More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 17.5%
Worth A Look: 16.25%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad38.75%
Total Crap: 17.5%

7 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Tomorrow 2018, A by Jay Seaver

Mary and the Witch's Flower by Jay Seaver

Mom and Dad by Peter Sobczynski

Inferno (1953) by Jay Seaver

Out of the Inferno by Jay Seaver

Small Town Crime by Peter Sobczynski

Dunkirk by Rob Gonsalves

Post, The by Rob Gonsalves

Signature Move by Rob Gonsalves

Commuter, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Next Friday
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"Yet another unnecessary and atrocious sequel."
1 stars

'Next Friday' is the sequel to the incredibly successful (at least on video) 'Friday', made about five years ago and launching the careers of actor Chris Tucker and director F. Gary Gray ('The Negotiator').

'Next Friday' is again written and starring Ice Cube, the rapper-turned-actor most recently seen in 'Three Kings'. To bring you up to speed, last 'Friday', among other things, Craig (Ice Cube) kicked the ass of the neighborhood bully, Debo. Now Debo's broken out of jail and wants revenge.

So Craig is shipped to the safety of the suburbs to stay with his lottery-winning Uncle Elroy and Beemer-driving cousin Day-Day (Mike Epps). There he learns that if he thought things were bad in the 'hood, life in the L.A. suburbs is a whole lot worse, what with the drug dealing neighbours, killer canines and the new alternative lifestyle Uncle Elroy's persuing with his new girlfriend 'Sugar'. And when he discovers that their fancy new house is just $3000 in owed property taxes away from being repossessed, well, he just has to help out.

If you've seen the television commercials, you'll know that 'Next Friday' is aimed squarely at the teen market- and it's a perfect bullseye. If you're over 16 you may have trouble sitting through it, as reel after reel of sophmoric comedy gushes out into the cinema. You've seen it all before, probably in the 80's: Toilet humor? Yep. Humorous ethnic stereotypes? Uh huh. Drug affected dog? You bet.

'Next Friday' has a hell of a soundtrack though, as half the cast are veteran hip hop artists. Director Steve Carr debuts from a music video background, and as for Ice Cube, I'd prefer to wait for a sequel to 'Three Kings'.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1729&reviewer=169
originally posted: 10/19/00 16:22:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/03/09 Rachel Was not impressed. 2 stars
5/25/09 Kiyer This movie is funny as hell 4 stars
1/15/09 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
8/26/07 Isuru HEy this movie was funny as hell!! i dont know wht da rest of ya thinkin!! review sukz!! 5 stars
2/07/07 lorraine man this movies was the happs i dnt know what the rest of these people tlking about 5 stars
4/01/06 Tanya ba, they needed to chris tucker 2 stars
5/26/05 Daniel Just awesome, one of my favourite movies. I liked the first one better though. Still awesum 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson Nonstop barrage of stereotypes destroys what so called fun this lazy & vulgar comedy has!!! 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams where's smokey? 2 stars
11/11/04 colin chandler pinky makes tha movie happen 5 stars
1/17/04 J It was funny sort of. Come on bring back Christ Tucker! 3 stars
1/08/04 A F Has anyone heard of the House Party fiasco. JUST STOP! 1 stars
8/03/03 Double G funny 4 stars
7/13/03 nick g the frist one was better cuz of chris tucker 5 stars
5/28/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Thee best of the "Friday trilogy"... # 1 & 3 sucked in comparison... 4 stars
3/20/03 kelly wolfey it was good 1 stars
3/14/03 Mike Oxlong was good 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby As dull as the original was gloriously alive. 2 stars
8/08/02 Obi Wan No Chris Tucker, No Stars!!!! How dare you!!!!! 1 stars
5/11/02 Kyle If theres any proof there's no intelligent life on Earth, it's either George Dubya or this. 1 stars
3/26/02 P.Rodriguez Hey ese don't bag dis movie hey? Or me and baby joker will kill U? 5 stars
3/07/02 dannywell fucking awsome 5 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Well, a step down from the first, mainly because of the absence of Chris Tucker. 4 stars
11/17/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Man! it would have been funny if Chris Tucker was in!! 3 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat It's like watching ComicView for an hour and a half..... :( 2 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Disapointing sequal. I hated that whiny bitch ass Day-Day. 2 stars
5/22/01 Eric great followup,one of my favorite sequels 5 stars
5/12/01 Chris I think that this film is one of the greatest films! 5 stars
1/21/01 dog funny 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin Shameless sequel to "Friday" 2 stars
10/16/00 TIM THIS WHOLE GHETTO THING IS OLD... DROP IT PEOPLE. 1 stars
7/27/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS THIS WAS FUNNIER THAN THE FIRST "FRIDAY",AND I HOPE NEW LINE CINEMA MAKES ANOTHER 5 stars
7/23/00 Dimlight Makes the original look like The Godfather. 1 stars
6/10/00 The Bomb 69 few laugh out loud parts but script was all over the place 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan WOW... i didnt think it was possible to make a movie worse then FRIDAY 1 stars
2/23/00 Darvin D First really funny movie I've seen in a while. 5 stars
1/26/00 Zaw Oo Go see it! really funny. 5 stars
1/18/00 Karean Peterson Funny, but not as funny as the first Friday!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jul-2000 (MA)


Directed by
  Steve Carr

Written by
  Ice Cube

Cast
  Ice Cube
  Mike Epps
  Tom 'Tiny' Lister Jr.
  John Witherspoon
  Don Curry



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast