More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.66

Awesome: 32.91%
Worth A Look: 16.46%
Average39.24%
Pretty Bad: 6.96%
Total Crap: 4.43%

10 reviews, 98 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Girl, Interrupted
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Rubberband Girls"
3 stars

Girl, Interrupted is a patchy retelling of Susanna Kaysen's spell in a mental institution, at the instigation of her parents, in the late 1960s. Too often, James (Copland) Mangold's conventional direction smothers a fascinating story with Hollywood gloss.

Kaysen (Winona Ryder) even has a villain to overcome - sociopath Lisa (Angelina Jolie). Mangold cut several of Lisa's more sensitive scenes, leaving her with little motivation of her own beyond hindering Kaysen's reformation. Jolie's wild performance is the film's splash of colour, against the grey interiors and Jack Green's wintry cinematography. Lisa's the life of the ward when she's stable, and simply dangerous or comatose when she's not (Jolie effectively portrays the latter states through her eyes alone). Unfortunately, Mangold doesn't rein her in towards the end and she goes way over the top.

Winona Ryder is finally looking too old to play a girl just out of high school. Her contemporary look, usually incongruous in period films, effectively adds to her detached writer persona. The ironic narrative works well here, because Kaysen became a writer in the institution. The notebooks she wrote at the time form the basis of the screenplay, and were her means of finding a voice and getting out.

I don't know whether the Wizard of Oz allegory at the end (complete with Toto) was Kaysen's, or an invention of the screenwriters. It's unwelcome from overuse and ends Girl, Interrupted on a slack note.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1814&reviewer=104
originally posted: 03/23/00 11:37:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/20/10 art I RECANT my DECEMBERS comment's,THIS IS A BREATH-TAKING FILM!,RYDER and JOLIE were GREAT! 4 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT INTERESTING, VIVID ADAPTATION 3 stars
12/19/09 art NOT ONLY DEPRESSING BUT BORING TOO BOOT! 1 stars
8/20/09 art RATED D FOR DEPRESSING! 2 stars
3/19/09 Lenny Zane Oh, all the gullible folks who say "Daisy was sexually abused" jus cause LISA says so! Gad! 4 stars
1/12/09 Shaun Wallner Interesting Story! 3 stars
11/12/08 sf333 seeing it through the eyes of one with a mental illness, the movie was contrite but good 3 stars
3/04/08 mb Was OK. Not outstanding. 3 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
10/22/06 lyn2 excellent movie 5 stars
6/20/06 Kelly Spackman Excellent.It was well acted, the actreses were perfect. I relate to the movie. 5 stars
4/28/06 Alana M. Barquero I thought that this was a great movie. 5 stars
10/16/05 Sara Great - makes you think 5 stars
8/20/05 ES it reminds me of a female take on the first half of toy soldiers, only no gunmen 1 stars
6/15/05 Indrid Cold A dreary, uninteresting drama. 3 stars
2/23/05 Colleen Goldrick Excellent 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams Angie's BEST work. She MAKES this movie. 5 stars
10/28/04 Stephanie this was areally great movie, it demonstrates what a mental pateint feels and go through. 5 stars
9/29/04 Erica This psychological Dark Comedy has it all...Drama, comedy, awsome acting! 5 stars
3/09/04 Jaime This is one of the best movies made in awhile, eroticly stunning and sedisticly majestic. 5 stars
3/07/04 reptilesni what exactly in Winona Ryder's talent again? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? 1 stars
11/29/03 Bonnie Angie was the girl interrupted. I still say Winona and Angie should have had an affair! 5 stars
10/02/03 Anna Daisy isn't bulemic, she eats chicken and takes laxatives and she's sexually abused. 5 stars
7/28/03 Ghetto Smurf Why did Jolie win an Oscar? Ryder was waaaay better. 5 stars
5/11/03 The Lurchprong Splitter Analina Jolie, otherwise not much of an actress, lucks out on role of a lifetime. 4 stars
3/30/03 Jenny Tullwartz WARNING, SPOILERS: Best movie ever about a constipated girl hanging herself. 5 stars
3/05/03 Tammy This is perhaps the best movie I have seen in years, a most see!! 5 stars
2/02/03 violet Very well done. The performances by the cast were incredible. 5 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Ryder was MUCH better than Jolie. 4 stars
11/15/02 Stevo Shut up Winona. Shut up. Oh fuck it, I'm going to sleep. 1 stars
9/22/02 Brahmsian Angelina deserves the raves she's gotten for this. Winona isn't bad either. 5 stars
8/13/02 blakers a great film 5 stars
8/02/02 Erin great movie, watch with an open mind, and you'll take a lot from it. 5 stars
4/01/02 Jake What the hell are you doin' Lisa!!! Back off..... 1 stars
3/23/02 The REAL Lisa.... Angelina cannot ACT. She plays the same 'bad girl' in ALL of her fucking shite movies. 1 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee Jolie does a great job, but she overpowers the rest of the cast. still watchable. 4 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean Jolie saves this movie, even though she's playing the same character she did in Gia. 3 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz !!SPOILERS!! Best of all movies about a constipated girl hanging herself. 5 stars
1/27/02 Ashley Corpening Great, but is that really Angelina Jolie? She never looked or acted that way before. 5 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick Jolie rocked - the rest of the movie sucked big time. 3 stars
1/03/02 red neck psychologist great movie! From psychology to femenism it is a must see! 5 stars
12/08/01 Sara Randell "don't point your finger at fucking crazy people!" 4 stars
12/01/01 ortwin schäfer steht in Tradition vom "kuckucksnest" 4 stars
11/07/01 MissyWalks Loved Jolie.v She made it worth watching. Otherwise, I would have turned it off. 4 stars
9/30/01 Interrupted Excellent, too true - self harm! great film, wonderful and brillian acting - Ryder, Jolie 5 stars
9/05/01 omar angelina is the best actress alive 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Jolie deserved that Oscar and saved this movie from that always dull Ryder 3 stars
8/26/01 Gary The film recovers amazingly from a slow first half-hour. Jolie is astounding. 4 stars
8/18/01 svetlana all around very excellent film...4 and a half stars 4 stars
8/04/01 Katie It was an excellent movie and the book was great as well. amazingly brilliant. 5 stars
7/26/01 Wendy Parker Absolutely splended 5 stars
7/25/01 Monday Morning Angelina. Whoopi. Projectile vomit. 2 stars
7/20/01 Gus Pretty good - too bad winona ryder is in it though 4 stars
5/26/01 jazmin wicked shit 5 stars
4/16/01 LiL Very disturbing, very good 5 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Angelina is just a bad actress but Winona made her look better than normal 2 stars
3/24/01 Katie Patterson I loved this film. I've seen it at least 5 times and I've also read the book. 5 stars
2/17/01 Jake Realistic and touching 4 stars
1/30/01 Sss Saa 1 stars
12/29/00 Slayer Grrl, Interrupted Offers a totally accurate look into the world of mental illness- I would know. g2love AJ!!! 5 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Damn that girl's got some soup coolers on her. Must be a lip job gone bad. 4 stars
8/21/00 TALIA IT'S GREAT!!! 5 stars
8/15/00 Monday Morning My wife loved this film so I'm voting for her...within reason. 4 stars
8/09/00 Jed AJ is a tad overrated and this film does get annoying but over than that its a great film 4 stars
6/29/00 Faith i loved it 5 stars
6/25/00 Trina M. Barnard Angelina Jolie did an excellent job 4 stars
6/22/00 Jeff AJ is very good0 but my god, her lips are about to explode. 3 stars
6/13/00 Michael Grimm Jolie was excellent but the rest just drug on forever 3 stars
6/07/00 Amanda It was a great movie 5 stars
5/21/00 mellemel I fell asleep at this movie. 2 stars
4/28/00 Luciana Carolina Becerra Muestra lo que nadie quiere ver "el conformismo y lo normal" Haganse cargo. 5 stars
4/26/00 hahahah best movie i've seen 5 stars
4/10/00 grateful a beautifil film 5 stars
3/29/00 Jessica If you don't like this movie, then you've never been an 18 year old girl. 5 stars
3/20/00 Leonardo Dicaprio EXCELLENT BLOODY EXCELLENT 5 stars
3/19/00 Joel Harwood It was one of the most touching and emotional films of the year top ten in 99 5 stars
3/16/00 t one of the best movies ever 5 stars
3/11/00 tasha I read the book first. Terrible book. Then I watched the movie. Don't read the book. 3 stars
2/17/00 Larissa Hunka It is the best!!! 5 stars
2/14/00 Germanicus Winona and Jolie are good but the film is boring and seems to go nowhere. 3 stars
2/14/00 Gary Yee jolie is awesome and steals the show 4 stars
2/02/00 Joel Harwood I will order a touching drama/comedy with the lot please hold the bad actors 5 stars
1/30/00 P.S.O.K jolie deserved her golden globe winning 5 stars
1/29/00 puppyboy434@aol.com moving non-saccarhine portrait of mental illness 5 stars
1/28/00 Tia A little long...but good movie. Angelina Jolie really shone above everyone including Winona 4 stars
1/22/00 Lisa Rose Very moving film, great performances, especially from Angelina Jolie, th Goddess! 5 stars
1/21/00 Triple beautiful and moving, a real fable 5 stars
1/20/00 Sarah Provencher The movie sucks to be quite bold, but Angelina is brilliant and worth the movie alone. 5 stars
1/19/00 jenn "Blu Smrf" this movie is awesome, truely moving,,,amazing acting 5 stars
1/16/00 Joe Shapira ryder is amazing as always! definitely worth your time and $$! 5 stars
1/15/00 Malbert Interesting, sad movie...Jolie was great 3 stars
1/06/00 Ant major waste of time except for Jolie 2 stars
1/05/00 RetroGirl Stunning performances 5 stars
1/04/00 rigthzt ughzoru 5 stars
1/04/00 O.H. Bennett A very good story with outstanding performances all around--esp. from Jolie & Ryder 4 stars
1/02/00 Dor See this movie!! Amazing performances! Funny, thoughtful and interesting. 5 stars
12/25/99 Movie Person The movie was decent, but Angelina Jolie was awesome as usual. 4 stars
12/19/99 Aquarium Girl A beautiful, heart-breaking story. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jan-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast