More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome: 35.94%
Worth A Look45.31%
Average: 10.16%
Pretty Bad: 3.91%
Total Crap: 4.69%

8 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Enemy of the State
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A high-tech thriller.....Well, not that high tech, but still fun"
4 stars

When this action flick came out at first I didn’t hear much but then through friends, I heard a lot of how good it was and so on, even when I first rented it, a friend of mine who worked at the rental store even recommended it. And I wasn't let down, since the movie thrilled me all the way to the end. My dad liked it a lot that he bought it. I didn't care since I liked it too, and it was a very good movie, worth watching. It kind of slips in the ending part but the end climax saves it. So after all this time I'm bothering to review it.

Lets see, Robert Dean (Will Smith) is a successful attorney that just got of from some tense work that he's doing and goes shopping. While doing that he bumps into an old-time friend Daniel Zavitz (Jason Lee), but doesn't understand what’s pushing him, unaware, Zavitz slips a disc into one of his bags and rides off to his death. Then Dean's life is thrown off to hell, since the info Zavitz slipped to him contains the murder of a politician, who was working against a National Security surveillance bill. One of the aides (Jon Voight), and responsible of this murder, and his team of specialist engages in a war against Dean by discrediting him, and tapping his home and screwing up his entire life, so he can't talk. It isn't until later and through an underground tech specialist Brill (Gene Hackman), that realizes that he's got something other people want, so he fights on every step of the way to stay ahead of his enemies and find out what is fucking his life up, and fight back, before its too late.

The film shows you many interesting things on how advanced technology can be useful to spot criminals such as phone tapping, Satellite surveillance, and bugs. That’s basically the key to the film's enjoyment. But it also gives you the look again, as portrayed in other films on how some other people will do anything to discredit you and crack you so they can get what they want. That makes it interesting to watch since we see Dean, terrorized by demons he's not aware of, and at the same time screws up his life.

As you watch in this movie you get exactly what you expect from a Simpson/Bruckheimer/Scott flick, lots of action, though this one differs a little, since there is a bit more drama than action. It resembles in some ways to another excellent film The Conversation, but this one, thanks to the originality of the script stays its own independency. The performances were great from all sides, and everything else was up to my standards. I also thought that the camera work needed a little polish since the "shaky cam effect" sometimes annoys the viewer a bit. The most interesting and outrageous part was in the end, you see it, all I can tell you is that it was sly, and somehow it doesn't work that well, but the climax ending does a lot to save the film.

In the end I recommend this film for your normal movie watching times since its entertaining and worth enjoying with some popcorn at hand. Its really fun to watch, especially when get to see the fresh prince of Bel-air run his ass off for his life, and strip in the progress, that probably is a magic moment for many girls I guess, and I mean, girls, not me.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=179&reviewer=235
originally posted: 04/19/01 11:06:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/30/10 PAUL SHORTT FAST-PACED, ENJOYABLE HI-TECH THRILLER WITH A CHARISMATIC STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
12/29/08 amy terrific film, very important, and edge of your seat exciting 5 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White Will makes an unlikely twin, but good action 4 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! Still a great thriller even (nay, especially) 10 yrs l8r. Smith's best movie overall 5 stars
6/08/06 Carolyn Rathburn wonderful suspence and action, loved it 5 stars
5/25/06 saw Yes, opening the eyes of the common folk to what the goverment is up to. 5 stars
2/07/06 Anthony Great one Smith 4 stars
9/06/05 Michael Wow! ... Fast ... Good ... No Escape 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Can anyone say 'completely unbelievable'= bad movie 2 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands A classic already. Everyone's seen it. Good bit performances by future stars. 4 stars
2/18/05 tatum Exciting, but it is just a movie! 4 stars
10/09/04 John even Gene Hackman can't save this terrible script 2 stars
8/07/04 ALDO Non stop action flick ...with a really intelligent Ending... 5 stars
7/17/04 Boris Smith Superb action-thriller! 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot yawn 3 stars
4/15/04 R.W. Welch Just passable thriller than even Hackman can't quite salvage. 3 stars
12/09/03 Samuel I think these things actually go on ; ( SPOOKIE!!!! 5 stars
9/28/03 Alice It has to be said, Will never does movies that really suck. 4 stars
3/16/03 123 This movie is fricking cool and I love the final showdown 5 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Hi-tech gadgets don't substitute for astute writing. Phony and asinine from the get-go. 1 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 It's almost scary to think how true this movie may be, but it's great (go Jason Lee!) 5 stars
10/03/02 Shmeh Mintenhausen yeah 3 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Will Smith actually in a good movie??? 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver This was in serious need of real editing. Way too long and just not worth it. 2 stars
10/29/01 Gary Predictable, hokey & unoriginaland with a lazy performance from a typecast Smith. 1 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy damm good action and performances. Not oscar worthy, but it's the better work of tony scott 4 stars
9/11/01 J This is quite possibly the best thing for anybody involved in this film. 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Just a standard man-on-the-run movie. 3 stars
8/29/01 Gary Very entertaining first half, but it nosedives, becoming predictable & losing all intrigue. 2 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat THIS IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ACTION MOVIES EVER. 5 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart The movie is cool the first time one watches it, but it fades fast. 3 stars
6/09/01 Turtle I rented this for free.... But I would've paid the $3.45. It's that great. 4 stars
5/31/01 Mason Billotte I think Will is awesome, he is a really good actor and he just made an awesome movie! 5 stars
5/08/01 Monday Morning Bitchin' blend of action, suspense and a great, multi-dimensional story. 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla great action-suspense movie, its worth the rent 5 stars
10/29/00 Mitja Podgajski good actors, good production, and good story! 4 stars
8/10/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good; lots of action and Gene Hackman's appearance is a bonus. 4 stars
6/23/00 Elvisfan Don't think about it afterward and you might not mind it so much 3 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Exciting, but it losing steam toward the end. 4 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A too-complex thriller, but at least Smith proves to me he has a larger acting range. 3 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh At least Will did better in this movie than ID4, WWW and MIB 4 stars
8/24/99 Obi Wan Not a bad flick...open my eyes...kinda makes me wonder now. . . 4 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Sucks beyond all belief. Will Smith should be shot. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg For entertainment purposes only!! This is pure Hollywood fluff, but it kept me watching. 3 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo Gripping! 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Plot is either truly preposterous, or truly scary . Either way, EOTS is rollicking fun. 4 stars
6/22/99 Arkansas Jon An entertaining little flick, albeit too much like The Fugitive and Conspiracy Theory 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Sorry but theres no way that i can get with the hype surrounding this formulaic tripe. 1 stars
6/03/99 bridgette rather enthralling 4 stars
5/23/99 Ah Dooey Not too bad, not too bad. Absolute badass. 5 stars
3/02/99 Oscar Some of the equipments don't exist at the present. 4 stars
2/25/99 little jerry Scott use to be one of the worst directors.After Crimson Tide & now this ,I'm impressed. 4 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Very entertaining and action packed, good plot 5 stars
1/31/99 Kyp Cool flick, nice build up of tension :) 5 stars
1/12/99 harrison fair at best 3 stars
12/29/98 tr big disappointment from a group of great actors. 2 stars
12/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! The best directing ive seen in a LONG time,a great flick with the most silliest ending! 4 stars
12/20/98 kozmic A busy flick,splashs of laughs,keeps you watching.Will is getting closer to real drama. 4 stars
12/16/98 A non-techno-thriller-type My internal decimal meter exploded and my eyes were buggin' out from frame changes. 3 stars
12/13/98 Carl A great paranoia flick that makes you go "Hmmmm..." Killer movie! 4 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Hackman's the man! Will Smith strikes again! Outstanding! 5 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Wannabe paranoid conspiracy thriller, just another hackneyed, high-concept action thriller. 3 stars
12/05/98 tj a bit too busy...but still the best out there except for AmHistX 4 stars
12/05/98 Jason Stein Score another for Bruckheimer, IT KICKED ASS 5 stars
12/02/98 Tough Crowd Fuck a Duck this movie is damn good 5 stars
12/02/98 Brysa yo! this flicks the bomb! 5 stars
12/01/98 Jumbles More intriguing than the "feature length chase scene" you might expect. 4 stars
12/01/98 Bluntman The most suprising rollercoaster ride of the year. A blast! 4 stars
12/01/98 Daddy Rich Smith and Hackman are great. Very suspenseful; you never know what is going to happen next 5 stars
12/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Bruckheimer surprises. Smith can't pull off "subtle", but a great cast makes up for it. 5 stars
11/28/98 ShadowStar© Hackman strikes again! 3 stars
11/27/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls A Bruckheimer Production with a great ensemble cast. A must see! 5 stars
11/26/98 Gamma Outstanding! Ending was flat, but rest was awesome. Go see it now. 5 stars
11/25/98 betty humpter When is the homage to Will Smith and his enormous ego going to end ? Just say no to the ego 1 stars
11/24/98 PhatCat Yes. I knew it all along. Someone is sending a message. 5 stars
11/23/98 Christ Monkey Glad to see a big-budget Smith flick worth seeing. 4 stars
11/22/98 Johny Entertaining thriller with a nicely toned down Smith. Ending is understandably lackluster. 4 stars
11/22/98 Cage Another impressive piece of work by Bruckheimer. VERY COOL !! 4 stars
11/18/98 Leticia Romero Too cool! 4 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool A massive disappointment from a man who is an idol of mine - Bruckheimer. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Nov-1998 (R)
  DVD: 16-May-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Jan-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Tony Scott

Written by
  David Marconi
  Aaron Sorkin

Cast
  Will Smith
  Gene Hackman
  Jake Busey
  Gabriel Byrne
  Jon Voight
  Jason Lee



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast