More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome64.69%
Worth A Look: 14.81%
Average: 11.85%
Pretty Bad: 4.38%
Total Crap: 4.27%

19 reviews, 730 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy by Brett Gallman

One I Love, The by Jay Seaver

Get On Up by Peter Sobczynski

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

subscribe to this feed


Gladiator (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Should have been laughed out of theaters, but won Best Picture??"
2 stars

Political junkies may be amused by 'Gladiator,' the burly and boring epic directed by Ridley Scott. This, after all, is the story of a former warrior who has a chance at ruling his land, until the spoiled son of royalty brings him low. The film even features a noble senator who wants to boot the son of royalty out of power. Read 'Gladiator' as the John McCain story and you might stay interested in it for a while.

It's not often that a movie exists on several levels of rip-off. Gladiator doesn't only remind you of earlier, better sword-and-sandal sagas like Spartacus and Ben-Hur. When the hero, the great Roman general Maximus (Russell Crowe), narrowly escapes assassination and returns home to find his wife and son brutally slain, you half expect mad Maximus to jump into a modified police car and run down some Aussie motorcycle punks. And the hate-athon between Maximus and Commodus (Joaquin Phoenix), the unworthy blood heir to the throne of Caesar, has a distinct Ten Commandments whiff about it: Maximus/Moses is the superior son that Caesar/Pharoah wishes he had instead of getting stuck with Commodus/Rameses.

Critics have also compared the early battle sequence in Gladiator to the early battle sequence in Saving Private Ryan, with which any reasonable filmgoer must beg to differ. The key difference is that, for all its jerky camera movements and tricky frame-printing for a sped-up, strobe effect, the Saving Private Ryan sequence was actually possible to follow. Ridley Scott uses the same technique -- he had actually used it before in his inept G.I. Jane, so I can't say he's swiping from Spielberg -- but the editing is so ferocious, the action filmed so close in, and the lighting so punishingly dim, that you literally can't tell what's going on. This also goes for the scenes inside the Coliseum, when Maximus returns to Rome as a slave and gladiator bent on vengeance. He kills lots of opponents, I guess -- who can tell?

You know you're not in for a subtle evening at the movies when the hero is named Maximus, which sounds like a brand of condom. Russell Crowe does his best to breathe life into this bronze statue of a character, and it'll be a deep irony if, after years of complex performances in box-office failures like L.A. Confidential and The Insider, this stoic beefcake role is the one that puts him over the top. Joaquin Phoenix, by virtue of having fun with his rotten Commodus and sharing the fun with us, skitters away with the movie. When a movie hero is this opaque, one's interest naturally shifts to the decadent villain and the actor enjoying playing him.

Has Ridley Scott lost it? Gladiator is one of the worst-looking movies ever made by a former visual genius. The Coliseum, mostly created in a computer and populated by crowds also created in a computer, is compelling proof that CGI has a long way to go. Scott even uses CGI on poor Oliver Reed, who died during filming; a stand-in with Reed's digitally mapped face plays Reed's final scene. It looks okay, but subliminally there is still something off about it -- I couldn't focus on a word the fake Reed was saying.

Gladiator marches grimly to its conclusion; three screenwriters can't add much spice to this reheated beef stew. If a gladiator film doesn't work as spectacle or as bloodthirsty action, what's left? Drama? It's dead on that level, too, unless you haven't seen Braveheart or even Hamlet, from which the climactic fight borrows.

'Gladiator' is a monument to meat-eating retro masculinity -- I can imagine the guys on 'The Man Show' raving about it -- but that's finally all it is. It will be amusing, though, to listen to all the guys talk about how much they loved 'Gladiator' while avoiding the uncomfortable subtext of why they loved it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1780&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/24/07 12:18:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/30/14 rzcrobxbfy USA 3 stars
7/19/14 ipisyrgqowp USA 3 stars
7/14/14 Roy Hicks Killing has never been a more satisfying thing to watch in this epic tale of a gladiator 5 stars
4/23/14 Eric Eyster was terribly disappointed by this when i watched on dvd after it won all the awards. 3 stars
12/01/13 Timothy Welsh Russell Crowe and ass kicking. Need I say more? 5 stars
8/29/13 Tammy Woodall Action movie with great acting and an actual storyline. 5 stars
8/01/13 carrie haynes 5 stars
1/29/13 Alex Gomez action,action,action 5 stars
1/19/13 Marguerite Eustace good movie, money worth 5 stars
11/19/12 Graywriter Bought the video, turned it off, walked away to read a book 2 stars
10/23/12 Roshawn Rochester Best Russel Crowe movie ever!!! 5 stars
8/29/12 Omlopez8 Cool movie even with the historical errors 5 stars
8/29/12 Pedro Rafael Cruz Kick-Ass Cool!- Loved it! 5 stars
7/06/12 Dr.Lao One kick @$$ movie! 5 stars
2/17/12 Alex Gomez great- intense 5 stars
2/12/12 Tony Hogan Great Action and Adventure Storyline 5 stars
12/20/11 Kedron Great movie, action with compasion 5 stars
9/30/11 Todd Teghtmeyer Great flick ! Love the fighting in this movie 5 stars
9/10/11 b0SamueL0b +z$8frZdyL%68pSU/:>w<:E3.lG-!XIB 4 stars
8/21/11 jeremy BEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!!! 5 stars
8/11/11 Sharon Hinrichs Worth watching for Russell Crow alone. A Great Movie as well! 5 stars
7/10/11 Jennifer Barr aweright 3 stars
4/18/11 Tom D Enjoyable. I watch it whenever it is on TV. 4 stars
2/09/11 Sam lol@idiots. This movie is mediocre and tedious. Not BAD, but also not worth the 2.5 hours. 3 stars
11/07/10 Will Russell Ultimate guy movie, never gets old! 5 stars
8/12/10 Peri Ann It,s lots of muscle and pounding, without real human interest. Action instead of depth. 2 stars
8/06/10 Chris Easily one of the most inspiring films of Crowe's career, the epic battle scenes were epic. 5 stars
6/22/10 christy spires This is still one of my favorite movies of all time!! 5 stars
5/01/10 Elliott Falzon You have to be an idiot to not appreciate this masterpiece. It won oscars for a reason. 5 stars
1/29/10 Dane Youssef One of the best action films made in a while. Performances scorch, Rome is breathtaking. 5 stars
1/10/10 Loren Incredibly boring and stupid 2 stars
11/27/09 Micah One of the best films ever made. Its rare to see a perfect movie like this with no flaws 5 stars
8/05/09 Simon A sweeping yet remarkably complete film. phoenix underrated, beautiful score and ending 5 stars
8/03/09 Rachel Loved it! 5 stars
7/11/09 Larry H. I thought this film was overrated..not a bad film, but not Ridley Scott's best work. 4 stars
6/29/09 budo EXCELLENT-PERIOD! 5 stars
12/03/08 Jimmy epic 5 stars
11/23/08 George Epic! 5 stars
10/31/08 tiffany pettey not boring at all: enthralling 4 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E Ridley Scott epic 'nough said. 5 stars
9/05/08 Ed Shandis I could have played a better Maximus, Crowe lacks decent acting skills!! 3 stars
9/04/08 Alexandru Totir It's so good that you won't feel how 160 minutes have flied by. 5 stars
8/11/08 George Barksdale One of the best Roman time movies made 5 stars
8/02/08 Me I wanted everyone int he stadium to die 1 stars
6/11/08 Dawn MCPike unbelievable! We loved this movie and would watch it again and again! 5 stars
5/19/08 terri it's boring and sis remind me of Ben Hur and Spartucus! 2 stars
5/17/08 PAUL SHORTT LAVISH, SPECTACULAR, ACTION-PACKED, MUSCULAR, BLOODY COMBAT FILM 3 stars
4/03/08 action movie fan good story, good sets and some good action-crowes best film 4 stars
3/15/08 Brian This the Greatest Movie I have Ever seen! - And Gonsalves' review is the most bullshit ever 5 stars
3/10/08 mb Good movie 4 stars
2/05/08 Lorenzo Absolutely and unequivocally astonishing. In a class by itself. 5 stars
9/19/07 Ben Larson Never a dull moment 5 stars
8/09/07 Krista Lee Love it, Love it, Love it.. Russell Crowe is HOT!! 5 stars
8/03/07 itchmr epic effort given slightly too much praise 4 stars
7/12/07 Edward Shandis Maximus is dreamy!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/04/07 Russ Gladchenko A very nicely done movie. The score was simply amazing. 5 stars
6/12/07 al smith incredible crowe has amazing screen presence and scott is a british legend 5 stars
6/08/07 jose moran it was a awesome movie i would like to have it not rented it was great awesome guys and pro 5 stars
5/18/07 Sam Dorsey VERY SHOCKING to see the movie, all ! 5 stars
4/29/07 Kathleen Devine Russell Crowe is hawt! 4 stars
4/21/07 mo man SICK all should see it!!! 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK My names Russel Crowe, N' I lav ter foight! 1 stars
4/18/07 Tracey Chambers great movie, wonderful acting by everyone. 5 stars
4/16/07 Dark Enchantress one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
3/20/07 Noemi OMG i think this was one of the best movies i ever saw im serious i hope theres a part 2&3 5 stars
3/18/07 Dark Enchantress love it! 5 stars
3/08/07 Smooth.G It is GREAT! 5 stars
2/15/07 I Gluck Great movie...loved it 5 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen fantastic movie! Joaquin Phoenix was absolutley brilliant!!!!! 5 stars
1/15/07 Emilian Pasca Beyond words or comments,simply a masterpiece! 5 stars
1/03/07 EZ Only bad part was they were whispering the whole damn time! 5 stars
12/13/06 Derek Tribe Amazing action! 5 stars
12/11/06 R great movie. one of the best 5 stars
10/30/06 Roger Wilks one of the best movies of all time 5 stars
9/28/06 bernard bustillo its nice 2 stars
9/08/06 lizbeth beautiful movie,excellent 5 stars
8/04/06 sulman mahmood execelent 5 stars
6/14/06 MP Bartley Terminator in a toga, essentially. 4 stars
5/29/06 Marwan the best of the best 5 stars
5/19/06 Amber Pifer Wonderful and definately Oscar-worthy 5 stars
5/17/06 funk it stank 1 stars
5/07/06 chienne Russell Crowe - Maximus Excellence - bloody great film - a fave 5 stars
4/26/06 tweetybird one of my favorites 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky Joaquin Phoenix is amazing...and just a solid good movie 5 stars
4/02/06 JRE see it 5 stars
4/01/06 Thomas Semesky A little long, but entertaining 4 stars
12/31/05 Ronin the first scene=total awesome, the rest is a disappointment. Still not bad 3 stars
12/27/05 Tombstone great 4 stars
12/23/05 cody a good action movie about the roman empire,good story great perf. russel, emperor guy sucks 3 stars
12/11/05 chris i agree completely with cooler on this one 5 stars
12/07/05 cooler One of the greatest epics of all time.Rome in all its blazing glory 5 stars
11/23/05 Narcs Exellent movie .... and storyline. 5 stars
11/23/05 Guy Not even entertaining. 1 stars
11/17/05 Zack Entertaining but nothin else 3 stars
11/16/05 Quigley Russell rocks, the visuals rule, the sword fighting is insane: this is one sweet movie. 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Story, dialogue, characters, cinematography...Man this movie is the shit. 5 stars
11/07/05 francois helmer fantastic 5 stars
11/05/05 sergy load of crap 1 stars
10/28/05 matt good action, but pretentious and contrived 2 stars
10/17/05 k fantastic 5 stars
10/17/05 Lauryn Wonderful Movie 5 stars
9/26/05 kayleigh this is the best movie of it's kind,. i have watched it over and over again many times. 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero A throwback to 50's sword and sandal shit...Phoenix a rehash of Nasty Emperor. 1 stars
8/19/05 Anus RUSSEL BLOWE - FIGHTIN' ROUND THE WORLD IN AD 40!!! 2 stars
8/13/05 Ric It's no Braveheart, but the action's fun, the acting's solid, and the f/x are great. 4 stars
8/12/05 ES I liked this movie but the acting was strained, check out the prison scene (ala braveheart) 3 stars
6/10/05 JD Truly excellent movie!! 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley a must see sword-and-sandals epic. Russell rocks, and the sword fighting is awesome! 5 stars
4/15/05 Colleen Goldrick Loved it 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Exciting and beautiful, but surprisingly slight. 3 stars
3/23/05 heidi kukta Great Action Movie 4 stars
3/22/05 Phil M. Aficionado Shallow script; cardboard characters; but entertaining, too. 3 stars
3/17/05 Colleen Goldrick A Must See 5 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy When men get punked watch Galdiator to renew the MAN in you..."Are you not Entertained!" 5 stars
3/05/05 kimerie jones this was a excellent movie I enjoyed every minute of it both crowe and phenix played their 5 stars
2/22/05 re morgan crowe is one of THE BEST actors of our time - often under appreciated and overlooked 5 stars
2/20/05 craig varney must see russel crowe is great 5 stars
2/18/05 Movie Queen Wistful, wonderful, accurate. 5 stars
2/18/05 Colleen Goldrick a must for a collector 5 stars
2/05/05 Pam Shue Awesome! 5 stars
1/31/05 Lisa Craven Russell in a skirt...wow...great movie, too. 5 stars
1/31/05 Carl Gorney great design overall-Crowe doesn't hit a false note 4 stars
1/15/05 Smytheman Crowe's best, awesome film 5 stars
1/13/05 erika sovey this is the best movie i have ever seen! russell crowe is a great actor and a hottie<3 5 stars
12/17/04 Kathrine Parga great. loved it 5 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams come on. It was awesome. Tigers, people. TIGERS! 5 stars
12/04/04 gray lame 2 stars
11/27/04 Matt F. CRAP 1 stars
11/12/04 cory it is the best 5 stars
11/01/04 redseal The worst movie ever 1 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert Fantastic! I felt emotion for the characters and the action was superb. 5 stars
10/08/04 piquet excellent film, great music 5 stars
9/10/04 jeff awsome movie, check it out. 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Russel Crowe is riveting also read Homer's Illiad to know how loosely based Troy is from it 5 stars
7/28/04 col are you all crazy? it's at best a made for TNT movie, what's wrong with this world 1 stars
7/25/04 Patrick Puhl Read Shakespeare. Watch Spartacus. Same thing. The best picture is...UNORIGINAL. 3 stars
7/21/04 Patjng this is one kick ass movie!!!!!! 5 stars
7/21/04 Alex Whoopi 3 stars
7/20/04 Northerly Good Film Like watching Northerly defeat Sunline 4 stars
7/19/04 Gray Lame 1 stars
6/17/04 Daveman I'm too forthcoming, this film is lame. Troy is far better. 2 stars
5/31/04 Troy Kuprash Didnt Mind It, Didnt Care For It 3 stars
5/30/04 Frazier An elite film with a great plot and terrific character development 5 stars
5/17/04 bob powerful 4 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it OK movie...but Best Picture, Best Actor? I don't think so! 3 stars
5/14/04 Mikey P Horrible cinematography, special effects, acting 1 stars
5/14/04 Daveman Like Sparticus, Gladiator has everything but a story, but Sparticus had some great dialogue 3 stars
5/14/04 Jan Mozelewski Great acting, involving story. Not just pretty boys in skirts , Mr Peterson! 5 stars
5/03/04 Tee Hee Ewww! That guy wet his pants! 3 stars
5/01/04 Flynn Paquin needs to lay off. A sucks rating puts it in the company of Battlefield Earth. 5 stars
4/25/04 Carla i loved this film, a great story with great action. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley anyone who didn't like this movie has a screw loose...movie rocks 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho involving but too grandiose and relentless for my liking 3 stars
3/21/04 Constance Swearingen An outstanding epic, more depth to Crowe's character than most people give him credit. 4 stars
3/07/04 Joe D. Howe should change his name to WHO?! Gives it 3 stars-he gave crap ZOOLANDER 3!!! 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Good cinematography, art directiona and other technicalities. That's all! 3 stars
2/18/04 Pinkline Jones John Bale u r Wrong - Crowe superb as usual 4 stars
2/15/04 john bale Like many "Epics" there is more style than substance, with Crowe's performance wooden. 3 stars
2/02/04 Gabriela The best portrayal of a "villian" I´ve ever seen. Phoenix is talented. 5 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver Gladiator films great memories they remind me of my Hells Angels initiation of '72. 5 stars
12/19/03 Butterfly Need more death and sex 5 stars
12/18/03 irene very nice 4 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Great film way better than Ben Hur partly because no patronising Christians get in the way 5 stars
12/03/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) The war and scenes of violence are really cool, & Crowe is enjoyable. 4 stars
11/29/03 john the opening alone is worth the price of admission - second half not particlarly inspired 4 stars
11/20/03 miki it's the best film 5 stars
10/02/03 Pinkline Jones The bloke from Kung Fu was heaps tougher 1 stars
9/27/03 Matthew Munster Kirk Douglas is better in Gladiator original 4 stars
9/18/03 DICK crowe at his best (what was a beautiful mind) but this movie was great 5 stars
9/14/03 Katie One of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
9/04/03 AD great 5 stars
8/15/03 I Would Supremely overrated, but good for a popcorn film. 3 stars
8/02/03 DM Good-but not THAT good 4 stars
7/15/03 Morpheus It's nice to see the return of the sword and sandals epic, but this just doesn't deliver. 3 stars
7/07/03 Chloe Brotherstone Best movie I have ever seen. It's one that you could never get sick of. Remarkable!! 5 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Not that good. 3 stars
5/24/03 K.B One of my all time favorites. Just watch it. 5 stars
4/25/03 phaedra anne millington i really liked it and russel crowe acted real great aswell and it is worth watching 4 stars
4/25/03 The Talking Elbow One point is knocked off for being historically inept, otherwise this is perfect. 4 stars
4/24/03 Sabina amazing 5 stars
4/23/03 Valentine I am still thinking about it and its been two years... superb. 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Tad dull, but sometimes breathtaking. 4 stars
4/10/03 Ross Bernard Paquin, you are quite a horrible critic! this movie was pretty fucking awesome 5 stars
4/03/03 Mr. Do nice fight with lion. 4 stars
4/03/03 Pixie It was ok, very gory which i'm not much into but a good laugh in some parts! 4 stars
2/20/03 Dave Overblown historical movie that takes itself too seriously, despite its shallowness. 3 stars
2/16/03 Adam This movie is, quite simply, one of the best movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/10/03 Janell Miller Best Movie ever I will buy the DVD and watch it every day 5 stars
2/01/03 dionwr Crowes the whole show; needed a SCRIPT 3 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Crowe can't fight, can't act and definitely can't sing! 1 stars
1/24/03 Jason The best 5 stars
1/21/03 Andy Bronson overrated piece of turd on a plate being fed to the overly political shit stain (oscars) 1 stars
1/20/03 james an amazing film compared with some of crap that comes out these days 5 stars
1/11/03 Brittany gladiator is one of the best movies ever made; there should have been move fight scenes in 5 stars
1/10/03 Mitsaso I'm still laughing... 2 stars
1/06/03 Bob Dong crappy story line but insane fighting scenes 5 stars
12/15/02 Laurian Diaconescu I'm was a roman general,now fighting in the arena, and nobody recognizes me! Pretty silly. 3 stars
12/06/02 i-might-be-giant The Greatest Movie EVER 5 stars
12/03/02 mr. Pink Screenplay sucks big time! Overedited! Weak performances, save Crowe who's done better ! 1 stars
11/21/02 Logger ok 4 stars
11/19/02 SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION good film,decent acting as much as i dislike crowe,its a sound film 5 stars
11/18/02 Jennifer This movie rocks! 5 stars
11/15/02 Chiendog zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..... 1 stars
11/09/02 Dan Decent, but too scheesy at points, and the fight senes early on tend to be too frenetic ala 4 stars
11/06/02 bob saget 5 stars
11/02/02 liz lost nice. 5 stars
11/01/02 FrEd it is a ass pooing nose fucking hell of a film 5 stars
10/29/02 José great and modern Peplum 5 stars
10/27/02 Jordana It was soooooooo boring 1 stars
9/27/02 John McNew A film that borders on greatness but is mired by a molesting visual look 4 stars
9/24/02 Zargo overrated and ordinary, this is no epic either 3 stars
9/06/02 I Can't Swim Contrary to popular opinion, Rusty deserved the Oscar he won for this 5 stars
9/05/02 Rob This is great !!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa I see why it won Best Picture. 5 stars
8/16/02 MR The first 20 minutes are great! It goes downhill quickly after that. 2 stars
8/16/02 Scott Deserves all the praise it got. Best thing this side of the colliseum. LOVED IT! 5 stars
8/16/02 Shaun its a good movie, great score and actors 5 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks The inspiration for Star Wars: Episode II 4 stars
8/13/02 Kelly Kell This movie rocks!!!!! 5 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers Not the best movie of 2000, but still rollicking good fun at the movies. 5 stars
8/04/02 daniboy not very good. russel crowe is great though 3 stars
7/30/02 The Truth Not a classic like Braveheart but still an almost great movie 5 stars
7/28/02 Maximus better than I expected 5 stars
7/25/02 Joseph Alcantara This movie is awsome 5 stars
7/22/02 Paul This is probably my favourite film of all time. Seen it about 15 times now, never get bored 5 stars
7/05/02 Lynn Zahn I've watched this movie over and over agiain and each time I am enthralled! 5 stars
6/13/02 Friend Of All yeah it was cool 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum This beat out "Requiem for a Dream" for Best Pic? 3 stars
5/23/02 Diana The best fucken movie ever 5 stars
5/23/02 Francis The action scenes and parts of the plot have zero credibility, but the film survives 4 stars
5/15/02 ashley jones it was a really good movie and i enjoyed it very much! 4 stars
5/14/02 BrodieMan Everything about this movie kicked ass. 5 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx Fantastic film. Great acting, direction, everything. The overall "feel" of it was superb! 5 stars
5/10/02 Brett whalan Good movie 5 stars
4/30/02 nate martin bad ass 5 stars
4/25/02 Natasha Redman IT IS FUCKIN AWSOME!!!!! 5 stars
4/21/02 Maximus THIS MOVIE ROCKED and stfu butternuts 5 stars
4/12/02 robert ccc c 5 stars
4/10/02 The Grinch Terrible history, but a great story. I love this movie. 5 stars
4/03/02 girl It had moments, but not enough of them to merit any awards 3 stars
3/22/02 martina it's fucking stinks 1 stars
3/21/02 Alice Lartigau Fantastic except, not as goood the 2nd time 4 stars
3/21/02 Natasha Redman Joaquin ROCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/02 Butternuts I wanted to like it...overfuckingrated. Crowe did not deserve any kind of award for this 2 stars
3/17/02 Jim Pretty good movie but Crouching Tiger deserved the Oscar 4 stars
3/16/02 Al Oh please, this movies sucked! Bad plot, boring characters....*pukes* I 1 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand it had its good points but not enough to make me watch it again 3 stars
3/07/02 Alan Smithee One of the most overrated and boring pieces of crap that I've ever seen. 1 stars
3/05/02 I love movies just awesome... Roger Ebert should be fired, he's pathetic as a critic 5 stars
2/25/02 andy nault best movie ever 5 stars
2/19/02 Tarrah Best movie i have ssen , i watch it again and again and again.... 5 stars
2/17/02 maite i think joaquin is sucha babe i wanna marry him 5 stars
2/12/02 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Mel Gibson is not good enough to lick Russell Crowe's balls 5 stars
2/07/02 Butterbean I wanted to give Phoenix's character a hug. It wasn't a TOTAL rip-off of Braveheart 4 stars
2/07/02 TimmyToday Braveheart in Rome. Nothing original. 2 stars
2/02/02 Mariaan The characters fit the parts well and the music makes the movie more, intense and sad! 5 stars
1/28/02 Reg Movie Rules 5 stars
1/24/02 Bob Villa It was nice 5 stars
1/23/02 Doug Very good, but not great. 4 stars
1/21/02 Soap Lando Lack of sex and dirt - Rent "Caligula" instead of "Gladiator" 2 stars
1/20/02 KCobain Not impressive or original. Overlong 3 stars
1/20/02 a b 5 stars
1/19/02 Rego Allegro Enjoyable piece of crap - moronic scenario and amazing direction 3 stars
1/16/02 David A. Didn't we all identify with Commodus? Nobody likes a Mr. Perfect like Maximus 4 stars
1/05/02 Math & Metal Excellent fighting, good portrayal of a "noble/heroic tragedy" situation. 4 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole It's ok, but it didn't deserve all the hype. 3 stars
1/05/02 Butterbean The oscar should have been Joaquin's. I just wanted to give his character a hug. 4 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania This IS a great movie. Just awesome. 5 stars
12/27/01 Cvetana Petrova Great film 4 stars
12/26/01 MONTASER SULIMAN none 5 stars
12/16/01 cara it absolutely rocked 5 stars
12/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Russell's Oscar a rocking good win, ditto the movie 5 stars
12/11/01 Janice Logar Totally awesome 5 stars
12/08/01 Gilbert Smith This is a touching, and enchanting piece of film masterpiece. Inspirational, spellbinding. 5 stars
12/08/01 Waylon Roundtree Saw it in the theatre, and was totally surprised; well-acted, and well-directed by Scott. 5 stars
12/05/01 karmen a great effort has been put into this and it has been well produced, its my time 5 stars
12/05/01 Nuric wonderful, excelent and so on 5 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt Over-rated i prefered Braveheart, found film boring and predictable at times. 3 stars
11/28/01 Shane Fucking Awesome film guys. It was the best film I have ever seen. 5 stars
11/28/01 Butterbean Screw you, Smoogles! This is a shitload better than Braveheart. 5 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Did I just watch 'Braveheart'????????????? 3 stars
11/24/01 me excelent 5 stars
11/24/01 MAC Excellent movie. Amazing. By far the best movie of the year 5 stars
11/22/01 Lavincia Excellent, it was good how the film producer showed what it was like to be a real gladiator 5 stars
11/22/01 RACHEL EXCELLENT 4 stars
11/17/01 I love movies went a little downhill after the battles in the Colosseum... still a decent movie 4 stars
11/17/01 Munky Bals suck my cock and lick my balls you bitch this movie rocked my ass so I shit my pants 5 stars
11/16/01 Edward Dodge *Might* impress those who haven't seen "Spartacus" or "Ben Hur," *will* disappoint others. 2 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Did the end have to be quite so dumb and predictable? 4 stars
11/14/01 Ass Wipe Great 5 stars
11/13/01 Robert A decent film but nothing great. Without Crowe it would have been worthless. 3 stars
11/12/01 Josh Kempen Awsome!!!! 5 stars
11/10/01 josh hayes fanatstic 5 stars
11/09/01 Moises Valadez It's too short for an epic. 4 stars
11/08/01 Maritza Gonzalez It is the best movie I've ever seen. Everything was awesome(especially Russell Crowe). 5 stars
11/08/01 Beverley Excellent - Russell Crowe was superb and deserved the Oscar 5 stars
11/08/01 Susan Winnie Gladiator is a classic and Russell Crowe is brilliant. 5 stars
11/07/01 Jared Wilcut It is my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Could have done with more in the arena and less talk outside but still a ripper of a flick! 5 stars
10/29/01 Lennard BEST MOVIE EVER!!!! 5 stars
10/17/01 William Jewell A good movie. Just not an Academy Award Winner. 3 stars
10/16/01 jonnooooowa yeeaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh 5 stars
10/10/01 rebecca its a pretty bad movie n a bit boring n heaps groos but its not dat bad 2 stars
10/07/01 Evil Bitchwoman one of my top 5 films. I love it 5 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy CGI sucks. some script problems, the last fight is too short. everything else is perfect. 4 stars
9/29/01 Dave Ornelas This movie kept me completely spellbound from the opening scene to the very end. 5 stars
9/20/01 rebecca the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
9/18/01 vanessa barr very sad but exciting 5 stars
9/13/01 huigh fung fantastic 5 stars
9/11/01 Rampage absolute kick-ass 5 stars
9/03/01 Rebecca MMH always*Moffatts "A gloriously entertaining thrill -packer" doesn't that say it all? 5 stars
9/02/01 jane zhang it's fantastic, russel did a very good job. he desserve an oscar. well done! 5 stars
9/01/01 I love movies beautifully filmed and exciting! 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm For what it's worth, it's far more BEN-HUR than SPARTACUS. 4 stars
8/30/01 Meow Heart Wrenchingly Fuckin' Awesome 5 stars
8/26/01 Joe Raderon Awesome 5 stars
8/26/01 Bonnie Logsdon Fantastic 5 stars
8/16/01 Dakamus Not a bad remake of Ben-Hur. Not bad at all. 4 stars
7/20/01 Jeremy Lamb(Commidus) Awsome epic with great action 5 stars
7/19/01 Rolling Thunder Sooo phony and predictable... one of the worst ever to win best picture... 2 stars
7/14/01 alex clausius I sense the film revolves around the concept of a 'small penis" 5 stars
7/14/01 TLsmooth This movie is not suppose to be Bravefuck, you ass-lickers. 5 stars
7/08/01 Caligula BLOODY HELL THIS IS JUNK! 1 stars
7/07/01 Adam A weak contrived story, not even close to Braveheart 3 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard Good visuals. Joaquin Phoenix should have gotten Crowe's Oscar. No Braveheart! 4 stars
7/03/01 Sevon Moore I never thought I would say this, but this movie COULD be better than Braveheart!! 5 stars
7/02/01 Jonny jayyyyyyyyy yo 4 stars
7/01/01 chels i loved it really really really good acting russell crowe was excellent in it 5 stars
6/29/01 master.node THIS got Best Picture? *and* Best Actor?? Pull the other one! 3 stars
6/28/01 Michael Goldfield A modern motion picture epic. Superb directing and sensation acting by all. 5 stars
6/27/01 parkallan I saw this movie twice, only it was called BRAVEHEART and THE PATRIOT 3 stars
6/26/01 Bront the word "epic" is an understatement 5 stars
6/26/01 fred great 4 stars
6/26/01 Lars Pettersson Truly a great movie by a directing master. Mr Ridley Scott. His best since Thelma & Louise 4 stars
6/23/01 Kris The initial battle is great, then things get worse and the ending is laughable. 3 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman Best Picture of 2000?!!! Gimme a Break 3 stars
6/21/01 natasha cupac an exroadinary film, an epic, quite realistic 5 stars
6/13/01 Luke Splazzshat Olly Reed was great as Maximus; shame Russell Crowe died before its completion 4 stars
6/12/01 Boni N.S. Amazing 5 stars
6/12/01 Rebecca (hartnett) fell asleep wacthing it, it's boring ha ha 2 stars
6/10/01 Ramsey Only Braveheart could be better. Great Movie! 5 stars
6/06/01 Murphy McC Crowe and Phoenix were amazing! 5 stars
6/05/01 I love movies a beautiful, exciting, well-acted, thrilling movie. 5 stars
6/02/01 Jason S. Kotz Good movie, except the fight scenes were really disappointing. 3 stars
5/31/01 Marie That movie is so cool!!! The actors are really the greatest!!! 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Very good. 5 stars
5/27/01 B.B Great 5 stars
5/27/01 BrainPan More like on par with Ben Affleck 3 stars
5/23/01 Dean Pretty lame. And sorry, Spartacus is based on a true story, this is lame fiction. 3 stars
5/21/01 Jena Male fantastic 4 stars
5/13/01 Monster W. Kung Dull plot, less than impressive acting and average special FX. All hype, no substance. 2 stars
5/10/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Forget that it's overhyped all to hell, and it's really quite good. 5 stars
5/08/01 Rodney Muterspaw for pure entertainment...one of the best ever 5 stars
5/07/01 Rani its the best movie ever made, you've gotter see it! 5 stars
5/02/01 BrainPan Wah-keen Feenicks blows goats. He'd make a good shift manager at BK. Good movie, though 4 stars
5/01/01 Pete Zahut Very good, Crowe deserved his Best Actor Oscar; Neilsen & Reed deserved nominations 5 stars
4/28/01 sapphyrmoon fuckin' awesome-crowe's hot!!!! 5 stars
4/28/01 Hawkeye Joaquin Phoenix was chilling. Russell Crowe was heroic. Go see this movie! 5 stars
4/28/01 jared This movie is the shit 5 stars
4/27/01 Paul Gladiator was simply amazing! 5 stars
4/25/01 J Best picture my bootie! Although it wasn't bad at least it wasn't titanic. 3 stars
4/23/01 Ebony The best movie and Russ, you're a cutie!! 5 stars
4/22/01 ShUp Definetely over credited 3 stars
4/22/01 dimoc computergame.and not special one 1 stars
4/20/01 emma lodge the best movie of all time 5 stars
4/19/01 Casi It is so good 5 stars
4/18/01 danielle cotner nicely done 5 stars
4/17/01 Karla Stratford Awesome! 5 stars
4/17/01 Tim Bishop I loved this film and can't wait to see it again! 5 stars
4/15/01 samantha I think that it is the best movie i have ever seen the ending is realy sad. 5 stars
4/15/01 mazz breathtaking 5 stars
4/13/01 Piz Cynics always bash the winner, take it for what its worth, lives up to its title 5 stars
4/11/01 vic THE BEST!!! 5 stars
4/11/01 Spetters Jesus!!! How the fuck did this win the fucking Oscar. It must be stupidity. 2 stars
4/07/01 Jeru48 Bloated like Marlon Brando.... just wait until Crowe ends up that way... 3 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye A great epic, much better than Spartacus. I saw it 3 times and didn't tire of it at all. 5 stars
4/03/01 . watched it 4 times. awsome everytime. 5 stars
4/02/01 gyfyvcy vyviutf 1 stars
3/30/01 Ronald Greenway alright 4 stars
3/29/01 Stephen Sills Insanely entertaining! I saw it 7 times in the theater. Deserved every Oscar it got. 5 stars
3/29/01 Ed Jepson saw it four times 5 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L Not academy award material but it beats the Flintstones 4 stars
3/26/01 nowak It is empty. Poorly directed, wasted effort. Looks fine though. 3 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Sucks, 'nuff said. 2 stars
3/24/01 Elli The best movie I've seen in my life. 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Average, no more, no less. It doesn't even compare to Spartacus. 3 stars
3/20/01 Karla Bushway A powerful epic that leaves you drained at the end;Crowe &Phoenix are thrilling adversaries 5 stars
3/15/01 Rhiannon An explosive, stunning epic that literally takes your breath away. A fantastic movie! 5 stars
3/14/01 Terrie Smith Intense atmosphere; fine performances especially Reed. A good film but not a great one. 4 stars
3/14/01 Natalie Reynolds I personally like Commodus, but nobody else seems to. I think that he was fair and nice... 5 stars
3/09/01 fifu i loved this movie, the plot was small but still great(and hype there was just one fx) 4 stars
3/09/01 Jesse Chappell I liked it a lot 5 stars
3/07/01 Steve Go see Spartacus or Ben Hur they are far superior 1 stars
3/06/01 Shams Huque Almost great: Just a few flaws. 5 stars
3/06/01 Glen Allen The best epic I have ever seen 5 stars
3/06/01 8 dollar Hype theft just another effects movie, the acting was worthless 2 stars
3/04/01 the dodo KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL! 5 stars
3/02/01 Klute It's not perfect, but it aims so high it still beats most other films. 5 stars
2/28/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro Good , but not excellent 3 stars
2/27/01 juan de la cruz ang galing! 5 stars
2/27/01 jo.ilie@excite.com It isn't a masterpiece, but, al least, there is something different: he dies in the end. 4 stars
2/22/01 Tim Gee It had so much potential, never quite realized... 4 stars
2/21/01 cool leather Depressing, Incest is Entertaining, Wake the fuck up people?? 1 stars
2/20/01 Dave the Knave I sat stunned in my seat for nearly twenty minutes. Unparalleled. 5 stars
2/20/01 Nick Berger i dont know why anyone liked this, its melodramatic crap, and very predictable 1 stars
2/19/01 wyrock grand, beautiful, violent, emotional climax at the end, it's why we go to the movies 5 stars
2/18/01 SJH What a pile of crap!!! (Joking) 5 stars
2/17/01 Charlie Smith Great flick! The romance, action, and drama make it almost as good as "Crouching Tiger"... 5 stars
2/17/01 I love movies realistic 4 stars
2/17/01 my mum is having a blowjob this is a great fuckin bitch of a film 5 stars
2/14/01 Maximus Aurelias Wowser!!!! u can smell the sweat and taste the blood... 5 stars
2/14/01 Amish Commando I saw it 3 times in the theater...I bought the DVD....I don't even own a DVD player 5 stars
2/10/01 Michabo Give me a break. Truly awful. 1 stars
2/10/01 Bobby Action/effect cools but where is it going?? 1 stars
2/06/01 Alex Moir testicles is right pure genius, only trails behind Boondock and Braveheart 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Great movie, breathtaking scenery!! Crowe is at his best in this one. 5 stars
2/05/01 Testicles Brilliant, havent seen such an epic atle told so beautifully in a long time 5 stars
2/05/01 Daniel Williams I absolutely loved Gladiator 5 stars
2/05/01 dr doom THUMBS UP!! 5 stars
2/04/01 Del R Worth the money and then some. A great DVD for your collection 5 stars
2/03/01 Ruth218 I wanted to be a man so I could follow Maximus 5 stars
2/02/01 J2 Geeeeeeorgeous movie in every way imaginable. 5 stars
2/02/01 Eufrasia Russell is Man and Man is HOT!!! 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Spartacus rehash. At least it wasn't 3 hours. 4 stars
2/01/01 HughK Can DVDs wear out? My Gladiator DVD has been played so many times now that this is a danger 5 stars
2/01/01 jordan ridley scott makes amazingly beautiful films. check out the opening scene. 5 stars
1/29/01 Lori Russell Crowe, I salute you! 5 stars
1/27/01 Ed If You don't like this movie, you must be braindead 5 stars
1/26/01 Angela Luved the film, great acting, great directing, great everything! 5 stars, 10 out of 10! 5 stars
1/23/01 Jenni The best damn movie on earth.russell crowe is amazing. 5 stars
1/21/01 fifu the plot is little weak but it kicks ass 5 stars
1/16/01 bats so glad that Derek Jacobi has that 'I'm in every Roman epic' clause in his contract 4 stars
1/14/01 Invader Russel Crowe is mega on screen, the movie is very slow,more of the great action needed. 4 stars
1/14/01 Hypnos Simply awe inspiring, on all levels -- one of the best movies I've ever seen, period. 5 stars
1/13/01 Lori This movie was exceptional. The acting was mesmerizing. The casting inspired. 5 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 MAXIMUS!!!!! MAXIMUS!!!!!! Gladiator fucking rocked. 5 stars
1/06/01 Fede EXCELLENT, please watch it on DVD or cinema b´4 seeing it on VHS!! 5 stars
1/04/01 Eleanor Beagley This is the best film i've ever seen, russel crowe is goergeos, the sound traks brilliant 5 stars
12/25/00 mer it was absofuckinglutely tremendous.... 5 stars
12/23/00 DREDD one of the rare good ones.. 5 stars
12/22/00 Lynette Excellent ! Russell Crowe is absolutely amazing. 5 stars
12/21/00 Vanessa Fanfuckingtastic 5 stars
12/20/00 Chris Joaquin Phoenix is absolutely amazing. Also see "Return to Paradise" he is AMAZING it that 5 stars
12/19/00 Destruction Worker Gotta dig that double-sword beheaing! 5 stars
12/16/00 Spetters Crowe and the fight scenes are fantastic! The rest is bloody awful! 2 stars
12/10/00 Mitja Podgajski Almost as good as Brave Heart... Almost... Music and realism were worst... 4 stars
12/10/00 nicole awesome movie....best I've seen in a while 5 stars
12/09/00 Vanessa Mmmm mmm Good! 5 stars
12/01/00 ted thomas superb. reminds me of the spectacle and emotional density of Dr. Zhivago. 5 stars
11/29/00 SP exciting if formulaic 4 stars
11/29/00 Joe Forgione THE BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME - CROWE TOPS 5 stars
11/29/00 Monday Morning I was hoping for a little more violence. 3 stars
11/27/00 JAR-JAR BINKS thissa movie berry berry good! (I hate JarJar too, mind you) 5 stars
11/26/00 Nerfherder Quite simply one of the greatest movies of all time. 5 stars
11/22/00 Dave Super 5 stars
11/22/00 S. BONNER fantastic 5 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head Great movie experience!Could have been more graphically violent and disturbing.Crowe shines 4 stars
11/20/00 claire Northstar the best movie of all time!!!! ever 5 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin I like it. Need I say more? 4 stars
11/01/00 Johnny Figaro Messy, roughly edited, crammed with cliche... at least there's Crowe. Check out Spartacus. 3 stars
10/29/00 Finity i saw this movie twice. It is such an amazing movie. i already preordered the dvd 5 stars
10/26/00 JC23 It was OK 3 stars
10/26/00 koty merrill totaly awesome 5 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez For those who didn't like it take it for whats it's worth- pure addredaline pumping action 5 stars
10/10/00 jimmybob88 GLADIATOR IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE! ADRENALIN PUMPING, EMOTION GRASPING, SPECTACULAR! 5 stars
10/05/00 Spetters Good: R. Crowe and the fight scenes. Bad: Everything else 2 stars
9/30/00 Wes quite possibly the best epic ever made, definately best of 2000 5 stars
9/29/00 Heather One of the greatest epics ever made! Awsome and Moving! CROWE ROCKS!!! 5 stars
9/28/00 Andrew Ricci Excellent movie! a must see for everyone!!!! 5 stars
9/23/00 Deta Hollywood chich. A SF movie not a historical one. 1 stars
9/21/00 christina great movie 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff best of the blockbusters of 2000 4 stars
9/17/00 Bambi A TOTAL ENTERTAINER! 5 stars
9/16/00 Vitmore Amazing epic worth as many Oscars as it can get!!! 5 stars
9/12/00 Danielle Mercier THE BEST MOVIE I EVER SAW IN MY WHOLE LIFE!!! 5 stars
9/07/00 buttercup4220 best movie this year, great all over 5 stars
9/06/00 Sam Beautiful Justice to the story told. 5 stars
9/03/00 Hypnos Glorious 5 stars
8/31/00 bats Derek Jacobi still has it... 4 stars
8/30/00 Grace Dawson I'm only 11 and I really really liked it. 5 stars
8/30/00 Liz Clark Gripping to the end. True entertainment 5 stars
8/26/00 baddazz69r ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I'VE SEEN IN MY LIFE 5 stars
8/24/00 Joe Fucking awesome 5 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo I wish all films were like this 5 stars
8/08/00 Imen Kahouli It's an exellent film, I like it because of his historic story, his actors, his costums. 5 stars
8/08/00 caitlyn1237@yahoo.com A+ Nothing seen this good in ages! 5 stars
8/05/00 Marcia Helena M. Pinheiro Wonderful! Great! Unbelieveable! Unforgettable! 5 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Great action, and storyline. 5 stars
7/30/00 The Bomb 69 glad I saw it at the theatre, what a spectacle!!! What's up with the close up's though? 5 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus it was magnificent! 5 stars
7/28/00 claudia great-looking movie,fine acting,beside Crowe, check out Phoenix! 5 stars
7/23/00 Jodie Brooks Amazing movie. Russell Crowe is a great actor and is soooo gorgeous. One of the best films 5 stars
7/17/00 Chartsy Russel Crowe - Babe in a Blue Dress! This was EXCELLENT! 5 stars
7/11/00 k.j.tomko bit over-rated script, fight scenes are mess and chaos. 4 stars
7/11/00 tigerlette russel Crowe-wow! 5 stars
7/10/00 Rachel Stuart Gladiator is a compelling,thrilling and fucking awesome it's the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
7/09/00 Mike Bain awesome movie 5 stars
7/09/00 Blackbird Good epic film by today's standards 5 stars
7/08/00 Véronique Loved it ! Might go and see it again for the third time !! 5 stars
7/07/00 Juhan Voolaid the best I've ever seen 5 stars
7/07/00 alex wigley really moving and he looks so sexy 5 stars
7/06/00 Ricky Urena I'd take Spartacus or Ben Hur over Maximus any day. 4 stars
7/01/00 carolet_fr wonderful film!I can't forget it ! I've seen it twice. 5 stars
6/30/00 Snapping# Turk This film is incredibly outstanding! WHat more can I say? 5 stars
6/30/00 B.W. The best Ridley Scott film since Bladerunner 4 stars
6/29/00 PJ pretty good, not the greatest, but enjoyable. 3 stars
6/29/00 Justin GREAT 5 stars
6/28/00 Jason Kallelis Must...get...DVD... 5 stars
6/28/00 jarica Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!! 5 stars
6/28/00 D. Hilling What a movie! Russell's finally going to get the attention that he's deserved for so long. 5 stars
6/27/00 JenMac With all the gore, R.C. is still sexy and sensitive! Good date movie-I saw it on my anniv. 5 stars
6/25/00 Ron M. Great job with the recreation of another time period!!! Phenomenal. 5 stars
6/25/00 anna senior Haunting and hypnotic, evocative music and wonderful performances especially by Crowe 5 stars
6/24/00 Julia L. Crowe está como un queso 5 stars
6/24/00 Felicia M. Finally! A REAL MAN! Fantastic special effects! 5 stars
6/23/00 Naushad Khanji Only three settings per movie does not add to much of variety.Fight camera angles are crap 2 stars
6/21/00 Dawn From 50-something fat exec (Insider) to Gladiator? Russell Crowe is amazing. 5 stars
6/20/00 John Winchell Awesome 5 stars
6/20/00 Lori Bagley Totally engrossing and impressive on every level. Mr Crow can come be my gladiator anyday! 5 stars
6/19/00 Tim The kind of movie film is meant for. Fantastic entertainment! 5 stars
6/18/00 Bueller This was epic. The story seems to get a little bogged down at times, but really pays off! 4 stars
6/16/00 A.MCKENNA BRILLIANT 5 stars
6/16/00 claudia a marvelous russell's muscles orgy for women and gay men..great !!! 5 stars
6/15/00 Mel Russell Crowe shines in this, exactly as the hero should, undaunted determination. 5 stars
6/15/00 Alexandra Brilliant...especially Russell Crowe!! At last his time hs come. 5 stars
6/15/00 ender Did you take Roman History in college? Obviously not, cause this movie is *very* accurate 5 stars
6/14/00 Elvia Excellent! 5 stars
6/14/00 Leyla I've been waiting for 3 years: go, Russell, go!!!! 5 stars
6/14/00 caroline keene FANTASTIC FILM. FANTASTIC MAN-MR RUSSELL CROWE THAT IS. 5 stars
6/13/00 Chipi IT'S THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!! Russell Crowe should be nominated for the Oscars next year!!!!! 5 stars
6/12/00 Lisa Crowe and Phoenix are great in this movie. Wonderful costumes, sets, fights, acting. 5 stars
6/12/00 Micah S. Way too long. Canned acting. Poor effects. Bare bones story. weak villian. 2 stars
6/11/00 Jose Maselli Excellent, the best seen in many years 5 stars
6/11/00 Draugluin Quite enjoyable despite its flaws. See this. 5 stars
6/09/00 Ryan Smith This is the best movie...ever! 5 stars
6/07/00 Ian Pemberton At last, an epic flick worth seeing !!!! 5 stars
6/07/00 Lauren Wow!Gladiator rocks! Russell Crowe, my perfect man!!!!!! 5 stars
6/06/00 maria teresa it is what we need from cinema to really learn from it 5 stars
6/06/00 maria teresa del pilar garcia jimenez this film is really worth the money and work that cinema industry invests in making a film 5 stars
6/05/00 Lea Gives me chills every time I see it! 5 stars
6/05/00 Tito best action movie in a LONG time 5 stars
6/04/00 Princess "bad to the MAXIMUS"? - pay closer attention-it was pretty tight! 4 stars
6/04/00 Phlipit Russell Crowe, decapitation, gggrrrr! WOOF! 5 stars
6/03/00 David J Bell Kick Ass! 5 stars
6/03/00 Robin Shield Gladiator, Best Picture; Russell Crowe, Best Actor; Ridley Scott, Best Director; etc., etc. 5 stars
6/02/00 PJ Not great, but fun as hell, and some of the best killings on screen in awile, kicks but 4 stars
6/01/00 Nick I like gladiator movies. 5 stars
6/01/00 RAE ANN IT'S AN EXCITING CHANGE FOR HOLLYWOOD 5 stars
6/01/00 Overflow Bitch Entertaining all the way through. Russell Crowe is making a name for himself. 5 stars
6/01/00 Bucc "Gladiator fighting is decadent and evil, but it entertains the masses." Exhibit A 3 stars
5/30/00 Chopper3 Great fight scenes, decent acting, just dull drama scenes - Less than the sum of its parts. 3 stars
5/29/00 13th warrior CGI colliseum looked crap, Rome too nice/artificial, the fights overly cut/chaotic 3 stars
5/29/00 JC Top to bottom it's a great film & delivers on it's potential. 5 stars
5/29/00 LucyB Disappointed me because not as moving as I expected but the performances make it worth it. 4 stars
5/29/00 STIDFAST This is the superbitch of all movies 5 stars
5/29/00 Jason Cooke This is one of the best movies that I have every seen. 5 stars
5/29/00 S. P. Dean This film has it all!! Worth multiple visits!! 5 stars
5/29/00 Umberto Alessio Great! 5 stars
5/28/00 Lucy Stevens I agree! Awesome movie....and oh-so-awesome Russell!!! 5 stars
5/28/00 Kornoholik i'v seen it twice, i intend to see it again >:) SHIT DUDE, THIS IS AN AMAZING MOVIE!!! 5 stars
5/27/00 Irina Very entertaining 5 stars
5/27/00 Forkbat Ridley Scott's action, premise, & photography were great-script could have been less wordy. 4 stars
5/26/00 hoosier Very powerful; left me affected for a while afterwards! The cast made it what it was! 5 stars
5/26/00 Cheri worh tseing 3-4 times! 5 stars
5/25/00 MelfromHell Finger lickin' gooooood! 5 stars
5/25/00 Jason Cooke "Gladiator" had all that I could hope for! 5 stars
5/25/00 Richard Dieterle Overrated, unhistorical -- Ivgvla! 2 stars
5/24/00 Olya Now why can't we have more movies like that?? And Crowe rocks! 5 stars
5/24/00 slacko07 3 hours long, I was only kept awake by the ocasonal battle scene. NEEDS EDIT 1 stars
5/24/00 Jules YAWN.... 3 stars
5/24/00 Christer Paepke A breathtaking film! 5 stars
5/24/00 Kingen Best film EVER! I'm still thinking about this movie! See it... 5 stars
5/24/00 grunter Hands down - THE BEST SUMMER FLICK IN AT LEAST A DECADE!! 5 stars
5/24/00 Girl9 Borderline"Fucking Awesome"if some parts moved faster.Fantasic epic tale worth seeing again 4 stars
5/23/00 just call me bad asss well worth seeing, despite an ending that seems a bit... pat. 4 stars
5/22/00 k.tomkowski Good battles, thin plot. If we like Maximus, why not C.Khan or Rommel, for example? 4 stars
5/21/00 Jess If only the censors of democratic US hadnt raped this in MPPA. We would have a great film. 3 stars
5/21/00 gwalla Badass action with cool visuals and a good story. What more do you need? 5 stars
5/21/00 Cinesuerte Caligula was more entertaining 2 stars
5/21/00 writertag@yahoo.com Splendid! 5 stars
5/21/00 Piz Crowe is excellent, storyline is narrow but is well supported by visuals and acting 4 stars
5/21/00 perverted pixie Brutal! Blood, Sweat & Tears! Crowe- "What a guy!", Phoenix- utterly insane! 5 stars
5/20/00 mahone there were NO crossbows in 200 AD! 4 stars
5/20/00 Guillotine II Crowe..oscar?? Laughable. Overhyped to the MAXIMUS 2 stars
5/20/00 Steve Kelley I've seen the enslaved-gladiator-with-a-grudge film before, but still liked it. 4 stars
5/20/00 mulder want to know the truth?this film is great!credits to crowe,phoenix and others,watch this.. 5 stars
5/20/00 awang hafifudin roma victor!!!!!we're talking oscars here 5 stars
5/20/00 MoonScribe Incredible! Russell Crowe is, in a word, magnificent, and is supported by a great cast! 5 stars
5/19/00 Mr Hunt good 5 stars
5/19/00 spanky AWESOME 5 stars
5/19/00 The Hunter It was good! 5 stars
5/18/00 Add Good not great, has some great death scenes and alot of tension but abit of a sappy ending 4 stars
5/18/00 Tim "Weapon" Groves Excellent A1! 5 stars
5/18/00 Zatoichi Jones Not what I'd call "100% historically acurate", but awesome none-the-less 5 stars
5/18/00 seraph much kicking of ass 5 stars
5/18/00 Con Editing of fighting scene could be better, but overall an awesome movie. 5 stars
5/18/00 cally To the age old question "yes but what is it that a woman wants" The answer is Maximus. 5 stars
5/18/00 DarkNyt Crowe WAS the movie. Kick ass flick. 5 stars
5/17/00 swan crowe is amazing. 5 stars
5/17/00 Will wow. just wow. that was purdy. 5 stars
5/17/00 Anne "Gladiator" is by far the best movie I've seen in a LONG time. 5 stars
5/17/00 PhilmPhreak Let the Summer movie season begin! 5 stars
5/17/00 GLIDER208@HOTMAL.COM Powerful?-I was reaching for my sword in the carpark after-I'm 37for cryingout loud!! 5 stars
5/17/00 Susie Loved the film - Crowe is amazing and makes you believe and care for his character. 5 stars
5/17/00 Emilie Crowe does it EXACTLY how it should be done 5 stars
5/17/00 gezick would've liked to see a little more of the sister storyline, her character was underdevelpd 5 stars
5/16/00 Obi Wan Crowe Killed 5 stars
5/16/00 Simon Freiberg Great film - Australian actors rule :) But I was bored during the mushy scenes :P 5 stars
5/16/00 donna starnes great movie 5 stars
5/16/00 Mr. X Good film, lame antagonist. "Titus" was better. 4 stars
5/16/00 jim Swarbrick mind blowing, held me spellbound from beginning to end,has to be one of the great films of 5 stars
5/15/00 Dee Oh yes! 5 stars
5/15/00 Colm Linnane Like the romans we have become more obsessed with spectacle than substance. 3 stars
5/15/00 Gary Durso wow.....thats all I have to say 5 stars
5/15/00 joanne excellent movie 5 stars
5/15/00 Chrissy T Oh Joaquin, how I love thee,specially in armor. Kudos to Russell, and Connie and Oliver.:) 5 stars
5/15/00 Anonymous Coward This movie kicks some major ass. Go see it. Now. 5 stars
5/14/00 Emilio E. Not many other movies have the giant scope that this one does 5 stars
5/14/00 Anna This is the best movie of the year so far if not the one of the best movies I've seen! 5 stars
5/14/00 Richard Wright Confusing battle scenes and hammy acting detract from an otherwise fantastic epic. 4 stars
5/14/00 Strings Great film!!! 5 stars
5/14/00 christopher Hosking I want to br a galdiator. Not really, but this film will be a classic. 5 stars
5/14/00 gino del zingaro BEST MOVIE I EVER SAY QSCAR WINNER!!!!! 5 stars
5/14/00 tforce movie was good. fight scenes were too hard to watch. angles & shots kept changing. 4 stars
5/14/00 jonathan g not perfect, but the best film ever made 5 stars
5/13/00 davebo nice cinematography, aside from that, nothing new 3 stars
5/13/00 MainThang SOOOO over-rated-The battles were cool but all else was standard epic shit-Braveheart again 3 stars
5/13/00 MKillroy Great movie, fight scenes could have been done better 4 stars
5/12/00 k.tomkowski Battle scenes better in Braveheart and equal in 13th warrior. The ending pretty naive/dumb. 4 stars
5/12/00 MDR If you are not ready to go out and kick ass after you've seen this movie put on a skirt! 5 stars
5/12/00 Luke best movie i've ever seen 5 stars
5/12/00 Gavin Moore HOLY SHIT! Crowe made William Wallace look like Mary Poppins. 5 stars
5/12/00 Janet Nickell What exactly do you people do to raise men like this? 5 stars
5/12/00 Sheena Howard IT KICKs ASS 5 stars
5/12/00 LINA CANTIN EXCELLENT!!! SCENERY OUT OF THIS WORLD...BLOODY AND GORY...OSCAR CONTENDORS ... 5 stars
5/11/00 lazt sorry,ending blew it..no caesar goes up against a revenge-minded,killer gladiator..no way!! 3 stars
5/11/00 Chantelly Blew me away!!! 5 stars
5/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Excellent. What, that's not enough for you?! Piss off, then...I've got the flu!!! 5 stars
5/11/00 Kevin Cho - movie buff Fantastic movie - ending a little disappionting. Crowe is fabulous. RECOMMENDED 5 stars
5/11/00 SBGirl Beautiful fight scenes, Heart-wrenching performances. A must see 5 stars
5/11/00 Fenris Beautiful movie. Sure to become a classic. 5 stars
5/11/00 bartv SPECTACULAR. HAS IT ALL -- BLOOD, VIOLENCE, PERVERSION. 5 stars
5/10/00 Louis You will not believe the realism in this movie. INCREDIBLE! 5 stars
5/10/00 Sigrid Carbonneau Most entertaining film I have seen in many years. All the actors are superb. 5 stars
5/10/00 Bill Altimari Tremendous and inspiring! 5 stars
5/10/00 Brien The crowd was clapping as someone yelled "Die Bitch." Everyone was into it 5 stars
5/10/00 dreas Wowowowoow!!! wow! Gotta go see it again.... 5 stars
5/10/00 Travis good mix of action & story 5 stars
5/10/00 Cool Dave excellent movie...can I pre-order the DVD now ? 5 stars
5/10/00 ben i like films about gladiators 5 stars
5/10/00 Jason Hanson A thrilling and epic hero quest, one that brought both fear and love to the movie. 5 stars
5/09/00 moviegoer go see this!!!!!!!! go see it now!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
5/09/00 astra See it! 5 stars
5/09/00 Clare Russell Crowe is compelling. Great entertainment. 5 stars
5/09/00 "Persnickety" was expecting more, seen the same story with better acting, 2 stars
5/09/00 david reichle classy and inovatively traditional 5 stars
5/09/00 johnnyjax Gladiator will rank the best of the best. Thanks 5 stars
5/09/00 The Tester Wow! Not Blade Runner level but a great film 5 stars
5/09/00 Heavy Cannon Look out Brave Heart there's a new sheriff in town - MAXIMUS! 5 stars
5/09/00 Maclay01 Good solid stuff! Tell me, Timmy, d'you like movies about Gladiators? 4 stars
5/09/00 David McKendry Great photography, excellent action scenes, Scott back on form. 4 stars
5/09/00 Frances M Abbott This film delivers on all the hype. 5 stars
5/09/00 Edward Downing This movie was so powerful. I was speechless for over ten minutes after the end. 5 stars
5/09/00 Matthew This movie will be a classic 5 stars
5/09/00 bart Mezmarzing spectacle. Superb acting. But, Rome looks fake. 5 stars
5/08/00 Henry Ford Do not miss this movie.....Russell Crowe is this generation's best actor. 5 stars
5/08/00 Greg This is movie making 5 stars
5/08/00 lucas jackson holy shit that was fantastic all around, Crowe= academy award best actor,Ebert must die now 5 stars
5/08/00 k.tomkowski Good but disappointing. Fight scenes worse than in "Braveheart "or "13th warrior". 4 stars
5/08/00 LJ Kong This is one of the best films made this century. Hans Zimmer's score is just magnificent. 5 stars
5/08/00 Jed Russell = God 5 stars
5/08/00 Bob Buttons This film is comparable, if not better, than Braveheart. 5 stars
5/08/00 Dace Rimmer An Epic! in the classic sense of the word 5 stars
5/08/00 Z violent videogames desensitized me from the violence, i wasnt able to fully enjoy the movie 5 stars
5/08/00 BobSmith Crowe is a bad mother 5 stars
5/08/00 Captain Highcrime Janice, peel me a grape....we're not in Kansas anymore. 4 stars
5/08/00 JonnyJ Crowe, much like KOTB, is the definition of rock & roll! 5 stars
5/08/00 Erin McMann Russell Crowe looks great, and his acting is fabulous 5 stars
5/08/00 Malbert INCREDIBLE! Crowe&Pheonix were great...BETTER than Braveheart! 5 stars
5/08/00 Dirty Dave Capone Really good movie, not as good as Braveheart. 4 stars
5/08/00 hangman they dont make them like this anymore. Would like to see an uncut version. 5 stars
5/08/00 Catherine Wow! This movie KICKS ASS! 5 stars
5/07/00 Isla Silver BIGGER AND BETTER THAN "BEN-HUR" *so is Crowe and Phoenix* 5 stars
5/07/00 Shawn Great Movie!!! 5 Stars!!! 5 stars
5/07/00 Roman Damn entertaining 5 stars
5/07/00 tom wonderful 5 stars
5/07/00 Terri Meadows This was such an intreiguing film. Crowe stars, but Phoenix steals the show 5 stars
5/07/00 DatherFrawdad me like 5 stars
5/07/00 melissa kojic This movie is one of the best movies that I have seen in a while. 5 stars
5/07/00 Zeitgeist Great acting, great action, some slow dialogue scenes, but overall it was awesome 5 stars
5/07/00 Pauline Wonderful cinematography, wonderful acting--in short, a wonderful movie. 5 stars
5/07/00 Jeanene Suffers from a thin, derivative plot and bad cinematography. 2 stars
5/07/00 Greyjack Nice battles, average script. Some FX looked a bit cheezy, but good overall. 4 stars
5/07/00 RicE A few outstanding scenes, too many slow dialog scenes 3 stars
5/07/00 gezick absolutely the best movie i've ever seen 5 stars
5/07/00 Bornslippy acting good..but the action will blow your mind~ 5 stars
5/07/00 Lipdog An excellent film. Dazzling special effects. 5 stars
5/07/00 Charles Phoenix and Crowe redeem the unredeemable; disappointing FX 3 stars
5/06/00 Mic Spectacular effects & good storyline, but flawed script including the typical dumb villain. 4 stars
5/06/00 Jason A cinematic masterpiece for the ages!! any words on my part could not do this justice 5 stars
5/06/00 Cuzurno1 Cool Effects, Awesome Action, OK drama, Crowe is Great ! 4 stars
5/06/00 Matt And the 2001 Oscars go to... 5 stars
5/06/00 Joe Willis A predictable rehash of Braveheart but with a weak villain 3 stars
5/06/00 Randall i shed a few tears 5 stars
5/06/00 Lexia Spectacular, Beautiful, Stupendous, Magnificent-great actors, and Russell is sexy as hell!! 5 stars
5/06/00 Alyssa Crowe was amazing.Joaquin was not miscast. Ridley Scott does it again. 5 stars
5/06/00 Daria Umm... Erm... Wow... 5 stars
5/06/00 The People's Elbow My man Crowe isn't just the bomb...He's the Bomb Diggity 5 stars
5/05/00 Maxi Crowe is the best action star (makes me proud to be Aussie!) 5 stars
5/05/00 Matthew Smith Magnificent. 5 stars
5/05/00 Joshua Gower Easily better than any film I had seen last year, "Eyes Wide Shut" not withstanding! 5 stars
5/05/00 McPherson Crowe is fantastic 5 stars
5/05/00 The Rock One of the best "summer blockbusters" ever...great acting,story, and visuals 5 stars
5/04/00 Jason Kilby Jaw-droppingly fantatic 5 stars
5/04/00 Raimond Unbelievable! 5 stars
5/04/00 Tatedawg One of the most best movies in recent times/ Awesome 5 stars
5/03/00 matt very cool 5 stars
5/02/00 jilly amazing, sexy, breathtaking, worth every cent 5 stars
5/01/00 Klute Saw a media screening, the film is all over awesome. Blood, guts and nuts. 5 stars
4/30/00 Steve Great! 5 stars
4/29/00 eric awesome... fucking awesome 5 stars
4/28/00 ksal The Best movie I've seen since Braveheart!!!! 5 stars
4/28/00 WookieCookie Dude... this movie totally kicked my ass... 5 stars
4/28/00 Chris T Unf**kingbelievable! The greatest movie ever! 5 stars
4/27/00 Simon This movie was excellent in all areas. Go see it! 5 stars
4/27/00 Rishi Amazing acting,directing,and cinematography.. Seeing this movie was a religious experience. 5 stars
4/24/00 The Rock Unbelieveably great!! Crowe has awesome acting range 5 stars
4/22/00 r. johnston "are you not entertained?" 5 stars
4/15/00 Susan Great acting, beautifully photographed - a MUST SEE! I'll buy the DVD for sure.... 5 stars
3/24/00 Klute. This film was massive. Fantastic stuff. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-May-2000 (R)
  DVD: 23-Aug-2005

UK
  12-May-2000 (15)

Australia
  04-May-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast