More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.51

Awesome: 22.09%
Worth A Look33.72%
Average: 19.77%
Pretty Bad: 22.09%
Total Crap: 2.33%

8 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anna and the King
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Dunce."
2 stars

The story is very familiar, but now without the accompanying song-and-dance.

Director Andy Tennant must be living out a giant fairytale-fed fantasy. His last feature was Ever After, which was a breath-taking, exciting, light-hearted, and obviously a fluffy retelling of the Cinderella classic. It never found itself caught in tedium or in a flighty atmosphere, but Anna and the King is a horrible recycled version of a same desire with amplified and excessive results. Whatever Tennant’s preoccupation with the period piece fantasies and fairytales, he lacked any skill he exhibited with Ever After. Again he makes wonderful use of cinematography and vibrant colors (more a venous red here than the former’s turquoise blue), and the movie’s biggest merit — and maybe the only one at that — is the production design by Luciana Arrighi, who is also responsible for the eyegasmic design of Oscar and Lucinda. The whole country of Siam was recreated in a gorgeous rendering of the actual design of the country, though nothing else was up to this aspect’s par. This “new” version of the old story was not purported in any way by the script by Steve Meerson and Peter Krikes. The Rodgers & Hammerstein music was one of The King and I’s strongest assets and Meerson/Krikes remove that element like it was nothing. (However, I in no way advocate or have any want whatsoever to hear Jodie Foster and Chow Yun-Fat sing, nor anyone else involved in the production.) Burdened by additional luggage and excess baggage included within the epic-less formality was issues of slavery, a dead child (one of King Mongkut’s — but who’s to worry, he has 57 others with numerous expectancies on the way), and a whole subplot of a traitor and a war that ensues. Stick with Mulan: it has love, war and music all entwined into a nice 90-minute feature. (Not to mention it also out-weighs the cartoon version of The King and I from earlier this year, which was still far inferior than this live-action version.)

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1691&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/19/99 14:37:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/21/14 Tatia My favorite movie!! 5 stars
2/27/13 Julie Link great movie! 4 stars
11/11/10 H Crompton this is the best version 5 stars
2/01/09 Pat Great romantic story! 4 stars
11/12/08 PAUL SHORTT A GRAND RETELLING OF AN ICONIC STORY 4 stars
3/12/08 LAW MY FAVORITE VERSION!!! 5 stars
11/06/07 kimberly valerio in the start it is boring but when the story continously i think it is ok.. 5 stars
7/20/07 deedee I loved the movie, in fact, I bought it. Jodie Foster was awesome, and Chow was too! 4 stars
4/02/07 Stanley Thai It's a good film but it too long to like it. 3 stars
1/09/07 christina it a good movie 5 stars
11/27/06 Sunsham Excellent movie - very touching and thought provoking. How much of it is real?? 5 stars
10/21/06 michael Marcos it so good 5 stars
10/17/06 danielle pretty good, i like the fact that the culture was very accurate 5 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz Good movie, ruined by the grusomeness. 4 stars
7/14/04 tatum Long, hokey, but I could not help getting caught up in it 4 stars
6/03/03 Virgil I loved it. Very beautiful. 5 stars
12/13/01 stefanos lets see 4 stars
6/20/01 canvex still o.k 4 stars
2/11/01 Leather jacket Yall go shit on yourself, Anna is my princess anyday 5 stars
1/07/01 Ian Eagleton A bit long, but the acting is superb and the subplots are ultimately very moving. 4 stars
12/15/00 QuanVu nothing 5 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears GREAT MOVIE. Worth rental fee. Foster has a boney nose 5 stars
12/09/00 Savvy Chow Yun-Fat is PHAT. AMAZING movie rent it you wont regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/09/00 fire-n-ice could have been better if an hour was cut out. very long winded. and no sex in that sucked. 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Bah. 2 stars
1/21/00 node A stunningingly beautiful and inspiring motion picture,left me with a warm feeling inside. 5 stars
1/21/00 LC Worth it! 4 stars
1/04/00 Mckenzie Jackson Great film. Chow Yun Fat is great. 5 stars
1/03/00 crazy shithouse 1 stars
12/25/99 Tha Obsequious Bad Janatah A damn bore is what it is! Great review Lynchpyn! 1 stars
12/22/99 kim nguyen awesome 5 stars
12/21/99 Jennifer Yeh a MUST see ^_^ 5 stars
12/19/99 scottmar A bit long, without much payoff. 3 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz Lovely to look at, though overlong and lifeless 3 stars
12/19/99 Jay So-so movie... Yun-Fatt oughta stick to action 3 stars
12/17/99 nil incredible 4 stars
12/17/99 Tracey Chow Yun-Fat and Jodie Foster are excellent! No songs! No guns! 5 stars
12/17/99 KC This has got ot be the BEST movie of the year, or the decade. It was so beautifully done! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Dec-1999


Directed by
  Andy Tennant

Written by
  Peter Krikes
  Steve Meerson

Cast
  Jodie Foster
  Chow Yun-Fat
  Bai Ling
  Mano Maniam
  Kenneth Tsang



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast