More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.45

Awesome73.33%
Worth A Look: 15%
Average: 1.67%
Pretty Bad: 3.33%
Total Crap: 6.67%

3 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Smoke Signals
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Spazmatazz

"You ever notice how you never see John Wayne's teeth?"
5 stars

You know, when I was growing up, I always wanted to be Native American.

Maybe that's why I liked this movie so much.

Smoke Signals is the story of two young Coeur d'Alene Indians, Thomas and Victor, who grew up on a reservation in Idaho. Victor is the strong, silent type, who tries to coach the less than intimidating Thomas in 'looking more like a real Indian' including a warrior glare. When Victor hears that his father, who took off when he was 12, has died, he has to go and sort out the affairs, but he doesn't have the money. Thomas offers to help out financially - if Victor will let him come along.

This movie had some wonderful cinemetography including seamless flashbacks and travel scenes. It's based on Sherman Alexie's book "The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven". Alexie also wrote the screenplay.

I'd definately say rent this movie. It made my night.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=170&reviewer=34
originally posted: 03/22/99 09:30:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/05/14 Gaillen Wraye Appears to be depicitng real life on the Rez. Has numerous witty moments. 4 stars
3/15/14 Kendra A very refreshing movie when compaired to normal protayal of Native Americans. I adore it. 5 stars
2/08/13 Tommy Boy Loved the music, especially song during the credits at the end. Loved Irene Bedard! 5 stars
1/06/13 Kathy I loved this movie and the charactors portrayed. Definitely worth 5 *****! 5 stars
6/01/10 brian Quite a keeper, innit? 5 stars
3/07/10 darec People who gave it one star are too stupid to understand it 4 stars
12/18/09 Brian "Billabo" Victor! Hey Victor! I really liked this movie, didn't you, Victor! It was really great. 5 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight Blessedly free of cliches (white man raised by indians). A touching road movie 5 stars
4/26/09 Darlene Funny, poignant, out of the ordinary, good enough for repeated viewings 5 stars
11/08/07 Nigger I hat this movie 2 stars
6/11/07 DD McKenzie Thomas (Evan Adams) was terrific with the dialogue. Loved his speech (fathers) at the end. 5 stars
10/14/06 daren Movie blows... 1 stars
3/22/06 ary it's just the fisrt film written, directed, produced and acted by native americans! 5 stars
11/09/05 mysh Very nice film, great music 5 stars
11/01/05 jasmine windom absolutely great movie, the song in the end while credits are rolling is the best song. 5 stars
10/06/05 Susan This movie was fantastic! It was funny and sweet and it had a good ending. I loved Thomas! 5 stars
10/03/05 Herpino who the fuck would actually spend money to watch this, or even make this shit 1 stars
6/03/05 Michelle This was a great movie about life on the rez. 4 stars
4/12/05 Louann Debassige Great cinematography, realistic portrayal of Native American reserves and witty humor! 4 stars
3/08/05 max great 5 stars
12/08/04 ¨PAUL NASH IT WAS AN IMPORTANT MOMENT IN MY LIFE 5 stars
11/14/04 Amy this is a wonderful film for all to see 5 stars
10/30/04 Jay Bible A good movie to watch if you can relate to what is going on. 4 stars
12/09/03 Samuel A very good film!! 4 stars
11/17/03 Parker It is a good film not only on forgiving but on teaching and loving 4 stars
9/27/03 Suzanne Abel one of the best films ever--wrenching and hilarious 5 stars
9/23/03 Kyle WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS BULLSHIT?! 1 stars
9/16/03 jess adam is awesome 5 stars
9/15/03 carol very good 5 stars
7/24/03 Sully I played for the Mohawks in little league....we sucked too..... 1 stars
7/02/03 Irene Otton Watch it with your friends. We had a great time watching it. 5 stars
11/29/02 mr. Pink A big dissapointment. Alexie deserved a better director for his great story. 2 stars
11/23/01 J.E I now know to good movies that are cool Smoke Signals (this movie) and Joe Dirt 5 stars
6/27/01 0tto Nonpretentious yet refined and subtle (It didn't suck the way most movies do) 5 stars
4/25/01 Spetters Stays true in spirit to Sherman Alexie´s stories,but a better director would´ve been great 3 stars
10/10/00 Brian Moore Finally, without the inevitable europeanization tainting cultural expression 5 stars
8/09/00 jon graves light and funny, try it out 4 stars
4/20/00 D This film had humor and reference to historical conflicts as well. It was well made. 5 stars
11/22/99 JJ A bit heavy handed with the indian/white america conflict--but a great comming of age flick 4 stars
3/16/99 haden Thank god this film got made. Yes, Native Americans are real people too 5 stars
1/31/99 MissDelicateFlower No intellectual giant, but well done. 5 stars
11/03/98 grunter hey victor . . . if hllywd had brains, this would be a '98 best-picture contender. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jan-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Chris Eyre

Written by
  Sherman Alexie

Cast
  Adam Beach
  Evan Adams
  Irene Bedard
  Gary Farmer
  Tantoo Cardinal
  Cody Lightning



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast