More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.18

Awesome: 39.25%
Worth A Look47.66%
Average: 7.48%
Pretty Bad: 2.8%
Total Crap: 2.8%

9 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

Me and You by Peter Sobczynski

Man in the Orange Jacket, The by Jay Seaver

Midnight Swim, The by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

Giovanni's Island by Jay Seaver

Let's Be Cops by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Cider House Rules, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"A Neatly Packaged Tale of Growing-Up"
4 stars

The Cider House Rules is a neatly packaged tale of growing-up, alternating between an orphanage and an apple farm in Maine, USA, during World War II.

Homer Wells (Tobey Maguire) is the oldest child at St Cloud's orphanage, run by obstetrician Dr Wilbur Larch (Michael Caine). By the time he's a young adult, Wells has learnt virtually all Larch can teach him about delivering - and aborting - babies,
although he decides he wants nothing to do with the latter. When a young couple his own age - Wally (Paul Rudd) and Candy (Charlize Theron) - arrive to procure an abortion for Candy, Homer decides it's time to experience life outside the orphanage
and beyond Dr Larch's reach. He spends a year living in the cider house at Wally's apple farm and working a season with the itinerant (mostly black) apple pickers.

In adapting his lengthy novel for the screen, John Irving has condensed 15 or so years of action into two, combined characters and discarded a lot of background and subplots. But he still retains the essence of his novel, and should be congratulated for
letting the film shape his material and not vice versa. The Cider House Rules boasts a talented and varied ensemble cast. Caine and Maguire nail the key roles beautifully, and Delroy Lindo and Erykah Badu also leave a strong impression as father and daughter apple pickers (Lindo had a tougher job winning me over since he is so physically different from my mental image of Mr Rose from reading the book). Rudd and Theron don’t bring as much depth to their characters, but get by looking on right for the parts.

Director Lasse Hallstrom has certainly come a long way since ABBA: The Movie. But something’s missing from this comfortable, conventional film - it feels like all the rough edges have been smoothed out of the material. A bit of the spark and energy that made his ABBA footage so alive is absent.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1669&reviewer=104
originally posted: 02/24/00 21:23:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/14 dr.lao Caine earned his Oscar here 4 stars
6/14/12 The Madison Swede Addicting...but always cry through the whole thing. 5 stars
3/14/10 PAUL SHORTT BEAUTIFULLY CRAFTED, TOUCHING AND WELL ACTED 5 stars
2/15/10 vijay kulkarni excellent movie, stays with you for a while 5 stars
12/23/09 John Smith It treats powerful subjects and slowly meanders about them letting the viewer decide 4 stars
12/14/09 homer once in a rare while, a very beautiful and unforgettable movie comes along. 5 stars
12/02/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 4 stars
11/23/08 C. Kohll Excellent film. Multiple moral issues at work, very well done. 5 stars
9/14/07 Tracy LOVE this movie!!!! 5 stars
8/11/07 fools♫gold Gotta question Theron's character's comment on smoking at that time, but what do I know? 4 stars
3/14/07 jennifer I love this story and i dont care what other people say! 5 thumbs up! 5 stars
4/20/06 christine glenn I was an enjoyable film, portrayed well, john irving has done a great job 4 stars
11/23/04 John Armitt Lasse Hallstrøm direction at its best 5 stars
10/24/03 laurabetty surprisingly addictive! 5 stars
9/21/03 R.W. Welch Slow and a bit soapy but nicely acted. (It's no King Kong.) 4 stars
8/02/03 john Propaganda need not be in theatres 1 stars
4/08/03 Mystique Wonderful! 5 stars
2/01/03 Phil M. Aficionado Thoughtful and thought provoking. Beautifully conceived and done. Lump in the throatish 5 stars
3/18/02 Teresa Well done story of one orphan, Homer Wells. Haunting. 5 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz Cider louse druels! Charlixe Theron so wicked my nephew didn't even enjoy her bare ass! 2 stars
2/21/02 Xaver There is some solid acting...a bit depressing. 4 stars
1/21/02 Andrew Carden Wonderful, but Dramatic Movie. 5 stars
9/10/01 Carrie It was a little slow at first - but definitely a MUST see! 4 stars
8/27/01 Will Tobey and Charlize where fucking awesome 5 stars
7/23/01 D.R. Even ignoring it's one-sided PC pro-abortion rant, it still didn't offer much 1 stars
6/26/01 Tzila Seewald It's makes me cry! 5 stars
5/30/01 Jake McGuire is flawless. Caine's performance was overrated. 5 stars
5/15/01 Emm I cried first time around Tobey McGuire is brilliant :) 5 stars
4/23/01 Linda Blomfelt excellent movie; good story line; well acted 5 stars
4/21/01 Juliet Appiah I personally think the movie more than excellent 5 stars
3/23/01 veronica Awesome. Toby McGuire is so hot. 5 stars
2/27/01 Elvisfan It was OK, not such a big deal & where did Caine get that accent? 3 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman The Cider House RULES! 5 stars
1/18/01 Terrie Smith Great cinematography; nice music; Caine's fine performance. However, slightly overrated. 4 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla heat warming movie, you won't be dissapointed 5 stars
11/03/00 john linton roberson Bland, oddly flavorlesss adaptation of a truly great book. 3 stars
6/12/00 Lisa One of the best, most powerful films I've ever seen!!! 5 stars
5/15/00 Tracy Two fab things: Tobey Maguire and John Irving. 5 stars
4/01/00 Arnaldo Cruz good movie but Y have seen better not nominated for an academy 4 stars
3/24/00 Jennifer Offensive. Immoral. Bad acting. 1 stars
3/20/00 Malbert Did I miss something? I'm wondering how this shitty movie got even 1 oscar nomination 2 stars
3/01/00 PhilmPhreak A truly fine film. 4 stars
2/27/00 Bueller A thoughtful tale woven with care. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
2/26/00 Joanie Great movie. Maguire and Caine are excellent. 5 stars
2/22/00 ZXasd asd 5 stars
2/22/00 toneely I've seen this movie three times now.because I wanted my friends to see something GREAT 5 stars
2/19/00 "Persnickety "Jenn Michael Caine is amazing as always, very nice film 5 stars
1/21/00 Spetters Hallstrom was the only man to tackle Irving! Magnificent! 5 stars
1/17/00 Mic Excellent in all departments - directing, writing, acting. Worth a look. 4 stars
1/09/00 Pierce Lanson Challenging subject matter, Micael Caine is great , warm ,nice relationships, I loved it. 4 stars
1/08/00 Kate One of the best films released in ages. Wonderful story and well developed characters. 5 stars
12/19/99 schmo3 One of the year's biggest disappointments. 2 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz While charming, an extended anti-climax. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Jan-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Lasse Hallström

Written by
  John Irving

Cast
  Tobey Maguire
  Charlize Theron
  Michael Caine
  Delroy Lindo
  Paul Rudd
  Kathy Baker



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast