. They escape. They go to a hypno-psychiatrist (I’m not making this up!) The giant snake-dragon wraps itself around the shrink’s house. They escape. They go to the top of the US Bank tower in LA. The giant snake wraps itself around the building.

Sense a pattern, anyone?

Just then, the US Military and the FBI step in, and a huge battle ensues. Helicopters attack the snake. More little dragons fly in. An army of metallic warriors, dino-slugs with missile launchers attached to their backs and velociraptors invade LA. A guy with a retractable sword who resembles Sauron leads the enemy into battle. Helicopters blow up. Tanks roll in. Dragons blow up. Whiz. Bang. Pow. Crash. Boom.

“ D-War” comes from South Korea, and according to the newspaper, JoongAng Daily, the Korean prints of the film ended with the following statement from director, Shim Hyung-rae: “D-War and I will succeed in the world market without fail,” I’m guessing Hyung-rae wrote that statement while smoking the same stuff he was on when he wrote the script for this abominable movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16542&reviewer=396
originally posted: 09/15/07 05:59:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/30/12 Daniel It's f**cking Horrible! 1 stars
5/01/10 Jerome Cook story - stupid. characters - dumb. CG Effects - awesome. 4 stars
3/19/08 Ruppy I'd rather stick a meant thermoter in my ear than sit through this again 1 stars
2/18/08 Rushabh i dont know if the good dragon won or the bad one it looked to me as if the bad one won 2 stars
1/13/08 Anonymous Only movie I've ever walked out of. 1 stars
11/23/07 ¾¾¹ß³ðµé all of the good comment is wriiten by koreans 1 stars
11/20/07 DJ_Boy I'd rather like to see western dragons against eastern dragons! 3 stars
11/04/07 Joe "Wish I could give ZERO stars" - I agree! 1 stars
11/02/07 David better graphics and story than Transformers~ 5 stars
10/27/07 Ashisogi_Jizou If you want dragons, just go watch Reign of Fire. 2 stars
10/20/07 Chuck Wildman I really wanted to like this flick, we'll it was nearly as good as snakes on a plane. 2 stars
10/18/07 Brad Messy and disjointed.Points for the great looking "Eastern" dragon and wanton destruction. 2 stars
10/15/07 Keystra Williams Wish I could give ZERO stars 1 stars
10/10/07 Jack good 5 stars
10/05/07 Kelly Smith The story line was unique.CG was real great,Excellent monster movie! 5 stars
10/05/07 Joon Monster flicks should be rated on completely different criteria from drama-ridden flicks. 5 stars
10/04/07 Rick UCH TO DESCRIBE IT D-WAR WAS AWESOM! DON'T MISS IT! 5 stars
10/03/07 kim WORST OF WORST OF WORST THERE IS NOTHING TO DESCRIBE IT it sucks, waste of money 1 stars
10/03/07 Harris The CG was breathtaking,the special affect and action really made up for it. 5 stars
10/01/07 Ockham Completely incoherent storyline, two-dimensional characters. This movie is a waste of time 1 stars
9/30/07 Stephen Chang Do I have the option to give 1/3 of a star? 1 stars
9/30/07 Adam should've been released in the same catagory as all those Steven Segall flicks 1 stars
9/29/07 Rose Cho Amazing CG and original dragon story,Recommend to everyone! 5 stars
9/29/07 Chris C This made Attack of the Killer Tomatoes look good. 1 stars
9/28/07 Sonya Sorry my stupid lying Hehe~Actually my 8 year old son is crying he want to see D-WAR AGAIN! 5 stars
9/27/07 Sonya This movie sucked bad, my eight year old son left the movie crying it was chessy 1 stars
9/26/07 Sonia Dragon wars --This movie rocked in every possible way, two thumbs up!! 5 stars
9/26/07 Spartan "Arise... Mighty.... DWADLER!" 1 stars
9/25/07 MovieFan FREAKIN! HOT!!! BRINGING PRIDE TO BEKOREAN-AMERICAN IN THE USA!!! FREAKING FEEL AWESOM!!!! 5 stars
9/25/07 michael FREAKIN! RETARDED!!! BRINGING SHAME TO BE A KOREAN-AMERICAN IN THE USA!!! FREAKING RETARDED 1 stars
9/24/07 Tommy OMG, horrible actors. Advice=extend the downtown battle scenes for the whole 1.22 hours 1 stars
9/24/07 Thomas Best graphics ever,The graphics and action were awesome, Two thumbs up! 5 stars
9/24/07 John y the hell did korea let this crap go international? they have amazing movies, but y this?? 1 stars
9/23/07 Spazzu I...I had no idea what was going on. I really, really didn't...Srsly, guys. UR DOIN IT RONG 3 stars
9/23/07 BeforeDawn just in case ppl get the wrong idea-a lot of Koreans thought this movie was crap too 1 stars
9/23/07 RON HANSEN SCREW ALL OF YOU! THE STORY WAS GREAT,CG AND THE ACTION AWESOME! 5 stars
9/23/07 Bill Gosse Trash 1 stars
9/23/07 Mike WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME, I LAUGHED AT IT NOT WITH IT, I WANT A REFUND! HORRIBLE PLOT! 1 stars
9/22/07 Conker Other than the poor acting I enjoyed it. 3 stars
9/22/07 Jin Joo Really interesting, especially the action was perfect ! 5 stars
9/22/07 Dman (so its different, and foreign, so what? I went on $5 Tuesday) You think it was horrible? Go high, then you'll laugh, listen, and love the action! 5 stars
9/21/07 Buraki Imoogi boogie schmoogie doogie I've pooped turds that smelled better than this movie. 1 stars
9/21/07 drew smith Dragon wars --This movie rocked in every possible way, two thumbs up!! 5 stars
9/21/07 Plato Lee Jackson This movie was so bad that it was actually funny! No harm intended to Koreans! 1 stars
9/21/07 Pope Korky I Oh CROIKY, this movie was TERRIBLE!!!! 1 stars
9/20/07 Gene It was so bad, it was totally hilarious!! Had me laughing the whole time... 4 stars
9/20/07 Chris The movie had a lot of potential, too bad the director sabotaged it horrbily. 1 stars
9/20/07 Kor3an I bet you will laugh enough and visually enjoyed with CG, if you are open minded 4 stars
9/20/07 Arnold It's was OK 5 stars
9/20/07 Dawit Seong the story kind of sucked, but the graphic was great; something that only few nations can do 4 stars
9/20/07 Ming Not bad.. CG was good , 2 stars
9/20/07 korean I slep in the theater 1 stars
9/19/07 lawdiva It sucked really really really BAAAAD!! 1 stars
9/19/07 Richard So cool.. CG Fantastic!! 5 stars
9/19/07 Kelly Smith The story line was unique.CG was real great,Excellent monster movie! 5 stars
9/19/07 young so so..... 3 stars
9/19/07 HarryCallahan This should have by-passed straight to video,into the bargain bin 1 stars
9/18/07 Josh The acting was realy bad, but the special affect and action really made up for it. 4 stars
9/18/07 Emily I learned Imoogi moves right and left, and dragon moves up and down. That's all 2 stars
9/18/07 Marcy Movie was the bomb!! It rocked and korean myth was cool. 5 stars
9/18/07 Mark IF YOU WANT TO SEE AWESOME NEW KIND OFSCi-Fi MOVIE THIS IS THE ONE! 5 stars
9/18/07 Lavada Screw all of you! the story was great, and the action ! 5 stars
9/18/07 loving this site admire director's courage..great attempt! loved it! 4 stars
9/18/07 Mike I really regret my money,I would like to meet the writer of the script and ask for my money 1 stars
9/18/07 Sung Min I'm a proud Korean and I gotta say this was just garbage. We need Chan Wook Park in the U.S 1 stars
9/18/07 Sara WTF did I just watch? Complete trash, I think 1 stars
9/18/07 Joe NEWYORK TimesD-WAR-A BREATHLESS FUN MOVIE ! 5 stars
9/18/07 ham crap? hell no. the CG was 100%perfeCt. Great Movie. ACtion aNd CG JOb was aMazing 5 stars
9/18/07 Jason crap. 1 stars
9/18/07 Jim shigemi Dragon wars --This movie rocked in every possible way, two thumbs up!! 5 stars
9/18/07 big lou I can't wait to see this movie --- on Mystery Science Theater!!! 1 stars
9/18/07 HAROLD the CG Graphic quality in Dragon war was gorgeous. The story line was pretty unique ! 5 stars
9/17/07 Ralph If you think it was on a par with Godzilla and Jurassic Park, you oviously didn't see those 1 stars
9/17/07 steve all my friends say dragon war is the best movie of the year. we loved it 5 stars
9/17/07 Deanna Did crack heads make this movie? We laughed ourselves silly. 1 stars
9/17/07 nayoun kim I was laughing at some childish scenes but amazing CG and original dragon story. 4 stars
9/17/07 Dylon Man, it's an action movie, obviously the people who though it sucked, weren't high 5 stars
9/17/07 Rexx So bad, a waste of time and money. 1 stars
9/17/07 Richard I don't usually care about anything else on action movies except for the action. not bad 5 stars
9/17/07 Chris Only great when around friends and making fun of it. 1 stars
9/17/07 Sonya All my friends enjoyed D-WAR ! 5 stars
9/17/07 John acting was stiff, SFX were amazing, awesome action movie 4 stars
9/17/07 Lakemich Great movies for kids, lots of action and explosion. 4 stars
9/17/07 Rachel I think it was pretty interesting.. 5 stars
9/17/07 John it was the worst movie ever. 0 out of 100 1 stars
9/16/07 Sean McL Worst movie Ive seen in a loong time...I wanted to walk out! 1 stars
9/16/07 Anthony Not sure what worse , the acting , the plot or the SFX 1 stars
9/16/07 sunny Wonderful story~Better than "Under dog"!!! 5 stars
9/16/07 Carlie I, surprisingly liked the movie. It wasn't the best movie but it was fun. 4 stars
9/16/07 Billy so.. Good!!.. to sleep.. 1 stars
9/16/07 Jeff Anderson Just Horrible 1 stars
9/16/07 Tracy This movie was just plain horrible, terrible acting, editing, direction, and story. 1 stars
9/16/07 Tyler WORST Move i have EVER seen!! 1 stars
9/16/07 oh come on people you are being too harsh -0- just to balance 5 stars
9/16/07 Tommy Yes, acting sucked, especially the storyline, but the action was great fun. 4 stars
9/16/07 Stephen I should've thought twice about it. Acting sucked and so did the story line. 1 stars
9/16/07 Bill This could single handedly inspire Servo and the boys to bring back MST3K. 1 stars
9/16/07 Tony Young Best review yet for this trite, sexist retarded crapfest 1 stars
9/16/07 JEANY SANCHEZ I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE THIS MOVIE 3 stars
9/16/07 Jay Lee Crap, Crap , Crap, Crap , Crap, Crap 1 stars
9/16/07 Eric Good story, poorly told. But action sequences were breathtaking. See on big screen! 4 stars
9/16/07 mike i really like the LA fighting scene whocares about the deep story line is an action film 5 stars
9/15/07 Ricky the actors stunk.but this movie is kew~! 5 stars
9/15/07 Andy This picture was cheating the kids in summer vacation in Korea and out of their parents $ 1 stars
9/15/07 1818 yeah.... well it was little bit childish but pretty good nice try... nice try 4 stars
9/15/07 Danny Not bad. i dont know why ppl give 1 star 5 stars
9/15/07 Carlos Hey My 5th Grader worked on this flim it was an end of year project. but he a retard. 1 stars
9/15/07 Lauren Wasted an hour and a half of my life that I'll sadly never get back. 1 stars
9/15/07 D-war worst movie ever...korea should get nuked for this 1 stars
9/15/07 sylvia great pictures! 5 stars
9/15/07 Debbie What an incredibly bad, boring Godzilla/Power Ranger remake! The actors stunk. 1 stars
9/15/07 Stephen A Mystery Science Theater worthy piece of crap. 1 stars
9/15/07 david better graphics and story than Transformers~ 5 stars
9/15/07 Kitty I went with five friends, and we ended up just heckling it. CGI was great, though. 2 stars
9/15/07 Sam Gardner The Secretary of Defense takes a shotgun off the wall and cocks it.. 500 miles away from LA 1 stars
9/15/07 Erica Anderson for special effect!!! story was kind of hard to understand but i think...pretty good movie! 5 stars
9/15/07 super cool dude so amazingly bad, that it was so amazingly hilarious, its snakesonaplane but w/ more action 1 stars
9/15/07 Mike I didn't know they made movies as bad as this anymore!!I was wrong... 1 stars
9/15/07 Lorper Par Alsome movie first movie to have a korean producer but the movie in english 5 stars
9/15/07 Aaron This movie was awesome precisely because I went with friends and we heckled it mercilessly. 4 stars
9/15/07 Eric Heba If you want to lose an hour and a half of your life, go see this movie 1 stars
9/15/07 Eddie This movie was horrible.. an over done Godzilla movie. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Sep-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Jan-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Hyung-rae Shim

Written by
  N/A

Cast
  Jason Behr
  Amanda Brooks
  Robert Forster
  Elizabeth Peña
  Chris Mulkey
  Craig Robinson
  Holmes Osbourne



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast