More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome54.81%
Worth A Look: 20.74%
Average: 17.04%
Pretty Bad: 5.93%
Total Crap: 1.48%

8 reviews, 87 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

Farewell, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pleasantville
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A noble ambition confused to the point of annoyance."
3 stars

Pleasantville is a way mixed bag. Sometimes just brilliant, sometimes a silly little teen flick, sometimes a preachy life lesson. But mostly, it's cute. Just cute. Not life-altering… just cute.

Reese Witherspoon and Tobey Maguire are… well, let's be honest, they're stereotypes of modern day teenagers. One day they bust the remote control of their TV, only for it to be replaced by a spooky TV repairman. When they use it, they get sucked into the TV world of Pleasantville, a black and white world where everything is perfect.

But what happens when the kids start to introduce some non-perfect world ideas into the minds of the Pleasantville locals? They start to get colour. Ew.

Now people have read a whole lot into the racism messages in this film, and for the most part I thought these people were all just plain nutso. The film isn't about racism, it's about luddism. It's about not relying on technology to be our babysitters, not wasting our lives doing nothing of importance, it's about being open to new ideas… or at least it started that way, but then someone obviously got their hands on the script and changed stuff. At about a half hour before the finish, the political correctness seeps in and the characters begin to turn as stereotypical as anything you've seen. The story gets stupid. The humour disappears. And mom turns into a slut.

Basically Pleasantville starts with a five star flourish but sputters to a standstill by the end.

Even at it's worst it's a positive experience, but the shame is that such a great base is abandoned in the pursuit of an easier to read "message".

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=175&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/07/99 01:07:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell nice visuals but very overrated 3 stars
4/28/14 Jeff WIlder Lacks bite as a satire. But entertains and provokes some thought. 4 stars
9/14/09 the dork knight Film has trouble committing between farce and comedy. Feels uneven 4 stars
3/18/09 Dr.Lao Fascinating idea, could have used one more re-wright though 4 stars
8/21/08 Amanda if you feel the need to judge a movie based on face and not on morals, grow up. 5 stars
5/24/08 PAUL SHORTT A MORE FITTING TITLE WOULD HAVE BEEN 'UNPLEASANTVILLE' 1 stars
5/27/07 WalkingDisaster Love this movie! 5 stars
11/19/06 lil not bad 3 stars
3/25/06 krystal You have to see this movie its an olie but a goodie 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Strong message about intolerance and the loss of innocence= one for the ages 5 stars
3/15/05 RUDI BRINK THE MOVIE WAS VERY INTERESTING, SOME OF THE MOVIE WAS CHEESY BUT OVER ALL IT WAS MADE WELL. 4 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson A great looking, richly acted, & dreamy film! ANYWAY, THREE CHEERS FOR DON KNOTTS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/05/04 DM Really good movie 5 stars
5/16/04 Daveman It's really sad that such an awesome technical triumph doesn't realise its potential. 3 stars
3/27/04 Ghetto Smurf   5 stars
11/24/03 smartmusician good 4 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick two thumbs up 5 stars
1/05/03 BAM A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/13/02 Andrew Carden Nostalgic Film Is Also Realistic and Greatly Dramatic. 5 stars
8/09/02 palaboy101 the twilight zone premise put to good use, the ending though was a bit of a letdown. 4 stars
7/16/02 R.W. Welch Imaginative premise undermined by slow pace and preachy tendencies. 3 stars
4/04/02 ellie Funny and clever, Tobey Maguire proves he's one of the best actors around. 5 stars
2/08/02 Meredith Harshaw Moving at first but silly on further reflection. 2 stars
2/02/02 kinkykaty Brilliant film,loved Jeff daniels sweet,naive role most of all. 5 stars
11/18/01 Jim Amazing satire with a lot on its mind -- maybe TOO much, but most movies have too little! 5 stars
9/23/01 Matthew Bartley Great film.It stands up to so many repeat viewings 5 stars
8/03/01 Elvisfan It was all right, a little bit much by the end 4 stars
7/17/01 The Hamburgler THE TOXIC BUTTHOLE WILL PREVAIL!!!!! 5 stars
7/07/01 Dom Corleone superb 5 stars
4/14/01 LiL Cool film Reese and Toby rock! 5 stars
3/29/01 Joel Great movie! 5 stars
12/17/00 The Evil Penguin I agree with Ionicera 3 stars
6/13/00 danilo starts off good -- but gets VERY boring in the end 3 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers I didn't know what was going on! 2 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera interesting message that was stretched past its limits and spoon fed to the audience 3 stars
2/18/00 Richard Wright Decent special effects wasted on a sentimental slop of a film.The last 30 mins suck esp. 2 stars
2/17/00 Starla EXCELLENT! A strikingly memorable film, everyone should see it-now! 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Pasted a cheesy smile on my face for hours. Reminds me of my own neighborhood. :-) 5 stars
12/27/99 Malini Tobey Maguire and Reese Witherspoon were great in this cool in a way 50s film! 5 stars
12/15/99 Paul Extremely funny and witty with drama mixed it. Not to be missed 5 stars
10/30/99 Bozo enjoyed it very much but it could have been better 4 stars
8/14/99 Marshy Got rave reviews but still underrated... See it! Great movie! 5 stars
7/28/99 Matthew Bartley Brilliant 5 stars
6/23/99 Tristynn I just don't understand the hype.. not that great of a movie.. 3 stars
4/30/99 Matthew Bartley Brilliant cast,stunning effects. Top marks for this one! 5 stars
4/06/99 David BORING ONLY A POMPOUS ASS WOULD LIKE IT! 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm masturbation scene ruled!!! 4 stars
3/09/99 Wolfy316 A truly wonderful film, telling a moral tale with being overly moralistic. 5 stars
3/08/99 CanadianChica Going into this movie, i was thinking fun- going out, i was thinking...awesome!!!!!! 5 stars
3/06/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! IN-DEPTH AND ORIGINAL,A PLEASURE TO WATCH. 4 stars
3/05/99 stuck in lilydale Did anyone else think this was one of the most annoyingly pleasant films ever made? 3 stars
1/24/99 donkey_dew More special effect shots than Titanic, Armageddon, and Jurrasic Park combined? Fucking aye 5 stars
1/12/99 Miss Scarlett Ok, the bathtub scene? 'Nuff said. 2 stars
1/12/99 demon_shredder Not bad...not too bad at all. 5 stars
1/10/99 Diogenesnutz This movie was really annoying. I don't know what else to say. 2 stars
1/05/99 JLB Derivative, too many mixed metaphors, pure yuck, but kinda nice visually 3 stars
12/31/98 Todd Great - though a bit preachy at the end 4 stars
12/18/98 Edward The Great Beyond 5 stars
12/16/98 A Gen Xer I thought it was spot-on. My black n' white dad didn't like. Go figure... 4 stars
12/10/98 Bryan Technical wizardry 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz A flawed but beguiling directional debut. 4 stars
12/03/98 Kirgo .......... 5 stars
11/30/98 Bill C. A nostalgic look back at the innocent 50's 5 stars
11/25/98 John Maybe intensify the dark side/more impact! 4 stars
11/25/98 Brimley Sentiments for the Gen-X age- I'd take the less confusing Frank Capra any day 1 stars
11/22/98 Bic W Should be called Dullsville - neat technical tricks, but not worth a full length film 2 stars
11/21/98 Craig Big Eagle This movie is just great. Makes you think a little...even if your a brainless amoeba 5 stars
11/20/98 evil buffy better than i thought i would be. nice effects but issues too. 4 stars
11/20/98 Jumbles Very enjoyable film of ideas, but a bit slow and heavy-handed in spots. 4 stars
11/12/98 Tracy incredible! Makes me want to have sex.... 5 stars
11/11/98 JC Kick-ass! 5 stars
11/09/98 Spice come on baby lets get in technicolor! 4 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey Unusual movie. Worth the ticket. 5 stars
11/04/98 The Graduate Gorgeous visuals, great characters. Too bad the trailer gives 90% of the plot away. 4 stars
11/03/98 grunter Doesn't live up to the hype, has NO CHANCE of winning an Oscar fanboy geeks!! 3 stars
10/29/98 dana Yow! 5 stars
10/29/98 Phil Scroggs Moderately entertaining; cool effects. 4 stars
10/28/98 Milhouse Faqw What a great movie! It had a great plot, script and special effects! Bravo! 5 stars
10/27/98 Paige Blackheart I laughed, I cried, I loved it! 5 stars
10/27/98 Blake This movie sucked 2 stars
10/27/98 i8bozo props to my co-workers for a job well done 5 stars
10/26/98 Gamma Outstanding Performances all around. Visual Effects A++. Terrific story. All Great! 5 stars
10/25/98 Negative Creep Its DON KNOTTS! And He's FUNNY! Someone Get this Man Some WORK! Oh yeah movie was a'ight ;) 4 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool I really feel this is the film to watch this year. Pleasantville is a worthwhile movie. 5 stars
10/01/98 katherine great story, and pretty funny. 4 stars
9/29/98 brian Amazing! More like Back to the Future then Truman Show! 5 stars
8/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Teenagers find themselves stuck in a 50's sitcom. Works really well, a great film. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Oct-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Feb-1999


Directed by
  Gary Ross

Written by
  Gary Ross

Cast
  Jeff Daniels
  Don Knotts
  William H. Macy
  Reese Witherspoon
  Tobey Maguire
  J.T. Walsh



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast