More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 16.46%
Worth A Look: 20.25%
Average: 15.19%
Pretty Bad: 21.52%
Total Crap26.58%

7 reviews, 37 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura by Jay Seaver

Buffalo Boys by Jay Seaver

Mandy by Rob Gonsalves

Road Not Taken, The by Jay Seaver

Great Battle, The by Jay Seaver

True Fiction by Jay Seaver

Pick of the Litter by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Peter Sobczynski

House With A Clock In Its Walls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Life Itself (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Ladies Man, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The King of the Bros

"If Julianne Moore was dressed as a clown, would you still fuck her?"
4 stars

I've never made it a secret that I love bears with chainsaws. That has to be the most wonderful thing in the whole world. I mean, can you honestly picture a more satisfying image than a bear wielding a chainsaw as he runs towards you, screaming a death inducing roar!?

The point of that last paragraph was to illustrate just how random this movie is. Sure, it likes to pretend that it has a plot, but really that's just a facade. This is just a 90 minute SNL sketch. And when you do a 90 minute sketch, random stuff happens.

In fact, one of my favorite lines from this movie happens when Leon Phelps finds himself in quite a jam.

"I know what I must do. I must go have sex and wait for something to randomly happen."

Man, if that isn't the Lord's Philosophy, I don't know what isn't for it is what it is.

Anyhow, this is a mostly low brow comedy, with some high brow thrown in every now and then. The writing fluctuates between clever and witty to half assed and not funny. But fortunately it's mostly the former.

The direction is fine, nothing great, but I've definitely seen much worse. The acting, hey I love Tim Meadows, and I actually didn't get sick of that sexual lisp he has throughout the entire film, which I had once feared. Will Ferrell does a bang up job as the "ambiguous" Grecco Roman wrestling enthusiast. Himself and a band of other men form the "Victims of the Smiling Ass" organization. These are men who've had their wives violated by the Ladies Man. Probably one of the greatest scenes in this movie is the spectacular Broadway number that they do. Don't worry, I haven't ruined it for you by telling you, it's still GREAT! JUST SUPER! FANTAS-GREAT!

However, there are some not so good parts. Now, I know you have to have a love story and all and I can see why a character needs to change over the course of the movie and stuff. But dammit, the Ladies Man sells out. He becomes a LADY's Man, as in singular ladies not plural. I knew this was inevitable, but shit, who's gonna get his wang hugified by all those nasty bus station skanks?

Anyhow, this is a retarded comedy that'll make you laugh if you like stupid comedies that don't take themselves seriously. It's got some great random moments and some sweet cameos from all sorts of folk. Plus Tiffani Amber Thiessen is in it! And she brought her two friends! WOO!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1774&reviewer=176
originally posted: 10/20/00 11:53:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

6/12/08 PAUL SHORTT A PUTRID MESS, SIMULTANOUSLY VULGAR AND BORING 1 stars
8/15/06 Ashley Hinz Should have stayed a skit. 4 stars
4/21/05 TJ It's alright. You have to know and like the character from SNL. 3 stars
2/24/05 Rock-Steady hey sweet thang, can I buy you a fish sandwich? 5 stars
12/20/04 Kim Soooo funny!!! Classic 5 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul The only funny scene is when he is interviewing the nun about the missionary position. 2 stars
9/06/04 Leon Phelps My movie was great. The critic is jealous of the wang. 5 stars
7/20/04 Jack Daniels tiny little pecker?!?! you aint talkin bout the ladies man! 5 stars
6/04/04 Omer Wow that movie was funny. For all the Lady's men out there! 5 stars
1/02/04 MH Leon is the best 5 stars
8/23/03 Robert Ricketts KIKZ ASS BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon I character ate human turds in this movie. 2 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby 10 mijnutes of viable material unwisely expanded to feature length. 1 stars
10/11/02 SiliconHero This is the best that you could give to Tim Meadows? "F" you, Lorne! 1 stars
7/17/02 Joe Black Funny and entertaining 4 stars
6/12/02 Helen Souter it wasn't really funny but I laughed myself sick & I don't usually do that very often 5 stars
5/14/02 zafron sucked all ass 1 stars
5/01/02 jonathan berry "...put it in the butt!" 5 stars
10/22/01 Allison IT WAS AMAZING 5 stars
10/19/01 Andrew Carden So-So Comedy Has Laughs That Range From Hilarious to Hideous. 3 stars
10/19/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The "missionary position" bit is pretty funny, but most of it's kinda shabby. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Tim Meadows can't carry a film at all. This could have been a great flick. 1 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Tired of SNL avg characters getting their own movies. What's next, the cheerleaders? 2 stars
7/23/01 D.R. Doggy Style? Up da butt? The jokes were very not funny 1 stars
6/26/01 Fish Eye Not great, but one of the better SNL movies of late. Surprisingly funny. 3 stars
6/07/01 Paul Couture I thought that it was really funny. Tim Meadows definitely made the part. 5 stars
1/30/01 Marcin Calus I Love You u are remarkable 3 stars
1/07/01 snlalex Yeah, well thats disgustin' 5 stars
11/05/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS IT DRAGS A LITTLE BUT IT BEATS SNL SPIN-OFFS LIKE "PAT" AND "STUART" 4 stars
10/20/00 Stuntman stupid movie, worse than Superstar 1 stars
10/19/00 Scralomander Only good parts: Will Ferrell pointing the gun at the end + Tiffani Thiessen's boobies 2 stars
10/19/00 liquid I'm tired of all this shit, this movie SUCKS! read a book instead. 1 stars
10/18/00 namseidal TIM MEADOWS IS SO FUNNY SUPPORT HIS FIRST ATTEMPT AT A MOVIE AFTER MANY MANY YEARS AT SNL 5 stars
10/17/00 furtively WE laughed quite a bit, take friends and drink first tho... 3 stars
10/17/00 Ground Zero pratically unfunny and lame 2 stars
10/15/00 bob buttons if you like the skit on snl, you'll love the movie. get ferrel out of there 4 stars
10/15/00 frankko one star for the one time i laughed during the 85 minute movie. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Oct-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Mar-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast