More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.17

Awesome49.81%
Worth A Look: 32.71%
Average: 7.43%
Pretty Bad: 4.46%
Total Crap: 5.58%

11 reviews, 203 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Minority Report
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Spielberg's best in many years."
5 stars

In the satirically detailed world of 'Minority Report,' which unfolds in 2054, you can't walk into a Gap store without a hologram greeting you by name and complimenting you on the last item you bought there -- perhaps you'd care for a black tank-top?

Privacy is dead, and people visit a virtual-reality club to explore their wildest fantasies; one man wants to kill his boss, but knows that if he plans to do it for real, Washington's Pre-Crime unit will catch him before he carries it out. Experience seems to be dead, too. The population is safe from certain forms of physical aggression, but they've all been pre-emptively neutered, like Alex in A Clockwork Orange.

I refer to that Stanley Kubrick classic for a reason: Minority Report, despite some eleventh-hour lapses and rhetorical flab, is the movie A.I. should have been. Steven Spielberg, adapting Kubrick's long-cherished project last year, missed the mark so completely that the result offered the best of neither director. But Minority Report is the real thing, more Kubrick than anything Spielberg has done, and more Spielberg than anything Spielberg has done in too many years. I had given up hope, fearing Spielberg to be lost in his warm bubble bath of homilies: His recent movies haven't been entertaining or even educational -- they've been instructional. Well, Spielberg seems to have snapped out of it. He is working once again with his trademark effortless sense of purpose and precision. If his previous recent films have been tepid baths, this one is a cold shower -- shocking and revivifying.

Tom Cruise is John Anderton, ace "detective" for the Pre-Crime unit. Spielberg's and Cruise's first collaboration has not produced the expected smiling, cocky, full-blooded hero, but rather an angry, hollow, flawed man, who takes drugs to kill his torment over his kidnapped little boy. Anderton is thus driven to stop crimes before they happen, though his logic is faulty, since a boy can be kidnapped and tortured for years without being "seen" by Pre-Crime's three precognitives, who can only see future murders. Cruise plays Anderton as a man who throws all his faith into the "perfect" Pre-Crime structure because if it is shown to be faulty, his work -- his reason for not eating his gun -- is rendered meaningless.

Faulty it is, though. The "Pre-Cogs" -- cleverly named Agatha, Arthur and Dashiell -- "see" Anderton killing someone within 36 hours, a man he's never met. The full weight of the Pre-Crime force -- led by Max von Sydow as its figurehead and Colin Farrell as a sort of internal-affairs investigator looking for flaws in the system -- comes down on Anderton, who flees into the city. It's there that Minority Report most closely resembles a previous bitter dystopian drama inspired, like this one, by a Philip K. Dick story: Blade Runner, in which Harrison Ford bumped up against a menagerie of colorful characters. Here, Anderton meets a crackpot who traffics in black-market eyes (Peter Stormare), a virtual-reality pimp (Jason Antoon), a wise old woman who accidentally started the whole Pre-Crime project (Lois Smith), all of whom can help him, but only so much.

Anderton goes on the run with Agatha (Samantha Morton in an alternately touching and alarming performance), the most powerful of the Pre-Cogs, and Spielberg stages their adventures -- a bit of business with police spiders, a beautifully timed chase sequence wherein Agatha's psychic abilities come in handy -- with all his old genius for momentum and humor arising from personality and situation; I cannot help loving a film in which the high-tech Pre-Crime officers, with all the gimmickry at their fingertips, are foiled by some children's balloons.

The look of the film, by way of cinematographer Janusz Kaminski, is ominously blue and bleached and untouchable, but Spielberg packs the frame with reminders of humanity trudging along despite the bleakness of its surroundings (I particularly enjoyed the glimpse of a man lost in a virtual-reality daydream of being lavishly praised by his peers). Toward the end, Samantha Morton sells the hell out of a windy speech about how Anderton's home is full of psychic residue of love for his son, but it's still a windy speech; and Spielberg reneges on the uncompromising film noir denouement the material well-nigh demands.

Still, this is the most exciting piece of work Spielberg has delivered in ages -- clean, supple, and emotionally engaging without being emotionally overbearing.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1783&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/16/07 11:59:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/24/13 Michelle O surprisingly AWESOME!! the performence Spielberg got outta Cruise was Incredible 5 stars
5/18/11 the rock best sci-fi neo noir since Blade Runner 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Kickass! Thought it reminded me of BR, and it should! Not quite as good, but what could be? 5 stars
12/09/10 Dr.J Thought provoking, Cruise may not have been the best choice for lead. Over-all pretty good 4 stars
5/22/10 dr.evil Too many lame arrempts at humor; exhausting to watch. The yoga scene was pretty silly. 2 stars
5/30/09 Jake Great plot line. Really makes you think about fate and predetermination. 5 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was Awesome!! Loved It. 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT AN OCCASIONALLY BREATHTAKING WORK OF UNCOMMON VISION, BEAUTY AND INSIGHT 4 stars
2/02/08 Chris You dont hear enough about this movie, one of the best sci-fi movies EVER, not just lately 5 stars
1/26/08 man mind-blowing 5 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White great plot and special effects, a little unreal using psychics 4 stars
9/15/07 dude truly great sci-fi 5 stars
6/12/07 Alfy boy Hhhhmmmmmmmmm 4 stars
4/01/07 fools♫gold If you're anything like me, it sure will make you think. Starts out VERY promising. 4 stars
3/21/07 man good movie 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega If this is the future, I'm definitely waitin' for it. 5 stars
2/14/07 Double M Intelligent, thought-provoking, Complex. Cruise did a great job. 1 of Spielberg's very best 5 stars
1/15/07 Austin Wertman good, but allittle disappointing 4 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini penelope cruz is hot! 5 stars
6/16/06 jack quite good went on a bit though 2 stars
6/14/06 MP Bartley Terrific entertainment that looks superb too. Falls just short of 5 star greatness. 4 stars
5/26/06 Lee JIa En Very nice to watch 5 stars
2/26/06 Larry Brown Good if you conider it as camp. So bad it's funny. Too many plot holes to count. 1 stars
12/27/05 WISEMAN Incredible acting Plot, Unique very Unique, amazing, Go watch it 5 stars
12/23/05 okierazorbacker great 5 stars
12/18/05 Quigley incredibly original and awesome visuals, story and acting, but has uneeded sexual content 5 stars
11/18/05 Kristina Tjernberg it was one of the best movies i have ever seen. 5 stars
11/07/05 Firemandavid Highly original. Interesting for the sights of the future alone. 5 stars
10/07/05 Indrid Cold Story isn't perfect, but stunning, jaw-dropping visuals more than makes up for it. 5 stars
9/02/05 Zack it was disapointing 2 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez one of spielberg's worst films 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane One of the most OVERRATED movies I've ever seen. Mediocre AT BEST. 1 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny This was the most lame and forgettable movie I've ever seen rated so highly. 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Better than I thought it'd be, believable future= mercifully no aliens 4 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Plodsville from start to finish 1 stars
7/04/05 mooper Complex and solid, this rewards a second viewing 4 stars
7/03/05 Charlie What a load of shit! 2 stars
5/11/05 Simon Epitomizes how a sci-fi flick can transcend to present great contemporary perspective. 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch One of the most underated movies ever! Great mystery, acting and action. 5 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Absolutely gorgeous futurisitc production, somewhat unsatisfying. 4 stars
3/25/05 dwarzel Interesting futuristic concepts 4 stars
3/15/05 Ronin a film trying to be something better than it really is. And 99% it's FX. 3 stars
2/23/05 conor the great brilliant;darker then anything Spielberg has ever done 5 stars
11/16/04 akio too much is too much tricks. 4 stars
11/03/04 ELI Fuckin' good movie! :) 5 stars
10/23/04 brent it was shit 1 stars
8/14/04 N.P.D. Another solid film from Spielberg,good plot is only occasionally mired by glossy FX. 4 stars
7/14/04 Daveman An interesting, entertaining film is wrapped up with an altogether maudlin conclusion 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody An awesome movie. Cruise gets it right. He looks better with short hair 5 stars
5/29/04 elizaveta spielberg at his best - great adaptation! I didn't even mind Cruise. 5 stars
4/26/04 Ender A gritty, mind-bending film, its only fault is that it tries to be too clever in parts 4 stars
1/28/04 Dean Good "what if's" but I found the premise implausible 4 stars
12/20/03 Littlepurch Gr8 mixture of action, mystery and excitment. Good story and gr8 acting. 5 stars
12/02/03 tatum Strong sci-fi, despite obvious villain 5 stars
10/12/03 JimmyC Max von Sydow is awesome!!!! 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Thank God El Spielbergo bounced back from A.I. Cruise is such a pussy though! 4 stars
10/01/03 B. Fresh Defiitely the best Sci-Fi of the last 5 or so years..comparable to the Matrix! Good show in 5 stars
9/17/03 tiffany brija it was an ok movie but just a little to technical 3 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert A predictable plot that gives a good but not great movie. 4 stars
7/23/03 Flounder This movie is one of the most intelligible sci-fi flicks that I have ever seen 5 stars
7/01/03 Sarah Melvin Spielberg tries his best!!.. but is Cruise right for the part? 4 stars
5/28/03 Ana Rita Andrade AMAZING! 5 stars
5/24/03 TheOthersFan brilliant AgathaChristie-esque plot propels the action sequences to unexpected depths! 5 stars
5/14/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) One of THE coolest chases ever is in this fucking cool movie. 4 stars
4/06/03 Jessel Excellent movie. I was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
3/25/03 Jim Did pre-crime know Colin Farrell was going to steal this movie from Cruise? 5 stars
3/15/03 juan this is like an episode of the x-files, nothing more 3 stars
3/12/03 GMan I like it. It's Cool. I like it. It's Cool. I like it. It's Cool. I like it... 4 stars
2/04/03 Monday Morning Why do sci-fi movies always have to portray the future as so drab? 3 stars
1/30/03 natasha_theobald visually stimulating, but with story hiccups 4 stars
1/30/03 Ken Looked great. Holey plot, but still entertaining. I have seen the future of advertising. 4 stars
1/28/03 Paul Coleman Above average. Great special effects. Thought provoking. 4 stars
1/28/03 Glitch Worst acting I've seen in a potential Oscar nominee. Most aspects of the plot are moronic. 1 stars
1/28/03 James B. The style is excellent, but the substance is seriously lacking. The ending is just retarded 2 stars
1/28/03 Angolmois I found the Agatha character to be impossibly annoying. SX are good. 2 stars
1/27/03 David Lame as it gets, doesn't hold up to its own ideas, is there a 0 star rating?? 1 stars
1/26/03 miranda very interesting plot, eye scanners.. sweet! 4 stars
1/17/03 amy THIS MOVIE KICKS SO MUCH ASS 5 stars
1/12/03 othree big fan of cruise but THIS WAS CRAP the money spent to make it should have went 2 charity 2 stars
1/11/03 Butterbean I was put off by the retarded plot. But it worked itself out brilliantly! 4 stars
1/06/03 mp i loved it! definitely should have earned nomination for best picture at the golden globes! 5 stars
12/31/02 snowconehead Blade Runner she ain't 4 stars
12/29/02 Jiz Shitty music ruined the action scenes. Put that aside, this kicks total ass. 4 stars
12/29/02 Getchell Mouth Dropping! 5 stars
12/20/02 Chris The best movie of 2002 5 stars
12/15/02 cpbjr very few flaws 5 stars
11/13/02 Ashley Corpening Involving and suspenseful, but what the frig is with the silly wooden balls?? 4 stars
11/07/02 Jay Tom Cruise at his best! 5 stars
11/07/02 Joe Stark (Bio Man) One of the most thought provoking movies that I have ever seen in my entire life! 5 stars
11/04/02 Anonymous, Netherlands Intellectually/politically powerful and visually stunning. 5 stars
11/01/02 Monster W. Kung Whoever thinks this is a masterpiece should be shot right away. Decent movie, nothing more. 3 stars
10/24/02 Flounder This is absolutely awesome 5 stars
10/22/02 Jay Tom Cruise at his finest! 5 stars
10/15/02 Connoisseur good movie, intriguing story but why did it need to be so ugly-looking? overrated 4 stars
10/09/02 crazylikeafox Intermittently interesting but trundles along to a predictable ending, good sfx though 3 stars
10/08/02 Kamil Sert GREAT JOB: A movie of 2h30 which seemed to me only 10 minutes 5 stars
10/07/02 RedHerringsFan Underrated surprise ending(s). Steven Spielberg easily tops the incomprehensible "A.I." 5 stars
9/27/02 John McNew Has a brilliantly concieved premise, but tired underlying plot devices 4 stars
8/30/02 owenmeany2 Steve stays at the top! Fuck Michael Bay, Simon West ect. ect. THE MAN is back! 5 stars
8/28/02 viking Great film, but nothing surpasses Blade Runner 5 stars
8/27/02 Unanon seen at long last, pleased beyond belief. Fabulous. 5 stars
8/19/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Pretty damn good. 5 stars
8/18/02 Craig A little long. Sometimes distractingly cartoonish, but a classic. 4 stars
8/10/02 Damien Raven Could have been one of the best movies ever without last 20. Still great. 5 stars
8/09/02 Masooma The retinal scan access thing is a huge flaw 5 stars
7/30/02 James Mcc It blew me away, despite the few logic flaws, but fuck this film really tried. 5 stars
7/27/02 Suzz entertaining, well-acted sci-fi 4 stars
7/27/02 jdajd Critique of critique: Three FEMALE precogs? Did you even see the movie? 5 stars
7/26/02 indrid cold the movie was fabulous despite Tom Cruise and his bad acting 5 stars
7/26/02 Cannibus The best film I've seen so far this year!! Cruise is superb. Intelligent. Exciting. A must. 5 stars
7/23/02 Bueller This was a futuristic action-drama, with moral issues at it's heart. AI with an ET ending. 4 stars
7/22/02 DeconstructingJojo WOW 5 stars
7/19/02 gary vidmar A philosophical quandry about free will vs. pre-destiny. 4 stars
7/19/02 R How come e.t. *always* has to go home ? p.s. PKD wrote T. Recal under a diff title stupid! 4 stars
7/18/02 Dieter Not too shabby. 4 stars
7/16/02 H. Nimb The graphics and story line in this movie are fantastic. 5 stars
7/13/02 R.W. Welch Maybe a shade overdone but thought provoking; fine camera work and performances. 4 stars
7/13/02 Anarchy Azmi Awesome...spielberg does scif if justice 5 stars
7/12/02 Nick2k wow. last time i felt this good was 'shawshank'. what's up with the ending(s) though?... 5 stars
7/12/02 Scoopfoot Uh, Piers Anthony wrote Total Recall, not Philip K. Dick. 5 stars
7/12/02 bob leather jacket the "Fugitive" (1993) on sci-fi steroids 4 stars
7/10/02 Phoenix A Masterpiece. 5 stars
7/09/02 sdfr exasperating how often Spielberg misses making a truly great film. poor ending ... 4 stars
7/09/02 spyguy2 I wanted to love this movie BUT I CANNOT. Too long, visually bland, saw the ending coming 3 stars
7/09/02 mattski mess of a film that dies under the weight of spielbergs hamfisted sentimentality 1 stars
7/09/02 Veronica Foxx Despite my feelings for Cruise, and the fact that he's NOT an action star, it was enjoyable 4 stars
7/08/02 Imran Awesome! -Very Stylish - Don't miss it 5 stars
7/08/02 katsat Interesting but too cluttered up. Plot on ethics devolved into a whodunnit. Needed editing. 4 stars
7/08/02 jambaj0e Brilliant! The dark tone of it really carries itself well. Top notch everything! 5 stars
7/08/02 The Conscience Objector shit, this was off the hook, excellent 5 stars
7/08/02 sandy totally great 5 stars
7/08/02 Big B The only amazing thing about this movie is that they made Tom look 25. 2 stars
7/07/02 Steve Glickman Hate endings when some rich dude is humiliated infront of his peers - on what planet?. 1 stars
7/07/02 Roy Smith Steve. I forgive you for AI. Tom you get amnesty for MI and MI2. 5 stars
7/07/02 n6ko repeat after me: tom cruise is not an action star 3 stars
7/07/02 Vagile A well disguised Columbo episode complete with commercial breaks. 1 stars
7/06/02 Arnold Nagy best sci-fi since matrix 5 stars
7/06/02 Danielle Ophelia (L'Originale) Vintage Spielberg in Twenty-First Century Gift Wrap. Oh, yeah. 5 stars
7/05/02 Dr. Laura Is a Bitch (Doo Dah, Doo Dah...) Great movie. Great story. Just one problem: why is the damn halo necessary? 4 stars
7/05/02 john awesome 5 stars
7/04/02 malcolm i know this sounds wierd but -- better than the original short story 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG It was better than I thought it would be...no regurged AI shit 4 stars
7/04/02 Morits CAN STEVEN SPEILBERG HAVE A FUCKING ORIGINAL THOUGHT? NO! 1 stars
7/04/02 Dada Cool concept nearly ruined by too much glitz, plot holes and hamfisted attempts at humor 3 stars
7/03/02 Jeniz Perez Great acting, a story with plenty of plot twists and amazing special effects=a great movie 5 stars
7/03/02 Greg Flawed plot, weak ending 3 stars
7/03/02 TheTalkingElbow Funny, this movie takes place in the same future portrayed in A.I... Look at the car style. 5 stars
7/03/02 Blackops Really well done, good story, good acting, good movie. 5 stars
7/02/02 Benjamin.Lesbian Well-made, but I didn't need to have it all spelled out for me at the end. 4 stars
7/02/02 Mystique Hey Collin - if you had seen the film you would know that there was only ONE FEMALE Precog! 4 stars
7/02/02 DarkRomance.com LSD in Spielberg's Evian? the most brilliant nightmare of the future since Bladerunner 5 stars
7/02/02 Carrie THE BEST 5 stars
7/01/02 Bart Good, but not all that surprising. Enjoyable. 4 stars
7/01/02 Gordon Anker Somewhat A-human ,just dosn't touch you.Hollywood dissapearing up it's own arse. 2 stars
6/29/02 kishuta Entertaining and well written. 4 stars
6/29/02 zDog Brilliant, but not a classic 5 stars
6/29/02 Sergio Perez BRAVO! 5 stars
6/29/02 Rampage Absolute kick-ass! 5 stars
6/29/02 Adam if you say this movie sucks ass, then may God have mercy on your soul... 5 stars
6/29/02 Philip K. Dick Talk about sucking a novel up. 1 stars
6/28/02 Robert Very enjoyable, though I think Steve needs to tidy up his endings (A.I.) 5 stars
6/27/02 dave keenan two endings too long-shorter would have been sharper 4 stars
6/27/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi tom cruise reli has a shing for blak singlets... 4 stars
6/27/02 john just so much fun , clever ... wonderful 5 stars
6/26/02 Melissa in NYC The movie is great. J.W.'s music is starting to falter; sounds hokey & recycled. 5 stars
6/26/02 bullit17 Intelligent, thought-provoking, eye-catching and just plain fun 5 stars
6/26/02 Phil M. Aficionado Ridiculous. Preposterous. Laughable. Very, very Hollywood in the worst sense. 2 stars
6/26/02 Film Guy I enjoyed everything this movie gave to us. I Think this is one of the best of the year 5 stars
6/26/02 Gibbo Major plot flaws, but exciting tale nonetheless. 4 stars
6/26/02 Darren Shea really thought provoking film, especially given Bush's efforts to lock up pre-criminals 5 stars
6/25/02 Jiz Had its shortfalls, but was definitely worth seeing 4 stars
6/25/02 Film Dude I predicted 2 major events... however, there was a twist for one of those that made it up. 4 stars
6/25/02 Jiz Best movie of the year so far 5 stars
6/25/02 bob leather jacket A Hybrid of "the Fugitive" infused with Speilberg 4 stars
6/25/02 Ming A movie that lends itself to the pleasures of a wide audience. 5 stars
6/25/02 Movie Expert The best Spielberg movie ever made, enough said. 5 stars
6/24/02 Jorge Pollo Looks awesome, and tastes just like chicken. 5 stars
6/24/02 strider3700 not an original idea in the film. The mystery aspect is painfully easy to solve. 3 stars
6/24/02 MyztiQ just wow.......not all eye candy......an excellent story line 5 stars
6/24/02 Gyro Fabulous film... an amazing look into the future. 5 stars
6/24/02 Greyjack Rock-solid noir storyline, with excellently realized near-future setting. Wow! 5 stars
6/24/02 Cris Moderate at best, just another speilberg movie saved by a good author. PKD gets credit. 2 stars
6/24/02 OPP Speilberg's best movie since Schindler's List. And actual story! 5 stars
6/24/02 Koitus Excellent film; examines "fate" vs. choice, with some FX thrown in! 5 stars
6/24/02 Don Grenfield Great Science Fiction (in the truest sense) movie. 5 stars
6/23/02 brent young a really cool summer movie. i'd watch it a couple of times at the movies. i'd say it rocked 5 stars
6/23/02 Dom Corleone Good job, spielberg 5 stars
6/23/02 Olive Miller Thought provoking,challenging,give it a look. 4 stars
6/23/02 Ric Corinaldi A flashy film, with flashy effects, grounded by some harsh human realities 5 stars
6/23/02 Michael Jones One of the years best films. 5 stars
6/23/02 Todd Ii went in expecting another A.I., and I was totally blown away. 5 stars
6/23/02 7of9 Definately worth a look, but stay alert to the story 4 stars
6/22/02 The Man Exceptional. Intense moviegoing. Highly recommended. 5 stars
6/22/02 SerpentX Noir-Lite. Some clever bits, but too shallow and Cruise is as vapid as in Vanilla Sky. 3 stars
6/22/02 ajay too long. right in the middle of the movie when you think it should end, walk out 3 stars
6/22/02 Chuck An excellent film; only diminished by other excellent thrillers like The Fugitive 4 stars
6/22/02 greensweater "total recall" + "the gift" = ecch 2 stars
6/22/02 Jeff Jue Rollercoaster ride for your mind. 5 stars
6/22/02 TheTalkingElbow What did the Dinosaur at the end have to do with anything? I mean, WTF? 1 stars
6/22/02 cleansparks go see it 5 stars
6/22/02 Jedi3 Crap 1 stars
6/21/02 Jexy This movie is so good that you'll forget it was directed by Speilberg. A quality film. 5 stars
6/20/02 Chris I got a sneak peak...this movie is definatly a masterpiece and a marvel! Check it out..NOW 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jun-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast