More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.05

Awesome: 25.9%
Worth A Look59.71%
Average: 10.79%
Pretty Bad: 0.72%
Total Crap: 2.88%

7 reviews, 97 user ratings


Latest Reviews

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

Me and You by Peter Sobczynski

Man in the Orange Jacket, The by Jay Seaver

Midnight Swim, The by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Galaxy Quest
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"By Grapthar's Hammer - what a movie!"
4 stars

GALAXY QUEST is one of those rare movies that manages to have and eat its cake. It relentlessly pokes fun at the rabid fans of sci-fi geekdom and the has-been actors that they deify. Yet the ribbing is never too mean-spirited, and it gives the geeks and has-beens get a chance to become real heroes.

I wanted to hate this movie the first time I saw it. It has Tim Allen doing his Tool Time shtick in a spaceman uniform. It has really annoying aliens. It's got Franz from Die Hard (Alan Rickman) wearing a goddamn prosthetic on his head that looks like it came from the Babylon 5 wrap party and garage sale. Or maybe I wanted to hate it because it hit a little too close to home, reminding me of my own geekhood from days of yore. Yes, that's right, it's confession time again. I used to be something of a Trek geek (read my Star Trek: Nemesis review). And in fact I have actually (deep breath) . . . set foot in a Star Trek convention once. Okay, maybe twice, but never three times! Oh, wait, there was that one I went to in Salt Lake City. Goddamit! Okay, three times, but never EVER four. No, I didn't wear the pointy ears or anything . . . but even if I had, confession time only goes so deep. Needless to say, sometimes it's kind of hard to chortle at "those fucking geeks" when you wake up with the painful realization that you used to be one of them.

Nevertheless, chortle I did. This is by no means a perfect film. It's not even a perfect Trek parody. But dammit, it works. Maybe it's because the cast just clicks so well and has so much fun with it, or maybe it's because the filmmakers are obviously closet-geeks themselves, since they approach the good-natured ribbing with just the right amount of respect that can only come from a fan.

The show begins with the crew of Galaxy Quest, a TV sci-fi cult phenomenon that was canceled twenty years ago, sitting around their dressing room at a sci-fi convention and bemoaning their fate. Gwen DeMarco (Sigourney Weaver, who either had a boob job or is wearing a cybernetically enhanced playtex push-up bra), who once played the blonde barbie-doll communications officer, is pissed at Jason Nesmith (Tim Allen) because "The Commander" is late for their appearance once again. Meanwhile, Shakespearean-trained actor Alex Dane (Alan Rickman, stealing the show as usual) sits facing a mirror with a big pointy alien skull thing on his head and mutters lines like "How did it come to this? I once played Richard the III." The rest of the crew, including the stoned Fred Kwan (Tony Shaloub) and child-star turned has-been Tommy Webber (Daryl Mitchell), have come to accept that the convention circuit is the only steady gig they're ever going to get. Only Nesmith, who relishes in hamming it up as "The Commander", doesn't seem to mind paying the bills by fleecing convention-going fans at twenty bucks a pop.

However, when real (and real annoying) aliens show up and "kidnap" the crew, taking them on board a working replica of the starship "Protector", they have a chance to prove themselves as real (albeit highly reluctant) heroes. As it turns out, the aliens reconstructed the Protector from intercepting Earth's television transmissions and mistaking old episodes of the show for "historical documents". While they are technically advanced, they have no combat experience or strategic skills, and beg "The Commander" and crew to help them fight the evil alien Saris (Robin Sachs).

Even for a comedy, Galaxy Quest requires a huge suspension of disbelief in order to accept that a group of actors could pilot a starship, etc. But the movie's so fun, you just don't give a damn. True, the aliens quickly and frequently cross the line from quirkily amusing to dental-drill annoying, although Missi Pyle as the alien cutie "Laliari" certainly makes their race as a whole more tolerable. But it's all the little knowing nods to the cliches of the Trek phenomenon that make this film so damned enjoyable. When Allen walks onto the stage at a convention, he has the Shatner walk down pat. Even after they manage to disarm the self-destruct mechanism, the countdown clock keeps on ticking right down until 1 second - "just like it did on the show". And Sam Rockwell adds a nice touch as "Guy Fleegman", the convention promoter who once starred on the show as the expendable security officer who died before the first commercial break, and who now doesn't want to leave the ship fearing the same fate. Who would be so cognizant of all the source material's little idiosyncracies, if not a true fan - even a former one?

GALAXY QUEST makes geekdom look almost respectable. Watching it makes you feel all right with your inner geek, and look back on the source of your geekly affection like you would look back fondly on an old lover. For two hours, it makes you remember all the things that made being a geek seem so great. Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go rent "The Trouble with Tribbles". HA, just kidding - you fucking geek!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1779&reviewer=258
originally posted: 01/05/03 08:25:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/15/14 orencngsuth USA 3 stars
10/28/13 Sissy Gifford Had me laughing the whole time. Definitely worth watching. 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Excellent Space/Sci-Fi comedy... 5 stars
8/12/11 Bobster Funny! 4 stars
6/09/10 Harvey Scott Fun, Fun, Fun. Space Balls for the 21st Century. 5 stars
12/19/09 Jeff Wilder Quite funny. The one worthwhile Tim Allen movie. 4 stars
11/22/09 kitfo1 I didnt think I could like anything with Tim Allen, but this was clever 4 stars
2/07/09 Gella Wicked. I watch it over and over and I alsways find other bits to laugh at 5 stars
7/28/08 The Dork Knight Funny and (sometimes) moving. Good movie 4 stars
5/17/08 PAUL SHORTT AN ENJOYABLE, CLEVER AND SLICKLY COMMERCIAL SCI-FI COMEDY 3 stars
2/06/08 mb Really Dumb 1 stars
8/15/07 mike g Brilliant. Made me laugh out very loud. A good, fun film for sci-fi fans. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Perfect, faithful parody. Fantastic in this or any galaxy. 4 stars
1/03/07 del I was surprised at how much I liked it. 4 stars
5/26/06 Kimberly Dull This movie is hilarous! But you do have to have an idea of this genre to get this movie. 5 stars
5/09/06 Anastasia Bishop Absolutely hilarious. One of my favorites. A little slow at first, but stellar as it goes 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Tim Allens best movie! 4 stars
12/30/05 paolo enea after all the crap of star wars, etc., I realy enjoyed this movie 5 stars
12/30/05 tony If star wars and star trek were like this movie, i think i would watch them 4 stars
11/02/05 Phil M. Aficionado As a non-sci fi guy, I STILL enjoyed the humor & casting; cute story. See it for yuks. 4 stars
8/27/05 ES Tim Allen's best movie, good for a giggle everytime 4 stars
7/27/05 Indrid Cold Nifty idea and well done. Quite a ways from a classic though. 4 stars
5/02/05 sbpat21 very funny 4 stars
9/24/04 Aaron Smith Hugely entertaining, one of Tim's better films. 4 stars
7/12/04 X Thank God William Shatner wasn't in this movie 5 stars
2/10/04 White Eagle I renjoyed the film as it had so many of the needed cliches in it to make it funny. 5 stars
6/30/03 Ken Holds up well to repeated viewings. Funny and well acted! 4 stars
4/23/03 Mystique good 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Good Special Effects, but Uneven Screenplay and Forced Performances. 3 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Pants-pissing jokes, good story, fun characters. Surprisingly, a really good flick. 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper This movie has everything. Even Allen couldn't ruin it. Worth a sequel. 5 stars
2/08/03 y2mckay George, fuck you very much for reading! Nice to have fans. 4 stars
1/06/03 George Overall a good movie, but Y2McKay - you're an idiot. 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby As desperately unfunny as its leading man. Dreadful. 1 stars
11/08/02 R.W. Welch Nifty premise and some clever bits but generally overdone. 3 stars
6/19/02 Charles Tatum Great idea, no laughs 3 stars
5/22/02 Anne R. Key OK, but Improv King, I prefer leaving fuck ups heavy. 3 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean This movie is so cute! Show this to the kids 4 stars
2/20/02 Bertha Venation The sky is falling, I love a Tim Allen movie! I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
1/26/02 murat Full of witty humor,dazzling action and mathesar! even more ;watch it. 5 stars
12/21/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Boring, but May Appeal To Fans Of Corny, Stupid Humor. 2 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Clever flick, if you like Star Trek, you'll like this 4 stars
8/06/01 badfish This is one of the greatest movies ive ever seen.The whole cast was perfect! 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au I hate Tim Allen! I laughed only ONCE through the whole film! Cheap parody of "Star Trek" 1 stars
5/12/01 The Moorhen I thought it was going to be utter shit, but it proved me wrong. 5 stars
4/11/01 Hawkeye The best sci-fi parody I've seen yet. If you're a Trekker, this is right up your alley. 5 stars
2/25/01 Jake What a treat! 5 stars
12/20/00 Elvisfan about 700 times better than i had expected it to be 4 stars
11/24/00 Shawna really really love it 5 stars
11/02/00 viking light years ahead of "Deep Space Nine" and "Voyager" !!! 4 stars
10/17/00 Jed Though it is not strictly for eggheads & such. It was a spaceballs for the intellectual. 4 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Very, very funny 5 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Star Trek on ludes 4 stars
6/08/00 Monday Morning Sci-Fi on rye. Very funny 4 stars
5/26/00 Gremlin Star Trek SUCKS! This movie was good for making fun of it. 4 stars
5/21/00 Blackbird Combines Pretend-TV-Cheesyness and CG Reality well. Kept me laughing throughout the movie 5 stars
5/19/00 ntwrage this movie was outstanding, Tony Shalhoub is strait up comedy. 5 stars
5/13/00 Add A very funny film but a real gut buster if you like Star Trek at all. 4 stars
5/08/00 Jed Despite the storyline this is basically the "Spaceballs" of the 90s. 4 stars
5/07/00 The Bomb 69 great entertainment, very funny 5 stars
5/04/00 Matthew Bartley Yeah it's fairly funny. A bit sad at times as well 4 stars
5/03/00 TIGGER It was fabulous! Best movie eva! 1 stars
4/29/00 Pansy fun movie, great aliens and spaceships execpt Tim Allen's acting (ugh) 4 stars
4/28/00 G2 Loved it, funniest film i've seen!! 2 thumbs up! 5 stars
4/16/00 Frank Curigliano hilarious, moving 4 stars
4/16/00 Paul Great 4 stars
4/11/00 Pierce Lanson Very funny, Sigourney's gorgeous, effects are brilliant. 4 stars
4/08/00 Mic Successfully, though stereotypically, combined humour with sentiment. 4 stars
4/07/00 Daria Very funny, and surprisingly affectionate 5 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers Huge imrovement over the Santa Clause. Very, very funny. 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Finally someone had the guts to make fun of Star Trek. 4 stars
2/21/00 bullit17 Eh. It had its moments. Nothing special. 3 stars
2/08/00 Porkdog Great satire. I was very pleasantly suprised. 4 stars
2/07/00 jenn "Blu Smrf" hilarious! great cast that keeps you laughing the entire time! 5 stars
2/02/00 mr. coffee Great spoofs! 4 stars
1/31/00 Crewman #5 Lots o' laughs, great adventures, and a wonderfully underrated cast 5 stars
1/24/00 Cibeus I'm going to see this movie again. 5 stars
1/24/00 Suzanne I loved this movie. 5 stars
1/17/00 Carl Take your 10+ kids to it, but don't expect great movie making. 4 stars
1/16/00 Zatoichi Trek dorks will love it. 4 stars
1/13/00 voyant The funniest movie of the year.. a must see for even the occasional Trek viewer. 5 stars
1/11/00 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules!!! The one about the snowman that killed people was better 3 stars
1/10/00 Linda Much better than anticipated! 5 stars
1/07/00 Jo Hilarious! I was laughing the whole time! 4 stars
1/07/00 PhilmPhreak Very funny - the best special effect was Sigourney Weaver's cleavage! 4 stars
1/06/00 meg Wonderfully silly and good-hearted. 4 stars
1/05/00 ScottA2001 Great story but flat acting made it less funny than it should have been 4 stars
1/03/00 Richard Hendricks Funny as hell. Great for an ex-Trekkie, now B5'er 4 stars
1/02/00 Pope Gonzo XIII hell yeah you should see it! It's funny and will strike a chord with other actors. 4 stars
1/02/00 Adam Really funny. And someone convice Sigourney to take these kinds of roles more often. 4 stars
1/01/00 Lame-Oh Not your typical sci-fi flick, but some of the jokes can be irritating. 3 stars
1/01/00 sophia866 Go see Trekkies before this, but Weaver's bosom is worth a matinee. 4 stars
12/31/99 marmoset Good fun, consistently funny. 4 stars
12/29/99 Crystal Great Fun! Silly but not Stupid! 4 stars
12/28/99 RadarDan The audience I saw it with laughed uproariously. 4 stars
12/28/99 joechip I laughed the whole time 4 stars
12/27/99 Magyarpoet Good for a few laughs. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Apr-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast