More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.4

Awesome: 6.32%
Worth A Look: 10.53%
Average30.53%
Pretty Bad: 22.11%
Total Crap30.53%

7 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Quantum of Solace
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"What's the point?"
1 stars

The best parts of "Quantum of Solace," the new James Bond film, are the stylized-as-usual opening credits, which promise a lush and explosive evening, and the familiar gun-barrel bit with the classic 007 theme at the end.

These are the only parts that feel like a James Bond film. The rest is filler, which means the entire actual movie is filler. It is incomprehensible, blandly motivated, and flat-out dull. Iím one of those moviegoers who donít have a great emotional stake in 007 but believe that if a Bond flick isnít going to be awesomely ridiculous or ridiculously awesome, thereís little point to it.

The series had in recent years gotten bloated and decadent, though that was more a reflection on the weak scripts than on the traditional Bond style. So, with 2006ís Casino Royale and now Quantum of Solace, which is more like Casino Royale Vol. 2, we get a grim, stripped-down Bond (Daniel Craig). As many have pointed out, the Bond series has rebooted by imitating one of its own imitators, the Bourne series with Matt Damon. Whereís the fun in that? Whereís the escapism, the ludicrous plots, the stunts that prompt gasps and laughter? Recasting Bond as a gritty football hooligan in a suit is like performing Wagner with a symphony of kazoos.

This Bond kills assassins by stabbing them in the leg, then shuffling away with a scowl; Sean Connery was no less brutal, but somehow added suavity and humor to the violence. It doesnít help that the carnageís orchestrator is hack director Marc Forster, who skips from genre to genre (Finding Neverland, Stranger Than Fiction, The Kite Runner) without offering any particular point of view. Here, Forster splinters the action into so many unreadable shards. When I donít care about whatís happening, thatís one thing. When I canít see whatís happening, thatís another thing. When I donít care that I canít see whatís happening, thatís movie death.

Bondís mission here is to crack the terrorist organization Quantum and avenge the previous Bond girl (Eva Green) who died in Casino Royale. Sounds simple, but the Bond movies arenít happy unless they complicate things unnecessarily, so there are double-crosses and globe-hopping, all of which plays as padding. In other Bond movies, we at least had absurd set pieces or eye candy to pass the time. But the Bond girls have gotten duller along with their surroundings, as have their names (ďStrawberry FieldsĒ is the best the writers can come up with here). And who doesnít miss those glorious Ken Adam sets, instead of the grunting fisticuffs played out in squalid hotel rooms that we get here?

Despite its promisingly oblique title, Quantum of Solace is all on the surface, and those who honk on about Bondís complex emotional progress in this movie are delusional; Daniel Craig is a stiff in a suit here, and it occurred to me that, between these new straight-faced 007 films and anguished epics like The Dark Knight and the upcoming Watchmen, fanboys increasingly prefer their thrills somber and ďrealistic.Ē A fanciful throwback like Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, with its much-derided nuke-the-fridge gag, doesnít fit well in this clenched new environment, and neither would the old James Bond.

But if "Quantum of Solace" refuses to offer style, vision, or excitement, why is it there? Why, other than a big paycheck for Columbia and MGM every few years and a regular fix for 007 die-hards, is this series still going?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=17375&reviewer=416
originally posted: 11/16/08 10:20:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell ok bond flick 3 stars
3/09/17 Louise (the actual one) Dreadful, badly-directed mess with a lame villain and even lamer theme song. Bad. 2 stars
3/25/13 KingNeutron Not very memorable, and the opening song is just awful 3 stars
10/20/10 Saif A. Khan Trust me...this film gets better each time you watch it. I think it is more of a companion 4 stars
9/23/10 Dr.Lao A Bond movie with none of the things one goes to see a Bond film for. 1 stars
7/14/10 matt its grown on me. good action, good performances, just a little short and a weak-ish plot 4 stars
1/05/10 James Smith poor direction ruined action scenes. Not Bond either! 2 stars
4/25/09 David Bad. Bad. Bad. But it's predecessor was fine and the best Bond in years. 1 stars
4/13/09 hawkeye impossible to make sense of..dissapointing 2 stars
4/11/09 Baloney Minor hiccups in action sequencing and pacing don't ruin an otherwise good spy flick. 4 stars
4/02/09 action movie fan good action weak plot and characters-daniel craig is a ppor excuse for bond 3 stars
3/29/09 Michael M. Boring, incomprehensible, and pointless movie. 1 stars
3/28/09 Monday Morning The Bond franchise needs to be put down. And Daniel Craig is loathsome. 2 stars
3/27/09 CTT Not bad; features Haggis' patented anti-American BS 4 stars
3/22/09 Tiimothy After the brilliant Casino Royale, this movie was a real let down. 2 stars
2/28/09 Steve Absolutely blew me away. One of the best Bonds. 5 stars
2/28/09 Sam Golden Disappointing beyond belief. First Bond movie that made me want to leave the cinema early 1 stars
2/19/09 craig this movie was missing one crucial ingredient: INVENTIVENESS. 2 stars
2/07/09 Jess Little plot, all action. Needn't have been Bond at all. Waste of my time! 1 stars
1/27/09 pin Good action, well acted, better than reviewed. 4 stars
1/25/09 matt badly paced and directed. a mediocre action movie than happens to star Bond. 3 stars
1/19/09 Jack Boring & Stupid. These nitwits even ripped-off Goldfinger. What does that tell U? 1 stars
1/16/09 Aesop Stop looking for Brosnan/Dalton/Moore/Connery. This Bond kicks @$$. 5 stars
1/13/09 Jessie I was sorely disappointed. Tried to like it, but failed. everything needed work 1 stars
12/25/08 Justin A real piece of crap. Just a completely stupid waste of time. Why Bond why? 1 stars
12/17/08 Marc N Horrible Bond movie, Daniel Craig looks like a thug not J Bond! 1 stars
12/14/08 WB5MXO Worst Bond movie ever. Choppy,hard to follow and the close up action scenes were very jerky 2 stars
12/13/08 Annie G So incredibly disappointing after CR, I actually felt a little sick. 2 stars
12/11/08 Jack Ryan Total Crap. The fun is gone from Bond. You couldn't pay me to watch it again! 1 stars
12/09/08 s close up of M applying & removing cold creme- WTF 1 stars
12/08/08 James Blonde This movie was ok but, im so sick of shaky/jerky camera action!!! 4 stars
12/07/08 Ian this movie restores purpose and place to the Bond character. cool as hell. 5 stars
12/06/08 Jared Robb Although this wasn't a charming JB movie, it was exciting. Which isn't always good. 3 stars
12/06/08 Steven Gilpin This movie was unbelievably cool. 5 stars
12/05/08 jim Such a disappointment. Did James crack one smile in the entire movie? 2 stars
12/05/08 Jerry Orchard the worst Bodn film ever. Danile Craig please go home, James Bond please come back! 1 stars
12/01/08 Jiz Stealing water from third-world countries? What happened to the GOOD villains? 1 stars
11/30/08 Koitus Ugh... Story was hard to follow; choppy editing for action scenes, too... 1 stars
11/27/08 littlered too "shoot'em up for me" 2 stars
11/24/08 "Big Brother" The DIRECTOR ruined this movie, turned what could've been just passable into plain mediocre 2 stars
11/21/08 aliceinwonderland There is only one word for this movie: BORING 1 stars
11/20/08 Anthony Feor Quantum of Solace, directed by Michael Bay. Did anyone know what was going on? 2 stars
11/20/08 David Hey Louise, don't use big words you do not understand 5 stars
11/19/08 Bnorm I enjoyed this movie I don't really understand this amount of negative reviews 4 stars
11/19/08 mark gibson I really enjoyed it, yeh it messes with the formula but so what! 5 stars
11/19/08 Richard Remington Roger Moore is the only true James Bond,the other ones are all a bunch of clowns! 1 stars
11/17/08 Louise Badly directed, incoherent plot, lame villain - very disappointing! 2 stars
11/17/08 David G A visualy imaginative, thrilling follow up to Casino Royale 4 stars
11/16/08 mr.mike Worth seeing despite a good deal of problems. 4 stars
11/16/08 Chode Pretty lame. 2 stars
11/15/08 Ed Blackwood How to get sea sick in a theater seat 2 stars
11/15/08 Darkstar Lots of action, not as good as Casino Royal. 4 stars
11/15/08 PAUL SHORTT OVERWROUGHT, INCOHERENT AND DATED 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Nov-2008 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Mar-2009

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Nov-2008
  DVD: 24-Mar-2009



[trailer] Trailer




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast