More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 19.81%
Worth A Look48.11%
Average: 18.87%
Pretty Bad: 10.38%
Total Crap: 2.83%

8 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mask of Zorro, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by FrankG

"A pleasant surprise!"
4 stars

This is the movie the Batmans should have been.

When I hear that yet another Zorro movie was on it's way, I was dismayed. When I heard that it would have Anthony Hopkins, I was disappointed. When I heard it would star Antonio Banderas, I stopped listening to everything about the movie. But when I went to see it, I was surprisingly happy.

The writing and action was dead on for a Zorro story. Great sword fights and great stunts. There are a few campy parts, but I feel they fit in perfectly. I even enjoyed Banderas' performance. Not that he hasn't impressed me before, it's just that he has sucked a lot lately.

How this script got past the Executives I don't know. I was sure that there would be some stupid crap tacked on by them. Having to do with racism or cloning or something else that is in the "now".

What does any of this have to do with Batman? Nothing. I'm just a Batman freak. And the movie Bruce Wayne watched with his parents on the night that they died was "The Mask of Zorro." There are a lot of similarities in the two characters, and that's the only reason I said it.

And I'm not going to say anything about Catherine Zeta-Jones. I don't see what the big deal is, and my girl-friend reads this sight.

The only part I down-right hated, was when Zorro and Elena have the sword fight and all of her close fall off. Every aspect of that shot sucked. Directing, special (mechanical) effects, acting, and editing.

One of the best Pulp movies out in a while. It even took Banderas of my shit list.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=18&reviewer=4
originally posted: 09/16/98 06:35:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/12/09 Slapper Stinking suck-fest..! 1 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT A ZESTFUL REVIVAL OF THE SWASHBUCKLER FILM THAT CARVES A MARK IN YOUR CONSCIOUSNESS 4 stars
10/05/06 R.W.Welch Borderline brilliant at times. Could have been tighter. 4 stars
6/22/06 TB Hopkins was the only one, who was the best Zorro 3 stars
5/19/06 chienne Loved it. Harmless fun 4 a story we all know 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky I liked it quite a bit. Banderas kicks ass and looks good doing it. Same for Zeta-Jones 4 stars
2/14/06 ES Suckiedy, suck, suck. Suckiedy, suck, suck, look at Zorro blow 1 stars
11/26/05 Estefilla yay 5 stars
10/16/05 Quigley banderas and hopkins are awesome as usual, but they can't save this really dull film 3 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane Fucking "A" 5 stars
11/04/04 John a slick package and entertains in parts but in the end feels very uninspired 3 stars
10/01/04 Aaron Smith Quite fun, Hopkins, Zeta-Jones, and Banderas are charming. 4 stars
9/05/04 DM Zorro 4 stars
8/19/04 courtney banderas will still the hart of every woman that watches it 5 stars
5/14/04 Agent Sands A overall great burrito western. 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Great action movie, Strong performances, a very good movie!! 5 stars
10/11/03 SuperBarbie2003 This is a fantastic movie. Definately worth a look!!! 5 stars
3/27/03 Jen I liked this movie, but the sword fight scene in the barn was just totally unnecessary. 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Very good action 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG Interesting: all three leads are sexy and the colors are vibrant...OLE! 4 stars
7/11/02 Frances not to be watched more than twice but a good story, banderas is nice apart frm the afro 5 stars
4/04/02 cat This movie was the highlight of my high school career. CZJ turned ordinary extraordinary! 5 stars
1/12/02 Faith Benz The MOST AMAZING FILM ever to be created in this world! and Banderas is stunning! 5 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden Movie That Even Zeta-Jones Can't Help. Fair Scripts and Acting. 2 stars
10/27/01 Connoisseur typical big Hollywood production-- too overblown and not as exciting as old swashbucklers 3 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Zorro is no gay blade. 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Good Movie. 4 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin a lot of action scenes, but a lot of plot holes. 4 stars
8/11/00 Terrie Smith Pretty good actioner; Zeta-Jones brightens up the screen. 4 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Not Swashbuckling enough.Tepid story.Where is Richard Lester?. 2 stars
2/10/00 Richard Wright Decent swashbuckler with well choreographed sword fights and a refreshing sense of humour. 4 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler very good movie 5 stars
1/14/00 henry hill a very well done and entertaining film 5 stars
10/27/99 Katherine Catherine Zeta and Antonio Banderas are just great in this movie! NICEcouple 5 stars
8/12/99 Merry It 2 stars
7/27/99 Eric Entertaining in the first half, but gets boring and repetitive in the second half. 2 stars
7/08/99 Scott Predictable, but Catherine is dreamy. *sigh* 4 stars
6/03/99 Matthew Bartley Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta, Catherine Zeta... 4 stars
4/24/99 lucas jackson Matilda,funny,exciting,action packed and full of thrills,the best part made for all ages 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert CZJ makes the tip of my sword quiver. Strange, so does Banderas. Hmmm... 5 stars
1/10/99 Diogenesnutz Not terribly innovative, but a lot of fun. 4 stars
1/08/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! A dull action movie!,Hopkins looks lost,Banderas LOVES himself alot & Zeta-jones is sexy!! 3 stars
1/06/99 famillier The Spanish babe (no, not Antonio!) makes it worth the ticket. 5 stars
1/01/99 Lindsay Had it's moments, but all in all, just average. 3 stars
12/31/98 JDC It's about time we had high adventure without corniness. Zorro delivers. 4 stars
12/30/98 Jules Entertaining but tiresome as well. Just too much rediculousness. 3 stars
12/28/98 Lucy B. Not that original but surprisingly entertaining. Worth seeing for Hopkins performance alone 4 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo why could zeta-jones character not understand SPANISH???? 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Cath Zeta-Jones should be the next Lara Croft. She is just awesome in this film. Good film 5 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Doesn't suck much, well worth it. 4 stars
10/01/98 katherine i got dragged to see it, and im glad i didnt refuse! this is 1 action movie that i like! 5 stars
9/26/98 B.O.B Could have been better - ALOT better! 2 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Like Dark Knight Returns, only not as good. Anthony Hopkins was nifty as the old Zorro. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor BAD LEAD ACTOR AND THE ONLY FIGHT HE'S PUTTING UP IS AGAINST THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. TOO BAD. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass i liked it when I saw it. But now I'm having trouble remembering it. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Really, really enjoyable. Really. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet A good movie. Forget Hopkins' awful make-up early on. Zeta-Jones is luscious. 4 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Didn't suck much at all. Surprisingly enjoyable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast