More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.9

Awesome: 23.13%
Worth A Look47.76%
Average: 26.12%
Pretty Bad: 1.49%
Total Crap: 1.49%

13 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Boiler Room
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Gettin' stuffy."
3 stars

Ben Younger writes and directs this modern, “hip” (not meant to be a compliment), high-rolling The Sting; Giovanni Ribisi, the son of a judge, first illegally runs an in-house casino, and then unknowingly, is set-up to participate in a faux stock company, selling shares of refuse to naïve and innocent denizens, pumped and hyped full of baloney by the telephone recruiters that Ribisi has so welcomely and blindly submitted himself to.

(For some reason, the print of the film I saw was subtitled in Spanish, making some of the translation — or lack of its accuracy — quite funny.) Boiler Room is definitely the proprietor of several high-energy, low b.s. performances, furtively resulting from the masculinity and force of Vin Diesel and Nicky Katt. Younger is the master of smack-talking, not wholly a commendation, but most often in good use here. When the tensions run high and the suspense finally blows past the superficial and tedious “style” (edits click to the rap soundtrack, a detriment on its own; the pallidly saturated photography, etc.), it is what is within that method and pretension that make it more effective. Ribisi, falling back and forth in his articulation, isn’t half as annoying as he can be, but when he starts to cry, it readily and unfortunately recalls his handicapped Danny in The Other Sister. The height of Boiler Room is when Ribisi gives pointers to a Daily News cold-caller.

With Nia Long and Ben Affleck.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1715&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 14:38:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/06/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING AND DYNAMIC 3 stars
6/10/06 William Goss 118 ways to sell bullshit and be a yuppie asshole. Meh. 3 stars
5/01/06 R.W.Welch Maybe a tad overdone but at least it's off the beaten path. 4 stars
12/14/05 Indrid Cold Cheesy but good ripoff of "Glengarry" and "Wall Street", both of which it quotes openly. 4 stars
4/18/05 Vince Ribisi totally rocked in this. All in all a solid effort, worth seeing. 4 stars
3/20/05 Tay Great film 4 stars
7/30/04 M If it wasnt for Vin this movie would go down hill.... fast! 4 stars
6/23/04 eivind it's good 4 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound convinced me to open my own casino 3 stars
5/21/04 Sales God A fresh spin on an old idea. yeah its derivitive but well acted and executed (except Affle 4 stars
4/23/04 sealy Film was great, very fast, great stuff. Could have had more of a ending. 5 stars
2/22/04 s smith Premise is skewed, but characterizations are strong, sad thinly veiled lives. 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman DON"T pitch the bitch. I don't care if Nancy Sinatra calls. 5 stars
12/25/03 Tiffani Boiler Room is cool. It's Just so cool....The testosterone flows beautifully 5 stars
10/14/03 PJ Ribisi is the shit quit bangin on this film, great work by Ben Younger 5 stars
6/16/03 Boiler room guy I wish there were more movies like this. So real and yet not overdone 5 stars
6/09/03 R.W. Welch Stock scam pic has an authentic feel to it and is adeptly acted. Sort of educational too. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty involving until it piles on the contrivances. Vin Diesel is a standout. 2 stars
11/26/02 Stephen X - EXCELLENT - X 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 The way they inserted Wall Street into the film revealed its roots, but it was good anyway. 4 stars
9/04/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
7/27/02 Matt Crav Fuck Vin. Well, hes awesome, but Ribisi is great. Inspirational flick. This movie is great. 5 stars
7/10/02 Interrog8 Great film! Provides a genuine look at the late-90's stock market greed 5 stars
2/19/02 alicia morris any movie with vin in it is worth watching! 4 stars
1/30/02 jessica fowler it's my favorite movie...great acting by everyone! 5 stars
1/18/02 Chrisaidis Georgia It was really cool, not to say for Vin Diesel he is really sexy. 4 stars
11/27/01 Kathleen Greene The only thing that makes this movie viewable is VIN DIESEL. 4 stars
11/25/01 Senor Pescolido Ya know, i really wanted to like it, but it was far too clean and cliche. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Vin and Ben were hot. The part where they were watching "Wall Street" was stupid. 3 stars
7/31/01 Robert Vin is the man 5 stars
7/15/01 NasTKasT My Favorite Flic of ALL Time. Very pimp movie! 5 stars
6/30/01 tinkerbell142@aol.com such a good movie, def worth watching :) 4 stars
6/17/01 Dominique Dixon Parts with Vin Deisel in it were the only ones worth looking at. Racist jokes sucked!!! 4 stars
3/23/01 Yanick Forget Very good movie, great acting. 5 stars
3/16/01 Gideon If you dont see it you are missing out on a tight ass movie! 5 stars
2/28/01 Soggy Bottom Boy All the ingredients are there: good concept, great actors; they could have done more w/it. 3 stars
2/20/01 joh rich, young white guys use the word fuck a lot. Deisel is a damn cool actor 4 stars
10/31/00 Matt Redmond You do not deserve to review movies. 5 stars
10/05/00 Jed An alright movie funny though a bit laughable. 4 stars
10/02/00 Robin Hot men in suits! Ben Affleck is a major ++++ 5 stars
9/26/00 Sully Ben Affleck is the worst actor of our generation. movie starts fine, ends terrible. 3 stars
9/02/00 jetcat repulsive display of greed and too-skinny men; compelling nonetheless 4 stars
8/02/00 Jed I may need a 2nd viewing but overall it was alright. 3 stars
7/28/00 Davis Intelligent, doesn't pull any punches. Ribisi is a perfect hero. Best Movie of the Year 5 stars
7/18/00 Monday Morning Great drama with comic balance, outstanding characters & dialogue. Ribisi bugged me, tho'. 4 stars
3/24/00 malcolm Nia Long was worth price of admission. Diesel and Affleck kicked ass. 4 stars
3/13/00 Chartsy Giovanni, you've come a long way since My Two Dads, baby! 5 stars
3/13/00 Jim NOT relevant to today's stock market: Internet, online, Wall St. Ben shot cameos in 1 day. 1 stars
3/04/00 jill Ben Affleck can suck my ass. 1 stars
2/27/00 Malbert Pretty cool, I liked it a lot 4 stars
2/25/00 Ben Ryan Worth watching just so you can see the stupidity. 2 stars
2/25/00 Allan Vogt Filthiest soundtrack ever. The secretary was worth the $9.50. Good audience interaction. 3 stars
2/23/00 Charles "Fight Club" in reverse. Loved the secretary! 3 stars
2/22/00 Alexis good acting and a plot that moved along at a brisk pace 5 stars
2/21/00 Jason Kallelis Damn good! Good acting and the plot can suck you in. 4 stars
2/20/00 frank some quality acting, but an average story line 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Feb-2000 (R)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2014

UK
  05-May-2000 (15)

Australia
  12-Oct-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast