More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 10.34%
Worth A Look43.68%
Average: 8.05%
Pretty Bad: 12.64%
Total Crap: 25.29%

14 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


U-571
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Macho male bonding, patriotic deaths, and LOTS of explosions. I'm in."
4 stars

While originality is an important factor when judging a movie, sometimes it's not essential. (Particularly when dealing with a scenario that was considered a cliche in 1940!) But what U-571 lacks in fresh ideas, it certainly makes up for in "Gee Whiz!" explosions and a solid sense of claustrophobia. No, it's no Das Boot (or even a Red October), but rest assured you'll be entertained for 2 hours, as long as you don't look too deep. (Bad pun. Sorry.)

So here we have a new submarine movie. The last one I can remember was Crimson Tide, and this is an improvement. (Come on now, Tide was just silly, what with all the screaming and Hackman slapping Denzel in the face - twice!) While I doubt U-571 will win any awards for historical accuracy, it easily accomplishes what it sets out to do: entertain. True, some of the actors look lost (I'd mention Jon Bon Jovi, but I've never seen any evidence that he is an actor.) and the "Oh, come ON!" quotient is pretty high, but if you stow that stuff in the back seat, you'll have a good time.

The plot is so old it seems new again: Plucky young American soldiers are required to board a German sub (disguised as Germans, of course) and steal the 'Enigma' decoding device. If you need me to tell you that things go totally wrong, you need to see more movies. Suffice to say that things do indeed go very wrong, and our surviving crew members must depend on the German sub they've captured to get them to safety.

In between the nifty action sequences, we are offered plot turns and dialogue exchanges that could easily have been lifted from other (better) war movies. Many of the actors seem unsure of the role they're meant to play, and a few of the underwater 'close calls' are a little too close for comfort. (Example: How many times do you have to bombard a sub with explosives before it actually sinks?) Fortunately, the weaker aspects of the movie are swallowed up by a solid sense of excitement. The action sequences are truly breathtaking (another bad pun, sorry) and there are a few clever things going on amidst the proceedings. (I enjoyed the fate of the German prisoner aboard the sub.)

The most-used complaint among moviegoers nowadays: "It was all effects and no story! I'm bored with just special effects." (I know this is the most-used complaint, because I say it about 100 times a week.) And while U-571 is in no danger of being nominated for best screenplay, it is a notable step up from CGI dreck like Mission to Mars and its ilk. Matthew McConaughey acquits himself pretty well, and Bill Paxton is strong in a small role, but most of the cast seem confused. (Unforgivably tame is Harvey Keitel, who should stay away from big budget Hollywood.)

All in all, U-571 delivers the goods in reliable 'guy-movie' fashion. The soldiers are all young and scared, there's more than one 'honorable death' scene, and the macho swagger is on full display. The explosions all go off at the right time, and they'll make you go "Oooo!" While it's as historically accurate as Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure, you won't really mind much once the torpedoes start flying.

No, U-571 does NOT stand up well when compared to a movie like Das Boot, but why should it have to? It's a similarly-themed movie, sure, but there's always room for more guys' action movies, as long as they deliver the goods. Despite its (obvious) shortcomings, U-571 definitely certainly does that, and quite loudly, also.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1812&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/24/00 06:46:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/16/12 Ding Dong Awesome actioner with good production values. Who cares about accuracy. 4 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
6/18/07 al smith fucking shit it was the brits who got the enigma not the fucking yanks 1 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK America did a lot in the war. But the way some directors on its as if no-one else fought... 3 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini great action 4 stars
9/08/06 Thomas Semesky Nothing really exciting here. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Nice little drama - if you don't take it too serious 4 stars
1/09/06 Steven Lewis Lots of goofs, it still has a strong message and a power fictional story. Great film. 3 stars
6/10/05 JD Distorting history for this lame movie, they should be so proud. 1 stars
4/25/05 Quigley an awesome story with suspenseful action. I'll never enter a sub, and that's OK with me 5 stars
8/28/04 Aaron Smith best sub movie I've seen 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva wanted more story 3 stars
5/22/04 Monster W. Kung I piss on this movie. 1 stars
5/22/04 Idiot's Mouth This reviewer seems to be saying he WANTS McCaunaghey to try a British accent. ? . ?. 1 stars
12/08/03 john I hate to agree with an antisemitic moron but this movie just badly ripps off DAS BOOT 1 stars
12/04/03 tom MAy not be historically accurate but good movie!! 4 stars
8/28/03 Ameray Coland This move is FALSE about ENIGMA History. Jewish David Ayer do NOT KNOW history !!! 1 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Predictable, but it works. 3 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Decent Submarine movie, not as good as CRIMSON TIDE or K-19 THE WIDOWMAKER. 4 stars
2/26/03 y2mckay nothing special, but an enjoyable sub action flick. It ain't DAS BOOT, but what is? 4 stars
2/16/03 Angolmois Shamelessly rips off both history and other sub-movies. A bit better than a lobotomy. 1 stars
1/04/03 freewaygl great testerone flick for women who like men in action!~! Yah! 4 stars
12/02/02 R.W. Welch Good actioner though somewhat overblown and historically inaccurate 3 stars
10/27/02 Ollie Charles The best movie so far since Schindler's List 5 stars
7/26/02 Cizin IthoughtitwasCanadianswhocaputerdthesubbutwewereunderbritiansruleatthetimeright 4 stars
7/01/02 Fredrik One of the very best WWII-films ever!!! 5 stars
4/30/02 Monster W. Kung Sucks. 1 stars
4/24/02 Charles Tatum Clicheed but enjoyable. 4 stars
4/09/02 Plexo movie blew monkey nuts. Writers apear to have been retarded. 1 stars
4/01/02 Marcus Did anyone else fight in WW2? So much for the true heros of the Royal Navy & the truth... 1 stars
2/21/02 Nevz Yet another example of the Yanks trying to rewrite history 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Quite clever. Nice special effects. 4 stars
11/27/01 sdfr kick ass! 4 stars
11/27/01 Jake Intense and thrilling. 5 stars
8/28/01 Phil M. Afficianado Not bad, really, but don't you get tired of the same chaotic scene 10 times over? Skip it. 3 stars
8/08/01 badfish Excellent,great story,great picture,awesome sound. 5 stars
7/31/01 Matthew Bartley No suspense, no accuracy...no anything 1 stars
7/04/01 Piz Ultimate guy flick complete with load bangs, action, and underdog rooting 4 stars
6/08/01 Peter Brook Good sense of timing from Mostow, nice special FX, it's a very predictable story, though. 4 stars
6/07/01 destney you are awsome not you suck 5 stars
6/02/01 sabrinacardin she thinksyour cool 2 stars
5/28/01 Dean Like Hollywood didn't insult the UK enough with The Patriot. This movie is pure feces. 1 stars
3/26/01 Big Blackie Fuckin' cool movie!! Depth changes were awesome! A must see!! 5 stars
3/13/01 Stuart Wright Is it just make up history time. Shall britain make a film saying we droped the atom bomb. 1 stars
2/25/01 jeroen Saw it yesterday......it's about boots or somethin,isn't it? 1 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Suspense,action, depth charges, what a great sub. film. 4 stars
2/02/01 Matthew Bartley Think I'll make a film about the first moon landings starring Hugh Grant and Jude Law... 1 stars
1/23/01 scorekeeper Great movie, but can be very confusing. 4 stars
1/09/01 Jessica it was sooo good. Matthew McConaughey is do fucking hot!! 5 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears I wasen't looking for a history lesson here - the movie is very entertaining!!! 5 stars
12/01/00 Winston Churchill You know it was the U.K. who retrieved the Engima? This was like a bad A-Team adventure! 1 stars
11/20/00 Nick Exciting, Suspenseful, Rent it You wont' regret it 5 stars
11/06/00 Dave Great movie! McConauhey gives an exceptional performance 5 stars
10/19/00 Gremlin Kick ass movie, ther were a few parts that were a little fucked up but over all very neato 5 stars
10/17/00 Jack Laller great movie 5 stars
10/12/00 Monday Morning So you like "made in El-Kabong Hong Kong" action flicks better? This is great. 5 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo Long live Jon Bon Jovi!! Too bad he ws in this waste of film. Stoners SUCK! 1 stars
7/18/00 Matthew Bartley The USA did steal an enigma-but not until 3 years after the film! Utter shite 1 stars
7/11/00 pancreas great movie, i docked it one star because there were no naked chicks 4 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan Defn8ly a guy flik!! Action,shit blowin' up, death...what more could you want? 4 stars
5/21/00 gwalla Top-notch suspense.The USA stole an Enigma too. So it's not 100% accurate, it's fiction!!! 5 stars
5/20/00 Steve Kelley I'm a guy. Bombs, water, fear, heroism, loudness. The formula works for a reason. 4 stars
5/14/00 JJF Falsifies history without batting an eyelid. Don't support this crap. 1 stars
5/13/00 Add It shits on the good soilders who died for our freedom. I urge u not to c this! 1 stars
5/10/00 Travis good action, predictable story 4 stars
5/05/00 tony just wanted more at the ending. there wasnt enough closure. 4 stars
4/30/00 Heather Another titanic movie that pisses around with the truth 1 stars
4/29/00 Ayesha Cross Regardless who actually happened, America always won the war - what bullshit! 1 stars
4/26/00 Matthew Bartley Fucking disgusting. This was a British operation it was 7 months later when USA entered war 1 stars
4/26/00 Marcus West Does abyone care for historical facts in this BS of a movie? 1 stars
4/26/00 XT Wanna see this one on DVD. Maybe it'll make a li'l more sense. Very interesting, though. 4 stars
4/25/00 PhilmPhreak A bit obvious, but damn good - excellent sound! 4 stars
4/25/00 Captain Highcrime Good for action but don't be basing any college history papers on this one. 4 stars
4/25/00 Matt Sabian Excellent!!!! A Das Boot contender! 5 stars
4/25/00 Maclay01 85db volume required the director - the theatres listened and the audience covered our ears 4 stars
4/25/00 Obi Wan Best flick I've seen in a awhile...it did entertain and had it's moments. Worth admission 4 stars
4/25/00 bobber Not a bad movie, but didn't know who Jon Bon Jovi was either. 4 stars
4/24/00 Negative Much better than given credit for. That says alot. Good film. 4 stars
4/24/00 Kevin Cho, movie-buff Absolutely NO character development - everything else was ripped off. POOR. 2 stars
4/24/00 Becky Read the book. All the heart and humor was cut out with Pete Emment's lines (Jon Bon Jovi). 3 stars
4/23/00 Matt It kept me in suspense. The acting was a little wooden at times, but overall it was good. 4 stars
4/23/00 Gavin Moore Any good American will love this, a throwback to 80's action films 4 stars
4/23/00 photogeek did they steal actual footage from Das Boot and make it suck? 2 stars
4/23/00 Z hey, it's more realistic than mission 2 mars... 4 stars
4/22/00 Matt Sabian Brilliant film, perfectly brought to life. End was a bit disappointing 5 stars
4/22/00 Joel Harwood is in tha house the peeps have spoken 1 stars
4/21/00 Joel Harwood Action with a predictable ending but what movie isn't 4 stars
4/21/00 Danny Sykes Predictable at times. Good twists in the plot 4 stars
4/18/00 Tony D'Amoto Pretty good action movie 4 stars
4/18/00 cofemug I laughed and laughed at the overall bad quality of the movie. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Apr-2000 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Oct-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Apr-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast