More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.57

Awesome75.65%
Worth A Look: 13.87%
Average: 3.66%
Pretty Bad: 4.97%
Total Crap: 1.83%

20 reviews, 262 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


American History X
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Without Norton, you really don't have a movie."
2 stars

I'll begin by praising Edward Norton, the only reason to see "American History X." Norton had been magnetic in his previous film, the lame "Rounders"; here he's even better in a far worse movie.

Norton effortlessly slips into the tattooed skin of Derek Vinyard, a Venice Beach kid whose fireman dad was killed in a crack-house blaze. Derek pours his grief and rage into the cracked container of white supremacy; it's only a matter of time before he cracks, too. A brave and direct actor, Norton sells Derek's racist rants with scary conviction. His intonations and rhythms suggest a bright young man who's finally found a philosophy that makes sense to him. He makes you feel what it might be like to be a confused kid clinging to hatred.

For all his intelligence and skill, Norton can't save the movie he's stuck in, but to be fair, I doubt anyone could. American History X is trite rubbish -- an ABC Afterschool Special pumped up with flashy, pretentious style and "gritty" realism. Derek, who's just gotten out of jail (for killing two black kids trying to steal his truck), has reformed and cast off his skinhead ways. Problem: his kid brother Danny (Edward Furlong), who idolizes Derek, has fallen in with skinheads himself. Derek must redeem himself by rescuing Danny from his own former madness.

The script, by David McKenna, is maddeningly sketchy. We're told that all the skinheads revere Derek, that he and a white supremacist (Stacy Keach) started the movement in Venice Beach. But though the movie has many flashbacks, we never see how Derek built himself up as a skinhead leader, or how he joined up with Keach. We don't really believe in Derek's rage over his father's death, because the one flashback featuring the two reveals little warmth between them. We don't believe Derek's mother (Beverly D'Angelo) could be such a dishrag that she'd let Danny keep Nazi decorations in his room even after Derek has gone to prison. (The women in this film are enablers, racist temptresses, or powerless whiners.)

Most of all, despite the best efforts of Norton and Furlong (who's good), we don't believe their reformation. Danny isn't a character; he's a blank kid who'll do whatever Derek does. The key event for Derek, in prison, is when another skinhead rapes him -- it's as if the movie is saying, "See, kids, this is what could happen if you hang swastikas in your room." When Danny hears the story, he seems changed, too. Forget brotherhood: the fear of anal rape is the real answer to social ills.

For a while, American History X flirts with Clockwork Orange territory. Derek visits his racist mentor and decks him, which seems suicidal, considering the dozens of skinheads partying in the next room. Isn't he afraid of reprisals against his family? Amazingly, McKenna drops this thread completely, but he wants an empty nihilistic ending, so we get a tragedy utterly out of left field. Characters like Derek's rabid girlfriend (an underused Fairuza Balk) fade in and out of the movie. Presiding over it all is Avery Brooks, of the great stentorian voice, as a wise double-Ph.D. teacher; this character, like the black convict (Guy Torry) who befriends Derek in jail, seems to exist only to deflect possible charges that the movie itself is racist.

Director Tony Kaye, who made much noise about the film's being taken away from him and recut, doesn't seem interested in the inner workings of racists. His forte is grainy, banal images familiar from TV ads (which is Kaye's background). The only time he wakes us up is in the violent scenes, but any idiot can make us wince at the ugliness of beatings and shootings (the curbstomping scene has become legendary). With dialogue scenes, Kaye is hopeless -- he takes the camera so close in that you could lose your hand inside the pores in Edward Norton's left nostril.

The thin skin of Kaye's style can't cover the story's bare bones. "American History X" wants to be a fire-breathing melodrama, but it just blows stale air into your face. Edward Norton cuts through some of it. But a powerful young actor can only do so much.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=176&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/24/06 13:07:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/04/14 ynpwrbrfp USA 4 stars
4/16/14 yqlondyx USA 2 stars
4/14/14 Bupoqrrg USA 2 stars
4/10/14 qucbixkl USA 3 stars
4/09/14 Nnqlsuew USA 3 stars
2/05/14 Gytxsxbm USA 4 stars
2/02/14 Jnyqlauw USA 3 stars
1/24/14 Rkafluun USA 2 stars
9/25/13 David Hollingsworth A tough, gritty, but disturbingly true film about racism 5 stars
4/05/13 andrew borg heavy handed,didactic,terribly directed simplistic dirge,this reviewer got it right 1 stars
12/09/12 Simon Finest work by the finest of actors (Norton), some hokey directing but such a powerful lead 5 stars
8/16/11 chris A hour and a half of racial slurs and a message so worn out its ridiculous. 2 stars
4/13/11 Ian Critic is obviously fucking stupid, and a butthurt white supremacist. 5 stars
11/22/10 hussell youre an idiot kid learn how to watch a fuckin movie dumbass 5 stars
6/19/10 TravisN Norton was good, very good. But the film doesn't really say much that hasn't been said. 2 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT HARD-HITTING, TENSE MELODRAMA OF RACISM 3 stars
3/05/10 Stefano What an ignorant Critic! he just fails and keep failing over and over again... 5 stars
12/01/09 nathan i hear rob gonsalves sucks some pretty epic cock 5 stars
10/05/09 Angel This is a great film! Finally we see racism through the racist eyes unlike most movies 5 stars
8/25/09 Dooooood Gonsalves has missed major points in this film. Shit happened because it does in realitytoo 5 stars
8/02/09 matt greatest movie ever made, bar none 5 stars
7/27/09 Patrick The dinner table scene is one of the best i've ever seen. Norton is obscenely good. 5 stars
6/20/09 Ali Not even Norton could save this overwrought mess. 1 stars
6/14/09 WB This Hollywood treatment of racism just doesn't cut it. Watch Black-directed films. 2 stars
4/08/09 Paul V Perhaps you should stick to watching Borat and leave the reviews to the men. 5 stars
3/08/09 Julien Chavy I guess Rob Gonsalves was too busy jacking off to watch the movie. 5 stars
2/08/09 Jon I've heard people say it has a weak script. ARE YOU F*CKING KIDDING ME? Dinner table fight? 5 stars
1/13/09 brood yes, to someone who is completely numb to human ignorance. this may seem llike a bad movie 5 stars
1/11/09 mike reviewer missed where the film peeled back layers of hypocrisy covering all people 4 stars
1/07/09 David Hands down, the best film of all time. 10 years later, I still get gosebumps watching. 5 stars
11/27/08 trav Excellent film, Danny is NOT a blank character, did you even watch the movie? 5 stars
10/25/08 Joseph Petroski The film is brilliant, same as Norton. Maybe it was too gritty for your taste. 5 stars
10/25/08 John Smith Amazing film. Horrible review. Retarded critic. 5 stars
10/12/08 sdot its a barry film 4 stars
10/08/08 Rolland intelligent 4 stars
10/01/08 Quigley I've never seen a more angry and hate-filled film than this. Says a lot of important things 4 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
8/12/08 Jason This is why I place movie critics in the same category as the paparazzi. morons 1 stars
8/08/08 Dom Great performance by Norton, btw sodomy doesnt cause change, but getting backstabbed does 5 stars
8/04/08 Nicholas Review is almost spot on. The film is not completely useless, just incredibly pointless. 2 stars
8/04/08 miller S greatest movie ive ever seen, changed me life 5 stars
7/01/08 Victor Great movies, never loses its touch 5 stars
6/23/08 Rob Gonsalves is not the brightest man. Rape isn't the solution to all of society's ills, but it strips a person of their dignity. 4 stars
5/19/08 Reza Tayebi It could be a lot better. 3 stars
5/18/08 fuckin'_racist amazing one i really love it damn do u know somethin' i really like the way when he broke 4 stars
4/18/08 Stephanie This was a great movie i enjoyed every second of it 5 stars
2/04/08 Tymberr :D This is movie is my favorite and I love it! 5 stars
11/30/07 Tip this critic is a bumbling moron. this movie has the balls to tackle the batttle with racism 5 stars
11/05/07 omaros (omar@uum.edu.my) I enjoy the film. 4 stars
10/18/07 mf this guy is just angry about his own life, pessimist 3 stars
9/24/07 Truth offensive to the closed minded, do not watch if you are not open minded. 4 stars
7/24/07 Michelle Hinojosa a great lesson for all of us out there 5 stars
6/11/07 al smith awesome norton is astounding some of the best acting i have ever seen 5 stars
6/05/07 action movie fan powerful and exciting-realistic dialouge-tough and gutsy despite overwrought ending 5 stars
6/01/07 Jackie L. Vester This was one of the best movies eber made. I don't know who "skinhead88' is but I think he 5 stars
5/20/07 alan_m gnarly! 5 stars
5/19/07 Emily I love this movie! It sends a good message and life lesson! 5 stars
5/08/07 R.W.Welch Electric. Not much chance Norton will ever top this perf. 5 stars
1/22/07 jeannie karlsen This movie is awsome, deserved some academy awards. Both Ed's are fantastic!!! 5 stars
1/08/07 Bitchflaps Overwraught senationalism with no dramatic subtlety. 1 stars
11/23/06 Tiffany Losco Crazy, I can't believe the part where he kicked the guys teeth into the sidewalk. OUCH 4 stars
9/18/06 CynthiaJ This is a very powerful movie, with a message that should not be over looked. 5 stars
8/19/06 Michele awesome 5 stars
7/31/06 Davina Staggeringly effective. 5 stars
4/14/06 sara hopefully it will open people eyes that skinheads were never racist 4 stars
2/22/06 ronald manipulative racist nonsense.Norton is one of the most overrated actors ever 1 stars
11/25/05 Helluva20022 GREATNESS 5 stars
11/21/05 DM A collection of well-acted, often moving scenes that don't quite add up to a whole. 4 stars
11/14/05 trandfir alexandru robert perfect 5 stars
11/03/05 stacey peck its the best movie i have ever seen!!! 5 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane Absoulutly incredible, Its very shocking how violent Los angeles can be. 5 stars
9/16/05 julio La mejor actuación de Edward Norton 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Very manipulative flick. Notice the Bad Guy is one obscenely fat dude, not wiry like Norton 1 stars
8/24/05 ES reverse which brother pays for their racism and which one goes clean and it'd been perfect 4 stars
8/23/05 thameshan govender breathtaking 5 stars
7/26/05 Audrey Simply an amazing film. 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Why is this great film so underrated? 5 stars
6/28/05 Aaron wride great film i loved derek in the shower 5 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Great Movie! What more can I say? Great Movie! 5 stars
4/30/05 Hack-SAW Not too bad... I absolutley hated all the Neo-Nazis & racial slurs. 4 stars
3/25/05 Jake Slave Despite the terrible ending, one of the best movies of the 1990s. 5 stars
3/22/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Bought the dvd, so I could see Norton nude. Hated the ending. 3 stars
3/15/05 brody why didn't ed norton get oscar 5 stars
2/11/05 H.P. Lovecraft No shit, this is a great movie. 5 stars
12/21/04 Ryan A stunning piece of movie making 5 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain A Truly Great Movie, The Most Underrated of the 1990's, Best film of '98. 5 stars
11/19/04 Stallion Great Movie 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Excellent movie, disappointing ending though 5 stars
10/17/04 Pollo The best movie. Edward Norton play the best role of his life. 5 stars
9/26/04 joe morsa i love it 5 stars
8/11/04 Candice Freiday Edward Norton did an excellent job in this movie!! He is the greatest!!! 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fucking good shit 5 stars
7/08/04 bryan its everything a movie can be 5 stars
7/01/04 Jen Brez It was a fucken good movie. 5 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva this movie is very good i liked the aspect of the paper 5 stars
6/12/04 troy its the best movie ive ever seen 5 stars
6/05/04 MyGreenBed Horrendously awful, incredibly overrated movie. Pure melodrama ala "after school special". 1 stars
6/02/04 Daveman Tries to pose as something "thought provoking" by raising heavy but familiar questions. 3 stars
5/21/04 D who wever wrote the EFC is a person who listens to music, but does not hear the words...... 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose Awesome movie, Where's the oscar for Edward Norton??? 5 stars
5/11/04 Denise Duspiva Tragic 5 stars
5/11/04 Patrick very powerful 5 stars
5/09/04 Charlene Javier Why didn't Norton win an Oscar for this? 5 stars
5/07/04 gray powerful 5 stars
5/02/04 I Would 82% Awesome? Too many kids reviewing this film. 3 stars
4/27/04 adriana the greatest movie ever 5 stars
3/09/04 Charles Tatum Melodramatic "White Boyz 'n' the Hood," I guess sodomy changes a lot of people's minds! 3 stars
3/06/04 SARA MAKES YA THINK 5 stars
2/22/04 ellen i think this is one of the best movies i ever have seen.... i love it! 5 stars
2/11/04 Vince Norton is awesome of couse, but Beverly D'angelo shines as well 5 stars
2/06/04 Jiz .... Damn ... That was a good movie... 5 stars
1/26/04 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) OK, now for a real comment. X is a brilliant, sociologically attuned masterpiece. Bitchin'. 5 stars
1/03/04 A F Doesn't get much better than this. 5 stars
12/18/03 Jennifer REALITY 5 stars
12/16/03 Samuel This film is great, and it showsthe truth about racism in our country. 5 stars
12/08/03 john sensational! 5 stars
11/29/03 Kait Whistler a cinimatography masterpiece saturated with film noir overtones 5 stars
10/23/03 shaggy Edward Norton is the king. He really had to bulk up for this one. 5 stars
9/23/03 Cody HellA Good 5 stars
8/14/03 Lucy Ordaz Its a fucken badass movie.....and one of the BEST 5 stars
8/14/03 Jeannie Karlsen This movie is awsome, deserved some academy awards. Both Ed's are fantastic!!! 5 stars
8/04/03 I Would Shoddy and pretentious, but it deserves 3 stars for entertainment value and a clever ending 3 stars
8/01/03 ThriceRise very captivating 5 stars
7/18/03 Jon Lyrik Just. See. It. 5 stars
7/05/03 TWEEDER ONE OF THE GREATEST MOVIES OF OUR TIME. It shows the truth about racism in our country. 5 stars
6/08/03 InDenZ Great anti-racism film 5 stars
6/03/03 svetlana it was very realistic, it was killa 5 stars
5/31/03 Ross Bernardd hating whatever race you are no matter black, asian, whatever..is horrible 5 stars
4/21/03 bernard Exquisite!! Thrilling!! Shocking!! A GREAT CLASSIC ! 5 stars
4/11/03 WhiteKnight god i hate my own white race 5 stars
4/09/03 Ross Bernard White pride world wide! Gotta love the curb stop scene. 5 stars
4/09/03 WhiteKnight That Includes My Parents 5 stars
3/26/03 Jon Hiller the best movie I have ever seen. the charachters are realistic to everyday teenagers, 5 stars
3/23/03 master.node It was good. 4 stars
3/10/03 Jack Sommersby Preachy but undeniably affecting. Norton is commanding in the lead. 4 stars
2/26/03 GMan important. love the dark ending...unfortunately, there will always be racism.... 5 stars
2/10/03 FcPoliFan Touching... 5 stars
2/08/03 mr. Pink Has some great moments, but also weak characters and narrative. 3 stars
2/06/03 Louie amaizing film... heard they're making a sequel??? 5 stars
2/05/03 mike lyon loved the curb chech the nigger did fuck with wrong bull 5 stars
2/05/03 Silverline A study in B&W to mirror America, but its not THAT great 4 stars
2/04/03 great film Large Farve 5 stars
2/02/03 jessy singh i loved this movie i cried lol what a wussy i am but it was sooooo good 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Awesome flick, just phenomonal. 5 stars
12/28/02 Linda H I loved the movie and the actors, but the ending is so sad when Danny dies. 5 stars
11/26/02 Flemq BITE THE FUCKING CURB 5 stars
11/23/02 Jordan this movie rocks, WHITE POWER 5 stars
11/10/02 Stevo Norton's good, but doesn't redeem a ropey film whose points have been made better before. 3 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 A controversial but amazing movie; the black & white was fabulous directing 5 stars
10/25/02 Ben Krake Edward Norton plays very well as a Nazi- Skinhead! 5 stars
10/25/02 snowconehead Norton needs to shave his head and scare people more often 5 stars
10/24/02 mr. Pink Good performances almost save a weak script. Almost. 3 stars
10/05/02 Jennifer Lee Argueably one of the best movies depicting modern racism in American culture 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Superb 5 stars
9/23/02 erick next to perfect, if not perfect, movie 5 stars
9/22/02 the Grinch Excellent in so many ways. Norton is amazing...and the film is not so "black" and "white" 5 stars
9/21/02 Buddha Powerhouse stuff. 5 stars
8/14/02 jestin this movie is the best movie in the world 5 stars
7/26/02 sdjfsdkjf norton's best film to date, and will probably stay his best film forever. 5 stars
7/18/02 Cris Abisale An excelent movie and a great performance by Ed Norton. 5 stars
4/26/02 Jennifer F A classic was born 5 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo Norton's best performance to date. A disturbing but riveting film that is NOT for everyone 4 stars
3/24/02 Artist Freak Excellent, confrontational, Norton &Furlong &Brooks are all awesome. Hard to watch though. 5 stars
2/16/02 Jenn This movie teaches you the most important lesson you will ever recieve in your life! 5 stars
1/02/02 Katre Edward Norton demands your attention and doesn't let go. 4 stars
12/31/01 Eddie Battles Mind opening 5 stars
12/28/01 paul ed norton propels himself to the a-list with this performance 5 stars
12/11/01 just me.. The best movie I've ever seen!:) 5 stars
11/09/01 Mark It's controversial, yet stunning. Even w/the ending, great acting and directing show. 5 stars
11/08/01 Caiphn A decent and fun to watch film. 5 stars
11/05/01 Anna Thompson incredibly vivid in my mind still after a year 5 stars
10/30/01 bobbuttons watched it once, wont ever see it again, its too disturbing/provocative. furlong great 5 stars
9/08/01 kim skinhead88 you redneck brick 5 stars
8/27/01 Stacy This movie was 1000 better than expected. Great acting 5 stars
8/27/01 Jim Norton is an AMAZING actor. Buy this movie for your collection! 5 stars
8/19/01 Monster W. Kung Worth a look, indeed. Norton great as usual. Talk about depressing ending... 4 stars
6/05/01 Psyko Doug Great movie- Norton is awesome. 5 stars
5/28/01 Connor Dueck great actors and a meaningful story 5 stars
5/26/01 skinhead88 i hate niggers 5 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Elliot Gould? Hell yeah! 4 stars
4/28/01 dave this movie is hands up the best movie ever, it shows how hatred holds us all down and how y 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Very good film which director Tony Kaye did a very good job at casting his actors 4 stars
4/04/01 Gabe Lowe I like the guy who gets butt plugged 5 stars
4/04/01 Travis R. Ellis Incredible 5 stars
2/26/01 Big P. This movie blew me away. It doesn't hold anything back. 5 stars
2/18/01 Josh Tybur The most powerful movie I've ever seen 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Great fuckin' flick! Norton is awesome in this movie. 5 stars
2/04/01 H. Himmler HEIL!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/01/01 Terrie Smith Very intense film; Edward Norton is good, so is Guy Torry as his black prison co-worker. 4 stars
11/17/00 Elvisfan One of the best movies I will never watch again but glad I saw it 5 stars
8/23/00 pc best movie ever made 5 stars
8/13/00 Cidec Stark Norton is a great actor 5 stars
7/13/00 Tom Excellent acting by Edward Norton and Beverly D'Angelo. 4 stars
6/13/00 DAVID This movie could of been a classic but it wasnt deep enough 4 stars
6/06/00 miriana it will blow your mind 5 stars
5/06/00 Matthew Bartley A bit soap opera-ish at times but a powerful experience nevertheless 5 stars
4/20/00 Starry Knight A total Mind Fuck 5 stars
4/11/00 Obi Wan Loved it....Ed Norton will win a Best Actor Oscar soon...very soon!! 5 stars
2/19/00 tony s finally an objective look at the white supremicist movment. 5 stars
1/12/00 PervertedPixie Hard-arse with heart. Great stuff from both Ed's. 5 stars
12/27/99 NeverHappy A powerhouse performance from the extraordinary and charismatic Norton. 5 stars
11/02/99 Bozo as usual Norton is better than the movie, which was brutal at best 4 stars
11/01/99 Bueller The controversial subject matter is treated with unflinching and artful realism. 4 stars
10/04/99 Ian Anderson One of the best films I have ever seen! 5 stars
8/20/99 Aimee best movie, good racial plot, 5 stars
7/27/99 Starry Knight Edward Norton.... WOW! 5 stars
7/27/99 emperor another great job by Norton 5 stars
7/25/99 blue despite other rather ignorant reviews,this was one of the most powerful films i've seen 5 stars
7/20/99 Amy American History X is a brilliant film that had a great purpose. Norton prevails AHX. 5 stars
7/19/99 The Bomb 69 wow! Edward Norton is amazing 5 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK Man alive that sidewalk scene! Frickin makes me shudder. 5 stars
7/08/99 Freyja Gritty, amazing movie. Scared, shocked and pissed me off. Wow. 5 stars
7/08/99 sydney amazing acting by Norton, D'Angelo, and Keach; a quick resolution however 4 stars
7/05/99 Tristynn If you see one movie all year.. make it this one... AMAZING, THRILLING, SHOCKING.. loved it 5 stars
7/05/99 Pat Flanagan Seen it three times. Ending surprises me every single damn time. Great movie. 5 stars
7/03/99 Jim Preston I was deeply moved by this movie. 5 stars
6/27/99 Peach brutally awsome 5 stars
6/21/99 Sarah Great fucking movie!!!Incredibly realistic, and totally passsionate.te 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Ed Norton managed to make the swastika look cool. Great fucking movie. 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Edward Norton is the BEST! And that not even the whole of it! 5 stars
6/05/99 Rachel This movie was amazing! Ed Norton was phenomenal! 5 stars
5/31/99 Bartleby Great movie, Edward Norton received a well deserved Oscar nod, great movie 5 stars
5/28/99 Feral Easily the film of the year thus far. Amazing performances make for an unforgettable movie. 5 stars
5/08/99 Daria I swear, Edward Norton is God. 5 stars
5/02/99 Cage Wow... An incredible film... Norton give an InTeNsE performance. 5 stars
4/30/99 Tristynn I loved it.. I cried, I screamed , I had nightmares.. One of the most compelling movies eve 5 stars
4/17/99 Ah Dooey Anybody who's smarter than Albert (below) knows this movie is bombastic (awesome)! 5 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding Great Movie...VERY realistic...Edward Norton is one brutal fuck. 5 stars
4/02/99 Powrhug Ed is a force of nature! Must see this performance! 5 stars
3/21/99 punkrockgeek rad as fucking hell. edward norton is one of the best actors today 5 stars
2/07/99 roxy this movie was fantastic even though furlong can't act his way out of a paper bag. 5 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci This is Edward Norton's movie, not that lame Primal Fear 4 stars
1/30/99 tom wow----edward norton is capable of anything 5 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew ***** 5 stars
1/08/99 demon_shredder This stuff is amazing. 5 stars
1/03/99 Negative Creep Disturbing, though provoking and highly entertaining 4 stars
1/02/99 randy F american history x is allllll riiiiiight 5 stars
1/01/99 Movie Geezer pwerful yet unpleasent---impressed by norton and furlong 4 stars
12/31/98 Bridgette one of the year's best. left me speechless. norton and furlong are beyond amazing. 5 stars
12/31/98 soopafly * 5 stars
12/30/98 jvt Simplistic, but entertaining. Norton is what makes this one the year's best. 4 stars
12/29/98 The Dude An extreme, great movie with great performences by Edward Norton and Edward Furlong. 5 stars
12/25/98 Adam Stafford Pretty awful portrail of American sub-culture, powerful, moving and down right undeniable, 5 stars
12/14/98 Larry Norton is great but the ending is completely manipulative 4 stars
12/12/98 Rodger Pille Brilliantly realized photography. Kaye is on crack. 5 stars
12/08/98 Milhouse Faqw I walked out of this movie speechless. One of the most powerful movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
12/06/98 Christ Monkey Amazing. My jaw dropped four times in shock. 5 stars
12/05/98 tj one hell of a movie...ed norton is perfect 5 stars
12/04/98 Jeff C. Way good 5 stars
12/01/98 Daddy Rich Norton is astounding. Very powerful; a must see. 5 stars
11/30/98 Gamma Very few movies have "stunned" me like this. OUTSTANDING!! 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F Ethan was fucking funny,Norton was Great,top 10.even though it exploited the anti-heros.Oi! 5 stars
11/27/98 JAM Hardcore, 5 stars
11/26/98 Missy Norton is brilliant; the movie is frightening 5 stars
11/25/98 Kelley Eye opening experience, brilliantly acted--shoe in for Oscar nods (in B.A especially) 5 stars
11/25/98 Bad Kosh Great movie, full of hard-core action. This you gotta see! 5 stars
11/25/98 Summer Meier The Edwards were awesome. Unexpected ending. 5 stars
11/23/98 jen much more powerful that saving private ryan...this deserves oscar nods all around... 5 stars
11/13/98 Hector Protector Norton hands in a fantastic performance. A great film. 5 stars
11/09/98 Johny Very good, powerful, film that's just a bit flawed. Hand Mr. Norton the Oscar now. 4 stars
10/31/98 Lord Of The Dunce Hardcore. Really intense fucking film and ETHAN SUPLEE!! 5 stars
9/03/98 pooky the bald Deeply disturbing film. Forget Kaye's bitching, this is a goodun. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Oct-1998 (R)
  DVD: 14-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-May-1999 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast