More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.07

Awesome: 27.14%
Worth A Look59.29%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad: 0.71%
Total Crap: 2.86%

7 reviews, 98 user ratings



Galaxy Quest
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"Mostly Harmless Fun"
4 stars

Galaxy Quest gives a timely reminder on how we should view science fiction and sci-fi fandom. Sci-fi can make some important points, but really the fans take it all too seriously. Galaxy Quest hilariously makes fun of the thinking behind a lot of sci-fi - especially Star Trek - and the fans who love it so much.

Science Fiction - it can be a deadly serious business. People like Issac Asimov and Harlan Ellison and writers like them, contribute to sci-fiĎs lofty sense of self-importance. Ellison thinks that sci-fi is the most important writing there is. Writers like Asimov and Ellison do make important contributions to the literary world, but itís their fans that we should be worried about. The incredible levels of nit-picking obsessive behaviour and repeated viewing makes you wonder what great things they could achieve if they set their minds and dedication on reality and doing something that was actually useful.

This fandom obsessive behaviour is not restricted to sci-fi, but we like to make fun of sci-fi fan no-lifers because theyíre nerds - and we should make fun of nerds. Galaxy Quest agrees and pokes gentle fun at sci-fi and its fans.

The cast of a now defunct sci-fi TV show called Galaxy Quest are in has-been hell doing the fan convention circuit. Gwen (Weaver), Sir Alexander (Rickman), Tommy (Mitchell) and Fred (Shalhoub) deal with the conventions and the fans with great reluctance and crave for something better - like decent acting roles. Jason Nesmith (Allen) - the captain in the series - is much more enthusiastic and takes the fans in his cheerful stride.

At one of the conventions some real aliens - who have mistaken the TV series broadcast as historical record - approach Jason for help in an interstellar conflict theyíre having trouble with. The aliens are seriously strange - somewhere between Monty Python and Spike Milligan characters at their most bizarre - they are damn freaks.

Since sci-fans and the oddest alien creations ever committed to celluloid are largely indistinguishable, Jason thinks their request is just another gig, and goes off with them with the rest of the cast soon following. They are in for much more than just the usual convention as they soon find out.

This film is great fun and will especially appeal to fans of Star Trek. The Trek references are peppered through out the film. The music often sounds almost, but not quite like Trek themes, Allen has William Shatnerís Captain Kirk mannerism spot on, and the design of the ship will spark recognition to those that are familiar with The Enterprise (That I know Kirk mannerisms should tell you something about what I think about Star Trek - and also if I am a target of this film).

The film will also appeal to sci-fi non-believers as it confirms your worst fears about what really goes on with sci-fi fans.

The design in the film is a highlight. The ship - the USEA Protector - has a low-tech retro-feel to it and is blended in well with Industrial Light and Magicís latest CGI trickery. Itís a smooth mix of the real and the computer generated - a big improvement on IL&Mís over blown work on The Phantom Menace - and no Jar Jar is always a bonus.

Allen pretty much plays his The Tool Man persona again, Rickman as the frustrated Sir Alexander scene steals as usual, and Weaver relishes the chance of this send up being the star of past serious sci-fi. Calontoni, Sachs, Breen and Pyle are just too weird for words as the aliens in need of help.

Parisotís directing, with David Howard and Robert Gordonís script, is reverential and mocking at the same time. Despite myself being a target of this film, the end result is enjoyable and charming as it pokes fun at the sci-fi genre that would benefit from getting out of the house, and lightening up.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1779&reviewer=166
originally posted: 04/04/00 17:09:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/02/16 David Hollingsworth Engaging and funny 5 stars
11/02/14 dr.lao This movie is really fun to watch 5 stars
10/28/13 Sissy Gifford Had me laughing the whole time. Definitely worth watching. 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Excellent Space/Sci-Fi comedy... 5 stars
8/12/11 Bobster Funny! 4 stars
6/09/10 Harvey Scott Fun, Fun, Fun. Space Balls for the 21st Century. 5 stars
12/19/09 Jeff Wilder Quite funny. The one worthwhile Tim Allen movie. 4 stars
11/22/09 kitfo1 I didnt think I could like anything with Tim Allen, but this was clever 4 stars
2/07/09 Gella Wicked. I watch it over and over and I alsways find other bits to laugh at 5 stars
7/28/08 The Dork Knight Funny and (sometimes) moving. Good movie 4 stars
5/17/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ENJOYABLE, CLEVER AND SLICKLY COMMERCIAL SCI-FI COMEDY 3 stars
2/06/08 mb Really Dumb 1 stars
8/15/07 mike g Brilliant. Made me laugh out very loud. A good, fun film for sci-fi fans. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Perfect, faithful parody. Fantastic in this or any galaxy. 4 stars
1/03/07 del I was surprised at how much I liked it. 4 stars
5/26/06 Kimberly Dull This movie is hilarous! But you do have to have an idea of this genre to get this movie. 5 stars
5/09/06 Anastasia Bishop Absolutely hilarious. One of my favorites. A little slow at first, but stellar as it goes 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Tim Allens best movie! 4 stars
12/30/05 paolo enea after all the crap of star wars, etc., I realy enjoyed this movie 5 stars
12/30/05 tony If star wars and star trek were like this movie, i think i would watch them 4 stars
11/02/05 Phil M. Aficionado As a non-sci fi guy, I STILL enjoyed the humor & casting; cute story. See it for yuks. 4 stars
8/27/05 ES Tim Allen's best movie, good for a giggle everytime 4 stars
7/27/05 Indrid Cold Nifty idea and well done. Quite a ways from a classic though. 4 stars
5/02/05 sbpat21 very funny 4 stars
9/24/04 Aaron Smith Hugely entertaining, one of Tim's better films. 4 stars
7/12/04 X Thank God William Shatner wasn't in this movie 5 stars
2/10/04 White Eagle I renjoyed the film as it had so many of the needed cliches in it to make it funny. 5 stars
6/30/03 Ken Holds up well to repeated viewings. Funny and well acted! 4 stars
4/23/03 Mystique good 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Good Special Effects, but Uneven Screenplay and Forced Performances. 3 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Pants-pissing jokes, good story, fun characters. Surprisingly, a really good flick. 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper This movie has everything. Even Allen couldn't ruin it. Worth a sequel. 5 stars
2/08/03 y2mckay George, fuck you very much for reading! Nice to have fans. 4 stars
1/06/03 George Overall a good movie, but Y2McKay - you're an idiot. 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby As desperately unfunny as its leading man. Dreadful. 1 stars
11/08/02 R.W. Welch Nifty premise and some clever bits but generally overdone. 3 stars
6/19/02 Charles Tatum Great idea, no laughs 3 stars
5/22/02 Anne R. Key OK, but Improv King, I prefer leaving fuck ups heavy. 3 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean This movie is so cute! Show this to the kids 4 stars
2/20/02 Bertha Venation The sky is falling, I love a Tim Allen movie! I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
1/26/02 murat Full of witty humor,dazzling action and mathesar! even more ;watch it. 5 stars
12/21/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Boring, but May Appeal To Fans Of Corny, Stupid Humor. 2 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Clever flick, if you like Star Trek, you'll like this 4 stars
8/06/01 badfish This is one of the greatest movies ive ever seen.The whole cast was perfect! 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au I hate Tim Allen! I laughed only ONCE through the whole film! Cheap parody of "Star Trek" 1 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I thought it was going to be utter shit, but it proved me wrong. 5 stars
4/11/01 Hawkeye The best sci-fi parody I've seen yet. If you're a Trekker, this is right up your alley. 5 stars
2/25/01 Jake What a treat! 5 stars
12/20/00 Elvisfan about 700 times better than i had expected it to be 4 stars
11/24/00 Shawna really really love it 5 stars
11/02/00 viking light years ahead of "Deep Space Nine" and "Voyager" !!! 4 stars
10/17/00 Jed Though it is not strictly for eggheads & such. It was a spaceballs for the intellectual. 4 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Very, very funny 5 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Star Trek on ludes 4 stars
6/08/00 Monday Morning Sci-Fi on rye. Very funny 4 stars
5/26/00 Gremlin Star Trek SUCKS! This movie was good for making fun of it. 4 stars
5/21/00 Blackbird Combines Pretend-TV-Cheesyness and CG Reality well. Kept me laughing throughout the movie 5 stars
5/19/00 ntwrage this movie was outstanding, Tony Shalhoub is strait up comedy. 5 stars
5/13/00 Add A very funny film but a real gut buster if you like Star Trek at all. 4 stars
5/08/00 Jed Despite the storyline this is basically the "Spaceballs" of the 90s. 4 stars
5/07/00 The Bomb 69 great entertainment, very funny 5 stars
5/04/00 Matthew Bartley Yeah it's fairly funny. A bit sad at times as well 4 stars
5/03/00 TIGGER It was fabulous! Best movie eva! 1 stars
4/29/00 Pansy fun movie, great aliens and spaceships execpt Tim Allen's acting (ugh) 4 stars
4/28/00 G2 Loved it, funniest film i've seen!! 2 thumbs up! 5 stars
4/16/00 Frank Curigliano hilarious, moving 4 stars
4/16/00 Paul Great 4 stars
4/11/00 Pierce Lanson Very funny, Sigourney's gorgeous, effects are brilliant. 4 stars
4/08/00 Mic Successfully, though stereotypically, combined humour with sentiment. 4 stars
4/07/00 Daria Very funny, and surprisingly affectionate 5 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers Huge imrovement over the Santa Clause. Very, very funny. 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Finally someone had the guts to make fun of Star Trek. 4 stars
2/21/00 bullit17 Eh. It had its moments. Nothing special. 3 stars
2/08/00 Porkdog Great satire. I was very pleasantly suprised. 4 stars
2/07/00 jenn "Blu Smrf" hilarious! great cast that keeps you laughing the entire time! 5 stars
2/02/00 mr. coffee Great spoofs! 4 stars
1/31/00 Crewman #5 Lots o' laughs, great adventures, and a wonderfully underrated cast 5 stars
1/24/00 Cibeus I'm going to see this movie again. 5 stars
1/24/00 Suzanne I loved this movie. 5 stars
1/17/00 Carl Take your 10+ kids to it, but don't expect great movie making. 4 stars
1/16/00 Zatoichi Trek dorks will love it. 4 stars
1/13/00 voyant The funniest movie of the year.. a must see for even the occasional Trek viewer. 5 stars
1/11/00 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules!!! The one about the snowman that killed people was better 3 stars
1/10/00 Linda Much better than anticipated! 5 stars
1/07/00 Jo Hilarious! I was laughing the whole time! 4 stars
1/07/00 PhilmPhreak Very funny - the best special effect was Sigourney Weaver's cleavage! 4 stars
1/06/00 meg Wonderfully silly and good-hearted. 4 stars
1/05/00 ScottA2001 Great story but flat acting made it less funny than it should have been 4 stars
1/03/00 Richard Hendricks Funny as hell. Great for an ex-Trekkie, now B5'er 4 stars
1/02/00 Pope Gonzo XIII hell yeah you should see it! It's funny and will strike a chord with other actors. 4 stars
1/02/00 Adam Really funny. And someone convice Sigourney to take these kinds of roles more often. 4 stars
1/01/00 Lame-Oh Not your typical sci-fi flick, but some of the jokes can be irritating. 3 stars
1/01/00 sophia866 Go see Trekkies before this, but Weaver's bosom is worth a matinee. 4 stars
12/31/99 marmoset Good fun, consistently funny. 4 stars
12/29/99 Crystal Great Fun! Silly but not Stupid! 4 stars
12/28/99 RadarDan The audience I saw it with laughed uproariously. 4 stars
12/28/99 joechip I laughed the whole time 4 stars
12/27/99 Magyarpoet Good for a few laughs. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast