More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 24.34%
Worth A Look: 17.99%
Average: 17.99%
Pretty Bad25.93%
Total Crap: 13.76%

11 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gone in 60 Seconds (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"I expected it to be silly, but certainly not DULL!"
2 stars

I must have seen the preview for this movie at least 12 times in various theaters. And in NONE of those previews is there any indication of how terminally dull this movie is. Really. It boggles the mind how a film can be based on a car-chase movie and advertised as an action-type film, only to offer so little in terms of payoff.

Nicolas Cage, where are you? This evil twin who's locked you in a basement somewhere seems content on ruining your career! First he did The Rock, which was a fun distraction of a movie, then he did the live-action cartoon that was Face/Off. Apparently thinking these career moves weren't silly enough, he then posed as you in Con-Air, which is a movie that makes the Lethal Weapon sequels look like Masterpiece Theater. But with Gone in 60 Seconds, it's beginning to look obvious that this is NOT the same guy who won an Oscar only a few years back. Nic, You're working BACKWARDS. Leading men start OUT in these action vehicles, with the hope that they may eventually lead to roles like Leaving Las Vegas. At LEAST do a few 'quality' movies in between the Bruckheimer headaches. It's almost as if he's trying to ruin his credibility as an actor. ("Hey, let's get Nicolas Cage to play Hamlet?" "What-That mumbling blond guy? No thanks.")

As for the movie itself, let's just say that nobody could infuse any life into this one, although Robert Duvall and Delroy Lindo try pretty hard. Our hero (Memphis!) is the world's best car thief, only he's retired of course. He's forced to accept a nearly impossible job or his brother will die: Steal 50 cars in one night, only he has to do it with a collection of really old and tired action-movie stereotypes with really bad haircuts.

Put aside anything resembling LOGIC that may reside in your head, since Gone in 60 Seconds may be the dumbest movie Jerry Bruckheimer has ever produced. (That includes Aramgeddon.) This movie inspires such constant eye-rolling that I want Bruckheimer to pay my optomestrist bills. It was at the scene in which Memphis has to "jump" over traffic with the help of a strategically-placed ramp that I could stand it no longer. Sorry, but when you're watching a movie that aspires for the originality of 'Speed', you know you're in trouble.

The sheer preposterousness just keeps piling up: Characters that are being hunted just sit around casually, sidekick charatcers are relegated to terrible sequences that have no real bearing on the plot, and though sceenwriter Scott Rosenberg seemed to try, none of the people in this movie are really interesting at all. (Nick had more chemistry with Sean Connery than he does with the beautiful Angelina Jolie, and that's weird.)

At risk of sounding like a 'big softie', I wanted to like this one. I enjoy big, loud eye-candy movies for the car chases, gun battles and the overall escapism of a live-action comic book. But if Gone in 60 Seconds were a comic book, it wouldn't make it to issue #2. Perhaps it's the inexperience of director Dominic Sena or perhaps the editors, but a movie like this should NOT have countless scenes of shallow exposition for its first HOUR of running time. This is easily the 'talkiest' of Bruckheimer's latest productions, and that's not a compliment. The movie takes forever in introducing unimportant characters and pedestrian plot threads. While his movies have been dismissed as many things, BORING has not been one of them. At least until now.

While the final 30 minutes offers some solid thrills, they certainly don't make up for what we had to sit through to get there. In one especially painful scene, Memphis gets all melancholy with his little brother (Ribisi, giving a truly wooden performance) when explaining that he was a car thief not for the money, but for his love of cars. I find it difficult to believe that this scene was intended for anything but giggles, but it's played straight which makes it all the more awful. And explain to me our villain's predeliction for wooden chairs. In a scene where he could be killed, his concern is not that he may die, but that a CHAIR may be damaged. Little details like this will ruin your action movie, as people are now too busy giggling uncontrolably to care about car chases.

Apparently the filmmakers were under the assumption that you don't need a plot when you have lots of 'colorful' charatcers. That could work, if only these characters were in some way original or even entertaining! Here we're offered a laundry list of clueless cops, ghetto gangstas, teenage car thieves and veteran felons, only NONE of them have any real spark. While only Robert Duvall and Delroy Lindo seem to be the only ones having any fun, everyone else is simply a bland cliche. Vinnie Jones plays Sphinx, the only fun character in the movie, and guess what? He doesn't SPEAK! When a mute is your most well-written character, something's wrong.

Gone in 60 Seconds is a complete work of lightweight fluff. Done well, 'lightweight fluff' could still be a lot of fun, but not here. The interminable first hour simply leads in to a series of unexciting and predictable chase sequences, and if it weren't for a few cute details and a handful of performaces, this could rate as one of the worst movies of the year. All that aside, the fact that it is advertised as 'action-packed' is the worst form of false advertisement imaginable.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1808&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/12/00 05:30:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell will be gone from your memory in 60 seconds 1 stars
6/22/15 David Hollingsworth not the way to make a movie 1 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 A guilty pleasure of mine. Cool cars but way over the top action. 3 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Cage makes some awesome films. 5 stars
6/10/08 PAUL SHORTT A FILM THAT ENTERTAINS WITHOUT BEING ANY GOOD 2 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White Watch it for the cars not the plot 3 stars
1/23/08 Chase Exciting. Eventhough it had down parts, it was a good movie. And Angelina with blonde hair? 4 stars
10/08/07 KNurse worth the watch 4 stars
9/18/07 Bojan Marjanovic Its awesome and you know it!!! 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Gone in sixty seconds. I dont mean the film, I mean me. To sleep. 1 stars
11/09/06 NEWTON d art of boosting cars is shown cars are magnificent. True car boosts meet the situations. 5 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini better than the original 4 stars
9/05/06 Jarkko Perälä Watch the original instead - At least it had exciting car chases 1 stars
9/01/06 Michele fun 3 stars
8/10/06 S281-E Watch it for the 1967 Shelby GT-500 5 stars
6/27/06 Ashley Hinz Odd, Very, Very, Angelina Odd 3 stars
5/31/06 tatum Not that bad! Some laughs, some action, unclench for two hours and enjoy 4 stars
4/27/06 Anthony Feor I don't think Cage was even acting in this movie 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Another bad "heist" remake to reassure the audience of its masculinity. IT SUCKS!!! 1 stars
10/24/05 tony Horrible! no fucking way im watching this again! 1 stars
8/25/05 ES 'would you rather have sex or steal cars' = I'd rather turn the movie off 1 stars
3/07/05 Rock-Steady I though it was a porno, done in 60 seconds? 3 stars
2/05/05 Alice Colwell boring 2 stars
1/28/05 Charlie Another good remake! 4 stars
11/12/04 David Cothern Jr. It Is Something That You Would Want To Watch Over and Over Again 5 stars
10/07/04 Jorge Rivero The 67' shelby mustang gt 500 is badass 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody See this instead of Fast and Furious! 4 stars
5/22/04 john bale How did Cage Duvall and Jolie get mixed up in this petrol heads bonanza ? 2 stars
5/12/04 Nevz great 5 stars
3/17/04 Brando Okay, "Yea"...itz not. Jackass. 1 stars
1/10/04 Yea da movie was good..how can ya say itz not 5 stars
12/22/03 john yeah let's make a car chase movie with no real car chases - abyssmal!!! 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Better than either of the 'Fast and The Furious' films and much more believable as well... 5 stars
11/08/03 Lance 1967 Shelby GT 500...what more is there to say. 5 stars
9/13/03 The real Helen Zass After taunting poor constipated Daisy to death, Here's Angelina's turn to be constipated. 1 stars
3/30/03 Cathy ter Plugg Apparently GIRL INTERRUPTED was a one-time charm for Angelina Jolie. 1 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby A grade-A cast slumming for easy paychecks. Artistically deplorable. 1 stars
1/20/03 Allen This is like a bad episode of "The A-TEAM". 1 stars
11/20/02 buzz 20010 fucking amazing peice of ganga leaves 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 A great lineup of actors and cool cars makes this movie the best I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/18/02 BITCHSLAP WOW 5 stars
7/12/02 snowconehead best car chases around 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn The 1967 Shelby's only thing worth in this film. Just the car. Just.... the car. 2 stars
4/29/02 David A. Mediocre dud about auto thieves. It spawned pathetics like Ocean's 11 (2000) and Heist. 3 stars
3/13/02 craig very good 4 stars
3/10/02 jennifer cheek i love this movie nicholas cage is a great and sexy actor, the dvd sure is in my collection 5 stars
1/27/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst What a waste of Angelina Jolie after GIRL, INTERRUPTED 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. One of those predictable, contemporary science-of-being-a-crook things--blah 2 stars
12/26/01 Phil M. Afficianado Why bother to make a film like this, let alone sxpect people to see it. Yawn. 2 stars
12/15/01 seldom scene LAME STORYLINE, GREAT CINIEMATOGRAPHY 2 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Jerk-to-Video crud. The Carpenter is about as menacing as a cheese sandwhich. 2 stars
11/09/01 Mark Great casting, along with great acting. Definetly one of the best of 2000. 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix A car chase movie that doesn't deliever one decent car chase. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Thank goodness it was fast paced. Watch "The fast and the furious" instead 2 stars
8/21/01 P.Rodriguez F&*^ Shit-----Rank Hardcore Tripe-----There should B a SUCKS ALL ASS & DICK CATEGORY 1 stars
8/06/01 ted v. the poster was GOOD! the film was PRETTY LAME! 2 stars
8/02/01 JoseFlores Its a very awesome 5 stars
7/12/01 braden h kicks fucking ass 5 stars
7/06/01 SeStA THIS IS A KICK ARSE FILM! Nicholas Cage rox as well as Angelina Jolie, go see it go go go!! 5 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck did that ugly-ass bitch Nick Cage become a fucking star? 1 stars
6/10/01 edgar the best movie ever 5 stars
6/06/01 Julia Somit this is the best movie i love the cars and i love the chase scenes 5 stars
6/06/01 Katrina This movie was the best. Whats wrong with you people 5 stars
5/22/01 Jordana Bernall This movie kicks ass! 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez GEEEZZZ Seem Like Hollywood is short on orginal and decent ideas..............very short. 1 stars
5/14/01 Basil stupid movie. 1 stars
5/04/01 Mamdouh M. Mehaimeed not what i expected,,,, 3 stars
4/26/01 Dom Corleone Absolutely pathetic - insulting hollywood trash 1 stars
4/23/01 Dave B Mathew Bartley..fuck you!!..the shelbyGT 500 makes the movie the BEST EVER!! 5 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Angelina Jolie is a horrible actress but Cage makes it happen... 4 stars
3/20/01 johnny 1 That 1967 shelby is fucking some nice shit 5 stars
3/14/01 andrew it was the best movie ever 5 stars
3/13/01 David Best movie ever 5 stars
3/08/01 jeremy i love the part with the 1976 shelby mustang gt 500 theat part is aswome i wish i had one. 5 stars
3/03/01 Ariel Bradford AWESOME! plus the cars rock and Nick is hott! 5 stars
3/01/01 HyDRo The best fucking movie I have ever seen 5 stars
3/01/01 Wesley Olvera it's a very good car movie 4 stars
2/22/01 Monday Morning Nic rocks, action trucks, Ribisi sucks. This is a hip flick overall, tho'. 4 stars
2/18/01 Anderson Excellent for car fanatics!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/01 Steven Armet WOW this was awesome 5 stars
2/14/01 Paul AMAZING 5 stars
2/13/01 adf sweet as all fucking hell 5 stars
2/01/01 Dan Waldman Give it a minute & you'll forget it. 2 stars
1/25/01 dog a kick ass movie only a car guy could appricate 5 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl Phfff! Dissapointing-should have been a lot better with more action less crap chat. 3 stars
1/06/01 Steve This movie has the best looking cars,not to mention Angelina Jolie................... 5 stars
1/02/01 FrayLo I don't understand how anyone can like this movie...carchases==cheesy, just plain sucks 1 stars
12/12/00 Dan Shaw The film is one of the best i have ever seen and the best film of the year 5 stars
12/10/00 Erik Koenig I really enjoyed this movie. Both the cars and the story line were hot. 5 stars
11/05/00 Gray Cage, Jolie and Ribisi have no chance to act. They only characters in this were the cars. 1 stars
10/26/00 Dave Jackson Bad. Really Really Bad. Bad Acting. Bad Direction. Bad Edit. Bad Script. Bad.... 1 stars
9/08/00 Richard Wright ,Saw it, thought it was O.K don't remember anything about it now, don't wanna see it again. 3 stars
9/04/00 nick it was the best 5 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Sweet-Ass Folow-Up to The Rock, Con Air, Armageddon, and Enemy of the State; Great Movie. 5 stars
8/30/00 Eran nice,I enjoyed watching it ,while taking all the time about everything 4 stars
8/25/00 goran awesome 5 stars
7/25/00 Charley Sigler I thought it was a very good movie with great action sequences. 5 stars
7/21/00 Jokko Not worth a rental. Good chases? HELL NO. Boring movie with lame "action", bad performances 1 stars
7/08/00 Zaw check it out. 5 stars
7/06/00 Olyphant The 1st Cage-Bruckheimer actioner that bored me. So many cool actors, so little acting. Sad 3 stars
7/01/00 Belinda Rental 3 stars
6/30/00 Mr J M HARWOOD Sick, did not see enough of ANGELINA JOLIE 5 stars
6/29/00 PJ a great chase scene does not a movie make. MTV crap, pointless, Cage should be ashamed! 2 stars
6/28/00 lina so what if it was predicatable... it had great action ...awesome car chases ... 5 stars
6/28/00 furtively The title IS the review. Gone in 60 Seconds. 2 stars
6/27/00 Paige Pretty lame. Good rental for a rainy Sunday. 2 stars
6/26/00 Pierce Lanson Plot full of holes, (why'd they let brother go??) absolutely predictable, crap. 2 stars
6/26/00 Bubby I kewpt looking for something to slit my wrists with! 1 stars
6/25/00 Mike Better then I had expected... but not as good as The Rock or other cage films 4 stars
6/24/00 malcolm not nearly enough chases for a car thief film. Giovanni Ribisi grossly underused 3 stars
6/21/00 Mortis I felt fully manipulated and I LOVED IT!!! Cage rocks! Angelina rolls! 4 stars
6/16/00 Will yawn. 2 stars
6/14/00 Joe Richards A car chase movie with 1 car chase? 2 stars
6/13/00 PJ Great car chase scene at the end, that's pretty much it, mtv crap with some good parts 3 stars
6/13/00 Obi Wan Expected to see some crazy car chases, mad action since this was Jerry Bruckheimer..SUCKED! 2 stars
6/13/00 Heather Keith Expected plot twists, but actually done well. I'd certainly never call it boring! 4 stars
6/13/00 PhilmPhreak Pretty lame. 3 stars
6/13/00 Captain Highcrime I guess the high price of gas affected the number & duration of chases, stays in PARK a lot 3 stars
6/13/00 Simon Better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. 3 stars
6/11/00 "Persnickety" it's cool if you like car chases and cage, other then that it was ok 4 stars
6/09/00 The Rock This is what I wanted out of MI-2..a mindless action, high energy movie 5 stars
6/09/00 Jokko This guy's wrong -- this movie sucked beginning to end. Chases are boring. Acting is awful. 1 stars
6/05/00 D. Simpson Cage is back where he belongs. The cast is dynamic all the way, & extraordinary car chases! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jun-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jun-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast