More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.46

Awesome: 17.57%
Worth A Look: 4.05%
Average: 20.27%
Pretty Bad: 22.97%
Total Crap35.14%

6 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Superstar (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"...I got kinda nervous, and I sat on my hands like this..."
2 stars

"Superstar," which is extracted from Molly Shannon's character Mary Katherine Gallagher, is a silly and often stupid movie, but it is more of a guilty pleasure because it does cause laughter throughout the movie, and those who enjoy SNL skits would go for an over-extended version everyday.

The story is simple: Mary, attending high school at St. Monica's, and not quite as bright as others, is put into the Special Ed classes for her eccentricities. Her dream is to become a superstar, because then maybe she will be able to "tongue kiss" Sky (Will Ferrell). But before doing that, she must of course learn by kissing none other than a tree.

Aside from her dendrophile antics, she discovers the chance to enter a talent show where the first place winner gets to go to Hollywood and be an extra in a movie with "positive moral values." Mary's main obstacle is Evian (Elaine Hendrix) -- "naive" spelled backwards -- and Mary taunts her for being named after the mountain water company ("Go drink a bottle of yourself!").

You know that, no matter what, the movie will be somewhat over-length, and that half of what happens to Mary will be dream sequences, but the film delivers enough laughs that you won't find yourself pulling out your hair in disbelief. One of the movie's stronger points was the fact that the actors all looked like they were having a ball and nothing but utter fun. The dance sequences (unlike those of "Happy, Texas") were well choreographed and catchy. So if you can tolerate the "Saturday Night Live" sketches, you will mostly likely be able to stomach this. Otherwise, be forewarned.

(Okay, I admit, I kinda like the sketch, but this *was* pushing it!)

Final Verdict: C+

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1785&reviewer=172
originally posted: 11/16/99 19:35:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
SNL Movies: For more in the SNL Movies series, click here.

User Comments

1/10/10 art ONLY FOR FAN"S OF MOLLY"S SNL CHARACTER{MARY KATHERINE GALLAGHER} 2 stars
1/18/09 Anonymous. an awkward movie that isn't that funny. :D 2 stars
8/07/07 Johnny Strangers With Candy does "weird girl in high-school" way better. Embarrassingly stupid. 2 stars
10/06/06 Lauren Taylor So funny i cried for hours! =] loved it!!! 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor SNL movies, how much i love you 4 stars
8/31/05 ES proving once and for all that Bruce McCulloch is the Eric Idle of Kids in the Hall 1 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson One of the all time worst comedies I've ever seen! Why are these SNL skits made into movies 1 stars
12/20/04 Jessica 5 stars dawg. 5 stars. 5 stars
12/20/04 Michelle This movie is GrEaT! I love it... there's never been a more awesome movie! 5 stars
12/20/04 Jessica This movie is awesomely hilarious. I love it. 5 stars
12/20/04 Michelle McClure Me and Jessica LOVE this movie...we watch it 24/7 5 stars
12/20/04 Jessica "What are you lookin at fruity? I dont play buttdarts okay....I'm lovin the ladies" <Funny 5 stars
10/22/04 kena typical SNL comedy.........so dumb, it was funny. 4 stars
1/08/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal What a piece of shit. Superstar my arse. Wouldn't even give it one star... 1 stars
6/22/03 cochese MOLLY SHANNON IS NOT FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!!! GET IT? 1 stars
3/17/03 Cameron Slick Dumb script and flat jokes made this another SNL misfire. 1 stars
12/04/02 Sara Jacobs Beyond Hillarious 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Hillarious 5 stars
10/09/01 Monday Morning Not great, not terrible...kind of medium I guess. 3 stars
6/13/01 Renee is Insane Almost the WORST movie of all time. 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary So stupid it's funny. It's a good movie to watch if you are down. 4 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden Pretty goofy, but watchable SNL flick. 3 stars
3/09/01 Drew Anderson This movie was extremely comical, and made completely with teenage viewers in mind. 5 stars
3/07/01 Helen I have rented it a million times and I crave to see it once more. Hilarious. 5 stars
2/13/01 Egg36 Unspeakabley awful. 1 stars
1/30/01 Scot Bailey Biggest piece of poop to float to the surface of the Hollywood self-love fest in years. 1 stars
1/17/01 tessa its hilarious 5 stars
1/16/01 Renee this is the best movie of all time 5 stars
9/17/00 JAKE ugh... the most annoying idea EVER!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/08/00 Stuntman shit shit shit shit 1 stars
6/02/00 Steve Layne Pretty boring and dumb 2 stars
4/30/00 The Bomb 69 some funny some stupid, a mixed bag 3 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall absolute stupidity 1 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh sloppy, worthless SNL adapted trash 1 stars
10/25/99 focus one question: why? 1 stars
10/16/99 TImbo You all suck. This movie rules like when bears maul dumb people. 5 stars
10/15/99 16 in. of meat and a bucket of balls Oh God, why do you punish your people so? SNL should quit while it's behind 1 stars
10/12/99 Mr Showbiz Right up there with A Night At The Roxbury 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Oct-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Sep-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast