More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 32.52%
Worth A Look: 17.18%
Average: 7.36%
Pretty Bad: 4.29%
Total Crap38.65%

5 reviews, 133 user ratings



Hangover, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"What happens in Vegas bores in Vegas."
3 stars

On the IMDb message board for "The Hangover," one of the subject lines reads: “Vulgar, Obscene, Offensive. Is this what comedy is?” Yes, but it’s not vulgar, obscene and offensive enough.

What passes for transgression these days is pretty weak sauce; last week’s Drag Me to Hell is far less wild and crazy than everyone wants you to think it is, and so is The Hangover, a calculated outrage wherein three thirtysomethings get wasted during a Vegas bachelor-party bacchanal and, in the morning, can’t remember anything that happened.

Cynical teacher Phil (Bradley Cooper), henpecked dentist Stu (Ed Helms), and hirsute man-child Alan (Zach Galifianakis) take soon-to-be-wed buddy Doug (Justin Bartha) to Sin City for one last blow-out. Past a certain point, everything’s in a fog. You may have seen the ads: they wake up in their expensive villa room with a chicken clucking about, a tiger in the bathroom, a tooth absent from Stu’s mouth, and a baby in the closet. The Hangover is structured so that the protagonists, and we, gradually find out most of what all this is about. Unfortunately, the explanations either strain logic (the tiger) or smack of convention (the baby). I’m kind of glad the chicken is never explained, though. More of the movie should’ve been left to our wicked imaginations.

There’s a better cast here than there deserves to be, starting with Ed Helms, with his elongated Herman Munster skull tapering down to an accountant's face, as a guy who apparently has a few too many wild oats to sow. We only really see Stu getting crazy in still photos, but Helms brings a manic streak to Stu, a superego desperately seeking an id. Ken Jeong scores high as Mr. Chow, a diminutive gangster who enjoys himself flamboyantly. Zach Galifianakis is the true id (Bradley Cooper is the ego, rounding out Freud’s psychic apparatus), a soft bear who’s clearly had too many nights home alone to linger over his bizarro fantasies. They’re a good comedy trio (Justin Bartha’s Doug is hardly in the movie, since the others lose track of him during the night), and they deserve a more daring script.

A comedy like this needs to ramp it up a notch, take us places we haven’t been before. When one of the mysteries leads to a subplot with an unrealistically amiable Heather Graham that has a cop-out resolution, you know the movie is pulling punches when it should be bashing you into submission. As it is, the only thing here that truly tests the limit of the R rating is a series of photos of Zach Galifianakis during the end credits (I’m guessing the MPAA folks didn’t stick around till then). Two films from eleven years ago, There’s Something About Mary and the much-underrated Very Bad Things (a genuinely biting “what happens in Vegas” satire), were far more subversive — and far funnier — than this effort, which teases us with hints of unspeakable degeneracy and then wimps out.

Truly, if you’ve seen the ads, you’ve seen what you need to see; your own explanation for where the tiger comes from, and what Mike Tyson has to do with anything, will probably be funnier than the movie’s explanation.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=18120&reviewer=416
originally posted: 06/08/09 10:13:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

3/07/17 Louise (the actual one) Funny, why do so many hate this? It's typical US humour. I enjoyed it. 4 stars
5/07/13 Charles Tatum Dark and funny 4 stars
3/27/13 Liz Great movie... If you like crap 1 stars
11/19/12 Sean Harrison Stupidly Hilarious 4 stars
2/19/12 meep Utter shit, makes America and those who like this worthy of nothing but contempt 1 stars
6/26/11 John Airey Very funny...Who thinks of this stuff? 5 stars
3/14/11 Ionicera I expected it to be better, but it had a few funny moments 3 stars
11/29/10 funk best movie ever people really gotta lightin up they get offended if some on breathes 5 stars
7/18/10 Dwight Bradley Cooper is always angry, not funny 1 stars
6/22/10 RLan It's good, but not great 3 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King There are some funny parts in this film but overall, I was disappointed with it. 2 stars
3/26/10 Jiz Unfunny bullshit. Oh yeah and Friedberg and Seltzer are the real Uwe Bolls of comedy. 1 stars
3/09/10 PAUL SHORTT FATALLY UNFUNNY STUDY IN MEAN SPIRITED MEDIOCRITY 2 stars
3/06/10 Joe How does it feel to be laughably wrong? 5 stars
1/17/10 RobertJ Disgusting, Disgusting, Disgusting..Producers should be investigated for child abuse. 1 stars
1/10/10 Derek If you're the kind of person who does nothing with their life but drink alcohol, maybe 1 stars
1/09/10 jeramie Well, obviously, this movie isn't for everyone, but it's one of the BEST! 5 stars
1/08/10 lexee balllsss 1 stars
1/05/10 Spiral Architect If you thought this film was funny, please do not reproduce. 1 stars
1/04/10 Monday Morning This really has its moments - quite a bit of laugh-out-loud stuff. 5 stars
1/03/10 Jacques Just plain moronic, brain dead, crude, vulgar, stupid....I 1 stars
1/02/10 turnthe best comedy in years, reviewer is a lame 5 stars
12/28/09 tom pathetic! will be big hit in college drunk circuit. 1 stars
12/27/09 Mike D Worst movie on the planet. The guy who wrote this review liked it a lot more than I did. 1 stars
12/26/09 chloe douches will love. everyone else will wish they hadn't bothered. 1 stars
12/26/09 Todd Gak Simply not funny 1 stars
12/17/09 Jason People need to lighten up! This movie is hilarious! 5 stars
12/09/09 Bettie The Hangover - worst movie I have ever seen. No laughs, no brains, just garbage. 1 stars
12/02/09 Andrew Johnson Lighten up David. The genre is the best Ive seen. Shock humour at it;s best! 5 stars
11/24/09 Jake Maybe this movie wasn't for you but you don't have to be a conceited douche bag about it 5 stars
11/11/09 gary i'v seen way too many classic comedies to like this. just not funny 1 stars
11/08/09 Mohammed While watching the film, the writer nevr forgot for a second that he had t review it later 4 stars
10/13/09 Roy Smith Solid shit dunked in liquid shit 1 stars
10/04/09 Fahiem critic is spot on and why all the chidldish remarks? 3 stars
10/03/09 whistler you obviously have issues with your dead father 5 stars
9/29/09 Richard This movie was LAME! I left half way through! 2 stars
9/20/09 theone Hilarious. 5 stars
9/11/09 Kevin 4-year-old humor, don't ever pay for it, punch yourself in the face you'll save money 1 stars
9/08/09 Bob This movie sucked hard. Terribly unfunny 1 stars
8/29/09 Boo underlying message is revolting- if any women found it funny, they're a bit thick 1 stars
8/25/09 foobar Absolutely pathetic. Total Crap. 1 stars
8/13/09 John spot on review, wanted this movie to rock, but it was a box of rox 1 stars
8/04/09 sam good 5 stars
8/03/09 SooS Ed Helm's character is Stu, not Phil dumbass.... 5 stars
8/03/09 David A. It has a few funny bits, but the "f" word gets boring after about an hour. 3 stars
8/03/09 bono Erik Childress sucks donkey ass. Good summer comedy. 4 stars
8/02/09 todd this reviewer is 100% correct. the hangover is bad. 1 stars
8/02/09 Roy Smith "You are too stupid to insult" - no, the movie is. 1 stars
7/31/09 theultimate You are not a movie critic! 4 stars
7/31/09 Brandon funnies movie? 'Todd Phillips' Ubowel. Alright I think that settles it. 4 stars
7/29/09 Robbie Lewis 80% Rotten Tomatoes. The film is funny and works. You are the odd man out. live with it 4 stars
7/29/09 Jr 247,000,000 million so far, enough said. 5 stars
7/28/09 rottencargo I just found it boring. Seen all those jokes before, presented blandly. And I love stupid. 2 stars
7/27/09 Gordo Hope you enjoyed your cup of tea and biscuits when you watched this. 4 stars
7/26/09 Lori Bad writing, acting directing. Old jokes, plot that went nowhere, unlikeable characters. 1 stars
7/24/09 Toni It was stupid but oh so funny! 4 stars
7/21/09 JB Did you see the movie. I don't think the baby flips the bird, just jacks off. 5 stars
7/21/09 Zach Don't listen to this pseudo-intellectual tightwad, this is a superb comedy 5 stars
7/20/09 Pete Thin,formulatic plot that broke no new ground and made me cringe with it's offensive humor. 1 stars
7/20/09 Johnny Fartsalot la la la la la la la la la 5 stars
7/19/09 Thom It was just the best comedy pest 5 years. Absolutly perfect I think Loveable chars 5 stars
7/19/09 mr.mike Lots of laughs. 4 stars
7/17/09 JK Jones Hilarious, David you cost yourself a good time being way overanalytical. 5 stars
7/16/09 max power everyone i know though this was one of the most hilarious movies they seen. 5 stars
7/16/09 correction mike tyson actually does own a tiger, he's not pretending 5 stars
7/13/09 The Game Just saw the movie. Hilarious. 5 stars
7/13/09 Derrick this movie made me laugh out loud a lot very funny critic must have eggplant in stuck inass 5 stars
7/11/09 michael mann very racist and repugnant 1 stars
7/11/09 Shaun Repetitive and boring, i feel like the movie expects me to laugh 2 stars
7/08/09 JonB Yes, it was kinda stupid and the script wasn't very witty, but it was definitely funny. 4 stars
7/07/09 zipper The 100+ people in the theater I was at would disagree with you. Almost constant laughter! 5 stars
7/06/09 pete sampras total total vile crap horsehit, white american comedy fucking bullshit 1 stars
7/06/09 John I'm glad to see the plethora of 5 stars. We're right; reviewer is wrong. 5 stars
7/04/09 Shallow Hal Maybe laughed 3 times the whole movie. Awful. 1 stars
7/04/09 roger federer worst piece of shit movie ever 1 stars
7/03/09 Joe Figures, the people who like this slop get mad and insult someone who doesn't like it 1 stars
7/03/09 samtk you aren't reviewing a "film". funny ass movie though. 5 stars
7/03/09 Solus Unfair to women? It's a movie about a stag party, it's about chauvinist culture. 5 stars
7/02/09 lori vought awful movie; disgusting, mean, and stupid 1 stars
7/01/09 Marc Worst movie. Trite, sadly predictable, and boring. GREAT REVIEW!!! 1 stars
6/30/09 AP I like movies with shock value and quoteability. The Hangover had neither. Purely awful. 1 stars
6/30/09 JBaby Dude is jealous of fat Jesus 5 stars
6/29/09 blackberry terrible, terrible unfunny piece of shit 1 stars
6/29/09 David Not highbrow -Either you think someone mocking a baby jerking off is hilarious or you don't 5 stars
6/28/09 will tenner disgusting shit ass comedy 1 stars
6/27/09 gandalf a terrible terrible sexist film, terrible, terrible 1 stars
6/27/09 Benjamin Barkas all i can say is my wife even loved it and the ENTIRE theatre was cheering at the end 5 stars
6/27/09 Matt Oh noes! The film has confusing gender politics! 5 stars
6/26/09 Svelt The beauty, and humor, of this movie was in the performances, not the plot. HYSTERICAL. 5 stars
6/26/09 Matt Good review. I haev a sense of humor, but making raunchy jokes is just not funny. 2 stars
6/26/09 Mark This review is utter garbage. You are entitled to your opinions,but learn to write a review 4 stars
6/25/09 luke some critics need a sense of humor 5 stars
6/25/09 Robert One of less than a handful of movies that I've walked out of in a total of thousands! 1 stars
6/25/09 kristof68 Clearly Mr Cornelius doesn't have a sense of humour 5 stars
6/25/09 Grace Fun movie ideas, didn't follow through, and slow ending. Best comedy this summer, though. 3 stars
6/24/09 David If this is considered comedy our society is in a world of trouble. Complete crap. 1 stars
6/24/09 Kailee Funniest movie i've ever seen. DEFENETLY a must see 5 stars
6/23/09 Coachie Ballgames Spot on Review. Formulaic crap for wanna be frat boys. Where were the jokes? 1 stars
6/23/09 Amanda There's always a critic who thinks every movie needs to be "8 1/2" so he can get attention. 5 stars
6/23/09 Jay Kay Good Lord man....did you even WATCH the film? Asian guy in the police car? Really? 5 stars
6/23/09 spongekill I'm glad The Hangover is not the movie this critic wanted it to be, would've been horrible 5 stars
6/22/09 jurisprudence this film sucks period 1 stars
6/22/09 nthg2say review: FAIL (im emarassed for u.) 5 stars
6/22/09 g. these critics are reTARDS. excellent, hilarious movie. 5 stars
6/22/09 Micah Bromance that can't be beat! 5 stars
6/21/09 anon good thing you dont have enough talent to actually be in a movie you idiot. BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
6/20/09 Swoop Go back to your PG-13 comedies and next time go watch a movie with an open mind. Bias POS. 5 stars
6/20/09 Anonymous Fantastic. Bravo bravo bravo! Expresses my sentiments better than I could. Well-said. 2 stars
6/20/09 Roger Smith The critic is a DICK, he is promoting the movie advertisement through an amazon ad 5 stars
6/20/09 Mase "An ironic beard" !!! - Idiot! 5 stars
6/20/09 jonathantstorm one of the stupidest pointless films ever made 1 stars
6/20/09 James Madision This guy obvioulsy doesn't like good films 4 stars
6/19/09 Joe I agree with the reviewer 100%; this flick was pathetic and stupid 1 stars
6/18/09 Steve Buscemi Watch...this guy will love Transformers. Hack! 5 stars
6/18/09 jurisprudence this film sucked and its on the fucking imdb top 250, what a fucking joke 1 stars
6/17/09 Luisa Super funny movie! 4 stars
6/16/09 Julio Terrible review clearly a great film which everyone likes so get over yourselfs 5 stars
6/16/09 John John this review sucks, just relax and enjoy the laughs 4 stars
6/15/09 Maria B Unfunny and disgusting movie. 1 stars
6/15/09 Bob If you think Old School and the Hangover are Uwe Boll quality, find a new profession 4 stars
6/15/09 Ke We Why attack this movie loser - nit picky idiot 5 stars
6/12/09 Kat As much I loathe to agree with the idiot hack, brian, and disagree with reviewers I respect 4 stars
6/11/09 Ming it is the most funniest film of the year 4 stars
6/09/09 Justin Black Doug has a point about the Roofies, They should be the Floors. 5 stars
6/08/09 Biosci I, along with the whole audience in the packed theater - laughed like hell. Chill! 4 stars
6/08/09 jon its brave to point out that the movie was far from perfect....Ubowel comment over the top 3 stars
6/07/09 Azzam I think you need to stop attacking a good movie 5 stars
6/07/09 Fred Did we see the same movie? 'Cause this one was hilarious! 5 stars
6/07/09 Matt Funnies Movie I've seen in years! You're an idiot! Enjoy movies for movies!!! 5 stars
6/06/09 Nick This is CRAP. Period. End of story. 1 stars
6/06/09 Greg Biased review. U could already tell he doesnt like 'Todd Phillips' in the first paragraph 5 stars
6/06/09 Joe Did the makers of the film not give you the gift bag you asked for?? Smug alert!! 4 stars
6/05/09 Andrew Whether the film was good or not, this review reeks of smug. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-2009 (R)
  DVD: 12-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Jun-2009
  DVD: 15-Dec-2009




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast