More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.45

Awesome: 29.01%
Worth A Look29.39%
Average: 16.03%
Pretty Bad: 8.4%
Total Crap: 17.18%

12 reviews, 190 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Scary Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Yeah, the first one worked. Beware the sequels, though...."
4 stars

If you have not seen "Scream," then there is no purpose in seeing "Scary Movie."

Of course, there's little purpose in seeing "Scary Movie" anyway; these are not the sort of movies that one sees for a reason, other than to be mindlessly entertained and/or grossed out.

Coming across like a MAD Magazine movie satire, except much, much filthier, "Scary Movie" is almost a scene-for-scene parody of "Scream," with the exception of an over-long sequence spoofing "I Know What You Did Last Summer" and another part that resembles the opening moments of "Scream 2."

There are also brief parodies of "The Matrix," "The Blair Witch Project" and "Usual Suspects," the last of which is funniest, though the "Blair Witch" thing comes in a close second -- a rarity for "Blair Witch" parodies, which have been abundant lately.

But by and large, this is not a parody of horror films in general; it's a parody of "Scream," which is dangerous work indeed, since "Scream" is already a parody itself. How do you do a parody of a parody? The answer is that you usually can't, though "Scary Movie" fares admirably well. (There are just a few awkward moments when, as "Scary Movie" parallels "Scream," we come to a scene that is funny ... until we remember that the same scene was funny in the movie being parodied, too.)

The plot is the same as "Scream": crazy person in ghost mask goes around stabbing teens. The main potential victim seems to be Cindy Cambell (Anna Faris), who, in a side plot, accidentally killed a guy last summer with her boyfriend and a few other couples. Could it be someone who knows what they did last summer who is committing these murders?

None of the principal performers is particularly adept or noteworthy, though they all plug along like workhorses, doing the silliness set before them without too much self-awareness or mugging. None of their characters are especially memorable, either, since they exist solely as stand-ins for the "Scream" characters.

The exception there is (Shawn Wayans) as Ray, a masculine athlete who has a girlfriend but who somehow turns everything he says into a subtle (or not-so-subtle) indication that he's gay. This is a running gag that eventually gets ruined in the end, when his possible homosexuality is addressed outright, but it's funny up to that point.

The film makes a similar misstep in actually naming the movies it's a parody of. That's rule #1 of satire: Don't tell us what you're making fun of; just make fun of it.

Cheri Oteri is her usual funny-to-some-people, not-funny-to-others self as Gale Hailstorm, the nosy journalist who's pursuing the story and falls for Doofy, the local retarded cop. Doofy is a great parody of the idiot David Arquette has become, and one can't help but laugh at the sheer audaciousness of so viciously mocking a celebrity like that.

While I found myself laughing at quite a bit of "Scary Movie," I found myself being genuinely surprised, too, at the obscene lengths to which the film goes to get laughs. There are at least two moments that, while quite funny, made me shake my head in astonishment more than they made me laugh, simply because I couldn't believe a movie was actually showing these things.

Some jokes are obvious and sophomoric (the kids go to B.A. Corpse High School); others are a little more clever, like when an early victim of the killer runs past a table that has a gun, a knife, a grenade and a banana ... and she picks up the banana to defend herself.

Bottom line: at times uproariously funny, and pretty solid throughout. Also abundantly shocking and outrageous -- not for the faint of heart, to be sure.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1796&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/06/03 19:33:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

4/14/13 Some guy I would give it 2 stars if it hadn't spawned 20 even worse movies 1 stars
10/25/10 Frank Fontaine This chunk of comedy antimatter helped pave the way for all the awful ____ MOVIE films. 1 stars
8/30/09 CTT Funny enough, but no classic 3 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef The Wayans become the Zuckers! Full of nessicary belly laughs at summer blockbusters. 4 stars
11/05/08 Mandy oh please. this movie is good. :] 4 stars
8/22/08 PAUL SHORTT CRUDE, RUDE AND UNACCEPTABLE 2 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
6/01/08 Heather Marie good 5 stars
12/05/07 art BAR NONE THIS IS THe best SLASHER MOVIE COMEDY 5 stars
11/12/07 claudine really funny always rewinding while watching 5 stars
7/17/07 David Cohen The last decent movie to bear the Wayans name 3 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Given a choice, I would rather play Leapfrog with Arnold Schwarzznegger than watch this. 1 stars
2/28/07 Beau this is the best one from the trilogy! Great payouts and worth seeing 4 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini pretty dull 2 stars
12/30/06 James Fellows good film, full of humour, best scary movie 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies Clever, almost as good as Airplane 4 stars
7/04/06 Cheryl Mayfield One Grand Hoot ! + hearing Carmen Electra say " I farted " was alone worth it ! 5 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 clever and very funny movie 5 stars
4/26/06 Anthony Feor Funny,Funny,and more Funny 5 stars
4/15/06 Peter Made for adolescent morons 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Too much Ghetto. Not enough parody! 2 stars
3/26/06 chris f not a bad movie 4 stars
10/31/05 Bozo The final scream scene lasted 10 seconds which I missed itaking a leak! What was so funny? 4 stars
8/04/05 ^podo the funniest movie ever!!!!!! 5 stars
7/22/05 Jordan poor horror movie clasics 1 stars
7/16/05 tony it was one of the best parodies ive ever seen! Great everything! 5 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp fortunately they don't allow guns in theaters, because i would have shot myself dead-TWICE 1 stars
4/10/05 Cheryl Mayfield One Grand Hoot! +hearing Carmen Electra say "I farted" was alone worth it! ... 5 stars
11/15/04 Samuel This is funny, part three is lame. 5 stars
8/22/04 Archanist 101 This is a PISSER! 5 stars
8/07/04 jmsynth Funny at times, but not up there with the classics. Farris and Munro highlights, as always 3 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G funny as fuck 5 stars
7/17/04 J The Funniest of all Horror and Scary Movies 5 stars
5/17/04 Geo78665 A Bus load of ulta vulgar jokes, some of them are amsuing. 3 stars
5/15/04 joe i loved carmen electra and shannon elzabeth. 4 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody Pretty funny - but the third one shits on it, but then, it shits on the second one 4 stars
1/22/04 Ellie Bigwood I luv doofy an the wassup boy with the curly hair an hat is fit! This is the best film eva! 5 stars
1/13/04 GhettoSmurf LitzaMo - Shut up, you pussy 4 stars
12/21/03 Cheryl Mayfield One Grand Hoot! +hearing Carmen Electra say "I farted" was alone worth it! 5 stars
11/27/03 he a good film 4 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi SUCKED BALLS 1 stars
11/12/03 matt steaming pile of monkey crap. 1 stars
11/07/03 Littlepurch Hilarious! How can anyone under the age of 25 say a bad word about this movie? 5 stars
10/14/03 Two-G AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, MIXED EMOTIANS GOING FOT MIDDLE! GO IT... 3 stars
10/11/03 retsof franchisca gay want a waste of time making it :P 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Funny, but Marlon Wayans is what makes the movie funny! 3 stars
9/14/03 kraz the "wazzup" scene was making fun of a famous super bowl commercial. very funny 4 stars
9/09/03 Arch-vile An insult to brain cells. No a single laugh in the whole piece of crap. 1 stars
6/22/03 cochese It was a scary movie alright. 1 stars
6/04/03 mee funny 5 stars
5/27/03 Jareth Embrace the silliness 4 stars
4/13/03 Mystique Crp 1 stars
3/18/03 HE great 5 stars
3/11/03 me A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/03/03 John Everyone in the theater literally rolled on the ground when he busted his nut 4 stars
2/20/03 Dave If people didn't take comedies so seriously, they'd probably realise how good this movie is 4 stars
1/13/03 Dave Vulgar, dumb, immature and FUCKING HILARIOUS! 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby Desperately unfunny and exceedingly repulsive. The pits. 1 stars
11/21/02 chris my god it's sad this has so many stars 1 stars
9/04/02 movie guy funny 5 stars
8/19/02 Butterbean Not for tight-asses who lacks a sense of humor. I loved it! 5 stars
8/16/02 JesseL This movie ROCKS! If you don't like it, you are too old. 5 stars
8/06/02 The Truth Scream was already a parody(much clever and superior) which is why it doesn't make sense 3 stars
6/21/02 B Farr Wicked the best i've seen 5 stars
6/09/02 NWO4LIFE Nothing special, but has some big crude laughs, here and there. 3 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi fucking awesome!!!!! wassup?!?! 5 stars
5/24/02 Dark Barøn Eh. 1 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus Quite amusing, although I keep expecting Leslie Nielsen to pop up. 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake Thu=is movie was so funny 5 stars
5/10/02 hum easy, no thinking required. I guess if thats what you like it would be ok 2 stars
4/25/02 maximal01 Comedy for acne-faced 11-year-olds. Makes me long for the superior "Don't Be A Menace..." 2 stars
4/19/02 NWO4LIFE Sometimes funny, but too many obvious jokes. 3 stars
4/19/02 Monster W. Kung Incredibly stupid, it barely brings out a smile, let alone laughs. 2 stars
4/02/02 Frances It's bloody funny. I have to admit. 5 stars
3/15/02 Christian Embarrasing to admit, but I loved it. 4 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress The only funny part was when Cheri Oteri shot the student, the rest is cinematic. 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Has its moments, but overall it's very hit and miss. 3 stars
1/28/02 Lin Rainey How could such nice boys come up with such sick stuff? I love it and them! 4 stars
1/27/02 Samantha Ione Wayland Innocent fun except for "Jennifer Love Huge tits" remark 4 stars
1/25/02 Michelle McBride Too bad lost chutzpah short of having beauty queen fart as other characters did 5 stars
1/16/02 David A. It had some hilarious moments. Doofy appealed to the secret "Mr. Cool" in all of us. 4 stars
1/10/02 Spyguy2 Laughed my ass off. "A small dick is a disability, man!!!" 5 stars
1/06/02 Grape1726 Never really boring, but never really hilarious, either. 3 stars
1/02/02 Mr. Hat Really funny as long as you don't see it with your parents. 4 stars
1/01/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny as anything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/30/01 Abby Gannon This was quite possibly the worst movie I've EVER seen. 1 stars
11/23/01 Will Diamond The dumbing down of America is complete, proven by Ebert's 3 star review of this excrement 1 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz 75% funnier than hell, 25% boring. 4 stars
11/03/01 The Rock erect penis sHOWn ,big boobs..with piehole shown..SEXUALITY!! AND A LOT OF GAYS 5 stars
10/09/01 Homer Bobby Lightsaber Delicous with chocolate sprinkles. 5 stars
8/22/01 JesseL I laughed out loud so hard I woke up my son. Hilarious, NOT for the kids. 5 stars
8/19/01 LawHog24 Would be better if the unfunny stuff wasn't so deadly dull and drawn out. 3 stars
8/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Laughed once or twice..the 'R' rating this got is a bigger joke, though 2 stars
8/10/01 Me It is sooooooooooo funny!!!!!! 5 stars
8/07/01 ted v. it was funny...but not THAT funny! 3 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa The only reason I hated it the first time I saw it was because I was with my Dad. 3 stars
8/06/01 badfish I dont even want to admit i watched this FUMING PIECE OF MONKEY SHIT!! 1 stars
8/04/01 sarah This movie was beyond stupid, it insults one's intelligence 1 stars
7/28/01 Steve Lots of crude humor, but nothing beats watching Shorty drive up in his foggy car! 5 stars
7/21/01 Robert FREAKIN HILARIOUS 5 stars
7/19/01 RICH THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE OF ALL!! GO SEE IT! 5 stars
7/15/01 officer 412/l not quite as funny the second time. but still the best spoof in ages. 4 stars
7/15/01 Gary This should be called 'Shitty Movie'. Ha - I'm as funny as this film. 1 stars
7/06/01 Fish Eye It had its moments, but there was some really dumb shit in there too 3 stars
6/21/01 MIKE well at least i got to suck some dick during this piece of shit of a film!!!!! 1 stars
6/13/01 donald not half as funny as Young Frankenstein or BASEketball 3 stars
6/10/01 Turtle Laughs alone almost NEVER saves a movie. My point is proven with this dumb flick. 3 stars
5/21/01 J Could've been SO much better in many ways but not a bad movie at all. 3 stars
5/14/01 emosgonemainstream i laughed i cried i went to sleep 4 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon very funny i couldn't stop laughing 5 stars
4/23/01 Rampage not as bad as Halloween: H20, but better than Scream 2 and 3 3 stars
4/19/01 Tam Spot-on satire of the horror genre. Enjoy the dumb humour. 4 stars
4/15/01 GeorgE McCaul God this was such crap I didn't laugh once it just ended up making me angry and tired. 1 stars
4/11/01 Spetters Just, because it´s distasteful doesn´t mean it´s funny. BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
4/10/01 Gary This is the funniest movie ever created. Very preverted and unlikely, but funny! 4 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Funny, all the way to the end! 5 stars
4/03/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Funny but not brilliant. Worth the price of the DVD 4 stars
2/25/01 INCUBATOR Damn, this shit`s good 5 stars
2/20/01 Kyle Melahn the movie was funny as hell u gotta see it 5 stars
2/17/01 Tyrone Hilarious but utter crap, if you live horror movies then you will cry 2 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Don't analyze this one. Just relax and enjoy the toilet humor. 4 stars
2/10/01 tinka coco funny comedy that kept you laughing allthe way through 4 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Decent parody film, had some good laughs, teens would like it. 3 stars
2/04/01 Del R If you aren't easily offended or just stupid, this one's for you. 3 stars
1/11/01 Matt69 The jokes are fucking hilarious, but sometimes gets tedious. 3 stars
1/01/01 jason best spoof movie ever 5 stars
12/31/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS THIS MOVIE WAS OFF THE HOOK! 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin Terrible, who on EARTH would like no plot and terrible acitng. I kind of liked Shawn Wayans 2 stars
12/28/00 Monday Morning About 30 seconds of laughs in 95 minutes. Teens or the stupid might like it. 2 stars
12/20/00 Jaws1 The movie is never dull, but the jokes are uneven. 3 stars
12/20/00 Want my $$$back This movie suck ass. You saw all the "funny" parts in the previews 1 stars
12/19/00 Tim Laughed my ass off and loved the usual suspects ending 5 stars
10/22/00 TiGgEr #13 The best movie ever! Shits on any other parody. 5 stars
10/15/00 Psike I laughed at one joke (the "black TV" news crew). Rest was unoriginal and predictable 1 stars
10/13/00 Pretty Boy Lloydy WAZ UP? 4 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Had It's moments, but generally a crap comedy spoof 2 stars
9/27/00 mephetic I had one good laugh. The rest of the time I trying to get my money back. 1 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero "Scream" on ludes.The trailer showed all the best scenes, but the movie killed it. 3 stars
9/13/00 Jenna koch CRAP! 1 stars
9/13/00 Matthew Bartley Some funny bits. Not many though 3 stars
9/10/00 MIKE OVER RATED ABSOLUTE CRAP. NOT EVEN FUNNY. I WOULD RATHER KISS A WOMAN THEN SEE THIS AGAIN! 1 stars
9/06/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Morons! I could eat a can of Kodak and shit a better movie!!! 1 stars
9/01/00 matthew smith painfully hilarious. the best send up film in a long time 4 stars
8/31/00 TIGGER THIS MOVIE IS SO GOOD! FUNNY! 5 stars
8/26/00 baddazz69r marlon wayans and the ghost were the funniest people 5 stars
8/25/00 Arjan Boekel The perfect product to get that super-attractive six-pack.... Get results within an hour!! 5 stars
8/17/00 The Bomb 69 unbelievably funny!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/10/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Laughed till my fucking body ached...the comedy I've been waiting for all year...=) 5 stars
8/04/00 Jake BLAH. Over done to the limits, not to mention gross. 1 stars
8/04/00 Girl 9 Throw good taste out the window+movie=Scary Movie.Couple scenes were funny,most weren't. 3 stars
7/31/00 That Guy Alternates between hilariously funny, hilariously disturbed, and plain not funny. Quickly. 4 stars
7/31/00 Heather Very funny, moronic movie, definitely not for kids! 5 stars
7/28/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS FUNNIER THAN "DON'T BE A MENACE...", "NAKED GUN", AND "I'M GONNA GIT YOU SUCKA" ALL IN ONE! 5 stars
7/23/00 john Middleton Bullit17 needs to get a brain it obviously supposed to be stupid 4 stars
7/22/00 burton miller pretty funny - lots and lots of stupid jokes 4 stars
7/22/00 SA A Good Horror Spoof, which is both funny and stupid. 4 stars
7/20/00 malcolm like ROMAN said -- way too many dicks, still awful funny though 4 stars
7/18/00 bullit17 Utterly moronic with the occasional glimpse of sheer stupidity 1 stars
7/18/00 Bender A lot is funny. A lot is stupid. 4 stars
7/18/00 SP i loved it, and i'm definitely NOT stupid. (oh, the denial... heh.) 5 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus overblown SNL parody of Scream 3 stars
7/18/00 MKillroy I liked it :) 5 stars
7/18/00 Funny as hell. It's In Living Color the Uncut version!! Obi Wan 5 stars
7/17/00 PJ Roman your right there were alot of penises, but shit man I laughed my ass off, gym balls!! 4 stars
7/16/00 Roman Too many damn Penis's and not enough Bush!!! 4 stars
7/15/00 Craig Borysowich F***in' funny! 5 stars
7/15/00 Chuck Craig Very funny, but a movie you can only see once! 4 stars
7/14/00 Khaziel Wicked fuckin funny 5 stars
7/14/00 furtively Cheap fun that will have you grabbing friends and yelling "No Way!" often. 4 stars
7/14/00 Cooke "I told you not to disturb while I clean my room. 5 stars
7/14/00 Elizabeth ramos really funny 5 stars
7/14/00 Frank Rizzo This movie was a riot! I always knew there was something funny about female gym teachers.. 5 stars
7/13/00 kim boyd Regina King is not in this movie. You have it wrong. Shawn marry me! 5 stars
7/12/00 UrsasMar Funniest thing I have seen all year 5 stars
7/11/00 Nick this movie was pretty damn stupid 2 stars
7/11/00 Doofy Funniest movie of the year, but tons of unfunny shit in between. Main chick is annoying 5 stars
7/11/00 Ladd Should have left out the lewdness and targeted the 13yr old age market with its comedy. 1 stars
7/10/00 PJ Chris your right, I expected to hate, but I laughed my ass off, sick!! 5 stars
7/10/00 TimmyToday Funniest thing about the movie were the previews of upcoming movies. 2 stars
7/10/00 Kevin Great movie, one of the best spoofs I seen. 5 stars
7/09/00 JonnyA funny, but...eh 3 stars
7/09/00 Chris I thought the movie was gonna suck but it turned out to be bitchen. Fucking Awesome 5 stars
7/09/00 Darren Shea Hit and miss, but like many parodies, there are so many jokes that a good number do work. 3 stars
7/09/00 Marcusi If you saw the preview you got the good stuff. It reeks. 1 stars
7/09/00 "Persnickety" fucking hilarious,,,right on boner baby! 5 stars
7/09/00 BonerBaby funny as hell....(PEOPLE DIE CALMLY WHEN THEY DROWN!!!!!) 5 stars
7/09/00 Jason Kallelis Wow, even this year's parodies aren't up to snuff. Go see Chicken Run instead. 2 stars
7/07/00 Captain Highcrime I think my rating says it all: Sucks All Ass--literally. 1 stars
7/01/00 FRED AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH 1 stars
11/08/99 Randy Meeks Saw it at a test screening, & it was typical hit-miss stuff from the 2nd generation Wayans 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jul-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast