More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.43

Awesome68.49%
Worth A Look: 18.49%
Average: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 2.1%
Total Crap: 5.04%

10 reviews, 178 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dark Knight, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mark Rodger-Snelson

"Hands down the best super hero movie ever made - pure cinematic brilliance!"
5 stars

In 2005 Christopher Nolan reinvented the Batman movie franchise with Batman Begins by stepping beyond the usual cornball affair of the super hero genre and delving deep into the psyche of the man behind the mask as well as the city that created him. With The Dark Knight he once again raises the bar and outdoes his already memorable predecessor.

Having established the Bruce Wayne/Batman back story in Batman Begins allows Nolan to get straight to business in The Dark Knight. This gives the audience a deeper insight into the underbelly of Gotham City than Batman Begins was able to do. The police force is riddled with corruption and various factions of the mob are running the banks giving them huge amounts of power. In steps Harvey Dent, a DA determined to bring down the city’s biggest crime families in one fell swoop. He also happens to be dating assistant DA Rachel Dawes, Bruce Wayne’s childhood friend and potential love interest which makes for an interesting love triangle sub plot – especially when Dent wants in on Batman via a reluctant Lt Gordon, the only member of the force that Batman trusts.

Meanwhile, a face painted menace has stepped into the scene in a big way by robbing a huge amount of mob money from one if their banks. This is a move not motivated by profit but mainly to set off a trail of chaos in order to bring Gotham to its knees and in the process expose the man that protects its streets at night.

A good starting point before watching The Dark Knight would be to read the Batman comics The Killing Joke and/or Arkham Asylum to totally erase from your memory everything you have seen on screen from The Joker before and to understand his character a little more. It is then that you will fully appreciate Heath Ledger’s version in the latest Batman instalment.

Not just merely a super hero flick for the audience to munch popcorn to, this screenplay is also among one of the best crime dramas ever written. Nolan co wrote it with his brother Jonathan and if you forget for one moment that it is about a vigilante fighting crime in a bat suit, you soon realise that it is as expertly written and as complex as the likes of Infernal Affairs (or The Departed, the Scorsese remake) or The Usual Suspects. The strength of the writing is what makes The Dark Knight really stand out from anything in the super hero genre. Nolan is a story teller and along with his brother they have you hanging on to every line in this film and the plot just completely absorbs you. They have also finally put The Joker on the screen as he should be – completely anarchic, freakishly insane and as menacing a villain you will ever see. It is The Joker’s love of chaos, lack of fear, unpredictability and no clear agenda that make him the most fascinating and chilling villains ever to grace the screen.

Ledger’s immersion into the madness of the Joker has to be seen to be believed. He embodies this role in a way that very few actors would be capable of and I must admit I was a sceptic when he scored the gig as the Joker. But he proved me wrong and I am not saying that just out of respect for the dead. He truly has you captivated with every scene that he appears in a menacing and unnerving way, turning a super hero/crime drama into a psychotic thriller with his mere presence.

Christian Bale is once again brilliant and easily the most suitable actor ever to step into the bat suit. He plays the smooth arrogance of Bruce Wayne perfectly and switches to the bitter troubled soul of Batman effortlessly. Lt Gordon’s character, played by Gary Oldman, is given a lot more room to develop here as seemingly the city’s only trustworthy member of the police force. Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox and Michael Caine as the ever faithful and wise butler Alfred put in fine performances and a very welcome replacement for Katie Holmes as Rachel Ward is the wonderful Maggie Gylenhaal. Another new face is The Dark Knight is Aaron Eckhart, a fine choice to play up and coming DA Harvey Dent. In fact he is given nearly as much screen time as Batman or the Joker and commands all of his scenes with pure confidence. Overall the talent line up here is a casting masterpiece.

On the technicality front The Dark Knight also shines. It is stunningly shot by Wally Pfister and expertly edited by Lee Smith. It also has some of the best action sequences I have ever witnessed. There is a car/truck/motorbike chase scene that is truly spectacular and there are also some very well choreographed fight scenes going on here too. Striking a perfect balance between CGI and real life stunts, Nolan delivers action that will have you mesmerized and never doubting what is going on before you unlike others in the genre that are more akin to a video game.

The Dark Knight is as perfect as any action movie ever will be. It is dark, complex, brilliantly cast and action packed. Batman Begins was, in my eye, the best super hero movie ever made and unbelievably Nolan has gone and topped that effort and then some. This is pure cinema brilliance.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=17085&reviewer=388
originally posted: 07/18/08 22:47:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell AWESOME GRITTY EXCITING 5 stars
2/21/17 Dave One of the better superhero films out there, but I am not a huge fan of Nolan's direction 4 stars
4/27/16 Ken Amazing film. Heath Ledger was a great Joker, even though Jack Nicholson was great, too. 5 stars
3/14/16 Charles Tatum One of those films where everything absolutely works 5 stars
9/11/15 misterfilms my top 3 films of 00s: LOTR, THERE WILL BE BLOOD, THE NEW WORLD 3 stars
5/03/15 Cooler One of the greatest movies ever made 5 stars
3/02/15 mira storm all nolan's film is shit 1 stars
2/17/15 roxelena it waste my time and my money when i watched this film in theatre 2 stars
2/15/15 enicmatic al is this gay movie? YES 1 stars
2/14/15 jason gracio this movie are GAY! 2 stars
2/08/15 russel fuck you fanboy this is the most SHITTIEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!!! 1 stars
1/08/15 vendoza overrated piece of shit in cinematic history 1 stars
1/06/15 brando i hate this crap! 1 stars
1/05/15 crovie i didn't like this movie 1 stars
6/18/14 Haley S. This was such a great movie. It's one of my favorites! 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Mesmerizing! 5 stars
1/14/13 austin one of the best movies of the century 5 stars
10/11/12 austin wonderful 5 stars
9/19/12 Gabrielle Barnard The Best Superhero Movie. Dark, dramatic, intriguing, riveting...I could go on all day. 5 stars
9/07/12 austin fantastic 5 stars
8/29/12 Alex Figueroa Epic! 5 stars
8/09/12 Kcaj fuck yeah 5 stars
7/27/12 Amanda Smith Captured my attention. 5 stars
7/25/12 the truth yes 5 stars
6/20/12 Jordan Kentris Holy cow, this movie blew me away. Heath Ledgers performance was amazing. 5 stars
12/22/11 Isaac Simply the best comic book film ever made; it works on every level. 5 stars
12/15/11 cr Even if christian bale is not my fav batman, this movie and heath ledger perf. were soild. 3 stars
10/19/11 Magic An apocalyptic movie, Wagnerian in scope. The escalation in nihilism is exhilarating. 5 stars
5/26/11 Glenn Laurence Hardy Junior this movie is great. no question or doubt in my mind. friend me on facebook!mypic. is sonic 5 stars
4/27/11 the rock one of the best action crime films around 5 stars
3/10/11 bored mom The DC Comics equivalent of Chinatown? In the end, there is only madness and death. 5 stars
12/01/10 Barbara Leaf I cried every time I saw Heath Ledger, r.i.p.,but he was the best thing in the fillm 3 stars
2/06/10 Jessica Pretty long, Ledger was absolutely amazing though! 4 stars
1/24/10 MP Bartley Ledger is quite terrific. I'm not convinced the rest of the film is as good as he. 4 stars
1/20/10 Stanley Thai One of the best movies of 2008 and easily the best in the entire mythology. 5 stars
1/11/10 David Overlong and overblown. Not impressed with Bale, Ekhart or Gyllenhaal. 2 stars
7/03/09 Jonathan Birch Very Overrated. Boring, pales in comparison to other crime films it tries to imitate 3 stars
6/29/09 budo Poor performance by Ledger? He won by the greatest margin in Academy Award history. He was 5 stars
6/15/09 R Lan Simply the best of the Batman movies. A perfect marriage of a great script and great action 5 stars
6/09/09 freak awesome 5 stars
4/29/09 Dr.Lao One of the few things in this world that actually lives up to the hype 5 stars
4/10/09 Raul Valdez Jr POSSIBLY THE BEST MOVIE OF 2009 5 stars
4/09/09 Chris F such a poor performance by heath ledger not a patch on jack nicholson 1 stars
3/28/09 Dani O. Epic win. 5 stars
3/17/09 austin wertman best superhero movie ever 5 stars
2/24/09 man best superhero movie ever 5 stars
2/11/09 Stewart Sadistically violent with no moral purpose. Boring convoluted story and bad action scenes. 1 stars
2/03/09 Piz great adaptation of the comic book, but felt a little too rushed in the end. 4 stars
2/01/09 lo& Kinda overrated.I must be the only person alive that thinks 'Begins' was better than this. 4 stars
1/15/09 dude best movie of the year 5 stars
1/04/09 Lucy whoever gives this film a bad rating is crazy. 5 stars
1/03/09 FrankNFurter Gritty, chilling thriller--probably the first superhero Academy Award contender! 5 stars
12/30/08 Flounder This is a dark, morally complex crime drama - and one of the best I have ever seen at that 5 stars
12/29/08 the dork knight my only complaint is my mom didn't like it. :P 5 stars
12/19/08 Craig D. It's not The Godfather. It's not even the best movie of 2008. Get a hold of yourselves. 4 stars
12/11/08 Richard Remington Adam West is and always will be the best Batman,the rest are all clowns! 1 stars
12/11/08 K. Sear Surprisingly complex. 4 stars
12/11/08 Hope people are going far in saying "the best movie ever"but it is great and i saw it 2x =] 5 stars
12/06/08 Jared Robb Very epic film, casting was perfect. Excellent acting all around. 5 stars
12/01/08 killer feels epic this film 5 stars
11/27/08 little Red best movie ever. Heath Ledger was perfect as the joker. to bad hes dead 5 stars
11/26/08 Leo T very dark, but never lost the Batman 'feel'.... awesome 5 stars
11/20/08 Joker Fan one of the best films ever created 5 stars
11/16/08 killer one of the best crime films ever 5 stars
11/16/08 Meep Has it's moments certainly, and better than Begins, but still just ok 3 stars
11/12/08 Michael M Not perfect, but indeed a great film. And like all Nolan films, has an incredible ending. 4 stars
11/01/08 ldavies Could have used some editing. Ledger and Bale were fantastic. 4 stars
10/20/08 heath electrifyimg 5 stars
10/18/08 AshleyRockO The Best Superhero movie ever made. Period. The acting from everyone is impeccable. 5 stars
10/14/08 The Dork Knight A bit too much speechifying by the villains but otherwise good 4 stars
10/10/08 man best superhero movie ever 5 stars
10/10/08 dude best superhero movie ever 5 stars
10/06/08 jokera mindblowing 5 stars
10/01/08 Danny BEST...MOVIE...EVER!!! 5 stars
9/27/08 Ken It's not a great movie if at least one person in the world didn't like it 3 stars
9/17/08 joker face mindblowing cinema 5 stars
9/16/08 Brad The Joker is the best villian in the DC universe and Heath Ledger nailed the role 5 stars
9/16/08 Carla A. Amazing film, brilliant performances, intelligent script. What more could you ask for? 5 stars
9/15/08 g. AWESOME 5 stars
9/12/08 Joker's Younger Brother incredible movie....The Joker is the best villian EVER....!!! 5 stars
9/10/08 dark knight ledger is the new hannibal lecter 5 stars
9/06/08 Halad65 Amazing film. 5 stars
8/31/08 another one fucking kicks ass 5 stars
8/31/08 AnnieG Better than ‘Begins’, although it could have ended much sooner. 4 stars
8/27/08 Quigley Amazing, brilliant, well-acted/directed, this film is unforgettable. Ledger was incredible 5 stars
8/23/08 pantera best film ever 5 stars
8/22/08 black_queen_marches Ledger's performance was the best i've ever seen, awesome movie, ending was anticlimatic 5 stars
8/22/08 Jen Minor flaws aside, the most earnest, thought-provoking and satiating movie in years. 5 stars
8/21/08 Christ An ok movie, but certainly not great. 3 stars
8/18/08 jonathantstorm mindblowing cinema 5 stars
8/17/08 Ricky This film honestly blew me away. The ending gave me chills. Top notch in every respect 5 stars
8/15/08 Allan Jackson not the great film that I had expected to see, but satisfactory. Michael Caine was good and 3 stars
8/15/08 Melissa Ledger was wonderful. If you get the opportunity you should see it at IMAX! 4 stars
8/15/08 Alice Heath Ledger was very very good as the psycho Joker.He is the reason I give 4 stars. 4 stars
8/14/08 jessica speechless! cristian bale and heath ledger were great! 5 stars
8/13/08 snakeeyes awesome 5 stars
8/12/08 RB The best of the Batman movies. Ledger, Oldman and Eckhart carry the movie though 4 stars
8/11/08 M Took it self a bit too seriously, but nonethe less great. Heath was perfect! 4 stars
8/09/08 JW Heavyhanded, confused storytelling. Good performances. Good explosions. 3 stars
8/09/08 Bnorm Freaking amazing. with out a doubt the best superhero movie ever made 5 stars
8/08/08 Tiffany Losco LOved it!! Heath was crazy lookin though. But he is a great actor. 5 stars
8/07/08 Ameisha It was long...but worth it! 4 stars
8/06/08 Paul Sweet, sweet brilliance. 5 stars
8/06/08 E K Zimmerman Am I the only one who loathed this garbage flick? 1 stars
8/05/08 Zim my favorite super hero movie 5 stars
8/03/08 Mark Glazer The Joker was the scariest ever. Great movie!!! 5 stars
8/03/08 J Smaltz Boreing, fell asleep somewhere in the final hour, never did see Ledger die or what ever 1 stars
8/02/08 R.W. Welch Chaotic actioner is carried by Ledger's inspired Joker characterization. B+ 4 stars
7/30/08 johnnybgoode Ledger was great. This film overall was well-done but a bit over-rated. 4 stars
7/30/08 zenny top-10 action movie, all-time 5 stars
7/28/08 austin wertman best superhero movie ever 5 stars
7/27/08 Samantha Pruitt too long, dragged a bit, the only good part was the Joker. 3 stars
7/27/08 Roland same old bat...boring..exept for heath ledger who actually carrys anoter ways tired pot 2 stars
7/27/08 christy this movie is thoughtful and incredible. best in '08. 5 stars
7/26/08 Ry Great film with a message! 5 stars
7/25/08 erick definitely, the best superheroes movie ever. heath ledger deserves the oscar. 5 stars
7/23/08 Albert Darmawan L Fantastic&Superior.The best Batman movie i`ve ever seen. 5 stars
7/23/08 Roy Smith This should be 6 Stars ------------> 5 stars
7/23/08 mr.mike First half rocked , 2nd half fell off 4 stars
7/23/08 The Talking Elbow TDK WAS flawed. Tried to fit too much into one film. Choppy editing. This made it boring. 4 stars
7/22/08 COUSINSEXx TDK is not your tweeny superhero flik but an epic crime saga in the realm of The Godfather2 5 stars
7/22/08 mike Ledger was freakin awesome. One of the best villains ever 5 stars
7/22/08 Luisa Heath Ledger is very disturbing, what a great performance. Movie is good but ran too long! 4 stars
7/22/08 Koitus Just - "wow." BUT - I checked the rating as I left; totally a border-line "R", IMHO. 5 stars
7/22/08 Heat1996 Good story, okay script, excellent acting, really good cinematography...Ledger, genius. 4 stars
7/21/08 ES It was good, but something was missing, i just didn't get absorbed into the story 4 stars
7/21/08 orpy Am I the only one who was bored, bored, bored? 3 stars
7/21/08 Simon Wow. What a loaded film, so many thoughts and themes to ponder.. THIS is why we love movies 5 stars
7/21/08 I Luv Heath Heath Ledger was so good in this movie, I couldent ask for a better joker than him 5 stars
7/21/08 Jiz Bale continues his ridiculous scowl, Eckhart hams it up, and Ledger/Nolan own the movie. 4 stars
7/21/08 Adi Wonderful! I loved it, every moment of it. Will probably go watch it agian in IMAX!!! 5 stars
7/21/08 Toni Awesome, best movie of the year by far. 5 stars
7/21/08 carlos G I wish 2face was held off til next film, but NO JOKE, give Ledger and Nolan their Oscars! 5 stars
7/21/08 james Aaron Eckhart steals the show 5 stars
7/21/08 Diana Kee Awesome movie. Far exceeded my expectations!!! 5 stars
7/21/08 Jonathan This is a deep great philosophical and action pact movie, you keep your eyes off of it! 5 stars
7/21/08 Ryan W Ledger lived up to the hype 5 stars
7/21/08 Adrian Want to see a magic trick? 5 stars
7/21/08 Pete K I agree; Batman and robin was more my cup of tea over this muddled in your face overly long 2 stars
7/21/08 Dan While Ledger's Joker was great, the rest was mediocre. Batman/ Wayne wasn't written well. 3 stars
7/20/08 Tripp Speechless. Beyond anything I expected..god help us all. 5 stars
7/20/08 Dave Yep...This is going in my top 10...ever! 5 stars
7/20/08 D Somehow exceeds the hype....simply put an incredible film 5 stars
7/20/08 Paul Levinson eons beyond any prior Batman ... infiniteregress.tv 5 stars
7/20/08 Obi Wan Absolutely amazing...Best SuperHero movie EVER! Joker/Ledger best Villian EVER!! 5 stars
7/20/08 jm I think ledgers performance is overrated. Sad but great ending. Batpod intro was brilliant. 5 stars
7/20/08 Phil B Truly Epic 5 stars
7/20/08 paulette This was a beautiful, well-acted, dark, intense film for 110 min, then long & gratuitous. 3 stars
7/20/08 Moose This is possibly one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Heath was incredible. 5 stars
7/20/08 Darkstar I'm fucking speechless. 5 stars
7/20/08 Dimu Brilliant...just bloody Brilliant!!! 5 stars
7/20/08 Drew Simply Amazing 5 stars
7/20/08 Michael S T Simply amazing.. Actually the movie shies away from CGI in the action-heavy scenes. 5 stars
7/20/08 kimryan an amazing, scary, great story. You glory in Heath's performance and mourn at the same time 5 stars
7/20/08 twilightbringer Brilliant and brutal, The Dark Knight is now the defining event of our cinematic era. 5 stars
7/20/08 Gazza Jack Nicholson STILL personifies The Joker, ledger more hannibal lecter. 3 stars
7/19/08 Eugene True to it's comic book roots, excellent film. 5 stars
7/19/08 TyrantisTerror The polar opposite of Batman and Robin. A defining movie of our generation. 5 stars
7/19/08 Dab Great friggin movie. 5 stars
7/19/08 joker steals the show.very good but too damn long. damalc 4 stars
7/19/08 bullit16 Went in thinking, "it can't possibly be as amazing as the reviews say." I was dead wrong 5 stars
7/19/08 TheClown Ledger is vastly overated. Any hack with that makeup would have made a great joker! RIP 4 stars
7/19/08 Stacy It was just perfect. 5 stars
7/19/08 long johnson liked batman and robin better 1 stars
7/19/08 David V Believe the hype, this is absolutley a fantastic movie. 5 stars
7/19/08 Gerard Espiritu THE WORD "GREAT" IN OUR EXPECTATIONS OF THE MOVIE ARE SORELY INADEQUATE! 5 stars
7/19/08 larkin Good Lord 5 stars
7/19/08 Gary Simply Outstanding! Ledger is The Joker. 5 stars
7/19/08 KieranDraven Considering other countries hate us but want to live here, the movie was great! 5 stars
7/19/08 Matt Craven It can not be said enough - Ledger was one of the best villains in history. 5 stars
7/19/08 PAUL SHORTT NOT JUST A GREAT COMIC BOOK FILM, BUT A BRILLIANTLY CRAFTED, SOLID AND ENGROSSING THRILLER 5 stars
7/19/08 Flounder Saw it in IMAX last night. I was BLOWN away. One of the best films I have seen 5 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner The Joker looks pretty wild in this film. 5 stars
7/19/08 Guy Smiley Considering Americans have the attention span of a peanut, I'm not surprised by the review. 5 stars
7/18/08 ben dover the best comic book film ever and yet so much more 5 stars
7/18/08 BrianWilly I cannot believe how good this movies was. 5 stars
7/18/08 tmcmistress Absolutely fantastic. 5 stars
7/18/08 alex r. not just a great comicbook movie--it is a great movie! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-2008 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Jul-2008




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast