More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.9

Awesome: 21.67%
Worth A Look: 20.83%
Average: 12.5%
Pretty Bad: 15.83%
Total Crap29.17%

7 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Glass (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Man Who Killed Don Quixote, The by Rob Gonsalves

Hellboy (2019) by Jay Seaver

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Little Nicky
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Little laughter"
2 stars

Little Nicky belongs in the category of “critic-proof,” a movie that has an instant fan-base and appeal, a film that will do well, no matter what the critics say. One can say that about all of Sandler’s films. He and his crew make films for their fans, no on else.

I am not a fan. I never have been. I liked The Wedding Singer, but I can’t think of anything else by him that I have liked. I find him annoying most of the time. Had I been born after 1985, I would probably be thrilled at the prospect of meeting him. Instead, I felt indifferent.

I find him annoying when he refuses to be himself. At the press conference following the film, Sandler appeared relaxed, humbled by his success, and eager to meet his fans. I liked this guy. He made me laugh. His titular character in the movie made me want to hit him with a shovel a few more times, not to cure his speech impediment, but to just shut him up once and for all. [iLittle Nicky might have been at least amusing, had Sandler not been in it. Or, rather, how about Sandler play it straight, without the funny voice, the bad haircut or the speech impediment? I don’t mean to suggest he do it dramatically, but in a deadpan sort of way. Imagine Bill Murray just being Bill Murray, but also being the son of Satan.

Sandler plays one of three brothers who might take over the throne of Hell after their father, Satan (Harvey Keitel), steps down after 10,000 years. Satan decides not to step down, which upsets Nicky’s brothers. They escape and decide to create their own Hell on Earth in New York City. Satan leaves it to Nicky to bring the two back and save the world from destruction.

Of course, Nicky has to meet some wacky New Yorkers along the way, the standout being a talking bulldog (not as funny as it could have been). He also meets a geekish-looking woman named Valerie (Patricia Arquette…what the hell happened to her?), who, for whatever reason, seems charmed by him. Along with two stereotypical metalheads and a pretentious closet-gay roommate (Allen Covert), Nicky uses whatever magic he can to bring his two brothers back to hell without doing any damage to New York City.

After the screening, one of the audience members said to his friend, “Dude, I never thought a talking dog would be funny.” Well, let’s see, I can think of two off the top of my head: The terrier in Babe: Pig In The City and Don Johnson’s furry companion in A Boy And His Dog. A talking dog should be funny, but here, they use it as an excuse for more piss jokes, although the dog does have a funny snore.

Of course, Nicky discovers drugs, thanks to his two metalhead friends. Again, we have another situation that should be funny, but instead turns tired and cliché. Laughing, laughing, laughing followed by eating, eating, eating. Only That 70’s Show knows how to do this kind of scene with flair and originality.

For anybody wondering where Quentin Tarantino has been hiding lately, well, you have your answer. Tarantino over-acts as a street Deacon with all-white contact lenses. He runs away from Little Nicky, only to fall down a stairwell or bump into a pole. Can we stop comparing him to Scorsese now?

The movie also misses an opportunity to do a decent parody of What Dreams May Come when Nicky arrives in Heaven to meet his mother, played with valley-girl finesse by Reese Witherspoon. Instead, the movie sets up the scene with the moving paintings and angelic music, but doesn’t know what to do with it.

Too many other opportunities get tossed aside here. Why cast Rodney Dangerfield if he has nothing funny to say? Why make Ozzy Osbourne eat the head off a live bat when we can see the gag coming a mile away? We know the urban myth about that, so why not do a twist on it?

Little Nicky didn’t make me laugh that much. It left zero impression on me, and it wastes the talents of Harvey Keitel, Reese Witherspoon and Rodney Dangerfield, but after sitting through The Legend Of Bagger Vance, I now feel delighted about Adam Sandler being alive and well and making movies. I don’t want to turn this review into an extended rant on Bagger Vance, but at least Little Nicky had an agenda and fulfilled it. They made a movie for their fans, and the fans will probably enjoy it. You know, Little Nicky really doesn’t seem so bad to me after all.

Congratulations, Adam. You made a better film than Robert Redford and Matt Damon did. Now, you just need to make a film better than The Wedding Singer, which really should not be all that tough. I wish you the best of luck on your secret project with Magnolia director, Paul Thomas Anderson, a movie that will probably not be “critic-proof.” On the other hand, it probably won’t be a Razor’s Edge either.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1792&reviewer=233
originally posted: 02/18/01 20:08:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/08/17 Louise (the actual one) The trailer alone was enough to make me think: AVOID. 1 stars
3/02/14 matthew thompson dalldorf Funny...on occasion. 2 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Great cast, if only it had some good gags to go along with it 2 stars
9/08/09 art THIS MOVIE IS SICK! 1 stars
3/02/09 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, but i always love Adam! 4 stars
11/30/08 solo if u didnt enjoy this movie u got no sense and no humor, and no sense of humor. 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca This film has a bad rap but it is actually quite enjoyable. 4 stars
7/08/06 NS I watched it on TBS at 3:00 AM, it was funny. 3 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor The movie is funny the first time, after that, you're asleep 1 stars
3/05/06 matt Oh come on! this movie was funny 5 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis dark humor is always fun. 4 stars
8/12/05 ES little nicky=a let down and garbage 1 stars
6/20/05 R Adam Sandler says, "Wow, you'll watch anything!" 1 stars
5/25/05 The shizz "popeye's chicken is the shizznet" funniest line ever said. I cried 5 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK People who enjoy this disease-on-film should not be allowed to procreate. 1 stars
3/29/05 Lyn i didnt stop laughing 5 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny as hell, lmao. 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Funny as hell 3 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 "It's Ozzy!" "HOLY SHIT!" 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz funny 4 stars
7/20/04 godan what were you thinking... bleh 1 stars
5/29/04 J OUTRAGESLY and OBNOXIOUSLY FUNNY!!! *** 1/2 out of 4 5 stars
4/20/04 LIAM JACKSON this was funny. anyone who doesn't like it has no sense of humour 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern FUNNY AS... Well you get the picture. 5 stars
8/16/03 bit this is a pretty funny movie,worth renting,adam sandler is as funny as hell 4 stars
8/02/03 Double G bad movie, Reese Witherspoon SUCKS!!! 1 stars
7/04/03 T3 Ozzy O's scene ruled, the bat, its Ozzy....that was the high point of the movie 3 stars
5/22/03 fartzrgood movie aint funny. sandler aint funny. Fartz are funny. 1 stars
5/12/03 Jareth Reese Witherspoon is so bad, she makes Liz Hurley look like the next Audrey Hepburn. 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Lots of ideas, not one of them funny. Damn near unwatchable. 1 stars
3/27/03 Tim Baker IT Was Funny 5 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie just sucked... only funny thing is Sandler's accent here... 1 stars
2/22/03 Jon nothing spectacular 4 stars
2/16/03 Lee WORST...COMEDY...EVERRRR! 1 stars
1/06/03 Kyle Ugh.... just.... ugh.... 2 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton This movie is terrible, adam sandler sucks 1 stars
7/31/02 KMG USUAL SANDLER SHIT 1 stars
7/02/02 hghjhjhjghhj Clerks and Monty Python are real comedies. This is comedy for morons. 1 stars
5/15/02 vixenJ Oh my god!lesson to parents do not let your kids see this!Adrian is DD handsome ! 5 stars
3/18/02 Butterbean This was an okay flick. Not as bad as critics say 4 stars
3/08/02 Liza Blashkey this movie is so fucken cool! u should make a l.n #2 5 stars
2/08/02 Valerie Cameron Tied with BILLY MADISON for Adam Sandler's best chick flick 5 stars
1/09/02 auroradae adam sandlers finest masterpiece, truly under appreciated 5 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Good calls, Jeremy! All of Adam Sandler's movies kick ass. He hasn't and never will flop! 4 stars
11/26/01 Will Diamond Poop... but funny poop 3 stars
11/11/01 P.Rodriguez SHITE! 1 stars
11/08/01 Hum its an adam sandler movie. its pretty much what you would expect 2 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's from the south, the deep south. Sandler will make you piss yourself laughing!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone what load of shit.Adam Sander what were u thinking.Totally shit 1 stars
8/19/01 LawHog24 Better than I expected, but that isn't saying a whole lot. Even so, Sandler's best, I think 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I would like to beat the shit out of everyone involved in making this cluster-fuck. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Not bad. Adam Sandler, the dog, that one guy, and Quentin Tarantino R cool. 4 stars
7/26/01 Denz :) 5 stars
7/24/01 Monday Morning This makes "Water Boy" seem intelligent. 1 stars
7/23/01 D.R. Funny, but no Waterboy or Wedding Singer, not even Big Daddy 4 stars
7/04/01 Piz Certainly not the funniest Sandler film, but some parts had me rolling. 3 stars
6/25/01 Tzila Seewald It's so funny movie! Adam Rocks! 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass Strictly for die-hard Sandler fans. But I'm a die-hard Sandler fan, so THIS MOVIE RULES! 5 stars
6/05/01 Peter Brook What a pitiful, hopeless attempt at humour. Sandler is the most irritating actor EVER. 1 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon another adam sandler good 5 stars
2/03/01 cami Fisher soooooo FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 Adam Sandler is so fucking annoying. 2 stars
12/22/00 Viking To hell with this baloney !!! 2 stars
12/11/00 bobby sucks 1 stars
12/08/00 Robynn hilarious 5 stars
12/03/00 Sarah eh . . . 3 stars
11/23/00 A.K. You have to be retarded to like this movie. I have no idea why people like this. 1 stars
11/22/00 Bill Neal I'm drunk!! Pass the JD!! I've got an erection...come here Joanne!! 1 stars
11/20/00 Finity this movie was boring and stupid and had very few funny scenes 2 stars
11/18/00 The Bomb 69 not bad but Sandler seems to be getting progressively worse with each movie 4 stars
11/18/00 Edward A Leonard Split on this one, yes plot sucks, but some funny weed jokes, if you liked, see Half-Baked. 3 stars
11/17/00 Johnny Figaro Desperately unfunny. Among the year's worst in a year with lots of bad movies 1 stars
11/16/00 Heather Adam Sandler gets $20m, you get a shitty movie 1 stars
11/14/00 bee Least funny Adam Sandler voice yet. Jokes get old quick. 1 stars
11/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Satan once again has the last laugh. SUCKERS 1 stars
11/13/00 Gray Another shit Adam Sandler vehicle. Better than Big Daddy, but shitter than Waterboy. 1 stars
11/13/00 Stuntman shit on theaters, good when it gets released on video and DVD 3 stars
11/11/00 Greyjack A few laughs, but not that many. Go rent The Waterboy instead; wait for Nicky to hit video 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast