More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.37

Awesome: 26.16%
Worth A Look33.72%
Average: 9.88%
Pretty Bad: 11.05%
Total Crap: 19.19%

10 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Free Rein"
4 stars

The Grinch is loud, colourful, vulgar and funny. I had a great time, but I wouldn’t recommend you bring along a small child; you’re better off reading them the Dr Seuss book it’s based on instead.

Jim Carrey is the long-limbed, green and hairy Grinch who lives in a dark mountain high above Whoville. In flashback, we learn he was always picked on by the Who children for looking different. When he was rudely humiliated the one time he tried to join in at Christmas, he left Whoville and renounced Christmas. The other Whos live for Christmas. With their naturally stuck-up noses and conspicuous consumption, they’re an army of Double Bay shoppers run amok. They’re so loathsome that the nasty Grinch is the hero of this film from the start, and is most entertaining when his
heart is a few sizes too small (it’s hard to believe anyone really changes for the better at the end, the happy ending is just for show).

The little girl who wants the Grinch to rejoin Whoville, and longs to hear that Christmas is about more than buying expensive presents, is played by Taylor Momsen. Pauline Kael, writing about the child in the Lucille Ball remake of Mame memorably commented:
“There is also something unaccountable in the cast; it is listed in the credits as ‘Kirby Furlong’, and it plays little Patrick in the most meticulously irresistible style I have ever witnessed. ... Kirby Furlong is of such inhuman perfection that stamping it out wouldn’t be considered murder, would it?”
When Momsen warbles the film’s signature song, “Where are you Christmas?” (lyrics by Mariah Carey), cracked notes and all, Kael’s words came flooding back. Momsen seems to be in another movie - one without the black overtones. Carrey spends all his
time goading and trying to corrupt her, and she remains impervious. She’s a real trouper (or else she was inserted digitally during post production).

I’ve never thought much of Jim Carrey before. I’ve recognised his flair for physical comedy, and his gift for ad-libbing, but he comes across as smug and he overplays even in his dramatic roles. Ron Howard is not the world’s most imaginative director, and he doesn’t always pick good scripts, but he’s a good director of performers. He deserves full credit for allowing Carrey free rein during The Grinch (his ad-libs and take-offs, including one of Howard, are hilarious). Carrey's unrecognisable beneath all that make-up and he won me from the start - chomping on glass, and breaking into the post office to mix up the Christmas cards and fill the postal delivery slots with jury summonses.

The original story is narrated by Anthony Hopkins on the soundtrack. The writers (Jeffrey Price and Peter S. Seaman) have created their screen story by filling in gaps in the narration. Howard’s assembled one of the finest technical teams in Hollywood
to create the Whos, Whoville and the Grinch’s mountain lair. Make-up, costumes, sets, art direction - they’re all astonishing, and it’s wonderful to see this garish world vividly brought to life. Donald Peterman’s cinematography is striking, but there are
scenes (in the snow, towards the end) which are dimly lit and look flat. Howard’s other great achievement is hiring the criminally under-used Christine Baranski of Cybill (who usually plays villains and supporting characters) as the film’s romantic
lead (she’s a perfect match for the devilish Carrey).

The irony of being told by a big-budget Hollywood blockbuster (released in time for end-of-year holdiays) that Christmas is about more than spending money, was not lost on me. Seeing it in a shopping centre multiplex that may as well have been an outer suburb of Whoville, only accentuated the experience. I don’t think this is the film to teach your child the true meaning of Christmas; but it’s a fun satire of the extended shopping season that Christmas has become. If your kids understand The Truth about Santa Claus, then they’re probably old enough to love The Grinch.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1735&reviewer=104
originally posted: 12/27/00 12:46:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/14 Mario is the Best The Cat in the Hat was WAY BETTER! This movie is not so good. 2 stars
12/16/10 Dr.Lao Typical Carrye movie, all mugging and glitz with no substance 2 stars
11/24/10 Jeff Wilder Jim Carrey does a good job. But the materialistic view of Christmas is somewhat depressing. 3 stars
8/25/09 Wreck-Gar I love this movie. The makeup effects are genius and Jim is a great grinch. 5 stars
1/14/09 Anonymous. i think the grinch was a little too...crazy. but it was okay. :P 3 stars
12/04/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 4 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT TERRIBLE 1 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega A really funny Jim Carrey/Ron howard caper/fairy tale. Better than 'The Cat in the Hat'. 4 stars
1/10/07 Dude very funny 4 stars
12/28/06 Anthony Feor This is disgraceful, who thought it could be this bad 1 stars
12/24/06 Tabitha Wow the Eggnog Drinkning contest in the film is like a Bad Porn Scene 1 stars
12/09/06 AceGrinch This is cool! I am a huge grinch fanatic and i love this movie! 5 stars
12/03/06 GrinchLoaf This movie ROCKS! Merry rockin grinchmas! 5 stars
11/21/06 ManGrinch Jim Carrey makes an AWESOME grinch! I wish i could be a green furry grinch. 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini the deleted scenes on th e dvd were better than the movie! 3 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Not bad for a realism rehash, very slightly over the top, but enjoyable. 4 stars
5/02/06 chris f enjoyable movie 4 stars
4/07/06 Comrade Flix If you dont like this, you are a poo poo head. 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer JIM'S PERFORMANCE MAKES IT A TRUE CHRISTMAS CLASSIC! 5 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor Ron Howards a loser, but the movie is fine 4 stars
11/25/05 Wolfie Great! Jim looks great in green! 5 stars
11/16/05 allie BY FAR THE FUNNIEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN! i know all the lines8) 5 stars
9/27/05 Carolyn Rathburn wonderful, my grandkids love this movie 5 stars
9/12/05 Bloodclot Were you people looking at the fucking SCREEN when this was playing?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
8/28/05 Quigley i almost hated jim carrey for being in such an awful film. poor dr. seuss! 1 stars
8/12/05 ES Dr. Suess is rolling in his grave 1 stars
8/06/05 Zack Never cast Jim Carrey in an adaptation of a book! 1 stars
6/08/05 Valerie G. Kinda funny. 4 stars
4/18/05 Jeff Anderson Not as bad as I feared, but nothing really special. Visually overdone & murky, though. 3 stars
3/21/05 Danielle Sanderson wow!this film is 1 of the funniest films EVER! "your 8years old and you have a beard" ha ha 5 stars
2/24/05 DM Jim Carrey is hilarious. Christine Baranski needs way more roles. 4 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops You're a funny one, Mr. Carrey 4 stars
1/19/05 Keaton the Black Jackal What can I say? Jim Carrey's just awesome. 5 stars
11/02/04 courtney hussey this movie is my favorite movie, the best EVERRR.. 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. Best remake ever made 4 stars
12/23/03 I Would Visual flair can't make up for this piece of shit. 2 stars
12/12/03 Jessica Jones This movie is the funniest thing i have seen in a long time 5 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/24/03 Samuel Better than 'The Cat in the Hat' Jim Carrey is better than Mike Myers too! 5 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik It is an aggravating, infuriating mess. 1 stars
3/17/03 Peter I found this movie to be hilarious, and Jim Carrey was the perfect choice for the role! 5 stars
2/21/03 Mister Bigglesworth A 90 minute commercial for insipid toys. Suess's widow is very happy to market this shiite. 2 stars
1/19/03 Goofy Maxwell Doesn't matchup to the toon, but felt familiar enough. 4 stars
12/10/02 helmand it sucked 1 stars
12/03/02 Gazza E I can't believe Ron Howard could make something so bad!! 1 stars
10/11/02 pokeoutmyeyes appallingly bad, dull, unfunny, naseating 1 stars
6/28/02 Justin Great! 5 stars
5/15/02 Blake The only reason why I like this film is because Faith Hill sings Where are you Christmas. 5 stars
2/24/02 Chris K. Ron Howard is now blacklisted from being behind camera. Opie needs to get a new career! 1 stars
1/16/02 David A. Without Dr. Seuss's artwork, it just couldn't fly 2 stars
1/07/02 kevin hudson its a good movie 4 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles STINK STANK STUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/24/01 THE MAN you got to lobve the big butt girls at the start mmmmmm 3 stars
11/23/01 Will Diamond Eh..... nope 2 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Truly pathetic. Little Opie Cunningham screwed the pooch with this wet fart of a movie. 1 stars
9/17/01 Bri Little Cindy and young Grinch steal the movie. 5 stars
9/06/01 Goldhammer Vile piece of shit. Desecrates, rapes, and vomits on Seuss's beautiful tale. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Ron Howard ruined Christmas! Who the fuck does that bald bastard think he is? 1 stars
4/10/01 Gary Makeup was supurb. Good story line. It's an instant classic! 5 stars
3/26/01 C A Brown Although it departed from Seuss's original story, it was still amazingly funny! 5 stars
1/29/01 Nic I would rahter gag myself with a spoon multiple times than see this movie ever again! 1 stars
1/20/01 Ali Genova The movir is awesome. 5 stars
1/16/01 Nut Mind-numbing crap. A childhood treasure destroyed by a focus group. You like? You are dumb. 1 stars
1/11/01 The Grinch It made me want to put the popcorn bag over my head 2 stars
1/03/01 Collegebrat19 Great! I laughed the whole time. 5 stars
1/02/01 jack it was the best 5 stars
1/01/01 Jack the Ripper Everyone who made this movie should be ashamed. 1 stars
12/31/00 stephanie ok 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Jim Carrey proves his that he can definitely act here. Better than the cartoon! 5 stars
12/25/00 Damion Cain Will someone please kill Jim Carey? I'll pay you! 5 stars
12/24/00 Reverend Krule They ruined a classic!!!!!! 1 stars
12/24/00 Matthew Bartley Good kids flick. Carrey is hugely amusing but I wish Tim Burton had directed it 3 stars
12/21/00 fifu it was just what i guessed it would be like 2 stars
12/19/00 Julia So awful- made me want to vomit.Dr. Seuss is spinning in his grave in abject horror. 1 stars
12/17/00 Tom The movie is beautiful, that's all i'll say 5 stars
12/15/00 The-Fider Funny! cool, I love orign stories ^__^ The sets are INCREDIBLE! A cool film. 5 stars
12/14/00 Mr J M HARWOOD The The The GRINCH RULES 5 stars
12/12/00 PhilmPhreak W-E-A-K 2 stars
12/10/00 Denny Great theme attacks Christmas commercialism.Grinch is well developed character.GREAT! 5 stars
12/10/00 LauraMarie66@aol.com it was exactly what i expected, hysteria , coming from a actor like Jim Carey 5 stars
12/04/00 Tdis72 Not bad if you have kids to take and see! Otherwise, average! 3 stars
12/04/00 puckfreak See it with an open mind. 4 stars
12/03/00 prima sp vardhana the best film for child education 5 stars
12/03/00 maryj a waste of time & money 1 stars
12/02/00 RICK Fantastically entertaining... very funny... Nothing beats Dr. Suess 5 stars
11/30/00 ZuG Couldn't have done it w/o Jim, but he overacted and stepped out of character. 4 stars
11/28/00 Nessus Grinch not villan, epiphany at end of film just wasn't the same, Jim WAS the Grunch 3 stars
11/27/00 rdrdwine.manitoba Excellent! Brilliantly Done!Two Thumbs UP. Way up 5 stars
11/27/00 Ellen A wonderful film full of magic and some subtle adult humour. 5 stars
11/26/00 Suzie As good as you'll get with real people. Chrisine was hot, the girl was a real Cindy. 4 stars
11/26/00 Jenny-My-Fur this movie rocked my world to say the least, jim is incrdible! kick ass movie! 5 stars
11/26/00 hk It was nothing like the original story! 2 stars
11/23/00 ricky It would have been better than the original, but there were a some scenes that had no point 4 stars
11/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Jim Carrey, Who? I stayed home. 2 stars
11/21/00 Jim Bob Who This movie totally stunk, I mean the Grinch looked like a large, furry, green turd! 1 stars
11/21/00 pooky love The Grinch should have stole some talent! 1 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head This is what you get when you cross a gynecological deformity with a bleeding hemorrhoid!! 1 stars
11/21/00 Raquelle Excellent update to the classic, deals with new issues like prejudice and commercialism. 5 stars
11/21/00 JB The best argument against letting lesbians raise a green Who 1 stars
11/20/00 Fishie unbelieveable attention to every detail and jim carrey does a great job. 4 stars
11/20/00 The Bomb 69 the look was magnificent, the story was weak 3 stars
11/20/00 Seth the humor was ok 4 stars
11/20/00 Nick I hate Jim Carrey 1 stars
11/20/00 loser sucks 2 stars
11/20/00 Stuntman okay movie, great adaptation of the kid's book 3 stars
11/20/00 Trish Was a generally fun (though sometimes creepy) movie experience. 4 stars
11/19/00 Krystal Wish I could say better, but...this just never took off 2 stars
11/19/00 rogo742 Carrey totally over the top but that's how we love him. The sets and the costumes A+. 4 stars
11/19/00 ricky awsome 5 stars
11/19/00 me cool graphics!! 4 stars
11/18/00 natasha slow start, magical finish 4 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head Carey, Backer, and the sets are wonderful..some parts represent a bleeding hemorroid,though 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Nov-2000 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Nov-2000 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast