More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 19.81%
Worth A Look48.11%
Average: 18.87%
Pretty Bad: 10.38%
Total Crap: 2.83%

8 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Mask of Zorro, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Paulapalooza

"It's a fun, rip-snortin' adventure flick. Enjoy!"
4 stars

Chances are that it sucks, right? Wrong.

The Hollywood action flick is dying. Trust me on this.

As the menaces become more and more cosmic and the "heroes" become more homogenized and just plain more DULL, there's not a lot of enjoyment or human connection left in the bread-and-butter of the studio system. But occasionally a flick that gets it right comes along, and you just hope beyond hope that someone catches a clue and inserts a little joie de vivre back into the mix. One of those flicks is "Mask of Zorro."

Again, the plot doesn't matter much, but it's better than average in this case, playing up the a nice retribution/revenge scenario. The good guys (Anthony Hopkins and Antonio Banderas, the old Zorro and new Zorro, respectively) are noble, the bad guys are wicked (though they could certainly use a little more polish), and the love interest (Catherine Zeta Jones) not only ties all the various forces together, but she's strongheaded and spirited, to boot.

None of the performances are spectacular, even the stately and effective Hopkins, but they're far away from sucking. It just seems like everyone is having fun and enjoying being in a project that doesn't insult one's intelligence very often. Banderas, who's not a bad actor but often ends up in not-so-good projects, is a charming kick, and Catherine Zeta Jones makes me forget other women even exist on the planet. She doesn't really have a lot to do, but she does whatever she does with a commanding presence.

Some of the proceedings are somewhat silly, but the sex and violence levels are acceptable for a family audience. And ya gotta love any flick where there's lots of swashbuckling swordplay and stunt-riding. Right?

Heck, I wouldn't mind a sequel, as long as its carried off with this level of panache. Hats (and masks and capes) off to director Martin Campbell and company for a job well-done.

They should make more of 'em this way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=18&reviewer=21
originally posted: 12/07/98 12:01:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/12/09 Slapper Stinking suck-fest..! 1 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A ZESTFUL REVIVAL OF THE SWASHBUCKLER FILM THAT CARVES A MARK IN YOUR CONSCIOUSNESS 4 stars
10/05/06 R.W.Welch Borderline brilliant at times. Could have been tighter. 4 stars
6/22/06 TB Hopkins was the only one, who was the best Zorro 3 stars
5/19/06 chienne Loved it. Harmless fun 4 a story we all know 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky I liked it quite a bit. Banderas kicks ass and looks good doing it. Same for Zeta-Jones 4 stars
2/14/06 ES Suckiedy, suck, suck. Suckiedy, suck, suck, look at Zorro blow 1 stars
11/26/05 Estefilla yay 5 stars
10/16/05 Quigley banderas and hopkins are awesome as usual, but they can't save this really dull film 3 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane Fucking "A" 5 stars
11/04/04 John a slick package and entertains in parts but in the end feels very uninspired 3 stars
10/01/04 Aaron Smith Quite fun, Hopkins, Zeta-Jones, and Banderas are charming. 4 stars
9/05/04 DM Zorro 4 stars
8/19/04 courtney banderas will still the hart of every woman that watches it 5 stars
5/14/04 Agent Sands A overall great burrito western. 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Great action movie, Strong performances, a very good movie!! 5 stars
10/11/03 SuperBarbie2003 This is a fantastic movie. Definately worth a look!!! 5 stars
3/27/03 Jen I liked this movie, but the sword fight scene in the barn was just totally unnecessary. 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Very good action 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG Interesting: all three leads are sexy and the colors are vibrant...OLE! 4 stars
7/11/02 Frances not to be watched more than twice but a good story, banderas is nice apart frm the afro 5 stars
4/04/02 cat This movie was the highlight of my high school career. CZJ turned ordinary extraordinary! 5 stars
1/12/02 Faith Benz The MOST AMAZING FILM ever to be created in this world! and Banderas is stunning! 5 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden Movie That Even Zeta-Jones Can't Help. Fair Scripts and Acting. 2 stars
10/27/01 Connoisseur typical big Hollywood production-- too overblown and not as exciting as old swashbucklers 3 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Zorro is no gay blade. 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Good Movie. 4 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin a lot of action scenes, but a lot of plot holes. 4 stars
8/11/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good actioner; Zeta-Jones brightens up the screen. 4 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Not Swashbuckling enough.Tepid story.Where is Richard Lester?. 2 stars
2/10/00 Richard Wright Decent swashbuckler with well choreographed sword fights and a refreshing sense of humour. 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler very good movie 5 stars
1/14/00 henry hill a very well done and entertaining film 5 stars
10/27/99 Katherine Catherine Zeta and Antonio Banderas are just great in this movie! NICEcouple 5 stars
8/12/99 Merry It 2 stars
7/27/99 Eric Entertaining in the first half, but gets boring and repetitive in the second half. 2 stars
7/08/99 Scott Predictable, but Catherine is dreamy. *sigh* 4 stars
6/03/99 Matthew Bartley Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta... 4 stars
4/24/99 lucas jackson Matilda,funny,exciting,action packed and full of thrills,the best part made for all ages 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert CZJ makes the tip of my sword quiver. Strange, so does Banderas. Hmmm... 5 stars
1/10/99 Diogenesnutz Not terribly innovative, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! A dull action movie!,Hopkins looks lost,Banderas LOVES himself alot & Zeta-jones is sexy!! 3 stars
1/06/99 famillier The Spanish babe (no, not Antonio!) makes it worth the ticket. 5 stars
1/01/99 Lindsay Had it's moments, but all in all, just average. 3 stars
12/31/98 JDC It's about time we had high adventure without corniness. Zorro delivers. 4 stars
12/30/98 Jules Entertaining but tiresome as well. Just too much rediculousness. 3 stars
12/28/98 Lucy B. Not that original but surprisingly entertaining. Worth seeing for Hopkins performance alone 4 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo why could zeta-jones character not understand SPANISH???? 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Cath Zeta-Jones should be the next Lara Croft. She is just awesome in this film. Good film 5 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Doesn't suck much, well worth it. 4 stars
10/01/98 katherine i got dragged to see it, and im glad i didnt refuse! this is 1 action movie that i like! 5 stars
9/26/98 B.O.B Could have been better - ALOT better! 2 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Like Dark Knight Returns, only not as good. Anthony Hopkins was nifty as the old Zorro. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor BAD LEAD ACTOR AND THE ONLY FIGHT HE'S PUTTING UP IS AGAINST THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. TOO BAD. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass i liked it when I saw it. But now I'm having trouble remembering it. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Really, really enjoyable. Really. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet A good movie. Forget Hopkins' awful make-up early on. Zeta-Jones is luscious. 4 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Didn't suck much at all. Surprisingly enjoyable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast