More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.46

Awesome: 17.57%
Worth A Look: 4.05%
Average: 20.27%
Pretty Bad: 22.97%
Total Crap35.14%

6 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Superstar (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Hate me. Beat me. Mock my monkey pants. But I liked it."
3 stars

I know, I know. You all thought it was crap and the SNL skit it comes from sucks ass and it wasn't funny and should never have happened. Trust me, I've heard it all, I've been beaten by old people, I've had my lunch stolen by the disabled, I'm a pariah amongst my people. But I enjoyed Superstar and no amount of kidney punches and noogies will get me to confess otherwise. Except leeches. Leeches might work. Please don't use leeches.

So Molly Shannon created this character around a high school girl who is a complete geek in every respect but is convinced she is destined to become a superstar. I guess when Shannon was in school she got teased about wanting to be on Saturday Night Live and this is her revenge on them all. Well dammit, I laughed. Quite a bit. Not like a retard or anything, I wasn't drooling with hilarity. But I laughed more than I did during Big Momma's House.

Heck, I think I laughed during circumcision surgery more than I did during Big Momma's House. Let's stop talking about Big Momma's House please.

So Molly goes through school life being picked on by the popular kids, being caught practicing making out with a tree, falling over things, obsessing over the very 80's school hunk and generally covering all the bases of most SNL adaptions. What's different? Why did I laugh? Why have I braved the slings and arrows and flying staplers and defended what is, at best, mediocrity?

Because if you put down your preconceptions and SNL inspired grievances, this character actually has a lot more legs to make the leap to film than the Night At The Roxbury kids, or the upcoming Ladies Man. As the film goes on, the character does get depth, the situations do stay reasonably fresh and the humour keeps things mostly above the belt. For a lazy weekend rental, Superstar is decent fare, and it will certainly stay on video store shelves longer than It's Pat.

Those noogies really hurt, you bastards.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1785&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/18/00 17:54:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

1/10/10 art ONLY FOR FAN"S OF MOLLY"S SNL CHARACTER{MARY KATHERINE GALLAGHER} 2 stars
1/18/09 Anonymous. an awkward movie that isn't that funny. :D 2 stars
8/07/07 Johnny Strangers With Candy does "weird girl in high-school" way better. Embarrassingly stupid. 2 stars
10/06/06 Lauren Taylor So funny i cried for hours! =] loved it!!! 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor SNL movies, how much i love you 4 stars
8/31/05 ES proving once and for all that Bruce McCulloch is the Eric Idle of Kids in the Hall 1 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson One of the all time worst comedies I've ever seen! Why are these SNL skits made into movies 1 stars
12/20/04 Jessica 5 stars dawg. 5 stars. 5 stars
12/20/04 Michelle This movie is GrEaT! I love it... there's never been a more awesome movie! 5 stars
12/20/04 Jessica This movie is awesomely hilarious. I love it. 5 stars
12/20/04 Michelle McClure Me and Jessica LOVE this movie...we watch it 24/7 5 stars
12/20/04 Jessica "What are you lookin at fruity? I dont play buttdarts okay....I'm lovin the ladies" <Funny 5 stars
10/22/04 kena typical SNL comedy.........so dumb, it was funny. 4 stars
1/08/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal What a piece of shit. Superstar my arse. Wouldn't even give it one star... 1 stars
6/22/03 cochese MOLLY SHANNON IS NOT FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!!! GET IT? 1 stars
3/17/03 Cameron Slick Dumb script and flat jokes made this another SNL misfire. 1 stars
12/04/02 Sara Jacobs Beyond Hillarious 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Hillarious 5 stars
10/09/01 Monday Morning Not great, not terrible...kind of medium I guess. 3 stars
6/13/01 Renee is Insane Almost the WORST movie of all time. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary So stupid it's funny. It's a good movie to watch if you are down. 4 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden Pretty goofy, but watchable SNL flick. 3 stars
3/09/01 Drew Anderson This movie was extremely comical, and made completely with teenage viewers in mind. 5 stars
3/07/01 Helen I have rented it a million times and I crave to see it once more. Hilarious. 5 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 Unspeakabley awful. 1 stars
1/30/01 Scot Bailey Biggest piece of poop to float to the surface of the Hollywood self-love fest in years. 1 stars
1/17/01 tessa its hilarious 5 stars
1/16/01 Renee this is the best movie of all time 5 stars
9/17/00 JAKE ugh... the most annoying idea EVER!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/08/00 Stuntman shit shit shit shit 1 stars
6/02/00 Steve Layne Pretty boring and dumb 2 stars
4/30/00 The Bomb 69 some funny some stupid, a mixed bag 3 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall absolute stupidity 1 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh sloppy, worthless SNL adapted trash 1 stars
10/25/99 focus one question: why? 1 stars
10/16/99 TImbo You all suck. This movie rules like when bears maul dumb people. 5 stars
10/15/99 16 in. of meat and a bucket of balls Oh God, why do you punish your people so? SNL should quit while it's behind 1 stars
10/12/99 Mr Showbiz Right up there with A Night At The Roxbury 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Oct-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Sep-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast