More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome: 35.94%
Worth A Look45.31%
Average: 10.16%
Pretty Bad: 3.91%
Total Crap: 4.69%

8 reviews, 80 user ratings



Enemy of the State
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"RUN Jason Lee, you hunk of burning love, RUN!"
5 stars

Thank you, Mr. Bruckheimer. I love you. All a girl really needs to get cheered up is Will Smith in his underpants.

This I learned earlier today when I went to go see this kickass movie. I had been looking forward to seeing it, and it just opened here, so I am SO there, the TV has been teasing me with little one-second snippets of the gorgeous Seth Green saying "he jumped to 15!" for months, and finally I get to get some closure on that.

I was expecting a big, dumb movie. I knew this was no plodding, emotional "Conspiracy Theory". I really thought it was more "Will smith runs and shoots and blows things up"

Which is great. I was in that mood.

But I was wrong. This was a fun, and yet not stupid, movie. That's rare. I dig it. All that scary conspiracy hoopla and terror and running around and not knowing who to trust and cool gadgets (any movie with gadgets already has that little something extra, ya know?) and it's still engaging.

Will Smith is flawless. His wife (Regina King? I forget, the wife from Jerry Maguire) is my FAVOREITE actress out there today (you know I love the tough ones) and does a great job. And gene Hackman, who i normally dislike, did a good job. for the first time, i could actually see him as his character, and not just Gene Hackman in another movie.

And the group of young actors... Mmmm Mmmm. Get Jake Busey out of there and I'd make every last one my boytoy. Jamie Kennedy, Seth Green, Barry Pepper (oh yeah) and Jason Lee. He kicked so much ass. I thought they all did a kickass job. But I'm probably not being objective.

So many characters and yet I still felt each one was well presented and I could keep track of all of them. So often in movies like this, you end up asking yourself "now which one is this? What's his job?" but that didn't happen here. Yay Tony Scott.

I liked the pacing of the movie. This was a long one but I didn't feel it. It gave me enough breathers so I wasn't overwhelmed by the action, but not too many that I got bored. I thought maybe the last segment, which involved sticking it to the man, using their own technology against them, etc. could have been tightened up a little, I mean, we pretty much know what's gunna happen. But the entertainment level of the big finale really made up for that.

Bravo all around, I think. I think this is the kind of action movie that you can take a date to and she won't mind missing "StepMom". After all, Will gets half naked. 5 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=179&reviewer=6
originally posted: 01/11/99 11:33:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/30/10 PAUL SHORTT FAST-PACED, ENJOYABLE HI-TECH THRILLER WITH A CHARISMATIC STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
12/29/08 amy terrific film, very important, and edge of your seat exciting 5 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White Will makes an unlikely twin, but good action 4 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! Still a great thriller even (nay, especially) 10 yrs l8r. Smith's best movie overall 5 stars
6/08/06 Carolyn Rathburn wonderful suspence and action, loved it 5 stars
5/25/06 saw Yes, opening the eyes of the common folk to what the goverment is up to. 5 stars
2/07/06 Anthony Great one Smith 4 stars
9/06/05 Michael Wow! ... Fast ... Good ... No Escape 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Can anyone say 'completely unbelievable'= bad movie 2 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands A classic already. Everyone's seen it. Good bit performances by future stars. 4 stars
2/18/05 tatum Exciting, but it is just a movie! 4 stars
10/09/04 John even Gene Hackman can't save this terrible script 2 stars
8/07/04 ALDO Non stop action flick ...with a really intelligent Ending... 5 stars
7/17/04 Boris Smith Superb action-thriller! 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot yawn 3 stars
4/15/04 R.W. Welch Just passable thriller than even Hackman can't quite salvage. 3 stars
12/09/03 Samuel I think these things actually go on ; ( SPOOKIE!!!! 5 stars
9/28/03 Alice It has to be said, Will never does movies that really suck. 4 stars
3/16/03 123 This movie is fricking cool and I love the final showdown 5 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Hi-tech gadgets don't substitute for astute writing. Phony and asinine from the get-go. 1 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 It's almost scary to think how true this movie may be, but it's great (go Jason Lee!) 5 stars
10/03/02 Shmeh Mintenhausen yeah 3 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Will Smith actually in a good movie??? 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver This was in serious need of real editing. Way too long and just not worth it. 2 stars
10/29/01 Gary Predictable, hokey & unoriginaland with a lazy performance from a typecast Smith. 1 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy damm good action and performances. Not oscar worthy, but it's the better work of tony scott 4 stars
9/11/01 J This is quite possibly the best thing for anybody involved in this film. 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Just a standard man-on-the-run movie. 3 stars
8/29/01 Gary Very entertaining first half, but it nosedives, becoming predictable & losing all intrigue. 2 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat THIS IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ACTION MOVIES EVER. 5 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart The movie is cool the first time one watches it, but it fades fast. 3 stars
6/09/01 Turtle I rented this for free.... But I would've paid the $3.45. It's that great. 4 stars
5/31/01 Mason Billotte I think Will is awesome, he is a really good actor and he just made an awesome movie! 5 stars
5/08/01 Monday Morning Bitchin' blend of action, suspense and a great, multi-dimensional story. 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla great action-suspense movie, its worth the rent 5 stars
10/29/00 Mitja Podgajski good actors, good production, and good story! 4 stars
8/10/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good; lots of action and Gene Hackman's appearance is a bonus. 4 stars
6/23/00 Elvisfan Don't think about it afterward and you might not mind it so much 3 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Exciting, but it losing steam toward the end. 4 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A too-complex thriller, but at least Smith proves to me he has a larger acting range. 3 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh At least Will did better in this movie than ID4, WWW and MIB 4 stars
8/24/99 Obi Wan Not a bad flick...open my eyes...kinda makes me wonder now. . . 4 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Sucks beyond all belief. Will Smith should be shot. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg For entertainment purposes only!! This is pure Hollywood fluff, but it kept me watching. 3 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo Gripping! 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Plot is either truly preposterous, or truly scary . Either way, EOTS is rollicking fun. 4 stars
6/22/99 Arkansas Jon An entertaining little flick, albeit too much like The Fugitive and Conspiracy Theory 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Sorry but theres no way that i can get with the hype surrounding this formulaic tripe. 1 stars
6/03/99 bridgette rather enthralling 4 stars
5/23/99 Ah Dooey Not too bad, not too bad. Absolute badass. 5 stars
3/02/99 Oscar Some of the equipments don't exist at the present. 4 stars
2/25/99 little jerry Scott use to be one of the worst directors.After Crimson Tide & now this ,I'm impressed. 4 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Very entertaining and action packed, good plot 5 stars
1/31/99 Kyp Cool flick, nice build up of tension :) 5 stars
1/12/99 harrison fair at best 3 stars
12/29/98 tr big disappointment from a group of great actors. 2 stars
12/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! The best directing ive seen in a LONG time,a great flick with the most silliest ending! 4 stars
12/20/98 kozmic A busy flick,splashs of laughs,keeps you watching.Will is getting closer to real drama. 4 stars
12/16/98 A non-techno-thriller-type My internal decimal meter exploded and my eyes were buggin' out from frame changes. 3 stars
12/13/98 Carl A great paranoia flick that makes you go "Hmmmm..." Killer movie! 4 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Hackman's the man! Will Smith strikes again! Outstanding! 5 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Wannabe paranoid conspiracy thriller, just another hackneyed, high-concept action thriller. 3 stars
12/05/98 tj a bit too busy...but still the best out there except for AmHistX 4 stars
12/05/98 Jason Stein Score another for Bruckheimer, IT KICKED ASS 5 stars
12/02/98 Tough Crowd Fuck a Duck this movie is damn good 5 stars
12/02/98 Brysa yo! this flicks the bomb! 5 stars
12/01/98 Jumbles More intriguing than the "feature length chase scene" you might expect. 4 stars
12/01/98 Bluntman The most suprising rollercoaster ride of the year. A blast! 4 stars
12/01/98 Daddy Rich Smith and Hackman are great. Very suspenseful; you never know what is going to happen next 5 stars
12/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Bruckheimer surprises. Smith can't pull off "subtle", but a great cast makes up for it. 5 stars
11/28/98 ShadowStar© Hackman strikes again! 3 stars
11/27/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls A Bruckheimer Production with a great ensemble cast. A must see! 5 stars
11/26/98 Gamma Outstanding! Ending was flat, but rest was awesome. Go see it now. 5 stars
11/25/98 betty humpter When is the homage to Will Smith and his enormous ego going to end ? Just say no to the ego 1 stars
11/24/98 PhatCat Yes. I knew it all along. Someone is sending a message. 5 stars
11/23/98 Christ Monkey Glad to see a big-budget Smith flick worth seeing. 4 stars
11/22/98 Johny Entertaining thriller with a nicely toned down Smith. Ending is understandably lackluster. 4 stars
11/22/98 Cage Another impressive piece of work by Bruckheimer. VERY COOL !! 4 stars
11/18/98 Leticia Romero Too cool! 4 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool A massive disappointment from a man who is an idol of mine - Bruckheimer. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Nov-1998 (R)
  DVD: 16-May-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Jan-1999 (M)


Directed by
  Tony Scott

Written by
  David Marconi
  Aaron Sorkin

Cast
  Will Smith
  Gene Hackman
  Jake Busey
  Gabriel Byrne
  Jon Voight
  Jason Lee



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast