More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome: 32.32%
Worth A Look43.43%
Average: 12.12%
Pretty Bad: 9.09%
Total Crap: 3.03%

7 reviews, 57 user ratings



Rambo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"Iím a girl, I'm unacquainted with the Rambo franchise, and I loved Rambo!"
4 stars

When I looked over the movie show times yesterday, I immediately decided Iíd see Rambo. I love action movies, especially when they feature lots of blood! Not to mention, Sylvester Stallone is one of the greatest actors of his generation. Iím a loyal fan of his, having seen every Rocky and Rambo and generally uber-masculine movie heís done to date. I couldnít wait to soak in this potential Oscar contender and see what gruesome envelopes it would push.

Obviously this is not true. I went to Rambo because my boyfriend wanted to see it. Iíve seen a few Rockyís (which my boyfriend made me watch as well) and I know who Sylvester Stallone is. Heís the burly actor whoís taking steroids while other men his age are taking Viagra.

Well, he could be taking Viagra too. That's beside the point.

What I'm trying to get across is I do not have the arcane knowledge of the Rambo series that its hardcore fans have and historically, I donít like movies that consist only of people kicking each otherís asses. (Or in this case, killing each otherís asses.)

To my surprise, however, not only was I entertained by Rambo Ė I actually liked it! Sans the blood and guts, Rambo is an exciting little adventure that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. Only figuratively, though! I get pretty comfy in theater seats and donít have the great posture thatís required to sit on the edge of them.

Iím not one for Ďviolence porní Ė the most recent buzzword being tossed around by critics Ė so why on Earth did I like Rambo?

Maybe I hated Juno but I loved Garden State and Rent and even tolerated The Notebook, so itís not as though Iím the type to drool over the brutal bloodshed and carnage thatís in almost every frame of Rambo. You canít even kill a fly in front of me without making me grimace. I struggled to keep my eyes just half-open when the on-screen characters got their stomachs and throats sliced open and unwittingly stepped on to mines, promptly getting blown to thousands of itty bitty bloody pieces (I guess thatís what smithereens are, itty bitty bloody pieces), etc. I havenít flinched so much since Passion of the Christ!

But despite the odds, I really enjoyed every minute of this movie.

Rambo's not quite as thrilling as its current box-office rival Cloverfield, but itís a solid B+ action movie with not only a brawny leading man, but a sufficiently meaty script. [Note: I said "SUFFICIENTLY." This is an ACTION movie, people.]

What makes Rambo great is partially the famously steely glare and increasingly creative heroics of Stallone's legendary character. Another important and seemingly overlooked factor, however, is Stallone's more-than-competent, and I dare say"badass," direction.

Rambo is one of the most well-paced action movies Iíve seen in a long time; its most suspenseful sequences are meticulously well-done and truly a delight to experience for the first time. Stallone keeps us in the loop for the most part and only loses us (appropriately) in some climactic warfare chaos toward the end; his direction is so anonymous that we may forget he's behind the camera and only concentrate on the gritty, often shockingly violent images that appear in front of it -- one after the other. It's as though no particular image, or human being perhaps, is all that special or important.

But suppose Stalloneís just being honest, instead of Quentin Tarantino stylish? Thatís a lot to suppose for an action hero movie, but is it really? We accept small moral tales and comments on society in cheesy superhero movies Ė so why not in Rambo?

I havenít read any full reviews of Rambo yet, but Iíve read the headlines. Seems critics think itís totally brainless, detestably pornographic, and racist, to boot. All I know is I want Rambo to run for president.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=16841&reviewer=369
originally posted: 01/29/08 08:00:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell rambo movies are macho fantasy bullshit 1 stars
7/07/15 D. the R. Good action flick - don't read too much into it, but we'll miss ya, John! 4 stars
1/22/12 Kyle Excellent Gorefest 5 stars
3/22/11 Richard79 Sly empties his first round into peurile teen trash like Die Hard 4.0 5 stars
3/11/11 sunny day Beats out Rocky Balboa, because this isn't a stupid retread of its own first installment. 4 stars
8/15/10 bored mom Look on the bright side. He's finally honest about killing bad guys for himself here. 4 stars
8/15/10 R.W. Welch Standard rescue mission stuff for the most part, but well enough done. 3 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper A Hollywood cupcake for the masses. 1 stars
5/15/10 Tim The best of the Rambo films - thrilling yet relevant and philosophical, despite flaws. 4 stars
8/25/09 PAUL SHORTT MORE NAUSEATING THAN ENTERTAINING 2 stars
8/25/09 Jack Sommersby Nothing great, but it undeniably delivers the goods. Stallone, again, is superb. 3 stars
5/31/09 Stevo A Film to make you angry. In many ways. 4 stars
4/29/09 Dr.Lao Wooden, over the hill steroid addict says "pacifism is stupid!" 2 stars
3/09/09 alice sucks No woman gets raped in Rambo, you idiot! 5 stars
10/08/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!! 5 stars
7/30/08 Alice Terrible!Guess you have to be a male to enjoy watching women getting raped.CRAP! 1 stars
7/01/08 mike Limbs being blown off and other brutality non stop. Good stuff 4 stars
4/26/08 mr.mike Agree with Brandy - it was....OK 3 stars
4/10/08 Brandy Didn't really care for it that much. 3 stars
3/27/08 Tim Surprisingly good, it's also relevant. Holds together pretty well. A rousing film. 4 stars
3/23/08 shaun 0065 its great to see him back again too long out great 5 stars
3/17/08 Dinesh Typical Rambo Movie with unwanted blood stream , but worth watching it 4 stars
3/04/08 matthew Short as hell, 76 minutes + credits, but damn did it entertain 4 stars
3/04/08 vaj master this is the greatest cinematic epxperience evar 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies This was the first Rambo movie I've seen, loved it. Will probably see another. 4 stars
3/03/08 ben dover wow fucking amazing violence 5 stars
3/02/08 Theresa Wagner great action movie, you gotta love stallone 4 stars
2/22/08 Anthony Feor Poinless sequel that Stallone somehow pulls off 3 stars
2/14/08 Kai Lunkeit Genius action movie featuring tons of stunning action set pieces!!! 5 stars
2/05/08 FILM REVIEWER EXCELLENT action film 5 stars
2/05/08 a guy Don't know what movies other critics saw, this was a thrill to see. 5 stars
2/02/08 DrCruel Absolutely brilliant. Sly is a genius. 5 stars
2/02/08 Michael S Milne Sly got w/SOF to decide to set it in Burma- surpasses all Rambo flicks but 1st Blood. 5 stars
2/01/08 eric Stallone does it again,awesome movie,nice ending just like Rocky Balboa. 5 stars
2/01/08 Dan I dare the reviewer of this film to try and re-invent the wheel. See if you can do better. 5 stars
1/31/08 Bob Dog Laura Kyle's Rambo review casts doubt on the entire eFilmCritic site 2 stars
1/31/08 Nitin Excellent comeback!! 5 stars
1/31/08 rob nothing special 3 stars
1/30/08 Lloyd I loved it! It was more than just an action movie. Rambo walks proudly into the sunset! 5 stars
1/30/08 Ming Typical Rambo movie, It delives all the actions and excitments. I love it 4 stars
1/29/08 Ray Truly Awsome! Truly! Stallone is my hero. He does what he does and I love it. 5 stars
1/29/08 Darkknight21c This is how action movies should be done. Look and learn Hollywood 5 stars
1/29/08 Schreck Wow! Absolutely one of the best, most awesome movies I have seen in a long time! 5 stars
1/29/08 Mitch Instead of just plain Rambo this should have been called "Rambo: Bloodshed and Brutality 4" 5 stars
1/29/08 Specialist4hire I haven't felt exhilirated in a movie for a long time. Rambo delivers!!! 5 stars
1/28/08 Michael Galazzo I was skeptical going in, but RAMBO delivers; its a 93 minute adrenaline rush!!! 5 stars
1/28/08 Jay I had little expectations that this film would do the previous films justice. I was wrong. 5 stars
1/28/08 Bnorm That shit was insane...50 cal at point blank will ruin anyone's day especailly those clowns 5 stars
1/28/08 Mick Yes, the bad guys in this are scum in real life(not sterotypes) 5 stars
1/28/08 Reptilia Ramob will WTFPWN you! 5 stars
1/27/08 Mike Absolutely the best Rambo movie ever! 5 stars
1/27/08 the hangman loved it,the best movie of the year so far,truly satisfying 5 stars
1/27/08 Brian Mckay Much to my surprise - BEST RAMBO EVER. More bloody and satisfying than the last 3 combined! 5 stars
1/27/08 Jeffrey Gardner This is going to end up being a great advertisement for supplemental testosterone 4 stars
1/27/08 Shawn An incredible action film. Goriest movie quite possibly ever. 5 stars
1/26/08 Roland Gagne Best action sequence I've ever seen in any movie. Unbelievable! 5 stars
1/26/08 action movie fan one of the greatest action movies ever! RAMBO RULES 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jan-2008 (R)
  DVD: 27-May-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast