More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.9

Awesome: 21.67%
Worth A Look: 20.83%
Average: 12.5%
Pretty Bad: 15.83%
Total Crap29.17%

7 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Little Nicky
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Sandler's biopic."
2 stars

In reviewing "Little Nicky," it would be too easy to say that Adam Sandler playing the son of Satan is a matter of type-casting, or that while Adam Sandler may be the devil, it's the audience who is in hell, or that if Adam Sandler was not doomed to an eternity of torment already, he will be after this movie.

So instead, I will just say this: "Little Nicky" is almost 100 percent laugh-free. It's like a frat party where the boys make lots of jokes (there are only two female characters to speak of) that they think are funny, but only because they're stoned.

Now, you should know that I'm not a critic who automatically hates all Adam Sandler movies, as mandated by the Movie Critic's Code. I always think I'm one of those people, until I remember that I liked "Happy Gilmore" and "The Wedding Singer," and that "The Waterboy" was sporadically amusing. It's a case-by-case thing with Adam Sandler.

There are a number of things that make "Little Nicky" a painful ordeal. First, it's nearly impossible to even tolerate the title character, let alone like him, with Sandler playing him as a hoarsely whispering simp who elicits no sympathy.

Second, many of the gags are old. Devil-based jokes are easy, as are jokes about people coming to Earth for the first time and having to learn the ropes.

Third, the few jokes that are clever, subversive or original are ruined by over-playing them. For example, a funny throw-away reference to Lucifer's appointment to torture Hitler in an unusual way is wrecked when we are then forced to actually watch this happen.

Fourth, the movie creates arbitrary rules regarding hell and its denizens -- rules that are not already established in our popular culture -- and makes an extremely shaky foundation for itself.

Fifth, both Quentin Tarantino and a dog have speaking roles.

Nicky is one of three sons of the devil (Harvey Keitel) and is happy with his loving father, though he's constantly bullied by his brothers, Adrian (Rhys Ifans) and Cassius (Tommy "Tiny" Lister, Jr.), both of whom seem far more evil than their easy-going dad or grandfather (Rodney Dangerfield).

Angry when Satan decides not to abdicate his throne to one of them after all, Adrian and Cassius head to Earth to get people sinning, thus making for more souls in hell, which will be to their advantage when they DO gain control. (Wouldn't it make more sense to take over hell and THEN go to Earth?) Leaving hell, though, causes the gates to shut, and the lack of new souls causes Satan to start decomposing. It's up to Nicky to go up and bring his two brothers back, or else Dad will, um, die, I guess. Because this movie has seen other movies in which there are deadlines, it decides all of this must happen within the space of a week.

So Nicky winds up in New York City, determined to find his brothers, apparently unaware (as are they) that there are OTHER places on Earth they could go to. Satan sends up a dog (voiced by Robert Smigel) who helps Nicky adjust to life on Earth, and there's the obligatory romance with a nerdy woman named Valerie (Patricia Arquette), who finds the extremely creepy Nicky to be very sweet, until she realizes he's creepy. (The only way he can convince her he's nice after all is by telling her he's the son of the devil, by the way, which makes as much sense as anything else.)

What can you say about a movie in which Jon Lovitz actually RAISES the level of class by playing a peeping Tom? Or a movie that manages to waste the considerable talent of Dana Carvey in a stupid cameo? Or a movie that thinks it's funny to depict debauchery and mayhem amongst pre-teens?

Reese Witherspoon out-performs everyone in her bit part near the end, and I seem to recall Dad's assiduous assistant demon (Salvatore Cavaliere) being amusing. But the rest is just so abominably unfunny and unengaging that I wouldn't be surprised if the movie receives the official endorsement of hell itself.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1792&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/05/03 12:07:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/08/17 Louise (the actual one) The trailer alone was enough to make me think: AVOID. 1 stars
3/02/14 matthew thompson dalldorf Funny...on occasion. 2 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Great cast, if only it had some good gags to go along with it 2 stars
9/08/09 art THIS MOVIE IS SICK! 1 stars
3/02/09 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, but i always love Adam! 4 stars
11/30/08 solo if u didnt enjoy this movie u got no sense and no humor, and no sense of humor. 4 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca This film has a bad rap but it is actually quite enjoyable. 4 stars
7/08/06 NS I watched it on TBS at 3:00 AM, it was funny. 3 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor The movie is funny the first time, after that, you're asleep 1 stars
3/05/06 matt Oh come on! this movie was funny 5 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis dark humor is always fun. 4 stars
8/12/05 ES little nicky=a let down and garbage 1 stars
6/20/05 R Adam Sandler says, "Wow, you'll watch anything!" 1 stars
5/25/05 The shizz "popeye's chicken is the shizznet" funniest line ever said. I cried 5 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK People who enjoy this disease-on-film should not be allowed to procreate. 1 stars
3/29/05 Lyn i didnt stop laughing 5 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny as hell, lmao. 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Funny as hell 3 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 "It's Ozzy!" "HOLY SHIT!" 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz funny 4 stars
7/20/04 godan what were you thinking... bleh 1 stars
5/29/04 J OUTRAGESLY and OBNOXIOUSLY FUNNY!!! *** 1/2 out of 4 5 stars
4/20/04 LIAM JACKSON this was funny. anyone who doesn't like it has no sense of humour 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern FUNNY AS... Well you get the picture. 5 stars
8/16/03 bit this is a pretty funny movie,worth renting,adam sandler is as funny as hell 4 stars
8/02/03 Double G bad movie, Reese Witherspoon SUCKS!!! 1 stars
7/04/03 T3 Ozzy O's scene ruled, the bat, its Ozzy....that was the high point of the movie 3 stars
5/22/03 fartzrgood movie aint funny. sandler aint funny. Fartz are funny. 1 stars
5/12/03 Jareth Reese Witherspoon is so bad, she makes Liz Hurley look like the next Audrey Hepburn. 1 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Lots of ideas, not one of them funny. Damn near unwatchable. 1 stars
3/27/03 Tim Baker IT Was Funny 5 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie just sucked... only funny thing is Sandler's accent here... 1 stars
2/22/03 Jon nothing spectacular 4 stars
2/16/03 Lee WORST...COMEDY...EVERRRR! 1 stars
1/06/03 Kyle Ugh.... just.... ugh.... 2 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton This movie is terrible, adam sandler sucks 1 stars
7/31/02 KMG USUAL SANDLER SHIT 1 stars
7/02/02 hghjhjhjghhj Clerks and Monty Python are real comedies. This is comedy for morons. 1 stars
5/15/02 vixenJ Oh my god!lesson to parents do not let your kids see this!Adrian is DD handsome ! 5 stars
3/18/02 Butterbean This was an okay flick. Not as bad as critics say 4 stars
3/08/02 Liza Blashkey this movie is so fucken cool! u should make a l.n #2 5 stars
2/08/02 Valerie Cameron Tied with BILLY MADISON for Adam Sandler's best chick flick 5 stars
1/09/02 auroradae adam sandlers finest masterpiece, truly under appreciated 5 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Good calls, Jeremy! All of Adam Sandler's movies kick ass. He hasn't and never will flop! 4 stars
11/26/01 Will Diamond Poop... but funny poop 3 stars
11/11/01 P.Rodriguez SHITE! 1 stars
11/08/01 Hum its an adam sandler movie. its pretty much what you would expect 2 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's from the south, the deep south. Sandler will make you piss yourself laughing!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone what load of shit.Adam Sander what were u thinking.Totally shit 1 stars
8/19/01 LawHog24 Better than I expected, but that isn't saying a whole lot. Even so, Sandler's best, I think 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I would like to beat the shit out of everyone involved in making this cluster-fuck. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Not bad. Adam Sandler, the dog, that one guy, and Quentin Tarantino R cool. 4 stars
7/26/01 Denz :) 5 stars
7/24/01 Monday Morning This makes "Water Boy" seem intelligent. 1 stars
7/23/01 D.R. Funny, but no Waterboy or Wedding Singer, not even Big Daddy 4 stars
7/04/01 Piz Certainly not the funniest Sandler film, but some parts had me rolling. 3 stars
6/25/01 Tzila Seewald It's so funny movie! Adam Rocks! 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass Strictly for die-hard Sandler fans. But I'm a die-hard Sandler fan, so THIS MOVIE RULES! 5 stars
6/05/01 Peter Brook What a pitiful, hopeless attempt at humour. Sandler is the most irritating actor EVER. 1 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon another adam sandler good 5 stars
2/03/01 cami Fisher soooooo FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 Adam Sandler is so fucking annoying. 2 stars
12/22/00 Viking To hell with this baloney !!! 2 stars
12/11/00 bobby sucks 1 stars
12/08/00 Robynn hilarious 5 stars
12/03/00 Sarah eh . . . 3 stars
11/23/00 A.K. You have to be retarded to like this movie. I have no idea why people like this. 1 stars
11/22/00 Bill Neal I'm drunk!! Pass the JD!! I've got an erection...come here Joanne!! 1 stars
11/20/00 Finity this movie was boring and stupid and had very few funny scenes 2 stars
11/18/00 The Bomb 69 not bad but Sandler seems to be getting progressively worse with each movie 4 stars
11/18/00 Edward A Leonard Split on this one, yes plot sucks, but some funny weed jokes, if you liked, see Half-Baked. 3 stars
11/17/00 Johnny Figaro Desperately unfunny. Among the year's worst in a year with lots of bad movies 1 stars
11/16/00 Heather Adam Sandler gets $20m, you get a shitty movie 1 stars
11/14/00 bee Least funny Adam Sandler voice yet. Jokes get old quick. 1 stars
11/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Satan once again has the last laugh. SUCKERS 1 stars
11/13/00 Gray Another shit Adam Sandler vehicle. Better than Big Daddy, but shitter than Waterboy. 1 stars
11/13/00 Stuntman shit on theaters, good when it gets released on video and DVD 3 stars
11/11/00 Greyjack A few laughs, but not that many. Go rent The Waterboy instead; wait for Nicky to hit video 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Nov-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast