More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 17.5%
Worth A Look: 16.25%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad38.75%
Total Crap: 17.5%

7 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lucy by Brett Gallman

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

And So It Goes by Peter Sobczynski

Huntresses, The by Jay Seaver

Fatal Encounter, The by Jay Seaver

No Tears for the Dead by Jay Seaver

In Order of Disappearance by Jay Seaver

Cheatin' by Jay Seaver

White Bird in a Blizzard by Jay Seaver

Hwayi: A Monster Boy by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Next Friday
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"It's just not really all that funny."
2 stars

While the original Friday had some style and some real belly-laughs, the sequel turns out to be a predictably hollow addition. It's almost literally a movie version of "The Fresh Prince of Bel Air". It has a few good spots, but it doesn't come close to matching the fun of the original.

Generally, I won't judge movies based on their sequels. Being sequels, they're almost always automatically inferior, though. So when people rag on a sequel, it's probably becuase it was a lazy, rushed and sloppy affair, conceieved solely due to the following sentence:

"Wow, Friday only cost like $3 millon to make and after video, it made about $85 million!"

With that kind of shallow motivation, it's a wonder any sequels at all are any good.

Next Friday makes the pretense of continuing a story line, although it's a weak one at best: Deebo (who our hero knocked out in the first film) has escaped from jail and is now searching for his adversary. So Craig decides to "pack up and go live with his uncle who lives in the suburbs because he hit the lottery." Yeah, OK. The rest of the plot is just Craig hanging with his cousin, his uncle, the three nasty latino boys across the street, their pretty sister, and some other random people. Throw in a few marijuana scenes to appease those who embraced the original, add more doody jokes to detract from the fact that "Screamin'" Chris Tucker passed on the sequel. Then throw in a "Holy Crap, we need a large amount of money by TOMORROW MORINING" subplot, and we're all set: Number one at the box office.

All the lame Hollywood politics than conspired to get this made could be forgiven if the movie were funny. Well, it is. In maybe three or four spots. Ice Cube chooses to employ his "stand back and watch everything happen" method of acting in the Friday movies. His character is a likable one, mainly because he's just quiet and unrealistically docile. A few of the supporting cast step up and add some humorous touches: Mike Epps is pretty funny as Chris' mumbling and nervous cousin, Day-Day. Sticky Fingaz (great name) is also pretty funny as Uncle Tyrone, even though he's doing an obvious impression of Bernie Mac.

As far as technical merits and directing and all that, please. It's a comedy about pot-smoking, standing around, and stereotypes. Don't look too deep.

All in all, worth seeing for fans of the first one, but don't expect it to be better. It's got a handful of quality gags, quite a few lame ones, and some that are just sad. (Hey, fat people are ALWAYS funny and so is DOG POOP!)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1729&reviewer=128
originally posted: 01/18/00 13:34:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/03/09 Rachel Was not impressed. 2 stars
5/25/09 Kiyer This movie is funny as hell 4 stars
1/15/09 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
8/26/07 Isuru HEy this movie was funny as hell!! i dont know wht da rest of ya thinkin!! review sukz!! 5 stars
2/07/07 lorraine man this movies was the happs i dnt know what the rest of these people tlking about 5 stars
4/01/06 Tanya ba, they needed to chris tucker 2 stars
5/26/05 Daniel Just awesome, one of my favourite movies. I liked the first one better though. Still awesum 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson Nonstop barrage of stereotypes destroys what so called fun this lazy & vulgar comedy has!!! 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams where's smokey? 2 stars
11/11/04 colin chandler pinky makes tha movie happen 5 stars
1/17/04 J It was funny sort of. Come on bring back Christ Tucker! 3 stars
1/08/04 A F Has anyone heard of the House Party fiasco. JUST STOP! 1 stars
8/03/03 Double G funny 4 stars
7/13/03 nick g the frist one was better cuz of chris tucker 5 stars
5/28/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Thee best of the "Friday trilogy"... # 1 & 3 sucked in comparison... 4 stars
3/20/03 kelly wolfey it was good 1 stars
3/14/03 Mike Oxlong was good 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby As dull as the original was gloriously alive. 2 stars
8/08/02 Obi Wan No Chris Tucker, No Stars!!!! How dare you!!!!! 1 stars
5/11/02 Kyle If theres any proof there's no intelligent life on Earth, it's either George Dubya or this. 1 stars
3/26/02 P.Rodriguez Hey ese don't bag dis movie hey? Or me and baby joker will kill U? 5 stars
3/07/02 dannywell fucking awsome 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Well, a step down from the first, mainly because of the absence of Chris Tucker. 4 stars
11/17/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Man! it would have been funny if Chris Tucker was in!! 3 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat It's like watching ComicView for an hour and a half..... :( 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Disapointing sequal. I hated that whiny bitch ass Day-Day. 2 stars
5/22/01 Eric great followup,one of my favorite sequels 5 stars
5/12/01 Chris I think that this film is one of the greatest films! 5 stars
1/21/01 dog funny 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin Shameless sequel to "Friday" 2 stars
10/16/00 TIM THIS WHOLE GHETTO THING IS OLD... DROP IT PEOPLE. 1 stars
7/27/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS THIS WAS FUNNIER THAN THE FIRST "FRIDAY",AND I HOPE NEW LINE CINEMA MAKES ANOTHER 5 stars
7/23/00 Dimlight Makes the original look like The Godfather. 1 stars
6/10/00 The Bomb 69 few laugh out loud parts but script was all over the place 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan WOW... i didnt think it was possible to make a movie worse then FRIDAY 1 stars
2/23/00 Darvin D First really funny movie I've seen in a while. 5 stars
1/26/00 Zaw Oo Go see it! really funny. 5 stars
1/18/00 Karean Peterson Funny, but not as funny as the first Friday!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jul-2000 (MA)


Directed by
  Steve Carr

Written by
  Ice Cube

Cast
  Ice Cube
  Mike Epps
  Tom 'Tiny' Lister Jr.
  John Witherspoon
  Don Curry



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast