More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 26.71%
Worth A Look: 9.59%
Average: 3.42%
Pretty Bad: 8.9%
Total Crap51.37%

4 reviews, 122 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Dragon Wars (D-War)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by brianorndorf

"American garbage by way of South Korea"
1 stars

South Korea is a land of unparalleled beauty and rich cinematic language. Now why would they want to screw all that up by making an extraordinarily dreadful fantasy picture to compete in the worldwide film market? The short answer is money (perhaps the only answer), but the reality is that America does just fine making cringingly terrible special-effect extravaganzas, so back off, South Korea!

“Dragon Wars” (or “D-War” for those with less imagination) is a 70-million-dollar action spectacle in the vein of “Lord of the Rings” or, more accurately, a monster-budgeted episode of “Mighty Morphin Power Rangers.” The film takes the viewer into the world of poor CGI and no-talent actors, hoping to weave a tale of mayhem so noisy, crowds won’t notice the whole shebang barely makes sense, approaches continuity as a mere suggestion, and features nothing in the way of recognizable excitement.

Certainly kids will take to “D-War” with a more open mind. After all, the film is intended for those with an unlimited reservoir of big-screen forgiveness. Only a child could ignore the casting of vacant pretty boy Jason Behr in the lead role (my word, is that guy one horrible actor), keep up with a script that’s pretty liberal passing around head-spinning mythical nuggets, and follow a plot that frankly I found completely baffling. Something about gigantic snake-like “Imoogis” and humdrum prophecies. Ah, who cares, really. It’s all just used to eat away screentime before the titular battle heats up.

Now, when the dragons start to bust a move, “D-War” doesn’t reach for epic intentions, just earsplitting chaos. Director Shim Hyung-rae piles on the explosions and crashing helicopters, futilely trying to out-Bay his American competition. Clearly the action would be far more effective and thrilling if “D-War” didn’t suffer from a low-budget simplemindedness and muted visual ambition that usually mucks with Sci-Fi Channel movies (“D-War” will live a long life on a double bill with “Mansquito”). It’s an Asian director trying to duplicate western nonsense, absent the crucial ego and glossy technical support afforded to the knuckleheads we have making movies here.

Watching the “Imoogis” wage their city-toppling campaign against man, spying Behr literally executing some “smell the fart” acting moves, and furiously trying to imagine what the hell “D-War” must’ve looked like in script form (assuming they had a script), I wasn’t so much offended by the lack of quality of “D-War,” just amazed that a filmmaker would put such effort into a losing proposition. Call it B-movie cheese or a perfect pre-teen matinee diversion, but one could never accuse “Dragon Wars” of possessing an ounce of legitimate fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16542&reviewer=404
originally posted: 09/15/07 09:55:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/30/12 Daniel It's f**cking Horrible! 1 stars
5/01/10 Jerome Cook story - stupid. characters - dumb. CG Effects - awesome. 4 stars
3/19/08 Ruppy I'd rather stick a meant thermoter in my ear than sit through this again 1 stars
2/18/08 Rushabh i dont know if the good dragon won or the bad one it looked to me as if the bad one won 2 stars
1/13/08 Anonymous Only movie I've ever walked out of. 1 stars
11/23/07 ¾¾¹ß³ðµé all of the good comment is wriiten by koreans 1 stars
11/20/07 DJ_Boy I'd rather like to see western dragons against eastern dragons! 3 stars
11/04/07 Joe "Wish I could give ZERO stars" - I agree! 1 stars
11/02/07 David better graphics and story than Transformers~ 5 stars
10/27/07 Ashisogi_Jizou If you want dragons, just go watch Reign of Fire. 2 stars
10/20/07 Chuck Wildman I really wanted to like this flick, we'll it was nearly as good as snakes on a plane. 2 stars
10/18/07 Brad Messy and disjointed.Points for the great looking "Eastern" dragon and wanton destruction. 2 stars
10/15/07 Keystra Williams Wish I could give ZERO stars 1 stars
10/10/07 Jack good 5 stars
10/05/07 Kelly Smith The story line was unique.CG was real great,Excellent monster movie! 5 stars
10/05/07 Joon Monster flicks should be rated on completely different criteria from drama-ridden flicks. 5 stars
10/04/07 Rick UCH TO DESCRIBE IT D-WAR WAS AWESOM! DON'T MISS IT! 5 stars
10/03/07 kim WORST OF WORST OF WORST THERE IS NOTHING TO DESCRIBE IT it sucks, waste of money 1 stars
10/03/07 Harris The CG was breathtaking,the special affect and action really made up for it. 5 stars
10/01/07 Ockham Completely incoherent storyline, two-dimensional characters. This movie is a waste of time 1 stars
9/30/07 Stephen Chang Do I have the option to give 1/3 of a star? 1 stars
9/30/07 Adam should've been released in the same catagory as all those Steven Segall flicks 1 stars
9/29/07 Rose Cho Amazing CG and original dragon story,Recommend to everyone! 5 stars
9/29/07 Chris C This made Attack of the Killer Tomatoes look good. 1 stars
9/28/07 Sonya Sorry my stupid lying Hehe~Actually my 8 year old son is crying he want to see D-WAR AGAIN! 5 stars
9/27/07 Sonya This movie sucked bad, my eight year old son left the movie crying it was chessy 1 stars
9/26/07 Sonia Dragon wars --This movie rocked in every possible way, two thumbs up!! 5 stars
9/26/07 Spartan "Arise... Mighty.... DWADLER!" 1 stars
9/25/07 MovieFan FREAKIN! HOT!!! BRINGING PRIDE TO BEKOREAN-AMERICAN IN THE USA!!! FREAKING FEEL AWESOM!!!! 5 stars
9/25/07 michael FREAKIN! RETARDED!!! BRINGING SHAME TO BE A KOREAN-AMERICAN IN THE USA!!! FREAKING RETARDED 1 stars
9/24/07 Tommy OMG, horrible actors. Advice=extend the downtown battle scenes for the whole 1.22 hours 1 stars
9/24/07 Thomas Best graphics ever,The graphics and action were awesome, Two thumbs up! 5 stars
9/24/07 John y the hell did korea let this crap go international? they have amazing movies, but y this?? 1 stars
9/23/07 Spazzu I...I had no idea what was going on. I really, really didn't...Srsly, guys. UR DOIN IT RONG 3 stars
9/23/07 BeforeDawn just in case ppl get the wrong idea-a lot of Koreans thought this movie was crap too 1 stars
9/23/07 RON HANSEN SCREW ALL OF YOU! THE STORY WAS GREAT,CG AND THE ACTION AWESOME! 5 stars
9/23/07 Bill Gosse Trash 1 stars
9/23/07 Mike WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME, I LAUGHED AT IT NOT WITH IT, I WANT A REFUND! HORRIBLE PLOT! 1 stars
9/22/07 Conker Other than the poor acting I enjoyed it. 3 stars
9/22/07 Jin Joo Really interesting, especially the action was perfect ! 5 stars
9/22/07 Dman (so its different, and foreign, so what? I went on $5 Tuesday) You think it was horrible? Go high, then you'll laugh, listen, and love the action! 5 stars
9/21/07 Buraki Imoogi boogie schmoogie doogie I've pooped turds that smelled better than this movie. 1 stars
9/21/07 drew smith Dragon wars --This movie rocked in every possible way, two thumbs up!! 5 stars
9/21/07 Plato Lee Jackson This movie was so bad that it was actually funny! No harm intended to Koreans! 1 stars
9/21/07 Pope Korky I Oh CROIKY, this movie was TERRIBLE!!!! 1 stars
9/20/07 Gene It was so bad, it was totally hilarious!! Had me laughing the whole time... 4 stars
9/20/07 Chris The movie had a lot of potential, too bad the director sabotaged it horrbily. 1 stars
9/20/07 Kor3an I bet you will laugh enough and visually enjoyed with CG, if you are open minded 4 stars
9/20/07 Arnold It's was OK 5 stars
9/20/07 Dawit Seong the story kind of sucked, but the graphic was great; something that only few nations can do 4 stars
9/20/07 Ming Not bad.. CG was good , 2 stars
9/20/07 korean I slep in the theater 1 stars
9/19/07 lawdiva It sucked really really really BAAAAD!! 1 stars
9/19/07 Richard So cool.. CG Fantastic!! 5 stars
9/19/07 Kelly Smith The story line was unique.CG was real great,Excellent monster movie! 5 stars
9/19/07 young so so..... 3 stars
9/19/07 HarryCallahan This should have by-passed straight to video,into the bargain bin 1 stars
9/18/07 Josh The acting was realy bad, but the special affect and action really made up for it. 4 stars
9/18/07 Emily I learned Imoogi moves right and left, and dragon moves up and down. That's all 2 stars
9/18/07 Marcy Movie was the bomb!! It rocked and korean myth was cool. 5 stars
9/18/07 Mark IF YOU WANT TO SEE AWESOME NEW KIND OFSCi-Fi MOVIE THIS IS THE ONE! 5 stars
9/18/07 Lavada Screw all of you! the story was great, and the action ! 5 stars
9/18/07 loving this site admire director's courage..great attempt! loved it! 4 stars
9/18/07 Mike I really regret my money,I would like to meet the writer of the script and ask for my money 1 stars
9/18/07 Sung Min I'm a proud Korean and I gotta say this was just garbage. We need Chan Wook Park in the U.S 1 stars
9/18/07 Sara WTF did I just watch? Complete trash, I think 1 stars
9/18/07 Joe NEWYORK TimesD-WAR-A BREATHLESS FUN MOVIE ! 5 stars
9/18/07 ham crap? hell no. the CG was 100%perfeCt. Great Movie. ACtion aNd CG JOb was aMazing 5 stars
9/18/07 Jason crap. 1 stars
9/18/07 Jim shigemi Dragon wars --This movie rocked in every possible way, two thumbs up!! 5 stars
9/18/07 big lou I can't wait to see this movie --- on Mystery Science Theater!!! 1 stars
9/18/07 HAROLD the CG Graphic quality in Dragon war was gorgeous. The story line was pretty unique ! 5 stars
9/17/07 Ralph If you think it was on a par with Godzilla and Jurassic Park, you oviously didn't see those 1 stars
9/17/07 steve all my friends say dragon war is the best movie of the year. we loved it 5 stars
9/17/07 Deanna Did crack heads make this movie? We laughed ourselves silly. 1 stars
9/17/07 nayoun kim I was laughing at some childish scenes but amazing CG and original dragon story. 4 stars
9/17/07 Dylon Man, it's an action movie, obviously the people who though it sucked, weren't high 5 stars
9/17/07 Rexx So bad, a waste of time and money. 1 stars
9/17/07 Richard I don't usually care about anything else on action movies except for the action. not bad 5 stars
9/17/07 Chris Only great when around friends and making fun of it. 1 stars
9/17/07 Sonya All my friends enjoyed D-WAR ! 5 stars
9/17/07 John acting was stiff, SFX were amazing, awesome action movie 4 stars
9/17/07 Lakemich Great movies for kids, lots of action and explosion. 4 stars
9/17/07 Rachel I think it was pretty interesting.. 5 stars
9/17/07 John it was the worst movie ever. 0 out of 100 1 stars
9/16/07 Sean McL Worst movie Ive seen in a loong time...I wanted to walk out! 1 stars
9/16/07 Anthony Not sure what worse , the acting , the plot or the SFX 1 stars
9/16/07 sunny Wonderful story~Better than "Under dog"!!! 5 stars
9/16/07 Carlie I, surprisingly liked the movie. It wasn't the best movie but it was fun. 4 stars
9/16/07 Billy so.. Good!!.. to sleep.. 1 stars
9/16/07 Jeff Anderson Just Horrible 1 stars
9/16/07 Tracy This movie was just plain horrible, terrible acting, editing, direction, and story. 1 stars
9/16/07 Tyler WORST Move i have EVER seen!! 1 stars
9/16/07 oh come on people you are being too harsh -0- just to balance 5 stars
9/16/07 Tommy Yes, acting sucked, especially the storyline, but the action was great fun. 4 stars
9/16/07 Stephen I should've thought twice about it. Acting sucked and so did the story line. 1 stars
9/16/07 Bill This could single handedly inspire Servo and the boys to bring back MST3K. 1 stars
9/16/07 Tony Young Best review yet for this trite, sexist retarded crapfest 1 stars
9/16/07 JEANY SANCHEZ I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE THIS MOVIE 3 stars
9/16/07 Jay Lee Crap, Crap , Crap, Crap , Crap, Crap 1 stars
9/16/07 Eric Good story, poorly told. But action sequences were breathtaking. See on big screen! 4 stars
9/16/07 mike i really like the LA fighting scene whocares about the deep story line is an action film 5 stars
9/15/07 Ricky the actors stunk.but this movie is kew~! 5 stars
9/15/07 Andy This picture was cheating the kids in summer vacation in Korea and out of their parents $ 1 stars
9/15/07 1818 yeah.... well it was little bit childish but pretty good nice try... nice try 4 stars
9/15/07 Danny Not bad. i dont know why ppl give 1 star 5 stars
9/15/07 Carlos Hey My 5th Grader worked on this flim it was an end of year project. but he a retard. 1 stars
9/15/07 Lauren Wasted an hour and a half of my life that I'll sadly never get back. 1 stars
9/15/07 D-war worst movie ever...korea should get nuked for this 1 stars
9/15/07 sylvia great pictures! 5 stars
9/15/07 Debbie What an incredibly bad, boring Godzilla/Power Ranger remake! The actors stunk. 1 stars
9/15/07 Stephen A Mystery Science Theater worthy piece of crap. 1 stars
9/15/07 david better graphics and story than Transformers~ 5 stars
9/15/07 Kitty I went with five friends, and we ended up just heckling it. CGI was great, though. 2 stars
9/15/07 Sam Gardner The Secretary of Defense takes a shotgun off the wall and cocks it.. 500 miles away from LA 1 stars
9/15/07 Erica Anderson for special effect!!! story was kind of hard to understand but i think...pretty good movie! 5 stars
9/15/07 super cool dude so amazingly bad, that it was so amazingly hilarious, its snakesonaplane but w/ more action 1 stars
9/15/07 Mike I didn't know they made movies as bad as this anymore!!I was wrong... 1 stars
9/15/07 Lorper Par Alsome movie first movie to have a korean producer but the movie in english 5 stars
9/15/07 Aaron This movie was awesome precisely because I went with friends and we heckled it mercilessly. 4 stars
9/15/07 Eric Heba If you want to lose an hour and a half of your life, go see this movie 1 stars
9/15/07 Eddie This movie was horrible.. an over done Godzilla movie. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Sep-2007 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Jan-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Hyung-rae Shim

Written by
  N/A

Cast
  Jason Behr
  Amanda Brooks
  Robert Forster
  Elizabeth Peña
  Chris Mulkey
  Craig Robinson
  Holmes Osbourne



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast