More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome40.32%
Worth A Look: 26.88%
Average: 13.67%
Pretty Bad: 10.48%
Total Crap: 8.66%

21 reviews, 313 user ratings



Dogma
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Hit and miss, but ultimately satisfying."
4 stars

When the hounds of righteous indignation are unleashed upon a movie, invariably nothing in the movie itself really deserves the barking and slobbering. 'Dogma,' the religious farce by writer-director Kevin Smith, is an agreeably rumpled and scattershot comedy about nothing less than faith.

It asks the big questions: If there is a God, did He -- or She -- really intend there to be churches and factions at odds with each other? Don't all the doctrinal squabbling and chauvinistic claims (one's own religion is the only true religion, etc.) take people even further away from the basics as taught by Christ? And do women fart when having anal sex? (This is a Kevin Smith movie, after all.)

On one level, Dogma can be enjoyed as Smith's big blow-out -- his action-adventure/quest epic, with a cast picked to please the fans; it's also his New Jersey biblical epic. If you ran Nikos Kazantzakis through the View Askew blender, the result would taste something like Dogma -- a lumpy but tangy concoction that goes down easy. Smith begins with a strong premise: Two outcast angels, the former angel of death Loki (Matt Damon) and the watcher angel Bartleby (Ben Affleck), have found a way to get back into Heaven. The Catholic Church is kicking off a new user-friendly PR program with a surefire lure for sinners: Pass under the arches of the New Jersey diocese and you're absolved of sin. Loki and Bartleby figure they'll take advantage of this loophole, get absolved, and get back to Heaven.

They're not the heroes here, though. Their scheme, if successful, will disprove the infallibility of God and negate existence itself. So God, in the form of a spokes-angel named Metatron (Alan Rickman), recruits a disillusioned Catholic and abortion-clinic worker, Bethany (Linda Fiorentino), to help stop the renegade angels. Other metaphysical entities keep popping up: the slickster demon Azrael (Jason Lee), who'd love to see everything come crashing down; Rufus (Chris Rock), the obscure "13th apostle" left out of the Bible because he's black; and a Muse named Serendipity (Salma Hayek) who got stuck on Earth and became a stripper. Not to mention the prophet stoners Jay and Silent Bob (Jason Mewes and Smith himself).

What you hear throughout Dogma, liberally peppered with the usual prankish profanities, is Kevin Smith having a conversation with himself about his faith (he's a devout Catholic in real life). He puts his ideas in the mouths of all the characters, each of whom defends his or her own theological turf. The ideas come out in a rough tumble, with the becoming awkwardness of flawed human beings trying to live by the ideal of God -- or the awkwardness of a director struggling to make sense of it all. Dogma is fairly disorganized, but it has the honest heartbeat of a filmmaker busily stitching a bunch of elements into a crazyquilt of farce and faith.

Some of Dogma staggers and stumbles. An early test print ran better than three hours; Smith carved it down to just over two, and I have a feeling a lot of plot coherence is littering the editing-room floor. Bartleby, for instance, seems to undergo an abrupt shift in behavior, and the character of Bethany, though most appealingly played by Fiorentino, just seems to be along for the ride (she may be intended as the audience's spokesperson, an everyday woman amongst a ragtag group of gods and monsters). The movie has everything including the kitchen sink; Smith juggles a lot of balls, and inevitably he drops some -- as always, he wants to let you know every little thing that's been on his mind since the last time you listened to him.

Overall, though, 'Dogma' is Smith's most consistently engaging movie since 'Clerks' -- a rude yet, in the end, reverent ramble encompassing an excrement demon, a handstanding God, and everything in between.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=172&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/12/07 14:03:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

2/23/17 morris campbell entertaining one of smiths best 4 stars
12/24/13 Michelle O too many "Big Name" actors vying for attention for my taste 4 stars
10/31/13 Seth DeRoule I think this is Kevin Smith's funniest film. 4 stars
9/04/13 Meghan Malicoat Kevin Smith is pure genuis 5 stars
2/07/11 Pamela White stupid caveman relating of faith and God 2 stars
4/25/10 jojo serendipity dancing on stage for bob n dumb hot 2 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef One of Smith's best. Everyone delivers a hallmark film. On par with "Life of Brian." 5 stars
11/04/09 reviews visit 5 stars
10/24/09 holdem poker texas tip 5 stars
10/22/09 win now login 4 stars
10/08/09 directory best poker site 1 stars
9/04/09 login series of poker 1 stars
9/02/09 reviews auto insurance ca 2 stars
8/21/09 online poker glossary guide 1 stars
8/21/09 directories poker tips 5 stars
8/20/09 casino free money gambling web site 4 stars
7/25/09 visit now login 3 stars
7/22/09 no download texas holdem directory 3 stars
7/22/09 online texas holdem world series of poker software 4 stars
7/13/09 click here win now 2 stars
7/03/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess A little too long, but still funny 4 stars
6/27/09 win now tip 3 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef One of Smith's best. Acted and written with passion and humor to spare. Almost gospel. 5 stars
3/15/09 full tilt poker ironduke com 1 stars
10/19/08 Samantha Pruitt crude writing with a lot to say, still smart and hilarious 4 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT CONSIDERABLY UGLY 1 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White stupid stupid and stupid 2 stars
10/15/07 Keystra Williams Kevin Smith's best film 5 stars
6/28/07 gr117 Love it! 5 stars
6/20/07 Muted Orbz Dogma is Kevin Smith's best, I'd rather have seen Dogma 2 than Clerks 2. 5 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Jay and Bob actually slow it down, but Damon & Affleck are awesome 5 stars
11/28/06 valentine funny as hell, just like all smiths film's.. People who are offended by it need to grow up. 5 stars
10/16/06 Jim Works better as religious satire/philosophy than comedy or action. 4 stars
8/12/06 nicolecrom2678 A Kevin Smith classic 5 stars
7/17/06 mark belly laughs-just let the irreverence make you fall out of your chair-and leave it at that 5 stars
5/23/06 JM Synth Not as clever as it thinks it is, but maybe that's just my sense of humour 2 stars
3/16/06 meilani magana i love this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/12/05 daniel good (if not great) script, average movie 3 stars
4/29/05 Anthony G pretty funny 4 stars
4/19/05 Bonnie James Brings into question in a lighted hearted but intellectual way the male role driven church. 4 stars
12/18/04 chris. eh. had much better things to do 3 stars
12/15/04 Tom Benton The View Askewniverse gets Hollywood-ed; original, intelligent, and very funny 4 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams so funny and insightful. I'm catholic and I LOVED it. 5 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul I thought this was Kevin Smith at his best... Until I saw Jersy Girl. 4 stars
11/18/04 Valcri Favorite Movie Ever 5 stars
9/08/04 Bob . 5 stars
7/29/04 paolo enea one of the funniest, most intelligent movie ever 5 stars
7/21/04 Littlepurch Disturbing and just a bit sick but overall hilarious! Good cast 2. Alan Rickman stole show! 4 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound I'm not Catholic, but Eloise down under will certainly burn in Hell for ETERNITY!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
6/19/04 ZenCow There are moments of hope where it seems to elevate itself to the level of average. CRAP! 1 stars
6/08/04 Sictek Only really good part is at Mooby HQ 4 stars
5/17/04 DM Funny as hell, and makes some good points too 5 stars
4/08/04 god One of the best comedies ever. Noncha, read into it and don't take it literally, dumbass. 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Jay & Silent Bob, RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 Marija This movie is my favourite! I'm loving it!!!!! 5 stars
2/04/04 Mia great!!! 4 stars
2/04/04 Monster W. Kung Starts ok, then falls apart and by the end it's unbearable. 2 stars
2/03/04 Eloise quite funny, catholic freaks must hate it...bonus 5 stars
12/25/03 Leigha outstanding movie, and im not even a believer. 5 stars
11/21/03 homer simpson one large piece of fucking shit, i have more fun living in fucking iowa 2 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee Who's your buddy! 5 stars
9/28/03 Noncha Lant Pro-Catholic ? Pro-Faith ? May God have mercy on Kevin Smith's soul.... 1 stars
8/12/03 Megan This movie is so funny and it's moving. It's one of my favorites! 5 stars
7/23/03 Double G What!!! Too many dogs, dogma, my mom is not a dog, fuck u, dogma!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Funny! and an All-Star cast Like Every Movie featuring Jay and Silent Bob Movie !!! 4 stars
7/14/03 Kia Ora Interesting concept. 4 stars
5/13/03 joker-smoker-toker verry funny, but a little too religiony 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Hilarious. 5 stars
3/16/03 Cameron Slick Provocative and audacious, Dogma entertains without overtly offending. 5 stars
3/11/03 Apathy Beautiful opening monologue (Walrus and the Carpenter). Terrible ending (Alanis Morrisette) 4 stars
3/11/03 Tiffany Drescher and Chelsea Faulkner If you don't like this movie take you head out of your @$$ 5 stars
3/08/03 Wallis very interesting and entertaining 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby A classic. Exudes "The joy of making cinema". Kudos to Kevin Smith. 5 stars
2/24/03 Sara Kenney this movie was trashy and incoherent 1 stars
2/03/03 kz tried to watch this multiple times - fell asleep each time 1 stars
12/22/02 DMS this movie makes fun of the poor platypi/ other then that it is great 5 stars
11/25/02 OBEYDOBEY How come the only good reviews for this are by Christians? 5 stars
11/24/02 Joe Zappa In fact, he could be serious. If he is, he's good @ proving points that need 2B proven!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Great film. Alanis is that you? 5 stars
11/02/02 GREG EVENS THIS MOVIE WAS REALLY FUNNY AND THOUGHT PREVOKING. I THINK SOME FORGET THAT IT IS A COMEDY. 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Did Ben Affleck and his boy-toy Matt really need the money? 1 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Doesn't Jason Lee remind you of Fletch with that hat?... (our Fletch Won hero, possibly) 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 Smith's skunk. Everyone sucked but Jay and Silent Bob. 2 stars
9/23/02 syrius Would've been 5 stars, but just because hayek didn't take off her top 4 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa Come on, guys. He's not serious. He's kidding. It even says that at the beginning! God! NPI 5 stars
9/02/02 PeterGibbons Smith is so full of himself. Each movie has been worse. Terrible acting to boot. Snoogins. 2 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers There is a God. 5 stars
7/30/02 Mac Smiths worst out of the series, still has alotta laughs, chasing amy was better 3 stars
7/23/02 Roy Smith More generic Catholic bashing, Smith is not equiped for Theology at all. 2 stars
7/20/02 Smoogles Love it, Love it, Love it...An Instant Classic 5 stars
7/15/02 Tim Kerch Very funny and fresh 5 stars
5/31/02 Phoenix Brilliant. 5 stars
5/25/02 online_at_work so so so so good, kevin smith is a movie making god. 5 stars
4/30/02 dave macdougall obnoxious....annoying... 2 stars
4/25/02 Shane Robert Myers Best movie i saw at the start of 2002... it was FUCKING AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/23/02 KMG OVERATED...like Smith needs to hand more ego to Ben and Matt,,,BARF 1 stars
4/22/02 Charles Tatum Smith certainly cannot be faulted for playing it safe. 4 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy This movie KICKS all ass. Kevin Smiths best effort by far 5 stars
3/25/02 Tomper As Chris Rock says "If you think God needs you; you don't really believe in God. 5 stars
3/19/02 NeXusSly This is another fine example of Kevin Smith's work 5 stars
3/16/02 Dude fucken awesome is too little for this movie 5 stars
3/03/02 Frances muahhahahahahahahaha! *evil laff* 5 stars
2/07/02 Debbie Does Dallas I want to suck Ben Affleck's cock after seeing him here, but this movie average. 3 stars
2/03/02 Cameron Ovo This movie kicks ass 5 stars
1/31/02 W silly tripe 1 stars
1/03/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the best movie I've seen all of 2002, It Kicks Ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/31/01 MF Great movie! worthwhile if only to see Carlin as a Bishop! 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina if i was god.. that is what i would do 4 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Not without interest, but the plot mechanics are infantile, and some jokes limp. 3 stars
11/24/01 Smoogles Very funny film, different, interesting -- not your usual Hollywood Slop. 5 stars
10/30/01 Gary There's some great dialogue and good acting amongst the overly cluttered narrative. 2 stars
10/27/01 Andrew Carden Jay and Silent Bob Should Just Die. 1 stars
10/26/01 Michael Cook Heh, it's amazing. I loved this movie. 5 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat Jay and Silent Bob are back and they still kick major ass! 4 stars
10/08/01 Mojojojo GREATEST MOVIE EVER! 5 stars
10/08/01 Hogwash If only Garofalo had played Bethany instead of Fiorantino... 5 stars
9/20/01 Bill Booker It is the best movie in Kevin Smith's series. Amazing 5 stars
9/18/01 LOKI#(NICK) ONE OF THE GREATEST FILMS IN FILM HISTORY.ITS WERE I GOT MY NEW NICK NAME CONGRATS 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Very cool movie. I played with my "taco" whenever that fine ass Ben Affleck showed. 4 stars
8/30/01 spaceworm Insightful film. I'm from Milwaukee, and I oughta know... 5 stars
8/26/01 Gary Messy, overlong and cack-handed, but still funny with some good turns (Damon in particular) 3 stars
8/25/01 MLCaslyn YAYYY!!!!!! jay and silent bob rock my little world! uhh yeah thats all 5 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Ben Affleck is like a twit bully from grade school 3 stars
8/14/01 shankster Anyone who gives Kevin Smith money and a camera should be shot. 1 stars
7/07/01 TLsmooth Keanu Reeves is now the second worst actor in Hollywood. Congrats to Chris Rock, our champ. 5 stars
6/28/01 Movies 'R Kewl Best line: So... that would make Bethany... part black? 5 stars
6/23/01 King Jackass Simply friggin rocks. Kevin Smith never fails to disappoint me. 5 stars
6/05/01 Marijan Srdic KICK ASS!!!!! 5 stars
5/27/01 BrainPan Ben Hackfest is awful. Just piss poor acting all around. JSBSB better redeem Smith. 2 stars
5/16/01 zeitgeist no need to pick it apart. great movie. best line: "knew him? nigger owes me 12 dollars!" 4 stars
5/15/01 carly it was brilliant 5 stars
5/11/01 The smell of danger Terry Pratchetts "Good Omens" allá Holywood 5 stars
5/04/01 ChiefAlDog Can the acting get worse? Best part: "Whose house? Run's house!" 2 stars
4/25/01 J Best Schmest it was just a good movie that is all. 3 stars
4/23/01 Neil Ramsbotham Just goes to show that religion is utter crap 5 stars
4/18/01 Zach This movie fucking kicks ass! 5 stars
4/16/01 LiL Kevin Smith's best! 5 stars
4/04/01 Cathy it was okay to watch every once in a while 3 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L It made Salma Hayek look bad...most pretentious movie of its kind 1 stars
3/22/01 daniel james this place is damn funny 5 stars
3/21/01 bterry I've seen better. 2 stars
3/11/01 Ian Loved it! But where's the 2-disk edition?! 5 stars
3/03/01 mad hatter Not bad, but it didn't dig into the subject enough. Smith was gun shy. 3 stars
2/26/01 yeah_openthevideostore dude, you gotta understand that most of it is inside jokes. you gotta see ALL the movies. 5 stars
2/24/01 Matthew Bartley Funny as hell, tjought provoking, even disturbing...utter genius 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Hilarious and makes lots of true points. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Sh*t-Monster? Alanis Morrissette? Damon and Affleck? Sign of a terrible movie. 1 stars
2/20/01 Nick Berger kevin smith is a great filmmaker but this one wasnt as sharp as the first two, nor as funny 2 stars
2/19/01 Dr. Fell Godd movie, Great lead for Jay and Silent Bob Stike Back 4 stars
2/17/01 Sarah Stumpf I'm Cathloc and I loved it. Really hits the Cathloc nail on the head. 5 stars
1/27/01 Asbury Park Thank fuck I already saw the movie because PyThomas wrote the whole script in his review ! 5 stars
1/26/01 thejames Written well. If you don't like it it's probley because your stupid as shit 5 stars
1/21/01 James Quinn That Alanis could poke fun at her own arrogance by accepting THAT role was pretty cool. 4 stars
1/19/01 skip Intelligent? Sophomoric is more like it. Overconfident of knowledge, and SO immature. 1 stars
1/18/01 SinceEBCDIC A little sloppy, it's true, but funnier and more intelligent than almost anything out there 4 stars
12/29/00 denise Brilliantly written and acted, Smith and his ViewAskew deliver again. 5 stars
12/25/00 Paul Fucking sucked 1 stars
12/10/00 T.Smith This movie should have been called DogShit. Affleck has no acting range 1 stars
11/29/00 SP disappointing -- the least funny but most irreverent of Smith's films 2 stars
10/25/00 The Bomb 69 unfortunately the general public is too stupid to handle a well written and directed movie 5 stars
10/23/00 P. Rodriguez This is some of the funiest shit (excuse the pun) I have ever seen. 1 2 show the Mormons 5 stars
10/15/00 Jason hilarious...i laughed my ass off 5 stars
10/11/00 Tremer Stupid, agressive, not funny at all. I'm disgusting of these shit 1 stars
10/06/00 pernille orsom 5 stars
9/30/00 malcolm worst of Smith's 4, still better than most big-budget hollywood crap 4 stars
9/12/00 Jed Overrated but better than BJM. And it is better than I thought. 3 stars
8/18/00 Justin Sucks my Fat Cock Kevin Smith once again puts together a kick ass flick 5 stars
8/10/00 Jed Overrated & Tacky but quite funny nevertheless and it does provoke thought too on the side. 4 stars
8/04/00 Shelly This movie was pretty damn cool. The best part is the hotties: Ben and Matt! I love you! 5 stars
7/21/00 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Not quite as funny as public castrations. But close 2 stars
7/13/00 Rick Derris it"s like Cube says.... 5 stars
7/11/00 Rachel Kick ass ( and I am a Catholic) 5 stars
7/10/00 Essi one of the best movies i've ever seen!! 5 stars
7/04/00 Tandi This is the best movie ever! 5 stars
6/28/00 Bender Entertaining, and funny, but corny at times. 4 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Very gutsy to put this out, and so different; but, parts were amateurish. SB&J are old now. 4 stars
6/17/00 Kristen This movie was amazing, but i wasn't suprised, I mean I came from Kevin Smith's mind! 5 stars
6/15/00 Zippo XxX Possably his best, besides Clerks, and i love how plays with Catholics!! 5 stars
6/14/00 buffy's underpants hilarious and deep - woo hoo 5 stars
6/13/00 perverted pixie Mildly moronic, but very spirited. Jay and Silent Bob shine as always! 4 stars
6/12/00 Michael This movie was fucking great. A lot of funny jokes and Jay and Bob never get boring 5 stars
6/06/00 Michael Grimm i guess well written comedies are too much for illiterate gonads 5 stars
6/02/00 Wafer excellent movie. Kevin smith's best, by far 5 stars
5/29/00 Tang This was downhill from the disclaimer. Had possiblilites and cast, but poor execution 2 stars
5/29/00 James Bond It sucked cock 2 stars
5/20/00 mahone A friend--whose opinion I'll never value again--encouraged to watch this drivel. NOT FUNNY 1 stars
5/15/00 Tracy None of Affleck's movies have been any good, but I'd watch him any time. 3 stars
5/13/00 Mark a guilty pleasure 4 stars
5/13/00 porkeye George Carlin and the silent Bob looser were the best part of this movie,they kept it to 4 stars
5/13/00 Elvisfan i luv kev's other movies but this one did not thrill me & was actually tooooo long 3 stars
5/12/00 Girl9 May have to watch it a couple times to follow everything but Jay&S.Bob make it worthwile! 4 stars
5/07/00 The Bomb 69 well written, had to really pay attention to follow 5 stars
5/06/00 jim b I stopped going to church 5 stars
5/03/00 H'wood bigshot It has: Smith, Garafolo, Rock. Only by adding Tim Robbins could this be worse. 1 stars
4/30/00 Bianca The reviewers and ass. I wish I could review his sorry ass because he would get 1 stars. 1 stars
4/25/00 John Lyons Thought it was kind of a stupid movie. Maybe I wasn't in the mood for the humor that night 3 stars
4/11/00 the Grinch The "Excremental" sums up this film. Smith should stick to humble stories... 2 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony fucking great movie! funny as shit... definitely one of the best 5 stars
4/04/00 DaGroovy1 Kick ass 5 stars
3/16/00 Trina Barnard The acting was great. Hard to follow the story. 3 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs So funny! Jay and Silent Bob Rule! 10/10 5 stars
3/13/00 hum i so wanted to like this. good ideas and alan rickman. read sandman instead 3 stars
3/01/00 nathan what else can this director do untill the film world picks up that he is the future!!!! 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Overlong. 3 stars
2/29/00 Rachem loved the flick, love Kevin Smith, taking my grandma to see it 5 stars
2/28/00 Mike Wickedly good 5 stars
2/23/00 olive trite and unoriginal 1 stars
2/19/00 Andi C. Great movie and made you think 4 stars
2/17/00 k.tomkowski Provokes strong negative reactions from catholic loonies of my country, I like that! 4 stars
2/11/00 The Seahawk I love Kevin Smith, but this, like Mallrats, is simply a badly-told story. Such a shame. 2 stars
2/10/00 Neuroleptic A movie on many levels, 1: Teen stuff, 2: Parody of "The Christian Bible" 4 stars
2/08/00 sophia866 Charming, lovely, full of hope and joy and monster vulgarity 5 stars
2/08/00 Germanicus Affleck is amazing, but the low budget and poor direction limit satisfaction. 3 stars
2/07/00 Magyarpoet One of the best movies of the year 5 stars
2/05/00 pam malekin very funny but quite thought provoking 4 stars
2/05/00 malaki sorry, but this movie is just too strange, not to mention total boredom 2 stars
1/27/00 The Graduate Ouch. Painful. Too talky (even for Kevin Smith), a stupid plot, crummy editing . . . 2 stars
1/21/00 James "Brew" McCauley I can wait to see it again! 5 stars
1/19/00 Add Its a Kevin Smith movie, so its funny but just not all of the time unfortunately!! 4 stars
1/19/00 Zanymaggot I honestly really enjoyed the film. Ingenius and funny. 4 stars
1/10/00 Will overly ambitious 3 stars
1/06/00 Zach Snyder Yeah, the movie was great. Fuck all those who disagree (cept Fondi cause he's cool). 5 stars
1/06/00 meg Flawed but funny, intelligent, and, at times, touching. 4 stars
12/24/99 abba There's something about Ben Affleck giving a Kevin Smith speech I just love . . . 5 stars
12/23/99 Wafer It was Smith's best. Simply put 5 stars
12/18/99 Dick Laurent I enjoyed pieces of the film. I think Kevin Smith tried to work in way too many characters 3 stars
12/17/99 Paradox I hope you're not Catholic. This made me want to see Smith's other films... 5 stars
12/16/99 Ezra Xenos Kevin Smith dissapoints with Dogma, it says the same unoriginal thing over and over again. 1 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan I love Salma Hayek but this movie sucked Newt Gingrich's ass!! How does Linda get work?? 1 stars
12/11/99 DEVIL'S ADVOCDATE WELL, _I_ ENJOYED IT 5 stars
12/10/99 Laura Birschbach I was so offended I went to my car and cried. 1 stars
12/09/99 SamZ This movie hit so many nails on the head I could have built an ark! 4 stars
12/07/99 Timbo Linda Fiorentino 1 stars
12/07/99 Brian W. Fullford We need more movies that deal with spirituality at its core. 5 stars
12/06/99 Ami the wonderbread Wonderful story, horrible pacing, fantastic performances all around!! 5 stars
12/06/99 Candace Do not go see this movie. It sucks!!!!! 1 stars
12/01/99 StapleGirl Enough w/the Oscar boys. One badly chopped, and strangely paced film. 1 stars
12/01/99 Allen Konigsberg It has: Kevin Smith, C. Rock. J Garofalo. What could possibly be worse? 1 stars
11/30/99 tom love kevin smith---love the gwh twins 5 stars
11/30/99 MickCollins Hawkboy,sporkGirl and the angry Jew are fucking idiots 5 stars
11/30/99 Steven Funny.. Campy.. Great Lines.. Sometimes Predictable.. Awesome!! Way to go Silent Bob/Jay!! 5 stars
11/29/99 Michelle made some good pionts in the film,but sometimes it too much info and hard to follow 5 stars
11/29/99 GDB The acting made me cringe. Story also blew... 1 stars
11/29/99 Liz The movie has definate potential, but some of the acting was weak and forced 4 stars
11/29/99 M E Engaging, fun, and thought-provoking. 5 stars
11/27/99 swonkdog an equal oportunity religious offender, i love it! 5 stars
11/26/99 majawat a passable evening 4 stars
11/26/99 Missou Maybe I'm too old to respect this type pf movie but the subject matter, the vulgarity, the 1 stars
11/26/99 Darren McGrath Fucking awesome!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/25/99 Mr. Burns The definitive piece of cinematic trash. 1 stars
11/24/99 Chef ADogg Wooden and stupid. Why is Smith preaching? 2 stars
11/24/99 Suzanne The Emperor is Naked! 3 stars
11/22/99 Ben R Kevin Smith masterpiece, great acting from Damon and affleck! 5 stars
11/22/99 Bob Barker Just short of greatness - I think the Director's cut will kick ass. 4 stars
11/21/99 Lucy Fur Excellent Smith! Affleck & Damon, Jay & Silent Bob are awesome! 5 stars
11/20/99 H'Woodbigshot Cliched Shit,Smith sux huge one's, Rock has NO TALENT and should be with Idi Amin 1 stars
11/20/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules You Didn't Say God Bless You When I Sneezed! God's raging hardon shot my brain out my ass! 5 stars
11/20/99 Freyja What can I say? It's Kevin Smith, man! 5 stars
11/19/99 skfcol456 a funny film. it had some good things to say, underneath the trademark vulgarity 4 stars
11/17/99 The Buffy Chick Damn fine piece of celluloid!!! 5 stars
11/17/99 Paul Meade Excellent, Carlin was on target 5 stars
11/17/99 Jason T. Hollett Because this movie dares say things that leave your mouth agape, doesn't make it good. 2 stars
11/16/99 elfpunkt Coulda been better. Lot of heavy handed preaching. Loki is norse, Azrael is angel of Death. 3 stars
11/16/99 Adam Not Smith's best, but a good time at the movies. 4 stars
11/16/99 Marble Xavier A warm tribute to faith, an appropriate slam on organized religion 5 stars
11/16/99 The Dude I saw the comercial and thiought that it looked really cool. 5 stars
11/16/99 perpetual loser great flick. several charecter problems (salma sux). clerks is still better and best. 4 stars
11/16/99 Brian Gannon This is the coolest movie I have ever seen 5 stars
11/16/99 jules you might have to be catholic to fully appreciate this film. but it's funny as all hell! 5 stars
11/16/99 Cristi Brooks I haven't seen a movie this funny in years! 5 stars
11/16/99 Vampyre9mm Kevin Smith has done better, then again not many can do it as good as he can 4 stars
11/15/99 Mighty T The worst films aint the bad ones, they're the bad ones that had a chance 2 be very special 3 stars
11/15/99 JonnyAngel what a mess! but still quite funny 3 stars
11/15/99 Douglas Dickenson Bollywood epic for Americans. Needed original music score and dancing. 4 stars
11/15/99 C.A.T.M. After all I heard about it, I may have expected more, but still kicked ass!! 5 stars
11/15/99 Mandy I thought it was absolutely hysterical. It's not often that people get to laugh out loud . 5 stars
11/15/99 vickie There aren't words... 5 stars
11/15/99 Fork Not your average Kevin Smith movie but then - he's not average. 5 stars
11/15/99 DA Coffey Kevin Smith Rules! 5 stars
11/14/99 Patti Warner I went not really knowing what to expect. I loved it. Affleck's best effort yet. 5 stars
11/14/99 Paradox One hell of a movie... and the effects are pretty sweet too. 5 stars
11/14/99 Mike Hunt Well worth the wait. Thanks Kevin, Harvey, and Bob. 5 stars
11/14/99 MrShowbiz Who else but Kevin Smith could alchemize Catholicism and dick jokes? 5 stars
11/14/99 nsb Damon & Affleck work so well together. Impressed by both, especially Damon. 5 stars
11/14/99 [KingMob] More ambitious then Chasing Amy, but did it have to be This grahic? 4 stars
11/14/99 Mark Taranto Cut the exposition and you have a great half hour comedy 3 stars
11/14/99 Glitter Berry Makes you leave the theatre feeling strangely serene 5 stars
11/14/99 Kirsten Yaaay Kevin! 5 stars
11/14/99 CharlieJ I've waited two years for this movie it was completely worth the wait. 5 stars
11/13/99 chris o'keefe rambling and full of misfires with occasional brilliance, this is a big let down. 2 stars
11/13/99 Pope Gonzo XIII This movie filled my head with questions and my heart with groove. 5 stars
11/13/99 Silent Bob Best Kevin Smith EVER!!!, 5 stars
11/13/99 Malbert Awesome, Ben Affleck was great 5 stars
11/13/99 Critic Great 5 stars
11/13/99 Dustmaker2 Excellent satirical look at religious doctrine and faith. Challenges people to think! 5 stars
11/13/99 Heather amazing 5 stars
11/13/99 alyska definately among his better work. 5 stars
11/13/99 H'Woodbigshot How does the excresence C. Rock continue to find work? 1 stars
11/10/99 John F. Kohler Bursts of humor amid patches of religious thought. 4 stars
11/08/99 Randall I meant to give it a Worth of look, but i picked the wrong one down there 4 stars
11/07/99 Lisa Smith could do wonders w/the stage, and really should forget the screen. 3 stars
11/02/99 Tomas Eet stanks like ell! I read the script and I thought it stunk, but Smith is a talent. 1 stars
10/29/99 Affleckted Em I thought this movie was great. Jay and Ben were their best ever. 5 stars
10/28/99 Randall Very, very entertaining to watch, the pacing was off and too much seemed to be cut out 3 stars
10/11/99 Randal the best of both worlds 5 stars
10/04/99 some one it could cut down on the number of characters, but overall it's GREAT! 5 stars
9/25/99 chris Wow 5 stars
9/23/99 ArtieNYC a very intelligent, thought-provoking film 4 stars
9/21/99 Slash Outstanding film. Everyone must see it. 5 stars
9/20/99 Annie Best comedy of the year! 5 stars
9/04/99 Craig Ryan Superb! Fun story 5 stars
7/26/99 Walter Funniest flick of the year! Incredible on all levels! 5 stars
7/10/99 rabidgrannies38@hotmail.com the best Smith film yet!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Nov-1999 (R)
  DVD: 26-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-2000 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast